Apex Digital AD 500W DVD MP3 Player DVD Players

AD 500W DVD MP3 Player

- Dolby Digital, DTS, PCM out.
- Fast motion forward and backward.
- Slow motion forward and backward.
- Frame by frame slow motion.
- Plays DVD, VCD, SVCD, CD, and MP3.
- Parental lock, zoom, built-in screen saver.
- Multiple language subtitles.
- Programmable playback sequence.
- Multiple angle, plays both NTSC and PAL.

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
Teresa   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2006]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

The remote has a LOT of buttons and gets confusin

Have had this for about two months and I bought it for three bucks at a yard sale. I thought it wouldnt play because it was so dusty and dirty and the flap on the door wasnt present BUT Lo and behold, when I got this baby home, everything worked perfect. Plays dvds, dvdr, dvdrw, mp3s and cd. Plus its region free. I love it very very much. Sound is really good and so is the picture. better than most expensive brands. I like it. I recommend APEX.

Similar Products Used: I have used every single dvd player on the market and this stand up just as good as the others.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
user_RU   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2003]
Strength:

made of steel: I mean it works for everything.

Weakness:

No Optic Output(sound) and no RGB output (projectors) :(

using it over a year, and never! (I repeat: never!) had any problem described in this site in reviews. It plays DVDs well, it recognize any CD (CDR, CDRW even badly written). It plays lots of formats.

Similar Products Used: many. I kept this one.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
creedman69   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2003]
Strength:

Plays Mp3s, Good bang for the buck. Its a great first Dvd player.

Weakness:

The random door opening thing when it gets confused

I bought this before they went down to 50 bucks. Its a cheap DVD player, thats about it. It's Mp3 capabilities are limited, but hey, 50 bucks only goes so far(in my case a little less than 100...) My only true problem is that every once and a while it will get confused, give up, and spit whatever i am trying to play out, usually an MP3 disk. I've got a freind who has the same one and he hasn't had any trouble, although he doesnt use it for Mp3s.

Similar Products Used: emerson... bought then returned... Now that was crap.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Rakkel   Casual Listener [Oct 24, 2003]
Strength:

Simple to use. Plays MP3's. Lots of options on the remote.

Weakness:

Randomly skipping and refusing to show a picture. Kinda bulky/ugly, too.

I saw this advertised in the "Day After Thanksgiving Sale" Wal-Mart ad. So, what did I do? After swearing up and down that anybody who actually went into Wal-Mart on those days was a lunatic, and you would never catch me there, I asked my dad to go with me to get it. It was a DVD player for less than $100! How could I pass that up?! I should have. It skips like a 1999 CD player. It doesn't sit and repeatedly skip, but randomly two words out of someone's sentence on the DVD don't get said. And there's been about two occassions where it decided it didn't want to display anything at all, but it had sound. So, all in all, it was worth the cheap price, for how much I use it, which isn't too much.

Similar Products Used: Does my friend's portable Sony DVD player count? That thing is freakin awesome!
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Robelto Nash   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2003]
Weakness:

to big to fit under my space saver

my problem is the remote control it seems to have gone bad for no reason whatsoever. other than that it works like a charm perfect picture if you can get me a new remote i,ll be most happy.

Similar Products Used: sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Bob   Casual Listener [Aug 11, 2003]
Strength:

Low cost & easy hook-up

Weakness:

Premature failure

Apex AD-500W DVD player. Got it for Christmas and played approx 12 discs until it died in July - no power AT ALL. The opened the unit and replaced the 1 amp fuse on the circuit board, which immediately blew as soon as I plugged it in. I have never had an electronic appliance fail after such a short period and limited usage; I won't be buying another Apex product.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
scott   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2003]

This is the biggest piece of $hit I have ever used as far as a dvd player. I am so discusted with this machine it's sick. When I got it out of the box the thing played good, execpt for the small lagging issue I would have only about two seconds worth, and ony would happen about once a movie. I figured I only paid $100 so I am getting what I paid for. Well one day my inlaw was staying with us and the thing died. No matter what we did it wouldn't turn on. So I figured I would replace it. Three days later out of no where the player turned itself on, and just opened the dvd drive. scared the hell out of my wife, and ever since the player randomly changes something. What I mean by that is it will just start rewinding a dvd, or fastforwarding. Now last night it started stopping at random times, and it does this other thing that says: "Set A to B: A" Or something along those lines. I know it's not the remote, because even the batteries are out of the remote then it still does this. I will never again buy anything this company has to offer. I would take a new version of this dvd player if they paid me. I am going to spread the word through several message boards, and as fast as I can, I am through with this piece! Right now it won't even play the movie "hackers". It gets through about ten seconds, not even to the dvd menu, and it restarts. This word is going to be spread fastter then a virus!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
John Wilkinson   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 17, 2003]
Strength:

Easy to use. Dependable. Plenty of features for the price.

Weakness:

FF and Reverse modes could be quicker.

I have had this player for over a year and use it constantly. I watch 5-10 DVD's per week and use it regularly for cd and mp3 playback and it always performs well. I like it so much that I recently purchased a second used model for my other tv. There were a few minor glitches that have been easily cleared up. It was well worth the price.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD-1700; Panasonic DMR-E30
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jon rudy   Casual Listener [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

Simple to set up and operate. Inexpensive

Weakness:

When are they going to put an RF-output on units for those of us without S-video and plenty of RCA-audio in/outs on a TV

Unit has performed flawlessly since purchase. We watch about 10 DVD's per week and play CD's and MP3's regularly.

Similar Products Used: 1st DVD player owned
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Billy   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2002]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

cheaply made

we have had this dvd player for about 8 months. We our not please with it at all. It will freeze during the movie and will not play some movies at all. I don't think we will be buying another APEX.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com