Roksan Caspian CD Players

Roksan Caspian CD Players 

DESCRIPTION

cd transport/dac combo

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Nov 14, 2014]
Vladimir
AudioPhile

Well, I'll try to be as much objective at this review. Caspian is bought as SH product, hoping to achieve at least the same sound that is offered Arcam Alpha 7SE. Before I was buy Caspain I was bought and sold more CD Play’s: Arcam Alpha 7se, Arcam Diva 72T , Musical Fidelity A3.2, Audio Aero Prima 192/94. What could Caspain expressed as a winner in the previous competition?
First of all ... in all essential characteristics was the best component (with one exception-soundstage), and as I shall rated as follows:

1. Treble - extremely precise, grain-free, gentle and unobtrusive ... with the conclusion of a light and pleasant to listen to (there is Caspian in the first place, and the only one who could be close to the Arcam Diva 72T. Musical Fidelity has not sufficiently defined details and overall high his exaggerated, but with the wrong selected interconnection cables is not playable)

2. Mid-tones - moderate, slightly pulled back, with the intention that a pullout treble to come to the fore (there is Caspian in the first place, and the only one who could be close to the Musical Fidelitiy A3.2. Arcam Diva is here wasted - shades drawn down beyond recognition melodies)

3. Low tones and bass - Powerful and full of exactly defined (balanced)

4. Vocals - Extremely natural, full circulation, more realistic to the extent that you can hear the breaths singers. Beautiful!

5. Instrumental - string instruments, playback can be heard buzzing wire to the smallest detail, wind instruments, playback can hear the air flow through the tubes...

6. Classical music - of extremely, but Caspian is the player with whom I enjoys listening to classical music. On every CD I've listened to classical music is given a color, taste and smell ... simply delights!

7. Sound-stage - good, has a width and depth, but the depth is greater than the width (there is only Arcam Diva T72 surpassed Caspain, but the fact in Section 2, cannot cope with Caspian)

The construction is good and robust. No front buttons to stand by, and there is no on remote. Someone that doesn't matter, I do mind. Reader (laser), the most sensitive of all the players I have given in the competition, so I'm certain some number of CDs have to be replaced. But that should be replaced and I would half the CD, considering the joy and happiness that gives me listening Caspain. In summary, the CD will stay long, long time on my shelves and give me moments of relaxation and joy of listening of the music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2007]
rsmcphee
AudioPhile

Strength:

Open midrange, bass and smooth highs. HIGI PERFORMANCE FOR THE MONEY

Weakness:

Looks a little plain.

This player is wonderful. I have had the Simaudio Supernova, Rega Jupiter, Musical Fidelity A5 and Shanling CDT100. This unit is no Simaudio in sound quality but it is very good and there is value to be had for $1900. I do not miss my Musical Fidelity and my Supernova for 1/2 the price so go figure.

The midrange is open on the player. The singers voice are natural and full bodied. The highs are smooth and the bass are tight. I think for the money no other player including the new Rega Appollo can compete with the sound of this unit. I was amaze specially after it broke in things opened up and the player sounded warmer.

Overall, highly recommended

Customer Service

WONDERFUL

Similar Products Used:

SIMAUDIO, KRELL, SHANLING, REGA, MUSICAL FIDELITY

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2002]
grggie
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Vocal presence, timbre, separation, and can jump from the lowest ( very deep ) lows , to extreme highs with very good dynamics and transparency.

Weakness:

Wish I had a good turntable, yet this can sound analog on good recordings.

Very, very good sounding from top to bottom. 5 magazines have written up some very explanatory reviews. One said it is a gifted player that is well worth it's asking price. I find the sound to be quite satisfying, but I only listen to very good quality cds, because it is not fair to throw evrything at a cd player, because there are a lot of bad recordings that sound too digital ( superficial ), and the sound from them can make any player sound terrible.

Similar Products Used:

Sony XA 7ES, 777esd, Nakamichi, and a couple of other low end players.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2002]
gads
AudioPhile

Strength:

see above

Weakness:

see above

A funny blend of soft and warm lows, with bright crisp highs. Mids are rather good and lush, very natural. Complexed material can end in a blured presentation, thou cool jazz and eazy rock sound goog here. Soundstaging is fairly wide, not so as deep.

Similar Products Used:

many

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 04, 2002]
grayg
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good with vocal presence, rich, with excellent bass, etc. Also soundstage is wonderful.

Weakness:

Like all cd players, you need a good cd, yet some of the reviews say this player can play most cd's well.

Very nice sounding cd player. I had to read all the reviews, and then play with a couple of cd's. Up came Diana Krall, and I have to agree that this is a gifted player. The whole room was filled with her vocal presence, and I did not feel that digital turn off. I have only had this for a while, but so far I have to agree with one of the reviews, that it is a gifted player. Bass is very, very good, with depth, and weight.

Similar Products Used:

Sony 707esd, xa7es, Nakamichi, and various lower end. Also a reference Levinson.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 10, 2002]
asterix
AudioPhile

Strength:

As mentioned earlier: sounstage / smoothness / bass and of course looks!

Weakness:

lack the top end sparkle,liveliness.

quick review: it is a very good player with all the fundamentals needed to have great sonics. the one thing I wanted to share is that I thought that roksan in trying to make this player non aggressive /non fatiguing resulted in a lack of spark with the top end,as being too polite. This was really missing for me and instead of looking for another cdp I decided to investigate with a cheap tweak by buying a older basic tube D.A.C the CAL sigma I. Inserted a 5751 ge blackplate tube and magic happened! really. the combination of the roksan strenth (soundstage/bass/details)coupled with the magic of a little tube sparks for top end frequencies is an unbelievable combination!I had too share. If you can give it a try then do so,this is my experience and I listen to high end analogue too with my interspace TT and I have to admit sometimes I do enjoy the digital more over my TT on the right recordings..(never thought I would say that!) :) thxs for reading. T.

Similar Products Used:

plenty from B.A.T,SONY,N.E.W and more.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 08, 2002]
omer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Smooth sound, you''''ll think twice about whether you''''re listening to a cd, build quality, cosmetics.

Weakness:

price point could be the only factor

I''''m going to keep this review short and sweet. I''''m speechless. It sounds as close to analog as you''''re going to get for the $. It has a very cool flip down front panel that reveals/concelas the disc tray. It''''s built like a tank. It''''s not black. Listen to it. Be prepared to buy it. 4 stars because of price. 5 stars overall - it IS better than I imagined.

Similar Products Used:

Roksan Kandy, Sony SACD, AMC (all of them), Jolida tube cd players, Mid-fi stuff from Pioneer, Onkyo, Deno, etc, Marantz (please), etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 22, 2000]
Neil Crowley
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Heavy, build quality, styling, musicality

Weakness:

Very sensitive-can skip

This unit is replacing an older EAD CD-1000. When I first hooked it up the sound was different but at first listen I couldn't tell right away if it was better. After A-B'ing the 2 players and settling in for some extended listening I gained some insight into the difference I was hearing. At first there seemed to be more detail from the EAD, as it had a brighter presentation of high frequencies. The Roksan, on the other hand, had a more relaxed top end but sounded truer to the music. I realized there were artifacts showing up from the EAD that produced a sheen to the music. With no comparison it just sounded like more detail than the Roksan. The Roksan, however, actually has more detail but without the top end glare. So much kinder on the ears and conducive to longer listening.

My wife got control of the Roksan and wouldn't give it back. She said it was good to go through her music collection and listen again with the improved sound.

Both CD players were initially played through a Creek 4330R. I did enjoy the Caspian CD palyer so much that I bought the Caspian integrated amplifier as well. What a pair! The music presentation is so pleasant and non-fatiguing that I have been spending lots of time planted in the sweet-spot listening to music. Very musical indeed!

This is a heavy unit. The materials and build quality are exemplary. And it's stylish. I have always had "black box" components and thought nothing of it. The Roksan Caspian series looks great and enhances the decor of the room. I didn't think the aesthetics of the equipment was important but I do enjoy having a great looking stereo. Definetely a factor in spouse acceptance.

I like the soft green glow of the display, especially with the lights low or off. I perceive it as more artsy & soothing rather than being the ultimate hi-tech statement. I prefer this to a big, busy display that lasers into my eyes when I'm trying to relax with the lights dim or off. My opinion for what it's worth.

On the down side, my player is critical of scratched or dirty discs-they will skip. The first time it happened I thought the player was broken and called the shop where I bought it(www.generubinaudio.com Gene Rubin is a great guy to do business with). Gene suggested cleaning the unit before considering repair as he has experience with other CD players doing the same thing when in need of cleaning. I cleaned the CD and skipping stopped. Hasn't really been a problem. Skips once every 2-3 weeks. I just clean the CD, or if it's scratched, replay that section. I think, from what I've heard, that this may be specific to my individual player. I had to write that up but it's so infrequent as to be a non-event.

In summary, the CD player is a pleasure to own and use. It's all there: Truth & correctness in timber, tone, texture & detail. Soundstage has some real dimension, non-fatiguing sound & musicality! I'm happy with my purchase and would line up to buy it again.

Similar Products Used:

EAD CD-1000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 07, 2000]
menachem toren
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

quality, sound, soundstage, reputation

Weakness:

display

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS CD PLAYER
USED WITH THE ROKSAN AMP AND THEY WORK VERY WELL TOGETHER
VERY GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY I PAID!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2000]
Galen Valentine
Audiophile

Strength:

Soundstage and imaging

Weakness:

Can occasionally hear the CD spinning

Let me first say, any review of electronic equipment should be taken with a certain amount of skepticism. Components that sound outstanding in my system may not in yours. Having said that, I'm including a list of associated equipment at the end of this review. Reviews are helpful in narrowing a large list of choices.

I probably should have waited to write this review since I've only had the unit two weeks. But the improvement over my previous digital front-end is too marvelous to remain silent. The Roksan Caspian replaced an MSB Link DAC/McCormack CD Drive transport combination. While the MSB is one the best values in DACs it was no competition for the Roksan in my system. Having listened to the MSB for over a year I must disagree with the reviewer who felt the Roksan sounded like the MSB with a cheap Harmon changer. One thing that always bothered me was its lack of depth. The Roksan worked wonders in this area. But, not alone. I upgraded the power cord to a Marigo Audio Labs Resolution. It still isn't the ultimate in depth; but then I doubt I could afford it even if it existed. Instruments (especially strings and piano) sound more natural than with the MSB. Occasionally the extreme highs e.g. the triangle, sound, not bright, but a little forward. Classical music is my primary focus but I also listen to pop, rock, some jazz, world music, and new age. It is difficult to build a system capable of playing all of these genres with equal aplomb at any price let alone one that is affordable. I believe the Roksan a good component in this regard. Over the past two weeks it has played everything I threw at it with control and musicality. At no time did I feel that I made a wrong choice. In fact, I kept listening to the music rather than the sound. Entire CDs would finish when I had intended to critically listen to only one track.

Any criticisms? Well, yes. I am annoyed with the cheap looking display. You would think that a $1700 CD Player would have a better looking display. Every once in a while I can hear the CD spinning. I also wish it had HDCD decoding. Am I nitpicking? Probably.

Associate Equipment:

Roksan Caspian CD Player
Sony S300 DVD Player
Technics SHAC300 Dolby Digital Processor
Rotel RSP980 A/V Preamp
B&K Components AV6000II Power Amp
Paradigm Reference Studio 60 Loudspeakers
Hsu Research VTF-2 Active Subwoofer
Signet SLC50 Center Channel
Atlantic Research Surrounds
Custom bi-wire speaker cable
Kimber 4PR speaker cable
Stealth Silver interconnects
Custom interconnects
AudioQuest Topaz interconnects
Stealth HAC power cord
AudioQuest power cord
Marigo Audio Labs Resolution power cord
Sonic Horizon Hurricane Power Strip
Michael Green Designs Five-Shelf Justarack
various homebrew tweaks

It is always difficult to give numeric ratings. I give it a four value rating because competition is fierce in the $1200 - $2000 price range e.g. Musical Fidelity X-Ray. Overall rating, again I give it a four. With the Marigo Audio Labs Resolution and a Sonic Horizons Hurricane power strip helping out its overall rating, in my system, is a five.

Similar Products Used:

Sony DVD Player, MSB Link/McCormack Transport Combo, Sony multi-disc

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com