Monster Cable Interlink Datalink 100 Speaker Cables

Interlink Datalink 100

High Resolution Digital Coaxial Interconnect with Heavy-Duty Double Shielding for more accurate digital audio signal transfer

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
dmx   AudioPhile [Sep 30, 2003]
Strength:

After burn in its a fine cable in most respects, imaging, soundstaging, slam.

Weakness:

detail was somewhat lacking, slightly bloated low end

Before burn in the cable was bloated in the low end and grainy in the high end. After about 60hrs of burn in the bloat was toned down and the highs were much much smoother. Ultimatly I replaced it with the M1000d, for an extra $20 it was worth it, the bass tightened up pretty dramatically, instruments became more outlined (seperated).

Similar Products Used: AQ Optilink 1 and 3, Monster m1000d
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
chinoloco   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 09, 2003]
Strength:

looks durable.. has a name to impress people.. oooh.. "monster cable".

Weakness:

the important "P"s, Price and Performance. Yes it will work as a great digital coaxial, but Fusion AV by RS works better at a lower price

Absolute Crap. You can get Best Buy AR digital coaxial and get the same sound. I decided to go with Monster Cable for all my speakers and interconnects. I was seriously dissappointed when the datalink 100 didn't sound any better then the Cheap AR from Best Buy. Having said that, I returned these. Still looking for a good cable, i went with Radio Shack Fusion AV line. Now.. for $15.00 cheaper, you just get superior perfomance. Sorry monster, most of your stuff is good, but after a while I am really questioning your prices

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack Fusion AV, Acoustic Research digital coaxial (the cheap blue ones).
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
odor007   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2002]
Strength:

Well built, gold tipped, thick, lifetime warranty, etc.i

Weakness:

No difference in sound whatsoever--let''s not lie now people--I think most people are just imagining a huge sound improvement because they don''t want to feel ripped off.

Well, I just got a pretty good stereo system, and bought this cable, and can''t tell a bit of difference. Nothing sounds changed to me. u

Similar Products Used: Can''t rememberz
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
John Rhodes   Audiophile [Jun 03, 2001]
Strength:

Better than standard coax

Weakness:

not as good as TMAX Digital Interconnect.

This product is better than standard quad shielded coax, but at $50/ meter the MIT Digital interconnect is far better. Check the MIT.com web site to locate a dealer near you. I don't have one and had to order mine shipped out of state.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
John   Casual Listener [Dec 02, 2000]
Strength:

Quality, Easy to find.

Weakness:

Price.

I use the Interlink DataLink 100 to connect a Sony Dvp-360 DVD player to a Cambridge DTS2500 Dolby Receiver.
I'm satisfied with this cable, even it's obviously overpriced (50$ for 2 meters ouch!).

The good thing about Monster cable is that they are easy to find. Not many people have time for cable shopping around town, and being able to grab them at your local Circuit City is definitely a plus.

For a better value/quality ratio, I recommend having a look at bettercables.com.

Similar Products Used: Cheap Generic cables.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2001]
Strength:

Not to many for my interests

Weakness:

Price

High quality cables are for high end equipment. And for my Sony STR-DE545, this expensive baby isn't necessary. There is an ever so slight reduction in static compared to your standard RCA cables, but it's nothing that Radio Shack Can't Handle. If you have high end equipment, go ahead and invest in this. Otherwise, it really isn't necessary.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack Digital Cable, RCA Cables
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Draymond Crawford II   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2001]
Strength:

added tightness to bass

Weakness:

none

I just picked up a Pioneer Elite CD player M53 on Ebay The main reason was to get the digital outs. (already had a 6 disk changer that works great, will pass it along to mom for mothers day). I picked up this cable and hooked it in and heard the same tight bass I get from my DVD (it also has coaxial) and my receiver puts out the sound easier (Pioneer VSX Elite 26tx) no jokes, mine has not failed me yet. I am too a beliver that cables can make a difference.
I will be replacing all of my standard interconnects soon.

Similar Products Used: standard rca cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
John Rhodes   Audiophile [Jan 24, 2001]
Strength:

Opened Up Sound Stagewith grater depth and detail

Weakness:

about $10.00 more than I wanted to spend

I had heard from others that the Interconnect you use DOES make a difference. But I was very skeptical and like others had been told years ago that "wire is just wire". Wrong !!!!!!!

I have had problems with the sound stage and imaging of my system for some time but could not figure out what was the problem. After going to my local audio store and talking with the sales reps I started experimenting with different speaker cables and discovered that once I had rewired the system alot of the problems disappeared. This is an excellant product and I highly recommend it. For those of you who care about quality I can tell you that this product is licensed from MIT (who make VERY expensive cables) by Monster Cable. Both companies have confirmed this with me via the phone. So I believe this to be a great deal. Even if it s a little on the high side.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack "Shielded Coax" and generic coax.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sid   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2001]
Strength:

Sound

Weakness:

Price

Was using a Monster optical cable, but due to a system reconfig I needed a longer cable. The Monster rep was in the store and recommended coax over optical, stating that optical is prone to failure and that the connectors fall out (maybe he was talking about Monsters specific cable I'm not sure). Anyway I purchased the 2M coax.

No question about it, both my wife and I noticed a definite improvement in the sound, mostly in the high end frequencies, cymbals just started to sound like they should, and overall I think the entire system sounded better.

We listend to music and watched a movie and we both agreed this cable made a difference. Now is it because I moved from optical to coax? I'm not sure but I will tell you that I will never use optical if I have a choice.

Similar Products Used: Toslink (optical)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Paul   Audiophile [Sep 05, 2001]
Strength:

Music repoduction. Delivers a crisp clear signal.

Weakness:

None noticed

This was the first coaxial cable I have purchased for my system. I am very pleased with it, though like everyone else I am not fond of Monster's pricing. Overall this cable delivers all that I expected of it. As does all the other Monster products I own.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com