MIT Cables Terminator 2 Speaker Cables

MIT Cables Terminator 2 Speaker Cables 

DESCRIPTION

Available As Interconnect, Speaker and Bi-Wire (MSRP is for Interconnect--prices go up from there)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 68  
[Feb 25, 2015]
MiataMike99er
AudioPhile

The Music goes Round & Round and it comes out here!!! This is more than the lyrics to a 1930s song, ils thé audiophile creed!!! Musique matters. Electronics matter. Cables matter!!! The MIT Terminator IIs are an ancient 1990s design. I should know, that is the date I bought mine. I LOVE these speaker cables!!! They took a cheesy $500 pair NTH 1.3A book shelf speaker and transformed them into $6,000 two way speakers ( I should know---Mr. Keith Yates (Keith Yates Audio) was deliberately torturing me with ridiculous speaker options when he demonstrated this dynamic dual. what can I sat? OMG!!! The bass hit the floor, the mids had presents and attack, the Treble was like the flapping of angel' s wings!!! Then the swine put on Cowboy Junkies Sweet Jane 180 gram vinyl and my hand mindlessly handed him my wallet. The are more newer and more expensive cable around but none better. Buy it before I do!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2009]
santoro vincenzo
AudioPhile

Hello I live in Italy and I would be interested in buying the power cables MIT Cables Terminator 2. How can I pay for having only the euro? and I can pay with paypal. I have to pay Dazzi? thank you very much.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 12, 2009]
Glotz
AudioPhile

First off.. everyone appears to be a good, critical listener here. Everyone's reports of both old and new MIT T2 speaker cables are dead on! Even despite the huge differences in opinion! Believe it, but it is just a question of used and new cables.
The bottom line is that my 13-year old MIT terminator 2 Bi-wires sound... 13 years old. After one of the spade connectors just bent off at the connection to the spade two days ago, I realized that my once great cables couldn't have sounded great for at least 1 year, if not more, prior to that. Aside from being heartbroken (the MIT's are as good if not better in a number of sonic areas), I realized a repair on all of the connections was overdue.
The memories of this once amazing cable have really diminished over the years, even with a significantly better audiophile system that I've built over the years (well over $7k), and slowly replaced almost everything- but not the speaker cables yet. I mean, it's not night and day, as the spatial characteristics were still pretty strong against many other cables, ironically. But hardness, and brightness came up more and more often recently, and I know what it is now... as it wouldn't be ignored, especially after upgrading my speakers to new Magnepan 1.6's. Grain, blunted dynamics, things were grating on me and I couldn't put a finger on it . Suffice it to say, I know that the new speakers and their set up were the death knell for these boxed-cable beasts!
Well, I've heard more than 20 different manufacturers over the years, well into the multi-thousands, and ANY cable sounds like crap after this (very) stiff and heavy cables get moved around during speaker setup, re-wiring, or cleaning. After 13 years, it's no one's fault. BUT, keep in mind that YOU may have bought a very old set of wires, and seeing the cutaways of my cables, it is clear that oxygen gets in under the very first section of poly shrink wrap, right next to the connector the weakest part of the this substantial cable run. THAT is also worn the copper, and was greyed to the core and a break in the cable occurred. Small issue with the advanced technology for its day, but let's be real, this was an Achilles heel of this great speaker design.
I ain't gonna name names who's better out there, as I know MIT has gotten only better, especially with their ICONN connection system. Ironically, my favorite company uses a very similar connection system, but their approach is very different in cable design, as well. Just lookin' out.... Peace!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 11, 2005]
Escaladeur
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

purity, coherence, excellent balance, lets emotion come through (a rare trait).

Weakness:

big and bulky

I don't understand the last two reviews. I think the MIT cables just made other system deficiencies more obvious. This is a revealing cable and if your electronics aren't up to snuff, you will find it out rather quickly. In my system, these cables work very well. I tried a couple Kimbers, Nordost solar winds, Audioquest T6, and a few miscellaneous ones I have forgotten the names of. I liked the MITs the best. They are clearer and more balanced across the board with a distinct propensity to allow music's emotion to come through. I try various cables now and then to make sure I am not missing anything (hence the silver cables) but so far, I am very satisfied in the quality of sound I get from my MIT T2 biwires. System synergy is paramount so I always list my associated equipment. Otherwise, the review is meaningless since the reference and context is missing. I use JM Lab Electra 926 speakers, McIntosh MC7200 amplifier, Classe CP50 preamp, and a Jolida JD100 tube cd player. I have changed all my interconnects to be MIT since getting the T2 speaker cables.

Similar Products Used:

see above

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 02, 2004]
asok
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Soundstage, maybe

Weakness:

Muddy bass, makes your big speakers sound puny. Irritating midrange Poor noisefloor

Dissapointing so far. I bought a lightly used pair of these recently to drive NHT 3.3s powered by an Adcom 5500. Moment I connected these cables, the bass seemed to get muddy, flatter, and the midrange sounded rather bright. At loud levels I found them hard to the ear. These cables have been burned in by the previous owner so I cannot believe that is the issue. That said, the soundstage seemed ok. But I am really dissapointed with the purchase. The irony is I bought them to upgrade from a Monster M Serier pair, and believe me - the Monsters clearly sounded more transparent, more lucid in the midrange and FAR tighter in the low freqs. Maybe if you listen to mostly jazz and classical, these MITs - at low levels - could be your choice. But I listen to rock n roll and these simply dont have "MEAT". These was extremely apparent when I was hearing Michael Jackson's Billy Jean - the opening drum beats sounded sad. Maybe the higher priced MITs could deliver better results, but I believe these are simply overpriced basic cables backed by a big name. If after listening to them for sometime I get a different opninion, I will post another review - but as of now, I am tempted to sell them and find something else (or even my old Monsters).

Similar Products Used:

Monster M Series, DH Labs, homemade DIY stuff

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 04, 2002]
sbh2t1
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good soundstage, "punchy"

Weakness:

much too "punchy" for an accurate system

I was disappointed in these speaker cables. My system, with relatively warm Parasound Amps and very revealing Thiel speakers, tends to expose any added coloration in the sound. With the MIT speaker cables, I got an oddly unnatural sound, with a bright upper range. Female vocalists suffered in particular- voices became unnatural, even thin. The soundstage was excellent, I have to say that. And this cable may be perfect with small, limited range speakers- the added brightness might compliment them. But I found these cables disappointing in a system that sounds best with accurate, or slightly warm cables. I've found other MIT cables interesting- MIT interconnects seem to also add color, but in ways that may be more likable. Using MIT interconnects with warm CD Player, I get signal that seems to be both dynamic and wonderfully rich. The cable seems to add a slightly energetic touch (more subtle than the speaker cables), and that slight touch adds something. I put in a set of Audioquest type 4 speaker cables, and my system sounds wonderful- warmer and more natural. I'll stick with those.

Similar Products Used:

Audioquest type 4

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 12, 2002]
Lawrence DiBello
AudioPhile

Strength:

Great price/performance ratio

Weakness:

Bulky - Low Wife Acceptance Factor

I replaced a double run of Kimber 8TC with MITerminator 2 Bi-Wire. After the breakin period the sound stage and bass improved over the Kimber 8TC. The high end seemed more laid back. Since my system leans in that direction I was not sure if that was a positive change. After further listening I came to the conclusion that the highs were just cleaner. I'm very happy with the performance of this cable.

Similar Products Used:

Kimber 8TC

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2002]
Sandro Bisotti
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very clear mid-range and good soundstage.

Weakness:

A little weak highest high.

These cables seems to create space and silence about the sounds. Very transparent, excellent soundstage and mid-range clarity. Good basses, a little weak in highest high. In my opinion, excellent cables for too much brilliant, bright amp-speaker systems. For my components (200W class A amp - MartinLogan Requests) I think they are not the best. I'll try with Audioquest Caldera.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 20, 2002]
ilted
AudioPhile

Strength:

Big, heavy duty, durable, can (I have proof) be stepped on for weeks and not noticeably lose sound quality or physical appearance.

Weakness:

None that I have found especially for the price

I bought these (t2 biwire) new and have not had a doubt since I got them. I have used them on Mirage M7, B&W Nautilus 804, and Monitor Audio Studio 50s (currently). I have to say the most dramatic impact on me was when these were hooked up to the mirages running off an old pioneer receiver. I didn’t thing mirages from early 90s could make such a warm enjoyable soundstage. I really like these cables and really enjoy the garden hose style construction. I really haven''t had too much to compare these too as I haven''t been looking so I really can’t give a good comparison.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2002]
Chuck
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Ability to tame shrill sytems

Weakness:

Some veiling of the top end and deeper bass.

These cables (MIT-2 Biwire) actually work quite well with "bright" to harsh sounding systems. They seem to tame some of the digital etch that causes listener fatigue. However as I upgraded my amp, preamp, cd/dac and speakers(over a period of years) I noticed that the cables seem to veil the top end and blur the deepest bass. They made my system (at the time) a little more listenable. I tried several speaker cables up to about $12/ft and none really trounced the MIT''s... until I built a set of pure .999 silver bi-wire with teflon insulation.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 68  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com