BetterCables Silver Serpent Reference Component Video Video/Digital Cables

Silver Serpent Reference Component Video

- Larger 18 AWG Solid Copper Center Conductors - 400 MHz Bandwidth

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
Chris Johnson   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2000]
Strength:

Picture quality,build quality.

Weakness:

None.

Whilst I can not compare this with other component video cables,the improvement in picture quality over composite video is excellent.I decided to purchase BetterCables after reading the reviews on this website and I have not been disappointed.The quality of the cable and the service I received means that all my equipment will be connected by BetterCables.

Similar Products Used: None:first component video cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Cohan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent picture quality, solid construction, looks awesome

Weakness:

none

I had previously been using the Monster Cable 3 component video cable to attach my DVD player to my Toshiba TW65G80 65" widescreen. I used the intro screen from "The Nutty Professor" as a reference. I examined the picture carefully and then swapped the Monster Cable for the BetterCable Ultra. I could immediately see a difference. The picture was brighter and the colors were more intense. This cable is definitely worth buying for the improvement in the video quality you will see, especially since it is less expensive than others in its class.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable 3 2 meter component video cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2000]
Strength:

AWESOME PICTURE!, high quality, good price!

Weakness:

NONE!!!

I bought a custom length of this cable 15 feet, took only a short time to get it in the mail... I used it to hook up my Toshiba 6200 progressive scan DVD to my SONY KV-36XBR400 HiScan TV... The picture & Quality are just awesome!!! I would highly recomend BetterCables to everyone!

Similar Products Used: Monster Brand
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Gordon   Casual Listener [Jun 02, 2001]
Strength:

Picture quality improvement, customer service

Weakness:

none

Cables are very well made, conveniently bound together.
Picture quality has improved incredibly over DVD players's included cables.
Brad, the president of bettercables actually corresponded briefly with me to answer some of my newbie questions. Very nice guy to deal with. Great warranty on the cables as well (not that it looks like I'll need to use it).

After some poor experiences with other companies, it's a pleasure to do business with a company that is both professional, and delivers a great product.
I'll be using these guys again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Ron Boster   Audio Enthusiast [May 28, 2000]
Strength:

Less noise and great build quality

Weakness:

None

Originally, I purchased the high end Monster Cable component product. It wasn't long enough and couldn't replace it in the correct length....so I kept it until my Bettercable showed up. When it did...I did a A/B comparison. Boy, I could tell the difference. I used the intro scene for Cruelle in live action 101 Dal. A lot of noise and shimmering in that scene with the MC product. Much less with BC (for less money).

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sone   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2000]
Strength:

Quality of build, intimidating looks. Great price!

Weakness:

None to be found

Price is for 2 meters. No comparison with the monster s-video cables I used to run. These made the picture quality of my dvds look so much better. Razor sharp images with good color. Why spend more money for something less? I'd recommend these cables to anyone. They have an awesome return policy if you don't like it. I'm definately keeping mine!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gilbert   Audiophile [Apr 15, 2000]
Strength:

solidly constructed, Excellent terminations, beautiful looking cable, Incredible performance!

Weakness:

Absolutely none

I had been using the Precision Video Cable for about 2 months when I noticed that bettercables.com now offered an Ultra series Component Video Cable. I was so pleased with the performance of the Precision that I decided to upgrade to the new Ultra series which now offered Larger 18 AWG Solid Copper Center Conductors and 400 MHz Bandwidth. When the Ultra Cable arrived, the first thing I noticed was the sheer size of it. I thought the Precision was big, but laying both sets on the floor next to each other showed that the Ultra was twice the size of the Precision. Both sets are top notch performers. The Ultra Component Video Cables will handle anything requiring huge Video bandwith transfer with the lowest attenuation possible. This cables are future proof and will ensure that I am getting the best video signal transfer no matter what DVD's I drive them with now or in the future!

Similar Products Used: Better Cables Precision Component Video Cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Bird   Audiophile [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent build quality, outstanding value

Weakness:

None

This is the best value video cable I have come across. While there are a few with slightly better image quality, they come so at 4 times the price. Long runs bring an even greater value.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest YIQ-4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Cunningham   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Top notch build quality
Excellent picture reproduction

Weakness:

Heavy, but it's so well built, I guess that's the price you pay :)

When I received the cable via UPS and took it out of the box, I was amazed at how well built it is. It truly is a quality product. I hooked it up to my 36" Sony Wega and my Onkyo SD-535 DVD player, the picture quality is second to none. I would highly recommend this cable if you can deal with spending $100 for a cable :)

Similar Products Used: Monster S-Video
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
andy erickson   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2001]
Strength:

design, build, picture quality

Weakness:

none

i've seen the picture quality with the use of many different brands of component cables and i found that the best picture quality was from the bettercables. other cables still had some color bleeding that you could notice on higher end tv's but with bettercables you can see no color bleeding on the most high end tv's on the market. they have a competitive price range for the quality you get compared to other cables like moster cables. the specs speek for themselves, but just seeing the picture quality is enough to make you want to pick up these cables for your component video sources. i highly recommend these cables to anyone who has a component video source with a component video tv. you won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: monster, acoustic research, titan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com