JPS Labs Superconductor Interconnects Interconnect Cables

Superconductor Interconnects

(See reviews)

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
Neil Walkinshaw   AudioPhile [Jan 20, 2008]
Strength:

Everything. Clarity. Soundstage. Deep smooth bass, yet beautifully refined and contoured. Naturalness around the mids/vocals. Smooth and sweet treble, but still remainling natural sounding.
Price!!

Weakness:

None. Absolutely None.

This is a review of the JPS Labs Superconductor Q Interconnect.
I have been using this i/c for around 2 months or so now and it is quite easily the best interconnect Ive used so far in my time in high end audio.
The SC-Q brings the music across with such terrific clarity, and such a natural feel. There is in openness about the sound which is just 'right'. It creates a beautiful soundstage, and seems to allow all the instruments and performers to have their own space within the music. All the way from the bass, thru to the high trebles everything just sits perfectly.
The bass has alot of weight to it, whether it be Stu Hamms' bass alongside Steve Vai, or whether it be an acoustic double bass of Stanley Clarke alongside Billy Cobham and Larry Carlton. It never sounds bloated or wooly, never appears artificially heavy either or boomy in any way at all.
Vocals sound more natural than any i/c Ive previously used. The vocals are always in the right place within virtually any recording, and never 'block' any other sounds from coming thru'. Again this can be vocals anywhere from Jake Burns of Stiff Little Fingers, thru to Diana Krall!! Any vocals Ive heard take on a previously unheard naturalness. Same applies to guitars, piano, flute, violin, cello and so on.
Most other cables Ive used, always appeared to either add or subtract something to the music, and it always seemed to be a compromise of which cable,on average, seemed to suit my music collection the best. I listen to a really varied selection of music, so it seemed like there was never an i/c which worked right on all the different types of music. Until I heard the SC-Q that is.
Id been auditioning various interconnects, going up and up in price, looking for that perfect cable. Even going as far as trying the HiFi Medias' own favourite 'Designer Hifi' label, Nordost. I tried the Nordost Tyr i/c, which was just ultra dissappointing for such a pricey, and highly rated, or certainly highly 'pushed' interconnect by the HiFi media. My trusty Hifi dealer suggested to me I try these new JPS Labs SC-Q interconnects, which he felt would be a far better match to my system. And cleverly, never told me the price!! He suggested I just try them and then we can talk prices. After hearing them, even before they were fully burned in, I was hooked, and ready to pay whatever it took to keep these cables. When he then told me they cost a quarter of the price of the Nordost Tyr, I was sure he was joking!!
So having resigned myself to having to pay upwards of £1000 to get the 'right' sound, i ended up having to pay below £300!! for a cable that blows everything else away that Ive ever heard at virtually any price.
Anyone looking for just natural beautiful music really needs to try JPS Labs products, I really cant praise them highly enough. I even took the liberty of emailing Joe, at JPS Labs to thank him personally for allowing my system to sound so good!!
The only problem this cable has created for me at least is this:-

If a £285 Interconnect can be this good, just how good will the more expensive JPS Labs products actually be???!!!
My mind boggles at the thought of this, because as I said, I really expected to be paying into thousands to get a sound like this. Im now considering trying even more JPS products at higher prices just to see how far it can all go!!

Customer Service

Totally Professional. Getting a personal reply to an email from the CEO of a cable company just shows how seriously JPS Labs take their customers.

Similar Products Used: Nordost
Kimber
Chord
Van Den Hul
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jasper   AudioPhile [Dec 16, 2004]
Strength:

Very Good, Very musical, very sweet, great bass definition, neutral and captivating.

Weakness:

Be aware, these are not the most ‘flexible’ cables in the world.., physically that is, but when bent and positioned carefully this should not be a problem.

JPS Labs Superconductor+ speaker cable and JPS Labs jumpers There are a lot of ‘Superconductors’ around at JPS Labs. This is about their JPS Labs Single Superconductor+ speakercable. The Superconductor+ is a line of very fine speaker cables cables that is akin to Superconductor2 (for state of the art interconnects) and Superconductor NC (for state of the art speaker cables) The Superconductor+ speaker cables have become an all time ‘classic’ at JPS and are a sort of finished and highly evolved product in their own right with good price versus real high-end quality value. There is the Bi-Wired Superconductor+ (which is an integrated double run of the smaller Petite Superconductor+), and the (bigger) Single Superconductor+, that this review is about. Phew, all rather confusing this, that is why I spell it out for you. After having this figured out, I decided to give the bigger ‘Singles’ a try in combination with the exactly matching JPS Labs jumpers (for bi-wired speaker connectors; do not use the standard jumpers that come with your to be bi-wired speakers, these usually are horribly sounding plate-jumpers!). So far I had used Tara Labs’ bi-wired RSC 1000’s that I really liked a lot. Having wired the rest of my system with JPS however, I wanted to give these cables a try as an audiophile always interested in and curious for improvement, well, you know.. - And I am still surprised of what great extra these cables have given my already highly evolved system. Even more high-end now; with a more open, stronger soundstage, depth, better bass contour and definition, and instruments that sound more live than ever out of my great (but oh so revealing and wiring critical..) Zingali’s, while voices are very pleasant and most natural. Tears in your eyes.. And more than once I found myself looking up to see where that piano stands or some other captivating sound catching my attention looking towards my speakers as if there was something else to ‘see’ indeed. Sound flows through the room much more three dimensionally instead of coming from the speakers. Good character these cables while being quite neutral actually, without getting boring however. Actually there is just one word, or two: Good, Very Good. Highly advisable stuff if you want to invest in seriously good and lasting cables: try, and you will probably buy these and are ready so you can concentrate on what comes after: sweet music. These cables are made ‘out of the right wood’ definitely. Be aware: however these cables come pre-conditioned in high-tech antistatic packing, these also need there time to break in. And however this has not been an unpleasant experience, after a while they get better and better and.. Great fun!

Similar Products Used: JPS Labs TARA Labs Cardas Naim
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AudioJ   AudioPhile [Feb 06, 2002]

Comparing the interconnects superconductor+ and the new superconductor fx, the + has a more silent background and clarity, while the fx seemed to have slightly better dynamics, speed and crisper transients. Both had smooth mids n good detail. Should definitely be in your shortlist for this price range.

Similar Products Used: JPS, VDH, Kimber select
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Arek   Audiophile [Mar 04, 2000]
Strength:

clarity, amazing definition, makes music leap at you, eliminates grain and that hifi clinical sound, build quality and appearance is first rate

Weakness:

none in my system

After what seems an eternity of comparing cable, listening, and evaluating I have settled on the JPS Superconductors+. These babies make my Bryston sound like a piece of Heaven. Music is incredibly realistic sounding, improved clarity, sense of depth and sound staging is phenominal, deep well define articulate base, instruments placed correctly, vocals clean and right in the middle of the room, quite amazing. Without exaggeration one of the best if not 'the best' I have heard. Now this is without the speaker wire which is next on my list, a g note but as soon as I save up, it will be in my system, can't imagine further possible improvement! At first I thought pricey cables but wait till you insert them, instant audible improvement and can't imaging what they will sound like after a month! So you get what you pay for. Futher to the cost factor, as an engineer I have some idea how much research and development costs and these are a true bargain for what it does for your listening pleasure. Congratulations to Joe and the JPS group for raising the ante in hi end.

highly recommended 5+ stars


Similar Products Used: Kimber hero, PBJ, silver bullets, Tara labs RSC master, cardas hex, cross, many many more
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Jenkins   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]

I cannot quite see what all the fuss is about with this cable. Like most solid core cables, it is smooth and pretty neutral, and because of its excellent electrical properties it adds no hint of strain, as some cables do. But like most solid core cables it commits sins of ommission. It is not particularly extended in either the highs or the lows, and it does not resolve low level detail very well. Personally I find solid core cables to be preferable only when there is something nasty going on in your system that needs to be smoothed over.

I still keep this cable around because of its good basic sound - although it does not get a lot of use. But in a good system it is not a world-beater. By the way, it looks identical in construction to a standard microwave cable I played around with (but ultimately discarded) a few years ago to me.

If you really like the sound of solid core cables then it probably deserves 5 stars at its low price, but for my tastes - 4 stars only. I just cannot agree with the claims that this cable is up there with the best.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2000]
Strength:

very clean sound. great on the details. This is for the DIGITAL COAXIAL 1 meter. much goes for interconnects too

Weakness:

TOO D*** Stiff! Could be a tad too revealing on some systems

This cable instantly revealed a little more detail than the MIT. However, I have 2 1000 watt Infinity HPS subs run speaker wire stereo and BIC America sub from the sub out on the Pre/pro for movies. This said b/c losing a little bass for greater detail was not an issue for me. I run full range Wharfedale speakers that are bi-amped and have dual bass drivers to boot. Some people wanting to enhance their bass may want to look elsewhere b/c this cable does not add a lot of lower punch, it just shows what is there. That to me is a good thing. Some recordings have super bass that goes low and clean and these reveal it. Others have great mids and these do that as well as anything too.
I have the Interconnects also and they go hand in hand w/ this philosophy. It is a real toss up b/w these interconnects and the newer Harmonic Technology Pro-Silway MKII. The HT does add a little bass to the mix though. Both are as good as anyone will ever NEED! :-)

Similar Products Used: MIT Digital Reference, Monster M1000D Silver, tributaries
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Raymond Tan   Casual Listener [Oct 06, 2000]
Strength:

Sound is transparent and clear. Retrieval of detail is excellent.

Weakness:

Too stiff and may cause problems when you shift your equipment around. Pricey.

I have been using the Superconductors between my CD player and pre-amp for the past one year and never have been happier. Some of the I/Cs I've used in the past tended to be too bright, but the Superconductors have a neutral, smooth and clean presentation that won't offend or grate. I liked my music to be warm without sacrificing detail, so using the Superconductors with the slightly darker TaraLabs Master Gen 2 between my pre and power amp were very complimentary. The Superconductors are a good choice if you already have close to the the sound you want in your hi-fi and you want to get that 10 per cent extra in punch and transparency.

When I first hooked them up, the transformation was immediate. Soundstaging is open and airy. There were bags of detail that I was hearing for the first time. I am using the 0.5m version so the cable's stiffness is a slight problem. They are too stiff and hard to position. But that's a small price to pay because the music is delivered the way it should be - uncolored. This is an excellent interconnect which I recommend highly to all users.

Similar Products Used: Too many to mention.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

clarity and depth

Weakness:

tough to bend but worth it.

I went from the ultra link performance to the opal X3 and thought wow.What an improvment.Then i put in the jps supercunductor + and wow another improvment in sound.Evertything was in its place.Heard things i had not with the previous cable.This is a definite must.If you want to spend 300US on a 1 meter lenght go ahead its worth every penny.When you upgrade your system you wont have to upgrade the interconnects.They are as good as your going to get.5 stars all the way

Similar Products Used: audio quest opal,ultra link performance
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron   Audiophile [Jan 11, 2000]
Strength:

Tremendous detail,a very liquid soundstage,expansive,good low end!

Weakness:

Hard to work with [but worth it]

Immediate difference wright out of the box.Best sounding innerconnect I have had yet.At half the price of Lapis,it is an OUT RIGHT STEAL.All I can say is WOW, WOW,!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Audiotruth Emerald.Lapis.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stan   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2001]
Strength:

Accuracy, transparency, price, quality build

Weakness:

a little stiff, but that's normal since the aluminum core is surrounded by a copper tube.

When I changed interconnects, I didn't expect much. I read the reviews here, and I was intrigued to see what a new pair of interconnects could ad to my system. I'll tell you right away, it didn't ad anything, and that's the whole beauty of these cables: transparency. You will hear the slightest little details from your recordings, and distortion is kept to a bare minimum. I paid $520 for my 2 meter pair, terminated with the RCA connectors. I've changed many parts in my system. Apart from the speakers, these cables represent the most significant improvement, at the most reasonable price. Two thumbs up!

Similar Products Used: Cardas Quadlink 5c, MIT Terminator 2, Kimber Hero
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com