QED QNECT 2 Speaker Cables

QNECT 2

Interconnect

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
lesovers   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2007]
Strength:

Great cable with solid brass connectors

Weakness:

The original connectors do not suit this cable

The product out the box is a nice sounding cable.

Summarising:
1. Highs lack all the detail they should have.
2. Mid range is nice and sweet (too smooth for my liking)
3. Bass is thin but is well detailed
4. Overall the response is leaning toward bright

I fell the problem with this interconnect is not the cable but the connectors.
If you pull the connectors off the cable the gold part of the connector is very light weight (not great metal)

I replaced them with solid brass type and the difference is amazing. Almost all the problems have disappeared and in particular the bass is now so well defined and deep. The mids are not as sweet and much more natural.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mogs   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2005]
Strength:

build, detail, high frequencies

Weakness:

major burn in required, bass, does not bring out the best in the music i listen to, price

Nice sounding cable that has its moments but overall is nothing that exciting. The high frequencies are nicely detailed but the bass is disappointing as it doesnt go that deep. If you listen to dance/rock/roots like I do then this is not the cable for you as the cables timing makes it sound muddled that doesnt work well for music with a heavy beat... it gets frustrating sometimes! If you want an amazing cable at a good price go for the black rhodium rhythm, I brought it after reading the reviews below and Iam am amazed. I would say the qed2 was probably designed for classical music weres theres not much deep bass, the beat is not so important and detail is critical. So if classical music is your thing go for it.

Similar Products Used: black rhodium rhythm + ecosse the conductor
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Tindersticks   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2002]
Strength:

built quality.

Weakness:

quite a few when compared to Sonic Link.

Ever since I replaced the Qed Qunex 2 with the Sonic Link "Whishper" (now called Black Rhodim "Rhythm") cables which I purchased from an online hi-fi store last week, I keep asking myself how on earth could I put up with the Qed's for so long........Price Paid: USD50.00 for 1.5 meter.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest , Monster, Tara Lab, Ultra Link, Chord Company, Sonic Link.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Archenemy   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

Sturdy, serious looking cables.Very smooth, even frequency response.

Weakness:

Bass a little flabby

I bought these as QUNEX 2 three weeks ago from hificables.com. I'm quite happy with them. The midrange is much smoother than the Monster cable I was using. The bass isn't as impressive though: it started out a bit lumpy, but has improved over several weeks of use. Overall I'd recommend them to anyone with components with a harsh midrange, as they'd help to tame it a bit.

Similar Products Used: Monster Interlink Jr, freebie cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
majkahn   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 30, 2002]
Strength:

built

Weakness:

none at this price

I have Qunex2 with WBT RCA jack. At the first time when I had changed from Qunex1 I felt of more bass and all round a little bit bigger. I had it for 10 days and found that I like Qunex1 more than it about transparent.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim Kagie   AudioPhile [Jul 20, 2002]
Strength:

Very flexible cable, nice detail, decent connection plugs

Weakness:

NOT dynamic, Edgy high frequencies (like listening to a bad source)

These cables sound nice in a budget system. I previously owned a NAD setup (c340 and C521) with Kef loudspeakers, on which the QNECT 2 sounded much better than the junk which came with my cd player. During the years I grew in Hifi and now I own a system rarely seen by an eighteen year old. I'm planning to buy a Siltech interconnect (FTM3 or FTM4 sg)since my QED's sound very sharp, and absolutely NOT DYNAMIC. So don't get me wrong these cables sound nice, but use them in a system where they belong. And please do not match these cables with a B&W Nautilus 800 series speaker or you'll regret it.

Similar Products Used: Van den Hul D102 MKIII, Cable Talk, Linn, Siltech
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
yh tarng   AudioPhile [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

bright but not harsh, a little sweet, low price

Weakness:

not airly

I tried this cable and compare it to QED silver spiral. They are bright, dynamic and good bass control. I found QNECT2 is not as sharp as silver spiral(too sharp and bright). Consider its price, QNECT2 is an excellent cable for mid-priced equipments. It makes the classical and jazz music more lively. QED knows how a good cable should be.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]

As a broadcast RF engineer I was very sceptical that a £30 interconnect could make any difference at audio frequencies.
I had been using oxygen free co-ax solder connected to gold plated phonos for years. These cables joined together a Audiolab 8000a and a Technics SLPG400a CD player. The speakers used are Royd Minstrels. For a while I had thought the sound lacked interest, the imaging was poor and the high frequencies were fatiguing after a time. A good live broadcast or a good LP were far more listenable.
I was about to buy a new CD player player when I thought that I would give the QED cable a try.
The treble was just as bright but NOT fatiguing at all. Even early bright CD recordings are listenable again. The imaging is excellent. Even my partner noticed a difference without being primed.
The only engineering reason for the improvement I can think of is perhaps the cable is filtering out any ultrasonic rubbish from the CD player before it reaches the amp mixing with the wanted audio.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
James   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2000]
Strength:

clarity
extended treble
v. good seperation

Weakness:

none, for the price

Much clearer than CA Pacific.

More 'obvious' than Kimber and VDH, (more 'hifi', less 'musical')

Excellent for the price - no major faults

Similar Products Used: Kimber PBJ
Cambridge Audio Pacific/Studio Reference
Van den Hul D102mkIII
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
JoBBe   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 31, 2001]

It's just a good cable for the money.

Similar Products Used: TEAC aw28 series
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com