Grado SR80 On-Ear

Grado SR80 On-Ear 

DESCRIPTION

  • Vented diaphragm
  • Non Resonant air chamber
  • Standard copper voice coil wire
  • Standard copper connecting cord
  • mini plug with 1/4" adaptor

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 132  
    [Aug 11, 2014]
    davidn
    AudioPhile

    Bought this many years back (~10 years) and have been listening to them on and off since. This is what I found over the years.

    Starting with the bad:
    These cans are not for everyone. It is not for DJs or sound desk because they are open and won't block out any noise from outside. The band is very crude - a metal band wrapped with vinyl with little to no padding at all. The band is attached to the cans simply by a metal rod. Foam padding doesn't last very long depending how oily or how much you sweat. Thank God these are easily replaceable. Grado has since changed the pad design and I have them too. They don't improve the sound or comfort at all. Personally, I prefer the old ones. I don't like the cables particularly well either. While thick, the thick part is a "skin" and feels flimsy where cable from each can joins tother and I often fear it will break.

    In short, the design is very crude and out-date especially since there are so many new players in this area nowadays. We now have such as Parrot with organic design and 5 mics built-in...

    The good:
    The sound of these cans is amazing. I have a closed pair of headphones (Share SRH940) and I still go back to these little Grados often because of how sweet, open and engaging the sound is. The price is fantastic for the sound. If you are in a quiet environment, it is a beauty. If you must hear your surrounding, it works well too.

    Contrary to many's opinion, who stated that Grado clamps too hard and are not comfortable. Because of the simple design, you could stretch the band and reduce the clamping force and make it how ever light or firm you like. Can't say the same about a lot of the others which uses plastic and you run the danger of snapping the band in two! I have seen companies that would manufacture custom band/padding to make these cans more comfortable also.

    In addition, these cans are very easy to drive.

    So why 5 stars. These Grados are cheap for the (great) sound they produce compared to product that cost a lot more.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 12, 2009]
    Marcel5
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    - good built quality
    - light weight

    Weakness:

    - uncomfortable
    - too bright
    - swivelling earpads

    I've bought these headphones in the local audio store after reading a lot of raving reviews. After using them daily for 2 months I've decided to sell them because I don't like the sound.

    The foam padding is uncomfortable, after one or two hours your ears really get sore because of the stiff foam edge. I've used them in combination with a modded X-Can V2, the sound is very bright and makes my ears tired.

    The built quality is good, apart from the splitter that divides the audio cord into left and right. When I bought the headphones the cable was already slightly torn at his part, showing the white interior cable.

    Similar Products Used:

    Beyerdynamic DT990
    Sennheiser HD650

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Aug 23, 2008]
    Ed
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Unbelievable balance across all spectrums of music.
    Accurate bass that is not boomy.
    Great detail of music. (you can hear every keystroke on piano music).

    Weakness:

    As many people have mentioned, wearing it over an hour can produce a lot of fatigue on your ears.
    Takes some time to fully break-in the headphones.

    I normally listen to my music on train/bus rides, but I was in bad need of a decent headphone for work use and occasional home use. On the road i use a set of senn cx300's which get the job done, but I really hate to stick a set of IEM's for a whole day at the office. Thats when my hunt for a good set of inexpensive hifi headphones came in.

    After reading many reviews, i had to try the grados. went to a local store here in ny, and plugged up to my ipod. amazing sound. i was convinced and bought it. crystal clarity. you can hear every detail in the singers voice, piano keystrokes, guitar strums. actually, if you plug it up to a radio station and the station has static, you hear ALL the details of the static. thats how fine granularity this set of headphones can pick up. now imagine that was just your normal music.

    bass is clean and muddy as it should be. ive tried on bose triports and it was disgusting how bad they overemphasize faux bass.

    so far, ive burned in the set for around 12 hours, and the headphones are opening nicely producing even more quality sound as these cans break-in.
    not to say that out of the box will produce bad sound, but they do need some sort of break-in period.

    as for comfort, yeah, they can get pretty tiring after a while. im hoping to alleviate that with some of the pad mods that people have been talking about.
    also, as for the design, it looks cheap, but at the same time , really retro (if thats what you like). my wife says these things are hideous, but she loves the sound also.
    a non audiophile will think these are ugggly and cheap. little do they know that there is a concert hall going on in your ears.

    Similar Products Used:

    Bose Triport (yuck)
    Sony mdrv6
    Sennheiser 280
    Sennheiser cx300

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 15, 2008]
    Tom Samarati
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Mid-range sounds almost natural. Foward sounding sound stage.

    Weakness:

    Ergonomically terrible. The fit on my head is tortuous. No matter how I fiddle with the length on the head band, the 'phones are NOT comfortable. The foam ear rings have disintegrated.

    Grado SR-80. I've owned my pair since the late 1980's. I love the sound they produce. I hate to wear them for more than 30 minutes, they are so damn uncomfortable.

    Customer Service

    None ever sued.

    Similar Products Used:

    Sony mdr-6, 1994 vintage still made in Japan back then

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Nov 21, 2007]
    Phil Canard
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Good for the price, but at the low end of the audiophile range.

    Weakness:

    Humped up midbass, lack of deep bass, exaggerated treble. Any good AKG model K301 XTRA, K401 XTRA, K501 would be preferred. SR60 actually has more deep bass, though a bit more muddy.

    Compared SR80 to SR60. Preferred the SR60.

    Customer Service

    Said that lack of deep bass would be resolved with break-in. It never happens. It's a brush-off to get you to get used to the headphones.

    Similar Products Used:

    SR60, SR200, AKG K601

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Nov 21, 2007]
    Phil Canard
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    It has the Grado house sound. Humped up midbass, depressed low bass and slightly hot treble. A good phone for rock music. I prefer the AKG sound now.

    Weakness:

    The sound is a bit in your face. Good excitement for rock music, but a bit tiring after a while.

    Compared the SR80 to SR60. There was a slight difference between the two headphones, but I did not feel the SR80 was better. The SR60 was a better deal.

    Similar Products Used:

    AKG headphones

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    rollingsphere
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    High range of flexibility no matter what your music tastes

    Weakness:

    I think the only downfall to these is the price! But in the end i honestly find them well worth it. It has changed how i listen to music!

    I have the Grado Labs GS1000 and i can attest to these being the best sounding headphones ive ever heard bar none! Whether i am listening to classical music to hard hitting rock these headphones deliver! I am using them with a CMOY type pocket sized amp and they seem to drive them great.

    Customer Service

    Headphones were received within a week.

    Similar Products Used:

    Grado SR80

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 21, 2007]
    bheights
    Casual Listener

    Strength:

    Great sound quality. Good base (in my opinion, despite people saying otherwise).

    Weakness:

    Bulky. Clumsy. Not stylish, you get the picture.

    Can be painful on your ears if they stick out a little (mine do and I can listen comfortably for about an hour).

    You can hear everything that's going on around you, so don't try to use 'em in public places. Incidentally, everyone can also hear what you're listening to, so this also rules out airplanes and trains, in my view.

    I've used a good number of lower end headphones like most everyone else who has owned a walkman and more recently, ipod. I wasn't satisfied with the sound quality and after doing some intense research and trying out a bunch of $100-$200 level headphones I chose the Grados. Now I've been using them for about 3 years and I must say that they truly do change the way you listen to music. Before my Grados I didn't enjoy listening to live albums as much because a great deal of the "background noise" was simply that -- fuzzy noise. With the Grados that noise comes alive. You can hear what people are saying in the audience a lot of the time, and the more subtle aspects of music are brought out quite clearly.

    While these phones are cumbersome and sometimes sit in my desk drawer for months at a time, when they come out I am always struck by how incredible the sound is. With that said, I haven't tried Grado's higher-end phones.

    Bottom line: Great on sound quality, but completely impractical for travel.

    Customer Service

    No experience.

    Similar Products Used:

    Sennheisers (various)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 21, 2007]
    Lucky Phones
    Casual Listener

    Strength:

    Sound quality. Details. Bass (actually quite good, surprisingly).

    Weakness:

    Bulky. Bad for travel. Not stylish. Open, so you can hear everything that's going on in the room. Don't ever try biking with these things, or trying to use them in a noisy environment. Also, everyone can hear what you are listing to. The sound really projects, which I believe is one of the reasons the quality is so good.

    I've used a good number of lower end headphones like most everyone else who has owned a walkman and more recently, ipod. I wasn't satisfied with the sound quality and after doing some intense research and trying out a bunch of $100-$200 level headphones I chose the Grados. Now I've been using them for about 3 years and I must say that they truly do change the way you listen to music. Before my Grados I didn't enjoy listening to live albums as much because a great deal of the "background noise" was simply that -- fuzzy noise. With the Grados that noise comes alive. You can hear what people are saying in the audience a lot of the time, and the more subtle aspects of music are brought out quite clearly.

    While these phones are cumbersome and sometimes sit in my desk drawer for months at a time, when they come out I am always struck by how incredible the sound is. With that said, I haven't tried Grado's higher-end phones.

    Bottom line: Great on sound quality, but completely impractical for travel.

    Customer Service

    Haven't had any experience with them.

    Similar Products Used:

    Sennheisers (various); ipod and sony buds

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 11, 2007]
    dhlt25
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Awsome sound, the best headphone for $100, sound even better than some high end head phone from other companies.

    Weakness:

    the plastic look kind of cheap, doesn't seem to be very durable but I only have it for 1 day so I can't make judgement. The ear bowl can be a little discomfort

    After doing intense research about the best headphone for the money, I tumble across grado labs product. A name that I haven't heard before, but since all the review was overwhelmingly positive, i decided to give it a try and boy it was worth it. I'm not even done with the break in period yet and the sound s already amazing, probably one of the best sound that I've heard from a headphone. I've try many headphone before and own bose qc along with shure in ear and this is even better. The sound is clear, the bass is tight and not weak at all, I can't wait to see how much better it will be after 30 hours. Highly recommended

    Customer Service

    don't know yet but inside the box only said 1 year warranty

    Similar Products Used:

    senheiser hd 280. bose tripod, QC 2,3. and shure in ear

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 132  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com