Sennheiser HD200 Master Studio Monitoring Headphones

HD200 Master Studio Monitoring

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Will J   Casual Listener [Oct 16, 2007]
Strength:

Bass, sound quality vs. price, comfort.

Weakness:

Hot in the sun, bulky, "white noise".

First note***: $130 CAD (Canadian Dollar)

Although I'm not heavy into music technology and cannot tell you what Hz my speakers run at, I know good sound when I hear it. The HD200s deliver a good amount of it at an affordable price (I bought these in Canada). The bass is great, and as I said so is sound quality. You will be able to hear flaws in MP3, AAC, etc., music however you will also pick up on details you may not have previously heard whilst using earbuds, etc. The HD200s are comfortably worn and not too bulky, however they aren't the prettiest phones on the block. The white casing is blinding and frankly annoying as you can sometimes pick up it's glow up in your peripherals -- a black model would do better --. Bass is good however using the HD200s in noisy areas -- such as subways or planes -- there is usually not enough juice to full appreciate your music whilst playing off an iPod, etc. Overall a good pair of phones.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD25... doesn't compare.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Merdalor   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

Cheap Comfortable Booming bass

Weakness:

Slight hiss Sub 400Hz isn''t always as pronounced as it should be Sound stage isn''t really good. Ugly

I bought these when I needed decent cans for nocturnal gaming, though I''ve been using then for almost everything. Since I''ve bought them I''ve been using them even during the day, instead of my speakers. No burn-in is necessary, I haven''t really heard an improvement and I''ve been using them for almost a year now. Though these certainly are NOt the best cans around, coming from earbuds is a huge leap forward. I heard things in songs I never heard before, like breathing, nearly unnoticable samples, and ALL flaws in MP3''s. You simply can''t listen to 128Kbit MP3''s or even 256Kbit Xing encoded ones, you NEED at least 160Kbit Fraunhofer, though the ideal seems to be max quality 64-320Kbit variable bitrate. They produce a booming bass, you can even feel the pressure, however they can also produce a loud humm, muffling the sound completely. This depends on what you''re feeding them. If you already boost bass with an equalizer, you''ll only hear that, so don''t. They can be powered by an MD/Disc/Walkman, though you really shouldn''t be using them that way, they really appreciate an amplifier, and you will too. They produce a slight hiss, which you''ll only hear at high volumes and when listening to silence actually. Sound stage isn''t great, because of the closed-back design, but then again these cans are quite cheap. They are certainly the lightest I''ve ever felt, in the store I thought I was holding the empty box. They are very comfortable and you could be wearing them all day if it weren''t for the... SWEATING!!! They are INCREDIBLY warm, so be sure to drink a lot to avoid dehydratation. Next, the looks. They are really awfull actually, and look extremely cheap. Unfortunately a while ago, the left side starting rattling when trying to produce heavy bass. I could have taken advantage of the warranty, if I just could find that freakin'' peace of paper!!! I''m gonna buy something a bit sturdier now, probably the HD-570, Grado SR-80 or the Panasonic RP HT1000. If you want cheap cans, but also great sound, you won''t be disappointed with these. I''d rate these 5 stars out of 5, but since they failed me after only 1 year I''m going to give them only 4, but don''t let that turn you down.

Similar Products Used: HD-570 (better sound stage), cheap Philips
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Flanger   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2002]
Strength:

pure bass,clear mids and highs,pluggable cord,comfort size.

Weakness:

Maybe a little heavy paddings,white color design.

When I did buy these great headphones I didn''t know excactly what I will get, but for now I''ve tested some other Sennheiser''s headphones (more expensive ones)and I could say - obviously I''ve found what I wanted. These ones have pure and low bass,clear mids & highs, good soundstage.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD570,HD497,cheapo Sony ones
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Linus Lundquist   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2000]
Strength:

Budget Phones really stand out, they rule. Awesome sound/cheap price.

Weakness:

A bit too dry sometimes, they don´t really breed music as good as the 565 ovations for instance. But then you have to put into the picture that the 565 ovations costs triple the price.

When i first listened to them today i noticed a dry,detailed and very accurate soundstage. They are very "right" in hi-fi perspective, and they are very controlled:
Tight, deep bass with good midband and treble.

In comparsion they are certainly not as detailed as the HD565 ovations, and they do not as musical as the ovations, but they are probably more correct and tight.

They simply outbeats anything else for the price.
Very, very very good value for money.
The fit all musical styles since they are very neutral in their sound-perspective. Rockers/Jazzers/Fusioners, everyone.

Great stuff again Sennheiser! / Limp

Similar Products Used: HD565 ovation
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Warrick Lancaster   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2001]
Strength:

Clarity and great sense of space, 3m cord, Price $160AUS is good for a professional piece of equipment, replaceable parts.

Weakness:

none

I haven't listened to a wide variety of headphones but I have been in to Stereo Equipment for a while and these headphones offer an excellent alternative to the Stereo.
I have them hooked up to my computer which has a terratec 1024 xgamer soundcard and the sound is like none I have experienced before. Being a closed back phone it offers total emmersion but a real sense of space is apparent especially in music such as trance. Bang for bucks this set is great, the gamma I tried were a similar price but you don't get the same sense of quality as with the HD200.

Similar Products Used: Gamma
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
roy   Audiophile [May 04, 2001]
Strength:

this headphone is rock they have high voume and the best sound i have heard on sennheiser model

Weakness:

there are no weaknesses

i read the reviews os sennheiser on audio review and i find that sennheiser hd495 got yhe highest rating so i buy them whan i put tham i was very dissapointed there are so waek and the qeulity is not good than i replace the hd495 to the hd200 i got to tell you they are reely the master the volume level of the headphone are awosom they look graet if you like to listen to music in very high volume and in very high qeuilty this model is for you the best of the best.

Similar Products Used: sennheiser hd495
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe K   Audiophile [Dec 19, 2001]
Strength:

Lightweight,Good overall sound,

Weakness:

In humid conditions-you will sweat

The Sennheiser HD 200 is an overall excellent headphone. Its closed design shuts out noise effectively. Living in NYC and going down the street listening to a walkman this is a great advantage. Very lightweight construction a plus. The overall sound is very good. Slightly bright high, good mid, and very good bass for a sennheiser. This particular headphone has a design advantage over many of the other sennheisers I have owned in the past. The extension cord is clipped. Instead of breaking the connection inside the phone when the cord is pulled or wound too tightly-n it unclips. This headphone should last a long time. The one disadvantage is the closed design will make your ears sweat in humid or hot conditions.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser, Sony, Koss(many years ago)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jooseppi Erikeke   Casual Listener [Dec 27, 2000]
Strength:

eri hyvät o

Weakness:

ei oo löytäny viel mittään

nää o kyl iha jeess luurit meikä voi suositella näitä

Similar Products Used: hd 500, hd 570 irstumyykkö-tg34
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matthew Garner   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

Deep bass, detailed and exciting sound.

Weakness:

Nothing at this price

These headphones blew me away on first listen. They are exciting and detailed to listen to with deep bass and an overall punchy sound. Ideal for DJs and just about anyone else. Also, very little noise leakage and very insensitive to ambient noise.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD445
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Koen Lageveen   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2000]
Strength:

Detailed sound, good deep bass.

Weakness:

eerrr, perhaps the more expensive headphones are even better?

The deep bass to high treble range give a clear, detailed sound. And because of the closed back, you won't be disturbed by any outside noises,which, IMO is a good thing.
The cord is plugged into the headphone, so the connection won't be damaged that easily, and if it does, just replace the cord!
I've used some headphones with a response of 20-20000Hz, but to really enjoy the deep sounds of the drums and bassguitars, you need something better then that, like the hd-200.
A good priced product, which also has a great sound.

Similar Products Used: senheiser rd4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com