JVC XV S65GD DVD Players

XV S65GD

- Plays DVD-Video discs, CDs, audio CD-Rs and CD-RWs, and MP3 CDs.
- 54MHz/10-bit video D/A converter (progressive-scan mode).
- Selectable interlaced/progressive-scan video output (progressive-scan requires a compatible TV).
- 3D-Phonic virtual surround sound.
- Optical and coaxial digital outputs for Dolby Digital/DTS/PCM.
- 1 set of A/V outputs (composite video, S-video, and component video).
- Zoom magnification for Play/Pause.
- Multibrand remote with glow-in-the-dark buttons.
- JVC AV CompuLink.
- 96kHz/24-bit audio D/A converter.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Chad   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2003]
Strength:

progressive scan, mp3, looks good

Weakness:

after a year of use is nothing more than a pretty looking hunk of metal. spent 240 dollars on the hunk of metal

Good deal for progressive scan and mp3 player I THOUGHT! After slightly over a year of use, takes about 1 minute to read a BRAND NEW cd, after 5 - 10 minutes of play that cd turns into LOUD buzzing as if dvd player is frying. Will not even attempt to play a dvd, just says NO DISC as soon as it is loaded. The player has been in one spot and never moved, never even touched except to hit play buttons.

Similar Products Used: sony, panasonic, even aiwa or apex is better. Time to get a denon
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
The G   AudioPhile [Dec 28, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture and sound, even WITHOUT prog scan!

Weakness:

see above

I have had this for over a year now, and it is my first DVD player. I am somewhat pleased with it, not ecststatic, tho. I don't have an HDTV so the progressive scan feature means nuthin, but it was a criteria to purchase due to near future upgrade. Few things: The picture and sound quality are superb. I have looked at the same DVDs with other players: Sony, specifically, DVP NS 300V and some other Sony models and this is much better. But, sometimes it gets a little 'confused' when going to and from film and menu: cursor appears on frozen movie still, no cursor appears, screen saver appears with cursor... which ain't good! And finally it doesn't read CDs all taht well it's like 50/50 on the CD reading I haev to say. I have a separate CD player, my trusty Marantz.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP NS 300V, other Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
JamesPH   AudioPhile [Sep 02, 2002]
Strength:

To get progressive scan for this price. Performance picture wise has been what I would expect from DVD.

Weakness:

None to mention.

I feel the color and looks are nice. The features for the price are a deal in getting progressive scan feature. If you have an A/V receiver with Dolby and DTS, the Dolby signal pass thru is all you need. JVC made the right choices in features for a resonably priced progressive scan capable DVD. If you understand this is not top of the line progressive scan DVD with Dolby and discrete 6 channel output for the dollars you are saving, you can appreceiate the unit for what it is. DVD playback has been excellant to me, but this is a bedroom second DVD player and not using the progressive scan feature yet.

Similar Products Used: Personal computer DVD player. JVC XV-D723GD.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
brad   Casual Listener [Jul 09, 2002]
Strength:

price, slimline, compatability

Weakness:

remote

this is a great value product. it plays just about anything, is light as a feather and looks great. it works well with the jvc 7010 receiver. best dvd player around for the price

Similar Products Used: pioneer dv355
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
marsh4nasa   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 2002]
Strength:

Progressive Scan, Good Price and Brand, Plays everything, Nice-look..e

Weakness:

You have to remember to swith the progressive mode on with the remote, but this is a slight annoyance....

Wow. I can''t believe I got a progressive scan, JVC brand player for $169.00. I recently purchased a Zenith 36 inch HDTV monitor and was ready to upgrade to progressive scan. It looks great on the few DVDs that I have tested. It also automatically senses the type of progressive mode to default to. It also plays everything, but this is not a real big attraction for me as I only listen to mp3s on my laptop or on portable hardware. I think the gold is cool-looking to and the on-screen menu is fairly intuitive.r

Similar Products Used: Samsung DVD--not progressive scan...It was ok, but I am definitely pleased with the upgrade to JVC Progessive Scan playerd
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
leroy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2002]
Strength:

The picture is brilliant. I am still play with all the little features

Weakness:

None so far

The picture quality is beautiful. I am amazed by its stability to maintain such a great picture.

I do have a problem with a varying brightness on my TV and I am not sure if it is the TV or the DVD player. I have the DVD player connected to the VCR using the component signals. When playing a DVD the color is maintained but the brightness of the picture goes up and down. Could some one tell me why this happens.

Future plans: purchase an HDTV


Similar Products Used: My second JVC product. The first JVC product was a dual tape deck.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
M   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2002]
Strength:

great buy and plays dvds, and mp3 cds. hard find with the progressive also

Weakness:

none, and personally i think the gold is cool

great product and good price and does the job. one thing though, does anyone know if this is a true progressive scan dvd player. by that i mean, is it a true 3-2 pulldown player? thanks

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Casual Listener [Jan 20, 2002]
Strength:

Features! It has progressive scan output, optical AND bit stream digital audio outputs, and it plays anything (meaning MP3, VCD, SVCD, XSVCD). Great picture quality and good value for the money.

Weakness:

None to speak of

When purchasing an upgrade for my Toshiba SD-2109 I was looking for a reasonably priced DVD player that had progressive scan capability and could play any of the CDs that I burn from my computer (audio and video alike). After some research I determined that the JVC S65GD was the best show in town for my needs. I was also considering a Panasonic RP56, but the JVC impressed me more with it's ability to play almost anything you throw at.

The picture quality is wonderful with well done DVDs, just don't forget to turn on the progressive scan capability with your remote.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD-2109
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Flowers   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2001]
Strength:

Good sound. Decent Picture most of the time.

Weakness:

not black. no time remaining option

I got this unit on in-store credit when I returned the Onkyo due to multiple failures. It was the only progressive scan machine Circuit City had that wasn't a Sony (too noisy) or a Panasonic (previous bad experience). I had read some reviews on the JVC and thought I'd give it a try. Overall, I like it, but there are a few nagging issues. I can't change the time display (if it's possible, it's not obvious). And it's gold. All my other gear is black so it stands out in the rack. I like the room dark and when all the other gear disappears (except for the displays), the JVC looks like the whole unit is lit up. A little distracting.

Also, maybe it's my bias, but I think the picture was better on the Onkyo and the Toshiba.

I haven't had any luck with the MP3 playback. I'm not getting any sound through the optical, but maybe the decoder only puts out through the analog. Haven't tried that yet.

Not a bad unit, but I'd be inclined to try the Toshiba 3750 for dvd players in this price range.

Similar Products Used: onkyo cd601, toshiba 1700, sony d360
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian   Audiophile [Jan 23, 2002]
Strength:

Slim body. Solid crisp picture. Remote Control Accesses , many of the features without having to go to the menu screen.

Weakness:

Gold facing. Maybe not a weakness, but all other comonenets are black. Maybe it has to grow on me.

WOW. Maybe not the greatest DVD player on the market but compared to what I had, its a quantum leap. Picture quality is excellent and the audio is as clear as I've heard. I havent tried playing MP3's yer but it seems that it will only play in analog, which I was not aware of, but my CD player plays them in digital so Im reallynot concerned. Can't wait for my new TV to get the full utilization of the progressive scan features.

System
Dennon 3800
Bose AM 15 (5 double cubes, Center R/L used as Bi-Amp)
Cerwin Vega CR-810 Towers
Cerwin Vega CR-150 Center
Veladyne 350 Powered Sub
Proscan 32"

Similar Products Used: None. First JVC product used. Prior DVD was 1995 Panosic (Relic).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com