Onkyo DV-C601 DVD Players

DV-C601

6-disc DVD player with DD/DTS

User Reviews (86)

Showing 1-10 of 86  
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2010]

I have had this changer for about 5 years and it still outperforms many others I have used. he sound quality is awesome, even with some low level Theater systems i have used. Video is great also.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tb0411   Casual Listener [Nov 29, 2005]
Strength:

Great sound and picture quality

Weakness:

Obviously the ribbon cable, and quirky to me is I cannot read the disc slot as there is no light shining onto the 6 platter changer. . but it is perhaps my problem.

Greetings, from Mike in MD. In regards to the DV-C600 DVD changer, I cannot thank all who contributed enough and offered excellent advice which I found here on how to fix the "No Disc" problem as mentioned here in other threads. Sure enough, on Thanksgiving Day, with all company here, just when I needed the DVD most. . .it would not work. I called a repair shop the next day and they were not keen on Onkyo - but they were not specific. In the past, I really have appreciated this unit. A Google search brought me to this site, and sure enough the directions given were clear and acurate. I noted the ribbon cable was a bit "askew", and since I did not have a hot melt gun, I used a bit of silicone sealer to bind the cable and connector together after I pushed the cable in a bit. My 17 year old son thinks I should have trashed the unit and bought a new one. I really do like it, think its a quality unit, and am glad it is working again. It would have cost me $185 to get it fixed. Thanks all - a good feeling of acomplishment. Heres to 10 more years!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Firewolf   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2005]
Strength:

Said before

Weakness:

See above

I have not looked at this review thread in some time. It's good to see that others have had the ribbon cable fix that I posted back on March 15, 2002 work for them. Mine has failed again and I was curious how long the fix lasted - 3 years and 2 months. I guess that's not too bad. Time to take it apart again. Thanks for the tips since mine for easier ways to take it apart.

Similar Products Used: I now have an NAD CD player for audio CDs and CDRs. It is much better all around for music. The Onkyo is still my DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
DaveC24   Casual Listener [Jul 10, 2004]
Strength:

I really like the unit, despite this little annoyance!! I also like the remote it comes with - very handy!

Weakness:

"No Disk" error

Thanks to Troy Pillon (review of Dec 19, 2003). I too had the "No Disk" problem and the steps outlined worked like a charm!! I do have one time-saving tip, however. Once you get to the step involving the removal of the disk platter, STOP!!! Do not remove the screw in the middle of the carousel!! Instead, slide the carousel out ("open") as far as it will go. Unplug the ribbon cable on the right side of the carousel. Then look down on the left-side rail - just past the carousel there is a small tab in the rail. Use a small screwdriver to push it down slightly to move the stop out of the way and just pull the carousel out the front. To replace the carousel afterward, just slide it back in from the front. You will hear a click as it runs over the stop. Otherwise, follow the previous directions and hopefully, your luck will be as good as mine in getting the thing to work again!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
TommyQuinn   Casual Listener [Jan 19, 2004]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

Does not work

About 5 months after I bought it the unit stopped working. The player would search for the disc and never find the disc and just constantly display "no disc" I sent it to the warranty shop 4 times and Onkyo refuses to service it anymore because it is possible I abused the unit. The repair shop wants $90 for the work. BS! I used once a week if that often. Junk! Shame on Onkyo!

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 777 Receiver
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Rick Robichaud   Casual Listener [Dec 28, 2003]
Strength:

Lousey design

The imfamouse "NO DISC ERROR". Not vaused by loose ribbon cables but a split pinion gear on the laser drive mechanism which causes the laser to bind and stop.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Matelot   AudioPhile [Oct 30, 2003]
Strength:

Overall picture quality. 3 stages of zoom, great for those letterbox DVDs. Very smooth silent operation.

Weakness:

The ribbo cable problem.

I had the same problem as most other writers here. The first time I fixed it, it did not last, so I stripped it down to bare bones and glued every ribon cable in the unit. Now it works like a charm. I am a big Onkyo fan and so I persevered with this unit. I am glad I did, this realy is a great player. I bought an Onkyo DV-SP500 because of all the problems I was having with my 601 and I have to say even though the 601 does not have progressive scan, the picture quality is amazing and in my opinion as good as that of the 500. If you think you can follow the instructions given in another review to "fix" a 601 then go ahead and get one you will not be disapointed and because of all the bad raps you can get one for next to nothing.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

Picture, sound

Weakness:

build/design quality, remote

I mainly bought the player to go with my Onkyo receiver; and was very happy with the picture, sound and features (taking into account the time it was boought.) But like everyone else, the poor design really got me pissed off. I was able to resink the cable myself, but this is the first electronic device I've ever had to fix before three years, and turned me off to Onkyo products.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Lemvil   Casual Listener [Mar 25, 2003]
Strength:

Great picture and sound through my television and surround sound system. Willing to stand behind their product.

Weakness:

Inital design flaw, but the company stood behind their product and repaired it.

I too, had the infamous no disk loaded error. At first, I thought it was something that I had done to the unit myself. I thought this and I had used the unit maybe 10 hours a month over an 18 month period. But then I used google.com and found this web site, which was good, and bad news. The good news was I was not suffering alone. The bad news, I'm not mechanically inclined, and I thought I would never be able to follow the directions that an earlier reviewer had posted on how to perform the repair myself. So I thought, I'll call Onkyo and explain the situation. A good company such as Onkyo will certainly see my side of the story and offer to make the repair. I called their 800 number, explained the situation, and asked that they stand behind their product. I was told to fax a letter, stating the problem that the unit was suffering, along with my serial number, and other information (address, phone #, etc.). I also explained to them that I found this website with numerous other comments that were posted by other owners about this very problem. I called back a few days later and spoke with Don and he told me that Onkyo had approved a one-time, non-warranty repair. All I had to do was take the unit back to Circuit City (or any other authorized repair center) and that the repair would be performed at no charge. So I returned the unit to Circuit City, who initially charged their customary $39.00 fee. Five days later I received a call stating that my DVD player was ready for pickup. I returned to Circuit City, picked up my unit, and received a refund of my $39.00. I now have the unit back in its proper location and the DVDs are once again loading and playing. I have to commend Onkyo for standing behind this unit. If you are suffering the same problems, I would suggest contacting Onkyo (1-800-229-1687) and request the repairs department. Explain your situation and hopefully you will be treated as well as I was. Then you won't have to tear about your unit, unless this is something that you enjoy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
gportela   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2003]
Strength:

Best picture quality of all DVD players tested.

Weakness:

Had a similar problem to the "NO DISK" one described. My disks would not load. The system would display the the message "LOADING" but would never load the disk. Thanks to reading the reviws on this site I was able to fix the problem without spending mad loot. I correctly assumed that I also had a connection problem. I followed the directions in the post and was able to re-seat the loose ribbion cable. Removing the CD tray was quite a task but who cares when the alternative is laying out your hard earned cash! My only other complaint would be the crapy remote and not being able to have continious play. I don't understand why a multidisk system would not have this feature. It is a dissapointment. The pro's do out weigh the con's in a big way though! Enjoy

Great Product

Similar Products Used: Since I bought my first Onkyo componet back in '91 I have never even thought of trying another manufacturer!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 86  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com