Harmonic Technology Pro-9 Plus Speaker Cables

Pro-9 Plus

copper speaker cables

User Reviews (54)

Showing 1-10 of 54  
fjoggedelic   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2010]

I`ve just got these cables to try them over a few days, before desidding whatever i should by them. These days i try a lot of different cables in my system, from Acoustic Zen`s Satori, too Lavardin cables and also Danish Dyrholm Cables, and what strikes me was the quietness of the pro 9 ref, and what you hear is what you get. If a recording sounds good, these cables will make it sound even better, and in poor sounding recordings you will benefit from these cables makes a huge efford in trying too get the bad recording sound ok. Great midrange, deep bass and smooth treble. Nothing seems to get too harsh, it`s a very "laid back" sound, and if you`re in too that, these are your cables. Mine are just breaking in, I have loaned a demo set wich only have played in 50 hours or so, and HT recommend 100 hours, but already they sounds perfect. The Lavardin cable i`m trying out these days cost 4 times the Pro 9 Ref and the Pro 9 beats them in every single way. But this is my opinion, some others love the Lavardin cables. I`m using lavardin IT Intg amplifier and Jean Marie Reynaud`s Orfeo speakers for this review. The orfeo`s sounding a bit warm, just suits the cables sound in a very good way. I will recommend trying these cables out, before spending a lot af wasted money in more expensive cables out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
macfan   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2010]

If you think changing speaker cable is nothing but a money-wasting hobby, I think you should take an audition of the newer version (i.e. the one I am using is the 2009 SE version Pro-9 reference) of this cable. It is absoultely amazing. I paired it up with its pro Silway MKIII+ interconnect and suddenly it was like changing a component of a triple price tag. Really. I just can't believe why it is so but this cable finally showing the real performance of my monoblocks and preamp. Everything is so transparent now and revealing and the full spectrum of sound can finally be achieved. Imaging is phenomenal. Highly detailed sound could be heard and soundstaging is absoultely amazing. Build is top-notch and there is so weakness you want to blame on. Super good bass response, great mid and high. Just purely amazing. Got my highest recommendation and it makes e believe this is the best investment I've ever made. I spend three times more on listening to all my CDs again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dnarb   AudioPhile [Jun 19, 2009]

I find these cables incredibly musical and suited for all types of music. It is very neutral over a wide frequency spectrum. Th bass sounds controlled, precise and powerful, the mids are liquid and the highs are silky smooth, even when things get busy, the highs never sounds sharp.

The cable is also very quiet. It renders a wide and deep 3D sound stage, and it portrays textures and colours very faithfully in large orchestral music. It maintains an amazing balance between being very detailed, whilst never sounding bright or edgy.

At this price it deserves the highest recommendation. I've used in with Vivid Audio B1 speakers. I compared it with Kimber 8TC, which is also a neutral sounding cable. The difference in the bass and the mid range (which sounds a little recessed with the Kimbers) was immediately apparent.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bappy   AudioPhile [Nov 18, 2005]
Strength:

Sweet, Powerfull tight extende bass, Mids and hi's are perfect.

Weakness:

Very Heavy.

$ 700 is for the length of 6 Feet Can a cable be MORE important then a component. You will not believe what these cables can do. It can be more important than a component. Believe it. Not everyone will jump for cable like this as these are not very cheap. But people who are in a league of over $10,000 system only they will think of cable that range. These cables, in my opinion, are in a league of their own in delivering music of all types and recording quality in the most musical manner that I have ever heard. The sound is neutral and intoxicating with a sense of quietness and harmonic rightness that has unseated some very good cables in my system. If you would like to enjoy all your music with size without sounding loud, if you want to hear inner detail with delicacy and perfect tone you must try these cables This cable is so sweet on the mids and hi’s that the difference is immediate and the next day was even better. It has some certain recommended time for break in but when a cable is really good you can tell right away. The bass extension and overall spectrum is mind blowing. Great air between instruments, clear focus and naturalism at male/female vocals. Sound becomes silky clean, harmonics of instruments are defined and clearly understood. Bass is powerful with full body, fast and tight real tight. Generally speaking, with this cable, entire spectrum of signal become more natural, defined and clean. Matter of fact if I want to explain it further it will take day or two to finish my writings, so you can see that I am that much happy and grateful that I have bought this cable. You just can not go wrong with this cable that I can guarantee. Mr Jim president of Harmonic tech is a wonderful and well behaved gentleman and very helpful. In conclusion I want to say that Pro 9 Plus speaker cable has completed my system. Thank you Jim and also thanks Harmonic Tech for this wonder full product My System: Transport: CD Player: Marantz SA 8400 and Pioneer S 733 Universal Player. Dac: Benchmark Dac 1 Pre: Krell KSL 2 Power: Bryston 4B SST Speaker: Dynaudio Contour 3.3 Interconnects: Digital: Silkylinks Silver Balance: Guarilla Audio Silver XLR Speaker Cable: Harmonic Tech Pro 9 Plus (Yes) Ac Power Cord: Harmonic Tech Pro AC II Power : Amoco Online Power Conditioner

Similar Products Used: Accuestic Zen, Stealth, MIT.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bappy   AudioPhile [Nov 09, 2005]
Strength:

Their good value against the quality.

Weakness:

None so far.

This is more like a warning than a review . I have read all the review on this cable and got wonder, that how some people intentionally try to make some bad impression on this excellent cable. They do not even think how it will effect the company or the people who wants to buy some good products. These people are out of there mind as they are comparing this cable with the Radioshack products, which is already a Stereophile recommend product. They do have some nerve to do that. Then I must say that they are much more expert in audio world then Stereophile people. I have one word for them go get a life instead of giving your inexperience expertise to the world. I am going to buy this cable soon, which I have ordered already. I already have their Power Cord (Ac Pro II), which is an excellent product and also believe that this speaker cable is a excellent one also. Mr. Jim the president of Harmonic Tech is a wonderful person and he help me a lot far, their customer is also outstanding. Please do not I repeat do not listen to people, listen to your ear and audition this cable by yourself. I am giving five star before even listening and will write again after listening.

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Zen.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pigunios   AudioPhile [Aug 30, 2005]
Strength:

Everything. You don't miss a thing. Completeness. Like no cable is there. Awesome transparency, dynamics, bass, timbre, soundstage etc.

Weakness:

Might be also everything...if you have crapy components or speakers, or if they just don't combine well. It doesn't matter how expensive components or speakers are in that respect, regardless of how some people think about it.

After evaluating several high quality cables I came to realise that the pro-9's is the most complete speaker cable for this money, and even beating more expensive famous ones. And I was lucky to find much cheaper demo ones. Something I have to say to some so-called "audiophiles" with bad but ridiculously childish reviews, is that synergy is always important. Don't blame great cables or components if something else in your system is causing problems with fidelity. All system must be in a similar quality level. Positioning of speakers is also of great importance. Is also important in order to get best results to use Harm.Tech interlinks as well and if possible even their powercords. Because their cables are simply transparent with lack of character or distortion, unlike some others that claim the same but they always get something slightly wrong. The pro-9's allow music to flow through and might also show some imperfections in your system. With my humble, not so expensive or extreme hiend system of Musical Fidelity A300 amp, AH! Njoe Tjoeb cd4000 reference cd and B&W 705 speakers I got unbelievable results with these cables. Music is communicating beautifully with awesome clarity, presence, dynamics, naturalness, harmonic richness, big 3D clear soundstage, giving a result that borders to real especially with well recorded music. Completeness is the word that comes to mind. And I dare to compare my system now to some much more fancy and expensive systems I've listened in hifishops. It's also because these components seem to gel well together, but thanks to the HT cables they were allowed to shine. It's been said that the 705 have a tendency to leaness and lack in bass weight. That's true if you use other cables! Not with these ones! The pro-9 is indeed the closest I've heard to no cable at all, simply allowing the info through. If you want more colored or characterized sound, like supposedly more air on top that is caused from slight treble distortion for example, then look elsewhere. If you have good components and want cables that "really do their job" by standing out of the way and don't cost the earth, then I can only think HT cables and perhaps Townshend from UK or even the Acoustic Zen. But for me HT get top vote. It seems that manipulating of metal and metallurgy which is used by some cable makers, does make a great lot of difference, along with good construction of course. By the way...listen to the music! Not just sound. Cheers

Similar Products Used: Transparent, Kimber, Ecosse, Nordost, AH!, QED, VDHul, and last Townshend and Acoustic Zen that are of similar great perfomance. Didn't get the chance to try the also great Siltech cables in my system but I find them comparably seriously more expensive.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Klange   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2005]
Strength:

homogeneous sound, details, tru

Weakness:

visual look of the cable, no solder on the plugs - Get that fixed!

Its very funny to read the reviews here. Either you seem to love that cable or hate it! But there is no way that this cable deserves only one or two stars! The pro 9 + (biwire) have many great qualities, which has become visible to me since I have recently compared it to the SPM from Nordsost, a far much more expensive cable. In comparison the Pro 9 is not quite as open and "in your face" -like, but it sounds much more natural and homogeneous than the NO, things that I value more. The quantities of detail is actually the same, but instruments and voices sound much more true to reality, and without the colouring of the Nordost. The components in the music is much more harmonious composed with the pro 9 cable. It has a great mid range, sweet sounding, round treble, but not quite as deep as SPM. Pro 9 makes a huge soundstage huge if your speakers allow it. I dont understand why som reviewers claim that the pro 9 is edgy? The homogeneous sound is one of the greatest qualities of this cable.

Similar Products Used: Nordost SPM mk2, Red dawn
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ertugrul   AudioPhile [Dec 22, 2003]
Strength:

Bass,Naturality,Soundstage.

Weakness:

Whit high sensitivity speakers they dont work very well.

This cables are doing everything right!they have a very good and tight bass,natural and emotional midrange,smooth highs... they are at their best together whit prosilway interconect! There are beter cables but not for this price!

Similar Products Used: Audio note,Cardas,Nordost...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
  AudioPhile [Jul 11, 2003]
Strength:

Harmonic Tech is an Excellent sounding wire. The guy who gave it a bad review needs to wash the wax out of his Ears.

Weakness:

None

It seems like the Same fool is writing negative reviews about these wires. I also notice the scores are the same. I myself think this Speaker Wire is awsome. Hey fellow the next time you give a bad review do me a favor. Change the scores.

Similar Products Used: LAT Alpha Core
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Len   AudioPhile [Jun 19, 2003]

having listened to all the hype surrounding these cables I must say that I am most dissapointed by the number listeners who have bought into this nonsense. I would agree with the previous reviewer about the lack of any quality in any area of this cable. The accoustics are just plain terrible. No amount of adjusting made this cable even remotely bearable in terms of enjoying high end equipment. I would warn against buying into the hype, listen to other brands (Cardas, MIT etc) as they are completely in a different league than this tin string wrapped in plastic. Failing that I suggest using telephone cable as it would be superior sounding to this. In my not so humble opinion, terrible.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 54  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com