Marantz DR-6000 CD Recorders/Players

DR-6000

single tray cd recorder 24 bit A/D converter

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
jvshort   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2004]
Strength:

Copies equal to original. User-friendliness. Ease of use with analogue sources. Astonishing sound as a player.

Weakness:

Works with "audio only" blanks only. Reliability (went wrong after two years' use, cost € 160 to repair)

(This review may be useful for those searching for a second-hand recorder,as it seems the model has been discontinued). Excellent recorder. It makes exact copies from digital sources (CD), as long as you don't use poor quality blank CDR-CDRWs. Very user-friendly once you get used to it. I've done a lot of recording from analogue sources too (mainly vinyl) and I must say it's a real pleasure (I advise you to keep your LPs as clean as possible!) The DR 6000 is also astonishing as a player. I sometimes alternate it with my NAD CD player. A shame, though, that it is not as reliable as its brand and price suggest. After only two years use (non-intensive), the recorder went wrong (it wouldn't recognise any disc), and it cost € 160 to put right. To sum up: if you are searching for a good (second-hand) cd recorder, that makes exact copies and plays fine, this is it. If you are looking for new material, the Tascam professional machine could be a good alternative at the price. A last advice: even if you have a built-in cd burner in your computer, as I have, consider having a hi-fi cd recorder like this one, for quality as well as practical reasons.

Similar Products Used: Plex Writer computer cd burner. NAD 524i CD player.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
  Audio Enthusiast [Jun 17, 2003]
Strength:

High-quality of recordings and playback

Weakness:

Totally unreliable. Service and support from Marantz abysmally poo

Sonically, this is a first-rate product as a recorder and especially as a CD player in its own right. Using the best music CD-Rs, such as TDK, copies of CDs are indistinguishable from the originals and if at all they sound better in that they lose some of the tension/ringing/glaring of these latter. On playback of commercially recorded discs, the sound is smooth and sweet, dynamic, open and detailed, with very good imaging, soundstage width and depth. Bass has slam and transients are reproduced with plenty of snap. It gives a pretty good account of itself with high-resolution equipment, like Conrad-Johnson tube preamps and amps. Unfortunately, my experience has shown this model to be totally unreliable. The refurbished unit I bought would not accept remote-control commands. The authorized repair shop could not fix it and it had to go back to Marantz. After FOUR months they sent me another refurbished machine as replacement, which immediately proved to be defective. It took another TWO months for Marantz to finally send me a new unit as replacement. It worked fine until today, when it stopped recording CDs after the first few tracks, updating the disc in such a way as to make it unusable. It keeps doing that on all recording modes. The one-year warranty on refurbished unit (3 years on new ones) has expired and now I'm stuck with a machine that I can use only for playback. I hope that at least it continues to perform as player for some time to come. After three tries, it seems a reasonable conclusion that there's something wrong with the design of this product, at least as a recorder. So be forewarned...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jcampos   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2003]
Strength:

** Precise Imaging ** HDAMs (Previously available only in flagship Marantz components ** No listener's fatigue ** Outstanding Player and Recorder

Weakness:

- None -

I purchased the DR 6000 as a CD Recorder and also as a CD Player after some pain-staking research. All of the previous review sum it up - this player/recorder is a bargain. For those not familiar with Marantz product, this player includes High Definition Amplifier Modules. These modules are used instead of cheaper Op Amps on the pre-out stage to give music greater detail, depth, and more air in between instruments. Unfortunately Marantz no longer includes these somewhat costly additions in there Home Theater line up, that is why I decided to purchase a component from there previous line. The sound difference is without a doubt noticable - I would even say night and day! I'm currently using this player/recorder with a Parasound P/HP 850 Preamp and a pair of Marantz MA 6100 THX Ultra 125w Monoblocks. The combination is a complete and utter success with precise imaging, a soundstage with depth, and does not fatigue the listner even after a couple of hours of hardcore listening! I would recommend using the best interconnects you can afford with this player if you're not running a digital output. I would recommend this player/recorder to anyone!

Similar Products Used: Onkyo CD Burner Harmon/Kardon Burner Sony DVP7700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kurt28   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2002]
Strength:

Made in JAPAN! Music is cleaner, tighter, sharper than a $200 DVD player.

Weakness:

Bass not quite loud enough, but it's there.

I was actually looking for the latest Marantz CD6000 cd player, but no one carried them,finally went to one dealer but had the DR6000 instead and was offered at a price that was a steal. Hooked it up to my Marantz receiver and immediately the sounds were fresher and the voices fuller. This is a great player! Haven't tested the recording yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darragh Sinnott   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 09, 2002]
Strength:

It's a classy CD recorder that can also shoulder up with dedicated CD players.

Weakness:

A bit over-priced if you just want to record CD's. Otherwise, it can't be faulted.

IMHO I guess the good points have already been covered in earlier reviews, and I agree with them, it's a superior product. As a recorder I can't fault it when you take the viewpoint that making CD copies is the goal and I would be a liar to say I could tell the difference between the original CD and the copy made by this machine. As a player, it's a little bit harsh compared to the likes of the Marantz CD6000KI (in my case), though I suppose it's not a fair comparison, and by way of mitigation I should say, for what it's worth, that the difference between it and my previous dedicated player, (Marantz CD6000OSE LE), is not as obvious. On the other hand, I did notice that the tray mechanism was quite a bit less sophisticated compared to the KI or the OSE LE, and also that the CDR/CDR-RW disk finalising time is indeed slower compared a more recent CDR unit that I've used. However that's nothing I can't live with. (IMHO) If you want a good CD player that can also record, then I don't know of any better that this.

Similar Products Used: MARANTZ CD6000OSE LE MARANTZ CD6000KI PIONEER PDRW839
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Denniz   AudioPhile [Oct 30, 2002]
Strength:

Sound. Build. Looks.

Weakness:

Sudden recordings not as fast as cassette recorder.

Good value for the money. Copies are excellent, especially via the electrical digital cable. Just one minor issue: it's not a fast operator (compared to an old cassette recorder). If you want to record something you suddenly hear on the radio, it will take about 10 seconds before the recording starts. First you have to select "Rec Type" (displays for 10 seconds: "Wait"), until "Press Record" appears. Then the recording starts.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
victor cubi   AudioPhile [Feb 21, 2002]
Strength:

quality of playback sound, and recordings nearly as the original.

Weakness:

It can produce a little of auditive fatigue.

I wanted to buy a good recording machine, and, at the same time to optimice my actual CD (Denon DCD 1550-R)and all I have to say is that anyone interested in this machine can buy it with confidence. It has a beautiful sound and is perfect as a recording. Better in black than in gold plated (I don´t know why, but the sound is softer & warmer)

Similar Products Used: None. Only PC´s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
victor cubi   AudioPhile [Feb 21, 2002]
Strength:

quality of playback sound, and recordings nearly as the original.

Weakness:

It can produce a little of auditive fatigue.

I wanted to buy a good recording machine, and, at the same time to optimice my actual CD (Denon DCD 1550-R)and all I have to say is that anyone interested in this machine can buy it with confidence. It has a beautiful sound and is perfect as a recording. Better in black than in gold plated (I don´t know why, but the sound is softer & warmer)

Similar Products Used: None. Only PC´s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
barri   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2002]
Strength:

good sound

Weakness:

2 machines gone down i wonder what next one will refuse to do

initial thoughts on using cdr 6000 very good.but after 1 month machine packed in.enter replacment this one refused to finalize sony discs. no prob use another brand.works fine, but now willnot play various pre rec cds.wait rep

Similar Products Used: traxdata
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2001]
Strength:

* Excellent recording quality on some CDR
* Easy to use

Weakness:

Very poor coax cable is supplied for a recorder of this price/quality

Second best recorder after the Yamaha CDR 1000 (no longer available in Belgium since December 2000). The Yamaha was so good they replaced it by a lesser god, the dual tray CDR-D651 at a smaller price. So second choice in the international polls was this Marantz DR 6000.
A perfect, easy to use machine in combination with my cd player Marantz CD 6000 OSE. As a player, this recorder is beaten by the 6000 OSE, but than again you don’t buy a recorder for playback.
I used 3 brands of CDR’s: Fuji, BASF and TDK. Problem with Fuji was that the recorder didn’t agree to finalize its work. So: bye bye Fuji! BASF worked OK, but the sound reproduced on my player showed an uplifting of high and middle tones and weakening in bass registers. So: bye bye BASF! Last one to be tried out was the TDK CDR. Copy identical as original. Perfect! I bought a ten pack of TDK CDR xG for audio 74 min. And did a great job. A few weeks ago, I bought a five pack of the same brand and guess what appeared after using these: a minor difference with the original concerning soundstage, high and bass. The boxes of these CDR were also engraved with a code, one way to recognise them!
TDK: could it be that there are differences in quality between the five- and the tenpacks? Anyway, I prefer only using the tenpacks since.
The remote control is big and nice to watch, but I don’t use it. Being anyhow always in front of this deck when starting and finalising, it’s far easier to follow up the instructions showed on the display. I always record in “manual” position, not synchronised, so I adjust the DB-level – 1DB. This because original recordings most of the time never come out of the red led’s peaks.
The coax cable supplied with the recorder is a real joke! (It’s the only wire you need to connect the recorder to your player). At this price, wasn’t it possible for Marantz to deliver a decent cable?? At the shop where I purchased my recorder, I bought at the same time a solid cable for about 45 $.
This recorder is really outstanding once you have found out for yourself, which CDR works best. If you buy one, take your time to test different brands of CDR and compare them with the original. This piece of equipment pays itself back in a short time. Recording has become easier than with a tape deck, and you get equal quality to the original.
By the way: only trust your own ears!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com