Denon DVD-1000 DVD Players

DVD-1000

Plays CD, DVD, Video CD & CD-R music discs

User Reviews (86)

Showing 1-10 of 86  
Michel   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2003]
Strength:

a 4 MB buffer memory! with the layer changing. Good picture quality!. Easy to use menu and remote!.

Weakness:

Poor sound quality with audio cd's( but that is my meaning!). A whole lot of shaking going on when the disc-draw gloses (open/close)!.CD'R playback works not always.Scharp/harsc CD sound, no bass at all!, but i think that is the typical Denon-sound?. Sometimes the Denon has a problem with (a litle) dirty disc's. I haden't that problem wit a mutch cheaper JVC DVD player!!Mmmmnn.

The Denon DVD1000 is a solid and good looking DVD player. The picture is sharp and clear!.I read about the lipsinc, but i had only uptil now once this problem with a rental movie. I bought this player with the reason to update my Marantz CD600 player, but the sound quality of the Denon DVD1000 isverry harsh! and no dynamics with drumsound at all!. I used a JVC XV521 VD player before the Denon DVD1000, but the audio-sound was mutch better with the JVC what i dident expect!. I now use it only to watch DVD-movies. The positif thing about this Denon DVD1000 is that it has a 4 MB buffer memory!. This is a welcome future, becouse you almost see no iterruption with the layer 1 to layer 2 changing!. Overall a good and hig-end looking piece of equipment what is made in China. The remote controlI is handy and easy to use, no extra buttons that you don't need!. The one screen display shows you what is going on while the Denon is playing it's movie or music-concert. Also the amount of buttons on the player are the one u need to use, nothing more!. like this player!.

Similar Products Used: JVC-XV521 (good player,but went defect!). and NAD-T550 ( NAD looks good, but has a verry heavy BASS-FULL sound!, not my thing).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tarheel_   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 30, 2003]
Strength:

Strong/dynamic audio Vivid colors against RPTV solidly built looks expensive on my shelf Coxial output

Weakness:

Losses some setting if power is interrupted. (very aggravating) Cannot dim display

Player originally had the lip-synch problem. I had Denon correct this problem in less than a week. The audio of this player is fantastic. Very detailed, aggresive and dynamic. Video is no push-over either. Bright and detailed against my 50" RPTV (analog). The DVD player is heavy and feels solidly built. Remote is useable, but team it with a Denon receiver remote and it works flawlessly. Not a perfect player, but the audio is well above average. If power is interrupted, it resets to audio = 'analog' and subtitles = 'ON'. This can be very aggravating because you must go through the menu each time it happens(i have many power glitches). I use Component video cables directly to TV and coxial digital out to my receiver.) TV is Hitachi 50DX10B (analog)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Don Miller   AudioPhile [Jan 11, 2003]
Strength:

Quiet running, and great picture

Weakness:

pausing, Remote could be better. I will do much more research before buying another DVD and I WILL NOT BUY A DENON.

I bought the Denon 1000 DVD as an upgrade to a JVC XV-523 I own. I have not experienced the lip sync problem other buyers have, but I have had repeated problems with certain DVD,S pausing. This was not a disc problem ,but was a dvd player problem according to the dealer and Denon. Imagine holding the remote in your hand and intermittently pushing the pause button over and over (this pausing occurs mostly from midway on the movie to the end). The unit has been back to the dealer three times and the manufactor at least four times, it would play fine for a few weeks then resume pausing which is totally useless if your trying to watch a movie. The dealer I bought the DVD from has been wonderful in dealing with this problem, But I do not know what the outcome will be next week when I take the unit back and ask them to replace it or refund my money (they may not be so wonderful then).

Similar Products Used: JVC, works fine does not pause, cost less.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
x-offender   AudioPhile [Oct 04, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture and sound(for the price). Nice looking low profile unit.

Weakness:

New firmware needed. DVD logo on tray looks cheesy compared too 800 Slightly bright CD playback(not a big deal, expected with most DVD players) Cheap build(thanks to Panasonic?)

I have owned this DVD player for just over a year. My intent was to buy a DVD player good enough to play my CDs. Unfortunately, I could not afford a NAD so Denon was my next logical choice. I found the CD playback very good except that it was slightly bright (loundness compression on my amp seems to make this less noticeable). As for DVDs I immediately noticed the lip sync problem. I had the Eprom upgrade done at my local dealer which fixed the lip sync problem. I also noticed alot of video noise when the screen goes black. This doesn't even happen with a PS2! That said, the 1000 is far superior in picture and audio than the PS2. After one month of moderate use the laser pick-up broke and the unit would only play CDs and unscratched DVDs (after repeated load attempts). I bought a broken one of ebay and swapped the laser units so now I have it working again. I was surprised(and annoyed) to find out this unit is a dressed up Panasonic! Does anyone know what the difference is (better sound? picture?) because I could have bought a Panasonic for much cheaper. I am also curious to the differences in sound (if any) between the 1000 and the new 800. Please email me if you know. To me, the DVD-1000 is not worth the trouble unless you can get one with the Eprom updated firmware and a warranty

Similar Products Used: PS2(better than) NAD(worse than) JVC(better than)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
warren   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 2002]
Strength:

audio is fine as far as im concerned.

Weakness:

remote, absurd skipping.. can't change from analog to pcm without browsing through tv menu

I have been using the dvd 1000 for about 6 months and i have to say that i am unimpressed. first of all, the remote is a joke. i have not noticed any lip sync problems at all, but i do get A LOT of skipping. even on brand new, high quality, dvds. sometimes the dvds are even unplayable. this is absolutely insane. when a disc is unplayable, i throw it in my ps2 and it works fine. imagine how annoying that is. i have had denon products before and have never had a single problem at all. this product is not that sweet, however. i am going to take it back to listen up or send it back to denon.

Similar Products Used: ps2
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
volumnus   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2002]
Strength:

Depth of color, Clarity of Sound, Excellent with VCD's and audio cd's as well as DVD's

Weakness:

I don't think the Denon handles certain DVD's as well as the Toshiba I had. It frequntly pauses for a second or so on a few select discs. It doesn't pause at all on most discs, but on all Ben Stiller movies for instance, which leads me to believe it has something to do with the DVD manufacturer, it displays this pausing tendency.

I bought this DVD player off of Ebay. It was factory refurbished. When it arrived, I was pleasantly surprised because everything was still wrapped in plastic, absolutely mint condition. It was just like new. I have never had any lip sync problems. Maybe that's why it was sent back to the factory to be repaired. Who knows? The picture is better than the Toshiba I was using before. The unit is also much heavier and more elegant looking. I actually paid less for the Denon off Ebay than I paid for the Toshiba at a local Rex store.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 1700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
repticulator   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 12, 2002]
Strength:

great color and clarity. digital sound is awsome.

Weakness:

remote but i use my tv's univeral anyway.

first one i got was a unit that was in the store from the year before. it had the lip sync prob, which the salesman and i both saw. i took home the old one and he ordered another new one (took 2 months to come in from oversees). the color, clarity and sound was great even on the first one. luckily, the new one has no lip sync prob (newer firmware?). since then i got a Toshiba 36" hdtv (36hfx71) and hooked through monster component video cables and toslink optical digital audio cable to my Denon 2801 reciever and Energy C-6 main speakers and Energy take5 surround with sub. Holy Comunga!!! I would rather stay at home and watch this DVD then go to the movies... anyday! Jurasic park 2 sounds like there is thunder in my nieghborhood and just put on Shrek (my son likes it) to see the most striking visual clarity and color of any DVD movie i have ever seen. I have watched it by myself just to look at the scenery. if you a newer unit without lipsync, you have to spend far more to get a better unit. Since my tv converts to progressive, i don't believe i can get a better picture anyway.

Similar Products Used: don't remember, but i liked this one compare to all the others at the store. at least anywhere near the price range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
BUD SWARTZ   AudioPhile [Jun 14, 2002]
Strength:

GOOD SOUND

Weakness:

NEED A RELIABLE DVD SOURCE

I LOVED IT AT FIRST WONT PLAY ANY NEW DVDS WILL SEEM TO PLAY OLDER TWO SIDED DVDS .PLAYS CDS GREAT HANGS UP AND WONT PLAY SOME DVDS IT PLAYED BEFORE

Similar Products Used: PANASONIC YAMAHA
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Woochifer   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality

Weakness:

Gimpy build quality, occasional hiccups with seamless branching discs

After spending more than a year with this player, I think I can now weigh in on this player. The lip sync issue others noted already got corrected with firmware updates by the time I bought my player, but some of the other problems like occasional skipping and with seamless branching discs are still there. The picture quality on this player is excellent. Color saturation is excellent, and the black and white level contrasts are very good. Overall, a nice step up from what you typically get from entry level models. I have no idea how the moron from Kings Beach could say that a PS2 blows this thing away. I OWN a PS2 and there''''s no way the picture quality on that thing can approach what the DVD-1000 delivers. Sounds like a jealous DVD-800 owner to me. Despite the nice picture quality, I do have reservations about the build quality and overall value with this unit. I understand that it uses a Panasonic transport, but the overall feel of this unit is pretty flimsy. Far from the solid build quality I''''ve seen over the years on Denon''''s receivers, CD players, and tape decks. Some other reviews speculate that it''''s because the thing''''s built in China, but the Toshiba that I bought for my parents over the holidays (also built in China) feels a lot more solid than this thing. Given the problems that Denon had with all of their DVD player introductions last year, I''''m not sure if I''''ll go with Denon again when I''''m ready to upgrade. Also, the sound quality output through the digital output is excellent, but I suspect that''''s more a function of the digital processor in the receiver than what the DVD player outputs. With CDs in analog mode, the sound quality is okay, but I still find that a dedicated CD player can do 44.1/16 PCM audio better. On the whole, the DVD-1000 is a mixed bag. It''''s a step above the pack in video performance, but I would not rate it as a good value. And after my experience, I don''''t know if I''''ll go back to Denon the next time.

Similar Products Used: PS2, Toshiba 1700
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Marino Marinkovic   AudioPhile [Mar 11, 2002]
Strength:

Sound. It can''t be compared to CD-player. But for the price it''s very good, considering it''s a DVD-player.

Weakness:

Picture quality. The scan is lousy, and leaves a pulsating pixelated picture. And lipsyncing can be irritating to the degree that you sit and wait for it to go wrong.

This is a DVD that at first seems to be a fantastic bargain when compared to price. Unfortunately it''s not. Gradualy after a while the weaknesses become overly apparent. Over all it has great but not so great picture; and let''s face it: the picture is what is most important on a DVD. Besides: The remote suck ass!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 535 and 555.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 86  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com