Monster Cable M1.4 Biwire Speaker Cables

M1.4 Biwire

12-Gauge.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
C L   AudioPhile [Apr 15, 2002]
Strength:

good look....high quality.....sounds better

Weakness:

too costly for the original price $250.

For the price I got this for, this is the best inverestment. Best biwire cable for $150. Get it if you can for around $150, it''s the best deal for a $250 cable.

Similar Products Used: Monster cable M1.2s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thinh   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 18, 2001]
Strength:

Nice imaging, strong bass, smooth mid, and detail high.

Weakness:

Due to the detail high, it may not be suited for bright sounding system.

With the thrashing of our dot com company, I had some extra time at home checking out Ebay and sniped someone for this cable. Once put in place, I was amazed at how this cable improve my system. All of the sudden, my KEF RDM One sounded like a completely different speaker. It started chucking out bass that I never knew it could do. The mid had a nice smooth almost a little laid back character, and the high was detail and clean without the harshness. Overall, it better my Nordost flatline gold in every way. I'm now a firm believer in speaker cable upgrade. Five stars.

Similar Products Used: Nordost Flatline gold.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
scott   Casual Listener [Apr 26, 2000]
Strength:

compliments my setup

Weakness:

?

using this cable to bi-wire KEF RDM IIs from a Marantz PM-17
also have a REL Storm II sub connected at the speaker terminals on the amp via their neutrik connect. enjoying this combination very much. since i have not experimented with any other possibilities, i'll let this review stand as is.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
francis   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2000]
Strength:

value

Weakness:

build quality

i'm not sure if i should even write this review. i have a pair of m-series bi-wire monster cables. but i am not sure of the correct model. i mean a bought them for $90 at a retail store. in a previous review a guy bought them for $225!

anyway, a couple of years ago i bought a pair of klipsch klf-20 speakers, which i would recommend for a mid to high-end tower speaker. the salesman offered these cables at a reduced price for a "packaged" deal. saying the are bi-wired and superior to a "run of the mill" 12gauge speaker wire. which i was currently using. yea sure why not, so i bought them

after a proper break-in period. i compared the 1.4s to my old 12-gauge phoenix wire and found the 1.4s to be superior in well... every way! in soundstage, image clarity, highs, lows, middles, well you get the idea.

the diffence was just as great, if not greater, as comparing the 12-gauge to normal radio shack 16 gauge wire.

however, the low and high pass stickers do turn gooey and fall off quickly enough and the rubber surrounds do eventually crack and expose the speaker wire. no big deal, but you better label the high and low pass wires youself as i didn't see an ink label on the wires.

bottom line, for $90 you can't go wrong or even for $225. well at that price i would be more "picky" with performance. but no matter, the sound improvement justified that price, too.


Similar Products Used: first bi-wire
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd Billeci   Audiophile [Mar 16, 2000]
Strength:

Exceptional precision, detail & realism.

Weakness:

None

As a classical music fan, I sought cables that would remove the bright edge from an all solid-state system, maximize detail & clarity while remaining warm & realistic. I was thrilled with the results w/ this cable set. This after substantial concern that the money might be foolishly invested in cable.

In the Mahler Symphony 2 recording:

Mahler, G, Symphony No. 2 in C minor (Resurection).
Augér, Baker. City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Simon Rattle.

The cello/bass opening is extraordinary. One may discern the brush of bows on individual instruments and it sounds strikingly like what one hears with massed strings in the concert hall. There was astonishing level of detail evident in many passages with small ensembles of horns. In one passage, I could discern 3 individual french horns separated a small distance in space.

This purchase delivered far more than I expected. In fact, I had suspected that an improvement of this magnitude would require major investments in new speakers and amp. I'm looking forward to going through my CD collection again to hear all of the nuances I was missing. I completely disagree with the negative reviews entered below (with all due respect for these gentlemen).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Seth   Audiophile [Jan 23, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, Sheilding on cable is top notch, Vairable spade/Bananna tip connection.

Weakness:

NONE

I am not sure why the other people that have tried these cables felt the way they did. I think for the money these cables sound awesome!!! I have listen to Kimber Cable and Tributaries cable as well and find that I did not like the build quality as much. I found their mid/low level sound to be too loose not so much that I could not enjoy them but, not enough to buy their cable over monsters. I tested these cables with movies and music and they performed flawlessly. A key feature in their design is that the wire is "Time correctly wound" So that the highs, mids, and low level signals reach the speaker at the same time. Silent passing during movies were performed very accurately. Compared to the regular speaker wire that I was using I found it breathe taking. Bass is deep and tight. The highs were never too bright or over performed.

I have to admit I believe that your receiver, amp, and CD/DVD player have a big impacted on how well you sound stage performs. To just blame bad sound on one part of system "cables be it" just does not sound right. There are a lot of different factors to consider into sound. You have a D/A in your pre-amp and a D/A in your CD/DVD player both of which will not sound the same unless they are exactly the same brand. Now you can run a digital cable from you CD/DVD player to you pre-amp. Now you are dealing with only one D/A sound process but, if you own a separate amp even that can change the sound again. I have listened to many different amps before and they do not all sound the same. So maybe all cables do not perform the same why on every different type of combination....

Similar Products Used: All Monster M1000 audio/video interconnets
Sony DVPS 7700
Yamaha DSP-A1
Monster MPHT3500 Surge protector
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2001]
Strength:

nice construction,reasonable price,heavy duty,looks professional,nice gold spade connectors, 4 12ga. wires per channel,nice storage box while shipping

Weakness:

none that i can tell yet

seems to me a cleaner sound overall, alltho the monster cable 12 gauge zip cord i used for yrs. worked fine. havn't
had enough time to really sit down and critique' but i did
notice a sort of general or overall sound cleanup, the low end has increased somewhat but not dramatic as others might
say,but it is MORE, the bi-wire i'm assuming made the an
improvement there i believe. i run 2 adcom 555II amps in the bridged mode which is about 800 watts per channel into
4 ohms. my speakers are B&W 640i's. the sound the system creates is just awesome.i can only hope that these will improve the sound a little and to me that would be a feat in itself. will give a more detaled analysis soon. but for
125 bucks it was a deal to hard to pass up just on the mere
asthetics of the cable alone.

Similar Products Used: old monster cable 12ga. zip cord
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Riaan Rankin   Audiophile [Aug 30, 2001]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Nothing.......

It would be unfair to compare the M1.4's to the Cable Talk Talk 3.1, due to the substantial capital cost difference. The difference is however vast, and actually points to my own stupidity to run 'budget cable' on my one system.

My bedroom system consists of Sonus Faber Concerto's, Marantz PM-17 integrated amp and Marantz CD63 KI CD player. A very good system indeed for the money, but the last but of audiophile integrity missed on it with the Talk 3.1's. Sure , most audiophiles would certainly critisize me for using the Talk 3.1 on the system, but I never thought the changeover to M1.4 Monster would make such a big difference. My smaller system, as mentioned above, actually threatens my bigger system (Marantz, Wilson Benesch)when it comes to musicality now. Everything is better, it is not necessary for me to go into the detail. This however brings me to the point where I have to wonder about the two negative interviews submitted here. Problems with dealers/distributors maybe reflected in your point of view ????.

There is most certainly nothing wrong with M1.4 cable, I will recommend it without reservation to anyone out there in the midprize market segment. The changeover to M1.4 in my bedroom system made it sound like I made a major electronics upgrade.
Last but not least, the HFX systems dealers in Alberton, (Also the importers of Monster/Marantz etc) are excellent, and I would recommend to anyone in South Africa to go and listen to their recommendations, you won't go wrong there !!

Regards

Similar Products Used: Cable Talk Tank 3.1 Biwire
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   an Audiophile [Sep 02, 1999]

I have compared this Monster with a double run of Kimber 4VS. My gear:
Arcam Alpha8
Toshiba DVD 3109
2-way, home-made speakers (Vifa M18WO / Focal TC90K)

Well, after listening for a few weeks to both cables, I found the Monster, at this price, very disappointing. In general, here are my findings:
* Uncontrolled, thick bass.
* Sense of no air between instruments.
* Sense of muffled sounds.
* Slow transiants.
* Bass notes aberrations.
* Tonally warm and flat in a bad way.
* Loss of ambiance clues.

I wish I could return them.... but it's too late. At the time I bought them, I had only one run of Kimber, and the comparison was unfair. With two runs of Kimber, it took me one CD length to point out differences very objectively . It seems that my Monster M1.4 make my amp incapable of controlling the bass.
I'll give them 2 speakers because they are an improvement over unsophisticated wires (entry level Monster, zip cord, Entry level Tributaries...).
On top of that, the crew at Monster are not the most friendly people...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
tim cowart   Casual Listener [May 12, 2001]
Strength:

strong highs and bass

Weakness:

none

I never knew about bi wire and found out this increases the sound of your speakers--kind of more a direct sound rather than letting the crossovers do the work--the bass is more articulate,mids stronger in presence, and highs are tamed or controlled just right without harshness--i have two pairs of speakers using this cable and i highly recommend it--i dont know about bi wire from other comapnies but i can vouche for the monster m1.4 version--it works and as usual needs time to break in just like any other cable.Prices vary but if you can find a pair of 10ft lengths for under $150 bucks then get them !

Similar Products Used: tara lab plain jane stuff
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com