LINN K400 Bi-Wire Loudspeaker Cable Speaker Cables

K400 Bi-Wire Loudspeaker Cable

Low Loss, High Quality Speaker Cable Designed for Bi-Wire.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
anowlan   AudioPhile [Feb 22, 2005]
Strength:

Detail, imaging, bass were all notably improved. These allowed my speakers to be all they can be.

Weakness:

None. Perhaps the cable itself is a little ugly.

I was always someone who believed that cables couldn't make a big difference in a system. The LINN K400 (Which I scored a fantastic deal on) changed my mind. Compared to my biwired runs of Monster Cable: Improved detail. Improved depth and clarity of bass. Increased upper end transparency. Arresting musicality. Vastly improved soundstaging- I thought my center channel was on, but it wasn't. I can't comment on other speaker cables. I didn't compare these head to head. But these things, for the price, are unbeatable.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jumpstat   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2003]
Strength:

Fluid bass and smooth treble and midrange definition. Exceptional cables for sound ans show!

Weakness:

Too Bulky, Installation of connectors requires expert help. Expensive.

Exceptional clarity in conveying signals from amplifier. My listening setup consist of Linn basik /akito /K9 with Cyrus 2/Psx and Cyrus 780 on target r1 and sound org turntable support. Tried solid core then audioquest cables but finally settled for Linn K400 installed by Jeffries in Brigton. Expensive but worth every penny. Used it since 1990. Reurned to malaysia in 94' and so far no physical degradation....

Similar Products Used: Audioquest F14, Mission Cyrus Solid Core, QED,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
flightmight   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2003]

LINN K400 is a great value. I have tried Audio Quest, which was also good...but it was more than double the cost. LINN sounded just as good to me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian Larman   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent price when compared to similar wires.

Weakness:

stiff outer casing isn't very flexible, but managable nonetheless.

Given that I went from lamp cord to the K-400, I don't have much of a long term comparison to quality cable. The improvement of quality was astounding, when I first used K400 for the centre channel. Soon after, I purchased more for my fronts, Linn Keosas, and was completely floored by the difference. For tbe price, compared to other types of cable, the K-400 is an excellent value. It fit into my budget nicely, and I've been pleased since.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ThePlayer   AudioPhile [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

Musicality, smooth and clean sound. Price

Weakness:

Dry, looks? Have to be careful when setting up the connectors, specific ends for Amp and speakers. (not really a weakness).

Since there are no reviews for Linn K 20 in this forum, I''''m going to use this space. Before I started to use the Linn cable, I didn''''t think a cable could make a difference in sound, you know, I was one of those who thinks a cable is a cable is a cable... To be honest I have to say there is "no difference between some cables". (ie) RS, Monster, lamp cord, or the cheapo cables that comes with almost every system. Linn cable really makes a big difference. I even use it with an RCA (cheap) speaker, and the sound of the speaker is much better. The performance of "any speaker" can be upgraded using Linn cable, it is very musical, clean and smooth. Sad thing that Linn doesn''''t promote their cables as the rest of their line of products, they are kinda difficult to find too, at least on the net... Not only they perform better with Linn systems, as far as I''''m concern they work just fine with any speaker or system, single or bi-wire. They make my Cresta 2s sound so neat. The K 20 is kinda dry tho, but compared to the performance it is something you forget when you are "listening the music". It is not a pretty cable like many others, but like perfume, the important thing is what''''s inside the bottle.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
michel lee   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 23, 2002]
Strength:

bass

Weakness:

none ......at this moment

I''d use MIT , monster , analysis-plus ......etc before .... Now I use LINN K400 spk cables ..... Sound is much more better than before ... of course , my audio system is full set of Linn . I like to introduce it to every one who like Linn sound !

Similar Products Used: MIT no.5 , Oval 9 .....
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dilhan Weerasinghe   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

In an all LINN system you need not worry about upgrading your cables anymore !!

Weakness:

Nearly impossible to terminate them single handedly - Once completed your reward will be well worth the trouble.

I agree with the previous reviewer.It does sound as though you have added a new component to your system.The improvement over my Audio Quest Type 4+ was HUGE. Highly recommended for use in an all LINN system.

Similar Products Used: Transparent Wave 100,Nordost,AQ,Naim cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Terence French   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 31, 2001]
Strength:

Detailed, clean, lively, good match for Linn products

Weakness:

If anything, looks

I have the Loewe Legro 1 system which was/is designed and made by Linn and merely uses Loewe's design for the exterior. These very nondescript looking cables are an excellent match sonically. After trying QED Qudos which I had from an earlier systen I had the Oehlbach XXl6 for a while. These were about 5 times the price of the Linn and although they sounded clean, there was always something strange about the timing, as though the deep bass was fractionally later than the mids and highs. The Linn are a real insiders' tip, at least in a Linn system.

Similar Products Used: Oehlbach XXL6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc   Audiophile [Mar 06, 2001]
Strength:

clear focused energetic

Weakness:

none

Currently have all Linn electronics and Energy speakers (which I plan on replacing with Totems). Was using off the roll "audiophile grade speaker cable" in bi-wire pairs. Used a Dorian sampler as a test disc, with Julianna Baird singing Greensleeves. When she got to the chorus and actuallly sang the word "greensleeves" it was like an icepick through the temple. Talked to the editor of UHF Magazine, they sell Wireworld and Sheffield speaker cables from their magazines own store. Wireworld was too expensive, and the Sheffield wasn't pliant enough because it was solid core wire, and I have to move my speakers in and out of position because of the room they are situated in, he recomended that I should listen to the K-400, I also listened to the Naim(which I had owned prior in a system I had lost in a divorce) speaker cables. Found the Linn cables extremely musical, very energetic in it's presentation of the rhythm, very articulate both in the vocal and bass ranges and the better the source that you feed them with the better they sound(try switching a Pioneer CD player badk into the system after using the Linn Karik. The Karik's only advantage with the cheaper cables was a little more energy in the rhythm, the K-400's showed the Karik for how good it really is). I also plan on purchasing the Linn Silver interconnects.

Similar Products Used: naim speaker cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bjm   Audiophile [Apr 05, 2001]
Strength:

Great sounding, not expensive

Weakness:

Heavy, thick and visually not a pretty sight in the living room

I am biwiring a pair of Linn Keihleh's with a Mcintosh MC122 with K-400, and the combination works quite nicely. I could hear the system improvements immediately, and so could my non-audiophile wife. The first time she heard it she thought I had a new CD player!
Anyone who doesn't believe that can wire makes a difference with quality components,(and I was one of those people for years) will be able to discern the positive change.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com