Denon DVD-900 DVD Players

DVD-900

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Gary Bitters   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2004]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Grainny, soft piture in progressive scan mode, problems displaying reds and oranges, default black enhance mode, subtitles pop up out of no ware!

I bought this Denon DVD-900 as a replacement for an old Sony DVP-S530D. I have had my Sony for six years and it was having problems reading some DVDs. So I figured until I can save up for the Denon DVD-2200,or 2900 I will get this one to hold me over. Well I must say even at $100.00 for a demo model I was not impressed at all! My old Sony looked much better in all areas. First strike was the Denon DVD-900 defaulted into Black enhance mode, which made blacks brighter almost gray. Second strike was certain reds and shades of orange had scan lines in them. Strike three was the progressive scan mode made everything very soft, almost fuzy. Strike four was that dark movies appeared very grainy. Strike five sub titles will pop up from no ware! I have a Pioneer Elite Pro-520HD HDTV, and I use the line doubler inside the TV with great results with my old cheap Sony DVD Player. I am going to return this Denon and buy another cheap Sony to hold me over until I can afford the Denon DVD-2200, or 2900 DVD Player. My System includes Definitive Technology Speakers BP2002TL (front & back) C/L/R2002 coupled with a Pro-sub 200TL (full range center) Power Field 15TL (LFE sub only) Denon AVR-3300 (receiver) Sony DVP-S530D (DVD) Comcast HDTV Box (cable) Philips Pronto (remote) Monster wire 12 gauge front channels bi-wired. Tara Labs 203V Trio (component video) Happy Listening, Gary Bitters

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S530, Sony DVP-7700, Sony PS2, Pioneer 333.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
theatrejunkie   AudioPhile [Jan 13, 2004]
Strength:

Denon is not cheap anywhere, so price for this player is more than fair.

Weakness:

Occasional blurps but nothing really to mention.

Great little DVD Player for the $$! Does'nt have the feel of Denon's typical build quality but it has done a great job for me so far. Every once in a while (1 out of 7 Movies) the words will pop up on the screen as if I chose the hearing impaired option, but it's very temporary and usually a simple wipe of the disk fixes the problem. The earlier models seemed to have a heavier and more stable build quality and you won't see this in Denon's line until you get the 3300 and up. I believe the 900 has been replaced with the 910 (same thing exactly) as far as I can tell. If you can find a 900 for under $150, I say go for it! I have a Denon AVR-3802 and will eventually upgrade to it's equal with one of Denon's higher end players.

Similar Products Used: Sony dvp-ns300, Denon-2500(bought off ebay used). Mitsubishi, others.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Boozy McStagger   Casual Listener [Nov 26, 2003]
Strength:

2MB memory buffer Faroujda Progressive scan

Weakness:

subtitle pop-ups slow tray mechanism having to push mode - enter at the beginning of every movie (my wife hasn't remembered to do this yet and I always find her watching that terrible picture everyone is refering to)

I bought this DVD player for the Brand Name Faroujda progressive scanning and the 2MB memory buffer (DVD does not skip when switching layers). I am impressed with these options. When I first played this thing on my Hitachi 65" I was not impressed with the grainy picture especially with the lights turned low. It took me at least 3 months and 8 reads of the manual to figure out the problem. A black light feature to improve picture quality in a well lit room is always on and defaults to on every time you start playing a movie. YOU MUST PRESS MODE AND ENTER BEFORE PLAYING VIDEO to turn this feature off. The picture cleans up and looks fantastic. Yes, the tray takes a while to open, the remote looks cheap and subtitles pop up once every movie but I can live with that for the picture and sound and for the price. (Fix the subtitle thing and the default on the black light and this would be a steal. DENON - please recall.)

Similar Products Used: JVC iterlaced DVD Toshiba progressive scan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Phil   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2003]
Strength:

Size, picture and sound reproduction.

Weakness:

Build quality and durability. If Denon sees itself as a premium brand in the market place then they better look very closely at their products before they decide to offer them to the consumer. My friends $45.00 Apex is 30 months old and he told me that so far not one little thing has gone wrong with it.

I really wasn't interested in a DVD player with a million features but rather a unit with basic features, high quality & durability with great picture & sound. Well I got 3 out of the 5 with my 900 player. Its picture quality and sound reproduction is magnificent. It has all the features I need. But it's built quality seems to cheap to have the Denon name on it and it has now been sent in twice for repair because the player locks up and refuses to let any comands work other than turning it off, while playing DVD's only. It doesn't happen playing CD's for some reason. The ownership experience has not been a pleasant one at all.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic, Sony, Toshiba and Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
gmood1   AudioPhile [Aug 28, 2003]
Strength:

Great rythm for a stock player.Picture seems to improve as I play more movies.

Weakness:

None at this price!

I think the other guys bought lemons.I haven't had any of the problems that have been stated. No noise ,no sub title pop ups.The player has worked flawlessly.I've watched probably 7 movies on it in the last 2 weeks and no problems at all! The sound has opened up even more as it breaks in.I play music on it several hours a day.For the price haven't heard a player that was better.Those dual burr brown dacs are hard to beat! If you look close at the Denon players costing several times more you will find the same audio dacs.Maybe it was a bad batch ..I don't know but I'am glad mine has worked fine.If the picture is bad some of this guys probably need to change cables or just get another TV!

Similar Products Used: Panasonic,Arcam,Quad,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Block   AudioPhile [Aug 18, 2003]
Strength:

OK picture and sound.

Weakness:

-the black level reverts to on whenever you change a disc, if you've set your display with Video Essentials you will want this off 99% of the time - no 3:2 pulldown correction - it only has cheap metal connections on the back, not gold plated ones like the huge majority do in this price range - no slow motion, this is only achieved but hitting the pause button repeatedly - inaccurate bitrate meter(not that important)

I've been trying to replace my Yamaha 900 interlaced DVD player with a progressive scan player. I'm not too concerned with the little toys, I just want a great picture and sound, both on DVD and CD. That's almost impossible to do in this price range. The Denon 900 has decent sound and picture, but that's it. I have it hooked up to my Sony rear projection HD TV via Monster Video 3 component cable, and to my Yamaha RX-Z1 amp with Monster coaxial cable. No analog cables as the DAC's in the amp are far superior to the ones in the player. For speakers I have Energy Veritas 2.4's in the front, Veritas 2.0C for the center, and Pioneer CS-J300's for rears. The audio from this unit in Dolby Digital and DTS is quite good, as well as 24/96 DTS music. The picture is also fairly good, but not as crystal sharp as you will find on other similarily priced units from Marantz or Harmon Kardon. It has the chroma bug quite severily, check out the shower scene in Starship Troopers(Superbit)when they walk in front of the vertical lights. I won't call this a poor unit, but for the money you can do better. I've watched 15 movies on it, and only had the subtitles pop up once. This unit is going back, and the seach will continue.

Similar Products Used: Marantz 4300? Pioneer 333? Yamaha 900 & 920 Panasonic 56? Toshiba 5100 Sony 777
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
mover76   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2003]
Strength:

Good Sound and Picture.

Weakness:

Cheaply made player, subtitles pop-up for no reason at all.

First let me say that I have a 2802 Denon receiver and I love it. However, the DVD-900 hasn't been the best. As others have stated the unpredictable subtitles are annoying. It loads slow and everything that moves on this thing makes to much noise. I have overlooked all of this because I felt for the money the picture and sound couldn't be touch. I have only had the player for a little under six months and today after I pushed the eject button the piece that spins the DVD came out with the tray.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
gmood1   AudioPhile [Aug 04, 2003]
Strength:

Soundstage is wide and tall Images have their own space and air around them Bass is well controlled Seems to handle dynamics passages with no bad effects At the discount price point or retail this player will be hard to beat!

Weakness:

haven't found any yet.

Well I'am very impressed by this players sound quality.I haven't tried the video yet but was told it needs a good 24 hrs of burn in for the best picture.This player uses two high quality burr brown audio dacs which is unheard of at the great price I picked it up for.Compared to single dac players in this price range(and above) it smokes them very easily.The guitar strings sound very real with more depth and separation in the soundstage.Soundstage in my room sounds like it is 7 feet high and 14 ft wide.The largest it has ever sounded!Midrange and bass on this player is as good as some $1500.00 players I have auditioned.Audio is more my concern than picture quality since I listen to music 75 percent of the time.These can be had at a discount since the new 910 model is out.The only difference I could find in the two was the new version is compatible with kodak technology.Other than that this is the same player at a $130.00 discount!This player uses what is considered the best video dac on earth the Faroudia!So as far as I'am concerned video isn't going to get much better!

Similar Products Used: Quad 99 cdp,Panasonic s35 dvd player,Denon 370,460 ,Sony,Cary,Arcam,Rega Planet 2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Langreder   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2003]
Strength:

-looks good on large projection -tremendous sound quality -great performance to cost ratio.

Weakness:

-Subtitle pop ups every now and then...depends on the movie -Limited features..but not all that important -a wee bit grainy for dark scenes

I recently purchased the Denon 900 to replace a Sony DVD I have had for a couple of years now, and I have to say that I was very impressed with the overall picture quality this player has. Hooked up to my 65" Mitsubishi gold plus series, with Monster 3 components, wow! Now for the money it is definately not a top-of-the-line player but it gets the job done. It does tend to get a bit grainy during darker scenes but it still shines. Music also kicks on this player which is a huge bonus. Overall for the money and if you are a budget concious type, then this is a DVD player worth considering.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
markcrx   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2003]
Strength:

Great Picture, Good Sound

Weakness:

What that other person said about the subtitles, very strange...just once in a movie if that.

Let's see I tried the really expensive Denon DVD player the one with the Silicon Graphics Chip, and it had about an 800.00 listing price I believe, and then I tried the 1600 for 400.00 and then I tried this one. I was going to get the 1600, and then this one came out and hey I can save 100.00 in the price and get the same picture, and I can spend the 100.00 and get really good, well nice cables and be happy. It's a great DVD player, all I know is my friend and myself watched about 4 movies on all of the above DVD players, oh yea throw in a toshiba too, and this one at this price point was the best for me...The denon at 800.00 was better but not by 500.00 dollars for my taste.

Similar Products Used: Princeton Graphics OHD Denon 900 Straight Wire Cables.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com