Bang & Olufsen A8 Earbuds

A8

The A8 earphones are crafted from anodised aluminium and hard rubber giving them both flexibility and robust durability. Designed for durability, the A8's can be adjusted to fit the contours and curves of the individual ear. This ensures that regardless of whether you're relaxing, walking or jogging, they always sit comfortably, and firmly, in place.

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
rtdx100   AudioPhile [Nov 13, 2012]

Recently bought aan Ibasso DX100 which is a perfect match with Bang & Olufsen A8.
I also have Denon d7000 and shure SE310 but the A8 sounds best with the dx100.
Nice balanced audiophile sound for a low price. The d7000 costs 5 times as much and does not sound as good as the A8 with portable audio devices.
The A8 is very comfortable to wear. I use it for many hours when making long flights.
Before i bought the ibasso DX100 I used it with an ipod classic (wav files only) and a headamp pico amplifier which sounds nice but not as good as the ibasso dx100.
Most of the earphone i tested where not in balance, to much bass, to crispy or agressive highs. The A8 is nicely in balance, very open soundstage, good bass (not overdone but also not thin, just right) and nice open mids and highs.
I use it even more than the d7000.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gabriel   AudioPhile [Oct 12, 2012]

These are incredible, crystal clear, smooth and warm sounding , these are like hearing a stockfisch recording on my Martin Logan's through a Mcintosh amp. Hands down better then anything out there that's less then 400 bucks. the only thing I don't like is the cord.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
JW   AudioPhile [Dec 10, 2011]

If you bought this A8 from Ebay... used, new, from china/japan/korea/hongkong/singapore whatever, then sorry your A8 is FAKE. I can assure you 150%.

The ONLY way you can buy a genuine A8 is from B&O outlet , apple store, or airline dutyfree shop.

That's the only bad thing about this earphones. SO MANY FAKES.

Other than that... this is one of the best in-ear 'phone you can buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Csacred   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2011]

I'm sure listening to compressed MP3 files on an ipod will limit the A8's performance. I listen to uncompressed Flac files on a Hifiman HM-601 portable player and what a combo! I am very impressed. These sound better than my $450 in ear monitors. It's a matter of match... and personal sound preference.
With the A8, the sound is so much more natural. The entire spectrum sounds coherent without feeling flat or boring. This combo is lively, fast and dynamic with excellent bass. Perhaps not the deepest bass but strong, full and accurate. Well, when correctly fitted as it does take some tweaking to get used to the optimal position. If poorly inserted, the bass will be thin to non-existent. It took me a few days to get used to the adjustment but it's worth it.
Beware of the fake A8, so many out there, they do not sound the same at all. The authentic A8 are very VERY good earphones. I always thought they were way too expensive until I heard them in the right conditions. Highly recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   AudioPhile [Mar 24, 2010]

FIRST, let me say this out loud.

BEWARE of Chinese Counterfeits - Any A8's on Ebay, Anything that costs less than $150 new anywhere, anything from CHina, Hongkong or anywhere in the vincinity of SE asia, are ALL FAKE. B&O A8's are NOT CHEAP. Only genuine B&O A8's are sold in B&O retail stores, Apple stores, various airline duty free shop... NEVER on EBAY.

I made my share of mistake by buying $70 'new' A8's on Ebay from HongKong. I thought HongKong is China but not really china because of free market shopping capital of the world etc... No. Mine too was a fake. Terribly made fake. It looked wrong.. It sounded terrible. If I didn't know there were sooooo many fake A8's on the market and the one I bought on Ebay was a fake.... I would have concluded that all the people posting rave reviews on Audioreview.com were stupid people who's got no idea what a good sounding earphones are like.

Boy I was wrong.

The set I bought on the American Airline's in-flight These earphones, are definitely different than the CHINESE Fakes... After several weeks of wear-in, it puts out wonderfully balanced sound. Well it is what it is and you are not going to get the thumping bass you'd get from a 40mm drivers..... but you get nice extending highs, very detailed mids, and bass that are not bad for such a small drivers.

Goes together extremely nicely with my iPhone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
don Juan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2008]
Strength:

crstal clear, beautiful state of the art design, small compact, flexable to the ear adjustment.

Weakness:

Bass is not great however, not other size speakers for earphones but still delivers great mid-ranges and precise clarity.

B&O leads the audio/video industry with innovative technology products so it's no surprise to me that they would make an outstanding products such as the a8, the design is sleek and classy and the sound that pumps out of these tiny little speakers is mind blowing crystal clear and clean, yes its a bit pricey but why compromise your hearing to garbage your ears deserve the best sound that can be delivered,B&O hit this one out of the park.

Customer Service

no problems.

Similar Products Used: bose, no comparison.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick   AudioPhile [Jun 27, 2008]
Strength:

- Excellent Tonal Clarity
- Fits in iPhone with simple modifications
- Relatively inexpensive for the quality
- Comfortable
- Free pads from the B&O Store when you need them
- Well built
- Carrying case + extension cable are nice additions

Weakness:

- A bit lacking in bass (not really a problem though, it makes them sound very clear and open)

First off, I would like to point out that I am a 15-year-old audiophile. We're a rare breed, but we do exist. It drives me crazy when people listen to their iPods using only one earbud, especially when that earbud is white and apple-branded. Anyway, these earphones are probably the best I have used. I have tried models from Grado, Shure, Audio-Technica, and Yuin, none of which even compare to the clarity of the B&O's. I also have the Form 2's, which do sound a bit better, but are much more cumbersome and are best left alone in my studio

Customer Service

Excellent! They really stand behind their product!

Similar Products Used: Yuin PK1+PK2
Grado SR60,SR80
The entire AKG line
Shure e4c
Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi
B&O Form 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick   AudioPhile [Jun 27, 2008]
Strength:

- Excellent Tonal Clarity
- Fits in iPhone with simple modifications
- Relatively inexpensive for the quality
- Comfortable
- Free pads from the B&O Store when you need them
- Well built
- Carrying case + extension cable are nice additions

Weakness:

- A bit lacking in bass (not really a problem though, it makes them sound very clear and open)

First off, I would like to point out that I am a 15-year-old audiophile. We're a rare breed, but we do exist. It drives me crazy when people listen to their iPods using only one earbud, especially when that earbud is white and apple-branded. Anyway, these earphones are probably the best I have used. I have tried models from Grado, Shure, Audio-Technica, and Yuin, none of which even compare to the clarity of the B&O's. I also have the Form 2's, which do sound a bit better, but are much more cumbersome and are best left alone in my studio

Customer Service

Excellent! They really stand behind their product!

Similar Products Used: Yuin PK1+PK2
Grado SR60,SR80
The entire AKG line
Shure e4c
Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi
B&O Form 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LAZARDAN   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2008]
Strength:

INCREDIBLE SOUND,MODERN DESIGHN,GREAT PRICE CONSIDRING ANYTHING CLOSE IS AROUND £200/250.

Weakness:

NONE AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED

I HAVE NEVER CONSIDERED MYSELF AN AUDIOPHILE,HOWEVER I KNOW WHAT I LIKE,AFTER TRYING EVERYTHING FROM SHURE TO V MODA AND ETYMOTICS FOR AROUND THE 100 QIUD MARK THEY WERE JUST OK,A FRIEND PUT ME ONTO b&O A8S.WOW WOW WOW,THE HIGHS ARE FAB,MID RANGE AND TONE FAB AGAIN,IF YOUR A BASS HEAD DONT BOTHER ALTHOUGH I THINK THE BASS IS BRILLIANT. STRUCTURLY AMAZEING,THERE ARE PEOPLE OUT THERE WHO WILL SAY JUST A NAME,WRONG WRONG AND WRONG AGAIN.MADE IN DENMARK! FIT OVER THE EAR AND AS ALL THE PARTS MOVE YOU CAN PLACE THEM DIRECTLY ON THE EAR,THIS ALLOWS AIR AND SOUND TO MIX AND THEREFORE GIVE YOU THAT INCREDIBLE SOUND.

Customer Service

PROBABLY GREAT ,HAVE NOT NEEDED TO USE .

Similar Products Used: UE PRO 3, ETYMOTIC 6, DENON 700S,V MODA AND ON AND ON AND ON
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kristina   AudioPhile [Jan 03, 2008]
Strength:

If you are uncomfortable with in-ear head phones, these might be the choice for you.

Weakness:

Sound quality, price, and (for an active person) fit.

I am constantly listening to my Ipod and was excited to get this pair of headphones from such a high end company as Bang & Olufsen. However, I found these headphones to be disappointing. The sound quality was inferior to my previous pair of 30$ Skullcandy headphones purchased at Target. The difference was mostly in base. Despite B&O's attempts to make a good fitting head set, the head phones would come loose when I tried to jog with them. The Skullcandy headphones, on the other hand, came with three different size rubber attachments to fit in any ear size snuggly. I can jog and ski and do just about anything in these with comfort and superior sound- and for a fraction of the cost!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com