Wire World Solstice III Speaker Cables

Solstice III

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
AffordableAudio   AudioPhile [Oct 31, 2002]
Strength:

Great cable for the money. Nice but not awesome imaging and soundsatge.

Weakness:

At the price, none really. Not a "world beater", but can't ask much more from a cable at the price paid!

I wanted to update my previous review. I like the Wireworld Solstice III's, they are great wires for the PRICE. Price of course being the key word. There is a point of diminishing return on speaker cables and interconnects. At the price I paid for the Solstice III's, they really have no equals. However, they do not compare to the open, airy sound of say a Nordost Super Flatline MkII, or a JPS Ultraconductor Bi-wire. The Solsice III's were better than cheap "stock" cables in many ways. First, the soundstage opened up, next, details that were not retrievable before, came to be heard. The also were much quiet than "stock" cables. The one complaint, if you can call it that, I have about these cables is there lack of stable imaging in my system. Don't get me wrong, they image far better than cheap Radio Shack cable, but the imaging isn't as stable as I would like (Hey, what do you want for 20.00 a meter?-lol) All in all, I recommend you check these out if your looking for a good entry level cable or are upgrading from the "included cables" that came with your system. My system is made up of- Amp. P.S. Audio 100C (125 Watts per channel). Pre-Amp. P.S. Audio 4.5. C.D. Player. Nakamichi CD4 and Kyocera 610. Speakers. Snell Acoustics E-II's. Cassette Deck. NAD 6100. Tuner. Sansui TU-S7.

Similar Products Used: Nordost, AudioQuest, Kimber, etc...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
PaulM   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2001]
Strength:

Very passive cables; low noise

Weakness:

The PVC cover is very pliable and makes the lettering look slopy

This is another of those products that you wonder why the world isn't clamoring to WW's door. It's very good and for under $30.00, it's a steal.

It doesn't stand out or clobber the $100 DHLabs or ZuCable types, but it will improve 99% of the systems out there.

A college student can give up beer for a week and afford a pair.

They sound very neutral, a little soft and very pleasing. You should A/B them with Kimber PBJs to see how different improving a sytem can be.

Audience: Anyone who listens to music.

Caveat: They, like the DHLabs, have a substantial break-in period.

Similar Products Used: DHLabs, Goertz, XLO ER, Kimber PBJ
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Hand   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2000]
Strength:

great sound for the money

Weakness:

cant complain for 20 a meter

not as good as my encores, but at 20 bucks a meter for ics who can complain. use them for my dish, vcr, and tuner. nice sounding for the money.

Similar Products Used: straight wire encore
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Noel   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2001]
Strength:

better than oem

Weakness:

a bit bright

I don't know what the big deal is with all the previous post below.

C'mon! Single best upgrade to any system???!

Don't get me wrong. This is a good cable. But it is what it is. A $15 cable.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Kirk Stanley   Audiophile [Nov 07, 2001]
Strength:

At this Price EVERYTHING!!!

Weakness:

At this Price nothing!!!

This is a review of not only the Solstice III Interconeects, but the Solstice III Bi-Wire Speaker Cable as well. I have owned the interconnects for the past eight months now and have been very pleased with their performance. I then added the Solstice III Bi-Wires and WOW!!. I have heard detail and dynamics that I haven't ever heard with my system. The soundstage is MUCH WIDER than I have ever heard. My KEF Cresta III's came alive. The Lows, mids and highs are now more detailed and "in focus". I am not an easy one to sway, but for a mere $114.99 for 12ft Bi-Wired speaker cable, this is THE ONE to have (with all due respect to TARA Labs!-lol). Do yourself a favor and audition a pair of these wires as soon as you can, BUT PLEASE don't be like a few of the "all knowing critics" on this site. Most of those who "bad mouth" these wires, have owned the wires for a short period of time, or don't own them at all!!

My System: (not the most expensive, but a very accurate system none the less).
NAD 7100 Monitor Series Receiver
NAD 2400 Monitor Series Amp.
NAD 5325 CD Player
NAD 6100 Cassette Deck
Denon DR-M30HX Cassette Deck
PSB Stratus Bronze Speakers
KEF Cresta III Speakers

Similar Products Used: Too many to list, and all overpriced!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe Delizio   Audiophile [Mar 03, 2001]
Strength:

Wonderful sound reproduction. Neutral sound stage, great imaging, ideal separation of mids, lows, and highs.

Weakness:

Not exactly top of the line, but for the price, it delivers cream of the crop.

Wow. Who knew $60 could get you so much cable? Before trying the Solstice IIIs, I had to shell out close to $400 to find a cable that provides this quality! WireWorld delivers again!

Similar Products Used: Monster Z series, Kimber PBJ
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cary   Audiophile [Feb 02, 2001]
Strength:

Smoother sounding than cheap Monster Cable; Excellent price for build quality.

Let me preface this by saying I am not a big believer in cables improving sound quality. I believe that all cables if designed properly should sound the same. The only time prior to this that I have hear cables sound better was moving from the 25 cent per foot Monster Cable 16/2 UL listed THX cable to Kimber 4PR speaker cable. There was an improvement in sound, the monster being very brittle sounding. By the same token when I needed a longer run of speaker cables I figured that I would spend the extra while getting the longer cables and went from Kimber 4PR to 4VS, what many consider to be a big improvement, I heard no change between the two.

Anyways, concerning the Solictice cables. I have been running Monster Interlink 300 cables from my D/A to my pre-amp and A/R reference cables from my pre-amp to my amp. I was also using monster interlink 100s throught the tape loop to run an outboard Carver Sonic Holigram Generator. I saw the solicites on Audio Advisor for half price at 15 for a half meter and 20 for a meter pair. Given my hodpodge of cables I decided that for an investment of $120 for the whole system it would be worth having 1) matching cable & 2) nice short 1/2 meter cables that don't drape around like the 1 meter cables do.

I am stunned at the improvement in sound. The solictices made a huge improvement in the sound quality. The improvement was similar to that of updrading a D/A converter. The midrange became much more liquid and the highs lost some harshness they had. I had always believed that it was the pre-amp that caused this midrange roughness, but apperently not.

The real question becomes, is it the cables that sound better or am I imagining it. As I don't really believe in proper cables affecting sound I am inclined to believe it is the cables. Assuming I am correct, it is likely, as I have seen in other reviews that the Monster Cables just suck!!! I am inclined to believe this as the quality of the connectors and the cable on the Interlink 100's are not very good, even for 15 dollar cables. The Wireworlds are much better made. Am I going to try $100/meter cables in my system. NO!!! But I am going to order some more of these cables for my living room system.

In short, if you need some cables buy these. I don't believe you will find anything else at this price range that touches them. They sound good, and at $15-20 per internconnect you can upgrade your whole system for under $100.

Associated Equiptment:

Pioneer 525 DVD/CD Transport
Audio Alchemy DDE 1.0 D/A converter
Adcom GTP-500II pre/amp
Hafler DH-220 amplifier
Magnepan SMGa Speakers
Velodyne F1000 Subwoofer

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable Interlink 100 & 300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gifford   an Audiophile [Aug 18, 1999]

Great product, I've never been much of believer in the differences people claim to hear in cables, until now, a friend who deals them just sold all of his expensive cardas cable and now swears by wireworld. I had my system hooked up using vampire and esoteric interconnects and wireworld speaker wire. Wanting to make my cables uniform I and considering the low price of the solstice interconnect I purchased two half meters and a one meter. I didn't really think that I would hear much of a difference. I was wrong I can now hear things in my music that I never noticed. The biggest improvement I hear is the highs are more open and transparent there seems to be more air in it. They do have a nasty smell to them though

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2001]
Strength:

PRICE!!! Nice construction.

Weakness:

None for the money.

I have used many different interconnects and speaker wires from manufactures such as AudioQuest, Tara Labs, Vampire, Straight Wire, and even "cheapies" such as the Radio Shack "Gold Series". Considering my very revealing stereo system (Martin Logan SL-3 speakers, Aragon 4004 MkII amp, and Melos MA-210B preamp), I am yet to make a wire change that made me think "Oh my god, everything is so much better now!". However, I can state without any hesitation that these are the best under $30 interconnects I have ever purchased. Will the sound "set the world on fire"? No, but you will be amazed at the quality of this $15 interconnect.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Curtis   Audiophile [Apr 26, 2001]
Strength:

Extremely Detailed Midrange, Nothing More.

Weakness:

No bass AT ALL, seriously! and rolled off highs too! The Thinnest Sounding Cable I Have Ever Listened To In My Entire Life.

I auditioned two 2 meter runs of the Wireworld Solstice III interconnects yesterday, connecting my CD to Pre and Pre to Amp. I have been using MIT cables for the past 4 months, and was desperately trying to discover what was wrong with my system. Well, it was the MIT cables. Anyway, I borrowed 2 pair of the Solstice III, hooked them up, and WOW! What a Difference! It sounded EVEN WORSE! These WW cables had absolutely no base to them, what so ever. The vocals sounded boxy, tin can like, and nasaly. The only redeeming quality they had was their detail in the midrange. Yes, I could hear every little thing in the music, now that the "pesky" low frequency was out of the way. There is one thing to do with these cables, next to hanging yourself with them for spending $40 a pair, and that's for home theater. They would be great for runs from a Digital 5.1 Preamp to a 5 channel amp, as long as you're using a subwoofer to create that "pesky" low frequency stuff. Just set your front speakers to "small" in the Preamp menu, and let the subwoofer handle every last bit of bass. As for my system, it's a 2 channel 66% tube outfit (the CD player isn't tubed), and typically creates a wealth of warm, rich, detailed bass, with most other cable that is. Don't buy these cables for full range signal transfer, because they just can't do it.

Similar Products Used: MIT, Straightwire, Monster Cable
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com