Philips CDR770 CD Recorders/Players

CDR770

Replacement for CDR760

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
sailorboy010   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 03, 2009]

Can anyone tell me HOW to record an audio Cd FROM a cassette player?

I have a MARANTZ cassette player and all the connections are OK but when I press record the CDR 770 stops after 20 seconds and I see then >. update < and the 770 stops.

WHAT do I do wrong? I want to make copies TO a valid CD, FROM old cassette tapes.

please help me and email me to: e.boswinkel34@chello.nl

THANKS! in advance!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
avole   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2003]
Strength:

Perfect digital recordings. Playback isn't great, but out of curiosity I fed the Philips through my DAC. It sounded much better than my expensive Rega (Sony transport) - Philips transports really are that good.

Weakness:

As before - bass boost on analog recordings, slow transport. Not great on playback.

This is an update of my original review. After nearly two years of use, and having now burned over half of my LP collection, this unit is still working perfectly. Yes, I agree, it isn't really ideal for analogue sources since you have to record track by track, but quality is pretty good - and there's no tape hiss. As with all CD recorders, the media you use does make a difference. Stick to high end brands and there won't be a problem, but try some supermarket specials n results become iffy, which translates as discs don't record. This isn't a Philips phenomenon - I work in the computer industry, and have long since learnt that cheap cds = no usable copies.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
angus   AudioPhile [Sep 06, 2002]

The philips cdr 770 is a single tray unit with many features you would expect to find on more expensive recorders. You can control recording level and balance of analog and digital sources. The unit records in HQ-CD (20 bit), or regular 16 bit when copying a normal cd. It uses a 1 bit codec with 20 bit reading quality analog conversion. It has coaxial digital in/out, optical in, and analog in/out rca connections, and includes the coxial and analog cables. It has a remote. The quality of the recordings is very good, although I am still biased towards high-speed reel to reel and phonograph. I use it for demo recordings with a microphone. The SCMS copy protection has never been a problem. My analog (microphone) recordings are multi-generation copyable. I cannot speak for copies of CD's, since I only use the unit for original material.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
avole   AudioPhile [Mar 17, 2002]
Strength:

Perfect CD copies

Weakness:

Slight bass boost on analog recordings, slow transport

Ignore what the magazines say: unless someone''s deliberately set out to do otherwise, digital recordings are going to sound the same from one manufacturer to another. Its a fact of digital life. Unsurprisingly, then, the Philips CDR 770 produces perfect duplicates of CDs. The challenge is how it handles analogue, because I bought this machine to record my LPs, not CDs. I''d have to say that recording separate tracks is a pain, but then, at least a Cd recorder can do this, whereas the old fashioned cassette can''t. Otherwise, it''s all up to the sound quality, and that, together with playback quality, is how I''ve rated this machine. Firstly recording, and the bad news first: compared to the source, the Philips adds some bass. Not enough to be a problem, but enough to be noticeable. Given that this (unless you have better than a Linn Sondek)is a failing of many turntables, it''s not so bad, especially since everything else is recorded faithfully. On the plus side, the Philips manages to capture the immediacy of the records, and that''s no mean feat. It''s a pleasure to hear the realistic decay of the LP, compared to what the average CD hands out. As to playback, well, don''t bother. Like most other recorders, playback is a weakness, and it''s exacerbated by the slow transport mechanism. Out of curiosity I fed the Philips into my resident DAC, and it produced top class results, possibly better than those of my resident CD player. Obviously, then, there''s no problem with quality of the transport, which is what you''d expect for one used in so many top flight players, but it''s realisation is too slow here. Overall, I''m more than happy with the results, and was convinced enough to splash out on a top range cartridge to do the recordings justice. If you only want to record CDs, look no further. If you want to record your LPs, then this machine will do the job, with the only caveat being that bass boost. Incidentally, I had none of the problems described in other reviews.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
rocker   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2002]
Strength:

Price. Easy to use. Uses CD-R''s & CD-RW''s

Weakness:

Evidently fussy about brands of CD-R''s it likes.

I couldn''t resist this for $99 (floor/demo unit with full warranty). I bought the cheapest music CD-R''s in Wal-Mart and found that the 770 would record on some and not recognize or initialize others all from the same pack. The ones that did record would not playback on my Panasonic portable, or even the CDR-770. I almost returned the recorder but decided to try another brand of CD-R''s. I tried Sony 80 minute music discs and they have worked flawlessly and playback on all CD players I have. This is my first CD-R recorder and I am really pleased so far.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Von Ehman   Casual Listener [Jan 30, 2002]
Strength:

When the machine is in working order, it will perform almost flawlessly.

Weakness:

The manual is confusing and is technically not accurate. Manual adding of track increments during analog dubbing is a real pain.

After reading several of the reviews on the Philips CDR 770 I just wanted to offer some advice to all who own this machine. My unit had all of the problems as stated in the products reviews. It got so bad I wanted to fill it full of cherry bombs and M80s and blow it up. Instead, I calmed down. I called Philips. I sent the unit in for repair. They replaced the CDR Drive and installed new software. Philips paid for all the repairs and shipping. I got the unit back in little over a week. It has worked perfectly ever since. I recieved two letters from Philips afterwards asking about the service I received and how the unit was working. I don't really know just how good a machine the CDR 770 is, but I can tell you that Philips stands behind their product 100%. Advice: Keep the unit clean, use a lens cleaner often. Don't use the machine cold, let it warm up a while. Use the digital connections. Never pay list for any Audio CDR Recorder, they are all way over priced.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Jerry Gracia   Casual Listener [Sep 01, 2000]
Strength:

Flawless recordings when worikng properly.

Weakness:

Cheap looking build quality.

Oh boy...where to start.

The PHILIPS CDR770 was the very first CD recordable deck I ever purchased. Ofcourse, it worked great for the first few weeks...then it started coasterizing CD-R discs. Upon completing recordings, right before initializing the "finalization" process, the recorder would freeze-up...no buttons on the recorder would respond...the only way out of this was to turn the player OFF then back ON again. Doing this would restart the player displaying the message "DISC RECOVER" followed by a "DISC ERROR" message. The disc is rendered a coaster at this point.

This would happen in about 1 in every 4 recording sessions with various brand blank CD-R media.

I exchanged the unit THREE times with each player exhibiting the same exact problem.

It goes without saying that I was not very happy with PHILIP'S CDR-770 decks, at all.

I currently own the PIONEER PDR-509 CD recorder, but I'm having a whole new problem with that player as well. I reviewed the player here at Audio Review explaining, in some detail, the problems I've had with it.

It is currently at an authorized PIONEER service center.

I'm not having any good experiences with consumer CD recorder decks so far.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer PDR 509
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Kyle   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2000]
Strength:

Relatively inexpensive, easy to use

Weakness:

Can put added noise on recordings

This is my first CD recorder. Overall, I guess I'm pleased with it. I haven't yet experienced any major glitches. However, there are some disturbing problems with this unit that are apparently the result of a faulty design. I have noticed that when recording from analog sources noise generated from the display circuit leaks into audio circuits. I admit that it is faint and likely won't be noticed at all on most pop music. However, I have been able to hear it on quiet passages on classical recordings. The odd thing is, this noise is more pronounced when the record level is set below 0 decibels. But once you turn it down to -20db or lower the noise is pretty much inaudible. Using some sort of external means to control the level going into the analog inputs may be advisable with this machine.

The other problem occurs while making digital recordings. Again, if your recording nothing but loud pop music, you may never be bothered by it. I'm not sure why, but these machines have a tendency to put a pop or click sound about 3 or 4 seconds into your dub when you record individual tracks from a CD. It doesn't do it every time, but often enough to be considered a problem. I have been unable to establish why this problem doesn't show up every time "record track" is used. This noise has also turned up in the "manual" record mode. I have found, though, that you can work around this by starting the source CD about 4 seconds after the record button is pressed. If your willing to make this compromise (and switch off the Auto Track function), you will be able to consistently make noise-free recordings using the manual mode.

One might say that for $400 you shouldn't have to work around such design flaws. You may be right. It's up to you. Keep in mind, I haven't used any other brand of CD recorder.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Uwe   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2001]
Strength:

price, good digital copies

Weakness:

cheap-looking, quiet slow when loading a disc, poor quality analogue sources

I rented this machine just to figure out how good or bad CD - recording is. I wasn´t too enthusiastic after three month renting time, had nearly all of the problems described in the other reviews. But then the company made an offer to buy it that I could not refuse. So I got it.
And actually it works really fine for copying CDs digitally.
Problems with freezing, not-finishing a CD or adding click-sounds were solved by replacing the cheap original digital-coax-cable with a decent one. Never had any of this problems since that.

Similar Products Used: first CDR -recorder
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
graham tiffany   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 25, 2001]
Strength:

brilliant recording sounds the same as an original
records from cd-cd vinyl-cd tape-cd

Weakness:

Non Its totaly awsume

well first of all i think its a brilliant piece of audio
and it never crashes on me always finnishes a cd.

its plane to see that all the other people who have made bad reviews about it is because they don't no how to use the bloody thing!....i bet they can't even record a cd on to tape there that dum!
they probebley put the wires in rong or just prested the STOP button!
and to the pearson that said it doesn't take any discs any more is probebley because u used the rong disks DIGITAL AUDIO one's only remember thicko! not pc one's



good value for money and awsume recordings

Similar Products Used: first one
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com