Supra Ply 3.4 Speaker Cables

Ply 3.4

Simplistic fat conductors’ rising impedance (due to L) of +6dB/octave is further raised by internal eddy currents causing ’Skin effect’, like ’the square root of inductance’, adding. +3dB/oct, to the L-reactance slope. For typical cable runs, nett inductivity is such that performance in heavy plain conductors is measurably affected with steady signals just above 1kHz.

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
jim   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2016]

Very soft and cloudy sound. Very bad performance with lead vocals that sound very cloudy and laid back. You will not hear a thing the singer is saying. The second big problem is with the bad stereo image. The two speakers have not a good balance. Do not buy this speaker cable. You can find much better.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Vince Parkin   AudioPhile [May 31, 2013]

I've tried various cables in my second system - Ixos, Telluim Q, QED XT400 and a few others to boot, but this Supra Ply 3.4s is the best. I've got some pretty expensive speaker cable in my main system and I've tried it in my second system and the Supra can still hold it's head high. At the price of £9 a metre it's stonking value for the performance you get and mine has only been for a couple of days, so it's only going to get better. Apart from my main system cable the bass, mids and treble are all superb and unbelievable at low volume listening at night. At low levels it loses nothing except volume and at normal levels the bass is lovely and meaty whilst remaining tight as a fishes backside. The mids are lovely and clear with excellant natural timbre, and female voices are superb. The treble is nice and extended without ever sounding forced or overbright, with lovely detail. My second system is not cheap but this Supra really does it justice and rewards all the hard work I've put into it over the years. Buy with confidence as I really do think that Supra has got a bit of a giant killer here. ps, I very rarely review gear, so it goes to show highly I rate it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dash141   AudioPhile [Oct 07, 2012]

My system has been sounding quite bright and tiring especially over long listening hours. I was about to replace my amplifier until someone advised me to try those Supra PLY 3.4. Boy what a difference it made. My system sound amazingly good and full of life. I am hearing details thinking its coming from next door!!! Bass is still present and tighter than before. The funny thing is that the cable still need to burn-in which will be even better in a few weeks. Silver plated copper can sound very harsh over metal dome tweeters which was my issue, thanks to Supra PLY 3.4 that issue is now history and I can start digging my old record and enjoying my hard earned system. My amp is def to stay NOW!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gie Thijs   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2011]

I was one of these sceptics who looked rather contemptuously on high end discussions as to the quality of cables and interlinks. When I upgraded to a Myryad amplifier and JMLab Profile 918 speakers, I got the opportunity to link my gear with these Supra cables and, heavens, what a difference in sound. Until recently I used standard 2.5mm cobra cable (copper), but the Supra got the music really singing. The main gain was in the upper register (the Supra Ply 3.4 was even a bit less forward with the deep basses) - the stereo spread and the presence of the musicians improved siginificantly !
After playing my stero gear for some weeks, this sound picture improved even more. A short test (I reconnected the standard cables for a day or two) made the Supra cable stand out even more.
Cables do make a difference (although it can't always be measured !) , and this one brought music really to life. You need'nt look further to cables which cost ten times as much ! This one does a hell of a job.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nelson   AudioPhile [Dec 30, 2010]

Ihave Supra Ply 3.4 speaker calbes and I like it. They are much beter ahan many many expensive cable overall.
Sound is accurate and musical.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
August Karlstrom   AudioPhile [Sep 18, 2010]

This cable did not work very well in my system (see below).

This is a review of the screened version: Supra Ply 3.4/S. I have tried the cable both with and without the screen being attatched to ground but I have not been able to hear a difference. The sound with this cable in my system is big and soft with a sound stage that is both wide and deep. It also sounds a bit like the sound is embedded in cotton and definition of and space between instruments is a bit lacking. The presentation also sounds a bit "processed" and acoustic instruments are not reproduced with the right naturalness. Some speed and attack is missing as well. My main objection, however, is the rolled off treble making it sound like a blanket was put on high-hats and cymbals.

These are my impressions of what the cable sounds like in my system. If you have a system which is on the bright or aggressive side of neutral this cable may very well be the solution. It is also my experience that some combinations of loudspeakers and amplifiers are not as loudspeaker cable sensitive as my system seems to be.

The cable I am using now is Kimber 8PR (terminated with Kimbers own banana plugs). This cable works very well in my system.


-My setup-

Source: Mac Mini
DAC: Benchmark DAC1 USB
Interconnect: Van den Hul D-102 III
Integrated amplifier: Creek Destiny
Loudspeakers: Amphion Helium II

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Milos   AudioPhile [Jul 16, 2009]

I bought this cables 2 months ago in order to replace TNT Triple T DYI cables. Supra cables were used as bi wiring combination (4 x 2 m).
Burn in for these cables lasted for about 5 days on amplifier Sugden A21a series 2 with Genesis 8200f speakers.
In cmparison to Triple T, there was more definition through the whole spectrum. But the very subtile details were not there. It seems like this cables prefer rock or any similar music more than classical. The sound became a bit dark and not natural. It seems for me that these cables are maybe OK for overbright systems.
In comaprison to pure silver DYI cables borrowed from my friend, Supra PLY 3.4S does not have any advantage and is far far away in terms of any aspect of sound (even bas response was significantly better, even though that silver cables have only 0.8 mm diameter!).
Please take this description only as my experience with the system mentioned.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
dharmasteve   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2007]
Strength:

Musicality. Completely free from harshness yet totally involving. Can listen for hours compared to qed silver. Well made.

Weakness:

Cable quite thick, the light blue colour not aesthetically pleasing to look at.

Price approximately £8 per metre
I was sometimes using qed silver anniversary between my mf x-80 amp, qnd quad 11l speakers and sometimes ixos xhs-706. Both 5* What Hifi winners they were both excellent. The cheaper ixos giving a little more air and spaciousness, the qed slightly richer but less detailed sound. The Ixos slightly better in my system. Reading many extremely good reviews on the internet for the shielded version (connect the shield to the amp ground screw or to the negative speaker terminal), of supra ply 3.4 and aware it was made by a Swedish specialist company in house I saw a good price at cablesdirect2u I decided to get an early Christmas present.

I know there are many out there who believe that speaker cables make no difference except for factors of loudness. This stuns me. I don't feel gullible or a fantasizer. The difference this cable makes is enormous. Sheer clarity and separation exudes from the speakers, yet stays absolutely musically involving. There is absolutely no harshness yet the top end is succinct alive and amazingly musically defined. Bass is equally as good. Fast with well defined edges. Midrange involving. Vocal heaven. I've never had a chance to hear the most expensive cables but these will not be far behind whatever the price. I am extremely satisfied with the sound of my sytem and can rest for some time in the pleasure of my sounds. Every day the cable seems to open out and 'ripen' a little more. Brilliant stuff!

Similar Products Used: QED Silver Anniversary. Ixos gamma 706.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ren Fransson   AudioPhile [Jun 05, 2006]
Strength:

A real bargain for the price.Very good even for high level systems.

Weakness:

At the begining, the first listening sessions seems destabilizing because our ears are not used to hear the truth.But is it really a weakness of the cable?

The Supra Ply 3.4 (non-shielded version) is a great revelation for me.The cable I have tried just before,the Real Cable BM 250 using silver plated on copper,seems like a high-pass filter procuring an artificial and coloured sound.The Supra cable protects the integrity of the musical signal,giving a very natural sound with excellent transparency.Neutral,balanced,with a panoramic soundstage and an extented bandwidth,it lets a pleasant impression of absence of any distortion.The instruments sound like in the reality of concert,keeping their harmonics,giving an excellent sounding contrast,an important quality for the lisibility of big orchestras,with a great respect of the recordings.In fact,I rediscover my records.The Tommy Jenving's theory is right.Thank you Mr.Jenving!

Customer Service

The price is in €.

Similar Products Used: Qed,Real Cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
René Fransson   AudioPhile [Jun 04, 2006]
Strength:

A bargain for the price.Can be recommeded even for high level systems.

Weakness:

At the begining,during the first listening sessions,it's destabilizing : in fact,our ears are not used to hear the truth.Is it really a weakness of the cable?

This cable is a great revelation for me.The cable I have tried just before,Real Cable BM 250 using silver plated on copper,behave like a high-pass filter procuring an artificial and coloured sound.With Supra Ply 3.4,our ears simply hear the truth : it protects the integrity of the musical signal,giving a very natural sound with excellent transparency.Neutral and balanced,it lets a pleasant impression of absence of any distortion with a great respect of the recordings.Good detailed with an excellent bandwidth and very goog soundstage,the instruments sound like the reality of concert.In fact,I rediscover my records.The theory of Tommy Jenving is absolutly right.Thank you Mr.Jenving!

Customer Service

The price is in €.

Similar Products Used: Qed,Real Cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com