Monster Cable HTS 1000 Speaker Cables

HTS 1000

Power Strip/ Surge Protector/ Line Conditioner

User Reviews (31)

Showing 1-10 of 31  
final   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2007]
Strength:

As Above

Weakness:

None yet

Hi,
I have only had this unit for 2 days but noticed an improvement immediately in the sound quality of my hifi gear. I have Nad Pre and power, a Cyrus CD6S cdp and Magnepan 1.6qr speakers. I would have to agree with the previous reviewer as to the qualities of the sound which have been improved.
I was a bit dubious at first that this board would make much difference but I stand as a convertee now. My system really sings now and I would have to say that it has really provided an unpolluted sound which just leaves the music for my gear to reproduce.
I can't say that I have noticed any picture quality improvement on my 42 inch LCD television in any format, but I have always had a very good reception.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan Brownstone   AudioPhile [May 09, 2007]
Strength:

Everything better

Weakness:

None that I can see or hear.

Price paid is in UK pounds
I have a top notch Hi Fi system but even with a dedicated Main Spur and a £650 Power Block/Conditioner I felt the mains was intrusive to a good sound. After reading reviews on this site I thought I'd have a go and if i didn't like it use it for my TV.
What a difference!! Clearer, better depth/soundstage, more accurate postioning of instruments/singers, tighter yet more expressive bass and realistic treble. What more can one want. Excellent product with the added bonus of surge protection with insurance. Very higgly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Kimber, Isotek, Missing Link and Experience Filtration - mostly UK stuff
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
darmom   Casual Listener [Jul 15, 2006]
Strength:

Cleaned up the sound.

Weakness:

It would be nice if the power cord, which has a "flat" plug had the wire coming off the side so it could take the top slot on a power outlet and still allow the larger AC adapter to take the bottom slot. It comes off the bottom of the plug disc at a 45 deg angle, so it's just enough to block the bottom plug if you put it in the top slot. Small gripe, certainly - on an awesome product.

I got the MKII model. This thing blew me away. I was noticing some noise in my speakers on vocal tracks when listening to CD's. I tried swapping out the CD player and even took the speakers in to be checked (it sounded like my midrange driver might be fried - kind of a static sound during vocals that should have been clean). Hooked this thing up and blamo - clean sound. Even my fiancee noticed, and she's much less picky than I am. Worth every penny, even though I could have gotten it for a lot less online.

Similar Products Used: $10-$20 power strips
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bonger   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2003]
Strength:

good price off ebay, sufficient outlets, good build quality. better tweak than upgrading cable, interconnects for sound.

Weakness:

HTS 800 seemed to sound better for a lot less money. Wouldn't pay full MSRP for this

After hearing my friend's Monster HTS 800 make a real improvement in my system, I realized the benefits of "cleaner AC". So I decided to try 2 things: 1. build my own high current AC outlet with "hospital grade" plugs (that's what all the audiophiles use) 2. buy the Monster HTS 1000 over ebay for a great price. After a few hours comparing my outlet vs. monster, I am gonna sell the monster. Both my outlet and monster improved my sound with my outlet only slightly outperforming the monster with more "bite" when I hear vocals. Also, during my comparison, my clothes dryer was runnning. Perhaps my high current outlet just gave my system more juice vs. monster filtering out dirty AC. Don't get me wrong, the monster is good, and I haven't really tested the video filtering. But like the previous reviewer, said, just return it if it doesn't really improve your system. In fact, I'm selling my HTS 1000 to buy the HTS 800 with only stage 1 filtering. For me seems like the HTS 800 made more of an improvement.

Similar Products Used: My system: NAD T752 receiver, Totem Arro's, Marantz CD 17.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sixtox   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

Not sure about this. If you have poor quality electric service this unit may be of benefit.

Weakness:

Price may be a weakness if the noise filtering does not improve the sound quality.

The sound improvement benefits this unit provides are not real easy to hear. I have an integrated amp, AVR, CD player, DVD player, and an outboard DAC all connected to the HTS1000 and cannot say for sure that the unit is contributing to the sound quality. The insurance against damage to any components connected to the unit is a plus, but you can get that with most surge suppressors. If you have poor quality electric service this unit may give a noticeable improvement, but how do you know what quality of power you are receiving? If you are thinking about purchasing one of the Monster power conditioners my suggestion would be to listen carefully for sound improvements, and if you don't hear them return it.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
rsmcphee   AudioPhile [Dec 24, 2002]
Strength:

Clean sound and crisp picture

Weakness:

none

Here is my system before I get into the review: Receiver: Onkyo TXDS 797 THX Certified Power Amp: Outlaw 750 5 channel amp (165 per channel) Sub: Infinity HPS 1000 watts Speakers: Wharfedale Pacific series 5.1 setup DVD Players: Pioneer Elite DV-C 36 5 CD/DVD Changer, Sony SACD player NC650V TV: 48 inch sony Bottom line: Clean up my sound sytems. No background noise at all. I am pleased. TV: Clean up the picture and even more clear in satellite

Similar Products Used: Panasonic surge supressors
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
danlan01   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2002]
Strength:

Better sound and image

Weakness:

difficult to obtain in Canada

It works!!! I was sceptic but it works. The sound is softer, less aggressive and more focused. Even my TV seems to work better. Good product. Difficult to obtain in Canada.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2002]
Strength:

DRAMATIC improvement on TV picture quality, extremely vibrant and blacks are BLACK! No positive sonic difference I could detect though.

Weakness:

Price, and it removes the high frequencies - cymbals, wind chimes, the full depth of acoustic guitars, etc. Bass and midrange were fine, but it was like the highs were just lopped off or a blanket thrown over my famous Klipsch horn loaded tweeters!

I have had this only 2 days and I love the improvement in picture quality - it is like I have a new TV set! But sonically, my Sony STR-DE945 and my Klipsch kg3 speakers didn''t like it. The very high sounds were muffled / absent. I plugged all of my other components into it (DVD player, subwoofer, VCR, laserdisc player, and TV) into it, but I had to plug my Sony reciever back into the normal wall outlet in order to get my high''s back (cymbals, wind chimes, etc.).

Similar Products Used: Just regular surge protectors
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Dennis   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2001]
Strength:

Price ($100 shipped from ebay), Power Conditioner

Weakness:

None I have found so far

I bought this product because I was upgrading some of my components and wanted to make sure they were protected. Read reviews on this website and decided to give it a try. I bought a new amp that was somehow getting interference from my cable and was causing a buzz in all of my speakers. Once I would disconnect my cable the buzz would go away. Once I incorporated the HTS1000 the buzz went away. This alone makes this product worth the money. I would highly recommend this product. Clean power & cable is not BS, this product works!

Similar Products Used: Ordinary Surge Protector
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeffrey Chin   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2001]
Strength:

excellent clean signal, removes all hum

Weakness:

none at all

Removes all hum from receiver. To test:
Turn your receiver on CD or DVD mode w/ nothing playing.
Turn the volume up on your receiver. Do you hear a hum?
Well I did...not anymore though.

I was skeptical since I already had a monster surge protector but the av800 didn't have a line conditioner.
Big difference, highly recommended, made a believer out of me!

Similar Products Used: monster av800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com