Harmonic Technology Pro-Silway mk II Speaker Cables

Pro-Silway mk II

1 metre RCA interconnect

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
JamesLA   AudioPhile [Oct 29, 2004]

highs ok...mid rather boxy colored..bass kinda heavy,slow & fat.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Andy2   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2004]
Strength:

Transparent, three dimentional, details, smooth and airy treble ... everything.

Weakness:

None that I can thing of. May be they are not as forgiving to recording that is on the bright side of neutral.

I've been using Van Den Hul D102 MKIII for almost a year. The sound is very natural and relax for the most part but I feel like I could do better. Recently I go a very good deal on a pair of Pro-SilWay II so I figure it's time to upgrade my ic. Since the pair is pre-owned, I did not have to break in. Right off the bat, I knew I listen to something superior than my previous vdh. The differences are so apparent and superior that I was almost in shocked. I thought the differences would be subtle but I was definitely in for a surprise. First off, vocal has better definition, body, and as the result, it is moved slightly forward in respect to the overall soundstage. Instruments have better defined outline and separation. I hate to use the age old cliche but everything just opens up and becomes more three dimentional. Music seems to have more drive and energy and has a higher "PRAT" content. Treble is airy and sweet. I suppose the sound itself worths more than a thousand words and I can go on and on but you understand what I am trying to say. Although these cables are not cheap, and certainly not expensive when compared to those others that costs almost as your car, they offer tremendous value for your money. For 200.00, I definitely get more improvement than a 2000 cdp. System: Audio Refinement Pre2 dsp Audio Refinement Multi 5 Spendor S8 Harmonic Tech Pro9+ Harmonic Tech Pro-Silway MKII

Similar Products Used: Van Den Hul D102 MKIII.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ertugrul   AudioPhile [Dec 22, 2003]
Strength:

Its very natural and airy,good bass..

Weakness:

The highs are not the most refind but in this price category this may not be a weakness!

This interconect is one of my favorites!It has a very relaxed and and smooth presantation.It has no coloration.Very good bass.There is a harmonic richnes in the signal.Its not as good as Audio note kond An-Vz but for the price diference this is not a weakness.I am using it on my tt and phono preamp now whit very good results!

Similar Products Used: Siltech,Kondo,Kharma,Cardas..
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
audio_equipment_lover   AudioPhile [Dec 12, 2002]
Strength:

Good clear mids and bass

Weakness:

Rolled off highs

First of all, despite the silly marketing(come on SEVEN nines silver? There is no such thing!) these sound pretty good. They have good detail in the mids and bass and are very transparent in the middle. I do think however, they are a little rolled off in the highs. It is suprising how much difference there is in silver cables. I have tried three so far, Silver Audio, HT and Pure Silver Sound. The Silaways are the most expensive by far, but are they the best sounding as well? NO, at least not in my system. The Silver Audio and Pure Silver Sound cables have better highs overall. I think it might have something to do with the silver plated connectors they use ( only makes sense, silver connectors for silver cables right?)With the weakness in the highs and the high price I can't recommend these cables unless you try some others too. (less expensive hopefully)

Similar Products Used: Silver Audio - Silver Bullet 4.0's Pure Silver Sound - Quartets
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Thomas   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2002]
Strength:

Realism. Detail. SO much better than any other cable I used

Weakness:

Some people may not like the amount of detail

Best cable I used in my system (shocking amount of detail, openness, refined highs and tight bass) - before I upgraded to the new Magic Link One interconnect by the same company. NOW we are talking ... the 2 cables are of similar character, but the Magic One has slightly more bass and a lot more body in the midrange, with the highs just as refined as with the Pro Silway II. The great midrange presentation makes every instrument, voice just sounds "right" where they cansound a bit harsh with the Pro Silway II. I am using these with Krell 300iL, Arcam 23FMJ, NHT 2.9 and HT Pro-9 Bi-wire.

Similar Products Used: HT Magic Link One, HT Pro Silway II, Synergistic Research Kaleidoscope and Luminescence, Straightwire Serenade, Cardas Golden Cross, Cardas Golden Reference
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Heather Nartin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2000]
Strength:

Nice mid range, good highs. Ok bass

Weakness:

cheap connectors

My natural upgrade path went Kimber Hero, Silver Streak, DH Labs, Harmonic Tech Truth link then Por-Silway, Audiotruth, and then Silver Audio. The sound and the price do not always correspond.

The Dh Labs was cheaper then the Hero's and had better bass but the mids were bright. The truth link had better mids but less bass and gritty highs. I got a pair of used Pro-silway to replace the truth link and it corrected much of the problem. But after trying the Silver Audio's I will never go back to copper (I guess the silver plating made the DH Labs bright, because the pure silver was smooth). The Pro-Silway was a big improvement over the truth link. at $400 the truth link is not as good as the 6.0's, and I saved $100 by getting 6.0's. Another big gain in clarity, soundstaging and liquid mid range.

Hero 2.5
DH Labs 3
Truth link 3
Por-silway 4
Silver bullet 6.0's 5

Ultech UCD-100 CD player
Jolida 502 A Integrated amp(Raytheon, Mullard and Svetlana tubes)
Hales Revelation Two speakers
Silver bullet 6.0's interconnects
Pure Silver Sound Sextet speaker cables
PSB Stratus
Pure Silver Sound sextet

Similar Products Used: Kimber Hero, DH Labs, Harmonic tech truth link, Silver Audio silver bullet 6.0's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2000]
Strength:

Musicality, vocal image

Weakness:

none that I know of

I recently bought the Linn Ikemi. The Linn dealers assured me that expensive interconnects are simply over priced tone controls - that I should use the stock cables that come with the player. It's a funny thing about Linn dealers, they are soooo right about some things, yet misguided zealots about others.

A nice thing about the Ikemi is that it has two outputs. I'm running the Ikemi with a YBA Integre DT. The Integre manual recommends using the video or CD input for CDs. This makes doing A/B interconnect comparisons rather easy.

There is absolutely no comparison between the Harmonic Tech interconnect and the Linn Stock cables. The sound stage became larger, the vocal image more pronounced and full, and the player became much, much more musical. In listening to the Waterboys' "Fisherman's Blues" Mike Scott lost his cold and hoarseness with the Harmonic Tech. Michelle Shocked stopped hiding from the repo man in "Come A Long Way" and could be found easily with the Pro Silways. The entire spectrum became fuller, there was information - percussion - that I had missed. Frankly, the Ikemi was barely tolerable with the stock cables.

I then compared the Harmonic Tech with a pair of top of the line LAT International interconnects. The difference was not as great, but was still there. There was resolution and naturalness in the Harmonic Tech that was slightly lacking in the LAT International cables, frankly the differences were less immediate; but were subtle and audible over time.

I'm not a guy who listens for realism or the proper 'decay of a bell' as a way of judging a stereo. I buy into the Linn philosophy of passion, musicality, pitch and intense involvement as the criteria of judgment. And that's what I liked about the Harmonic Tech Pro Silway MKII, those qualities were seemingly lacking until I tightened their locking RCAs. By the way, I recommend the LATs as well.

My system

Linn Ikemi CDP
YBA Integre DT
Paradigm Studio 20s w/Stands
Oval 9s
Harmonic Tech Pro Silway MKII


I'm giving 5 stars because I like what I heard, but I have no idea how these cables compare with others.

Similar Products Used: Linn, LAT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vance Hiner   Audiophile [Mar 11, 2000]
Strength:

No coloration, unbeatable price

Weakness:

heck if I know

I have HT througout my system now. I started with their speaker cables, which blew my AQ Sterlings completely away. Then I replaced the AQ interconnects with the HT ProSilway MKII's. For my Thiel 3.6's, Audio Research D-200 amp and Muesatex BIDAT DAC going straight to the amp...there *are* no better cables....unless there's something out there for $2OK I haven't heard. They're the most neutral cables I've ever owned and they provide a "three dimensionality" that is truly stunning. What's it gonna take for the folks at Stereophile, Absolute Sound, etc. to review these incredible cables? They're half as expensive and twice as good as AQ and Transparent. ah ha. Maybe *that's* why. Audition these interconnects. You'll be happy if you aren't using the cables as "tone controls."

Similar Products Used: Audio Quest, Transparent
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chetan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 25, 2000]
Strength:

Neutral, detailed and 3D. Natural sounding, free of grain and artefact.

Weakness:

None

This product requires at least 100 hours breakin, during which the sound went from veiled to harsh before settling down to a sweet clarity. I hope you audition a fully broken in pair because the sound improves significantly.

Earlier I had upgraded the interconnects from Audioquest to Kimber PBJ and finally Kimber Silver Streak, which I have been using for the past 2 years.

I have lived with the HT Pro Silway MKII for over four months and am pleased with them. The notable improvements:

The upper midrange and treble is utterly natural and grain free with tremendous resolution of inner details. The most complex passages and crescendos now have excellent separation and definition.
The midrange sounds tonally very correct. Massed choral works are rendered with definition of individual voices and very correct placements in time and space. This is the most fatigue-free sound I have heard from my system. I suspect that these interconnects are able to carry a lot more low level detail signal and as a result the sound is seamless and natural.
Low-mids and bass have excellent transients and definition. Here again, there is the sense of the music coming through correctly and completely.

In conclusion, I am very pleased with these interconnects and as a consequence my system overall. I hear far less of cables and electronics now. Non audiophile friends now want to come over and listen to the music or watch a movie.

The rest of my system:

Sony DVD Player
Kimber Illuminati Digital interconnect
Lexicon DC 2 preamp
Adcom 5500 + 5503 power amps
B&W 802 matrix front, 805 matrix rear speakers
B&W Nautilus 1 center channel
Transparent Audio Speaker cables
Velodyne HGS 15 sub

Similar Products Used: Kimber Silver Streak
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jb cortes   Audiophile [May 10, 2000]
Strength:

Fast, transparent, lots of weight and presence, imaging

Weakness:

none

None

Though less spectacular than the changes brought by the introduction of the Pro9+ speaker cable in my system, the Pro Silway increased virtually all its existing assets. The amp seemed suddenly faster and, as all HT cables, the Pro Silway generated an uncanny feeling of realism, as if the performers were really there, in your room. This effect is particularly spectacular on voice.

My old Transparent MusicLink Plus, though less expensive, was no match for the HT. I also compared it at a friend's place with a more expensive Audioquest that sounded OK, prior to the introduction of the HT. When we hooked the Pro Silway, everything fell into place and became easy, natural.

An outstanding product. Changing your existing cables for HT is a revelation. The performances of my (quite expensive) system were increased by 20 %!!!

Similar Products Used: TRANSPARENT, ESOTERIC AUDIO, AUDIOQUEST
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com