Apple iPod (1G, 2G, and 3G) iPod

Apple iPod (1G, 2G, and 3G) iPod 

DESCRIPTION

  • This review page is for first, second and third generation iPods.
  • Functions as an external hard drive for backup of computer files
  • Backlit LCD displays MP3 track info
  • Touch-sensitive, backlit controls
  • 25-minute skip protection
  • Repeat, resume, and random play
  • 20 EQ settings
  • Sleep and wake timers
  • Notes reader

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Mar 31, 2010]
Justice237
Casual Listener

The iPod shuffle is not ment for a person who sweats. If a small amount of sweat enters the hole for your headphones then your warrantee is void within a week. If you are thinking of using this device for a long run or a heavy workout ... Apple people do not recommend you purchase it ... For if sweat alters the small piece of paper in the headphone slot ... Anything goes wrong your only choice is to purchase a new only ... Through them and warrantee is VOID!!! Extented plan means nothing.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 14, 2007]
zulu0621
AudioPhile

Strength:

stylish

Weakness:

1.has to be reformatted and skips songs unlike any other players i know.
2.can't access battery meaing you have to pay 75 bucks to have it replaced. i did this 3 times already
3.too pricy for a player that doesnt last forever.

im a dj an ive had my ipod for quite a while now. i ran into every single problem there is with it just recently. first time i had a problem when the screen was showing a sad ipod.though it worked for a bit the songs kept on skipping. i immediately tried to fix it for some time. i was able to fix it by using check disk using the run program from the start up menu.

just type:

chkdsk "drive letter of ipod": /r/f

it's sorta like defragging your ipod. the ipod works now and the songs dont skip "as often". they eventually come back even when i reformatted the ipod. sometimes twice in one day. though this works a lot for me i have to do it a lot of times in a week to the point i cant use it anymore. i just decided to buy another player since its a pain trying to fix the ipod and have it sent to apple only to have it broken again. its a waste to buy it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 18, 2006]
Chris
Casual Listener

Strength:

Song Capacity is huge.

Weakness:

Price

My Ipod had worked the entire time I have had it. It does not skip and it never has froze. I got what I paid for.

Similar Products Used:

MP3 Player

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 13, 2006]
JenBrady
Casual Listener

Strength:

The sound quality is great. Easy to download music to the iPod.

Weakness:

Do not buy an iPod. Within the first few months it freezes up. Needed to return it for a "new" iPod. The replacement iPods are actually refurbished ones. You are getting one that someone else had problems with and returned it to HP. The replacement iPods have only 90 days warranty - which you are not told about.
If I could put zero star rating on this product I would. Do not buy an iPod, you will waste your money.

This was a present for my husband who loves music. This was the perfect gift - for about a month or so.

Customer Service

HP Customer Service is terrible. They know they have problems with the iPods but once you buy it you are out of luck.

Similar Products Used:

None - iPod was my first choice.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 09, 2006]
Scott Cunningham
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

You can do far better on MP-3 players. The Ipod itself is decent. The battery lasts a long time, the wheel interface is handy, although you should be able to scroll backwards and zoom straight to the end of a list instead of having to wheel through an entire massive list to find what you want.

Weakness:

The headphones are crap.

The main limitation with the otherwise decent player is that you are not allowed to pull songs off the ipod once you put them on. You can delete them on itunes and it will pull them off that way, but you cant hook your ipod to someone elses computer and allow them to pull songs off. That is stupid. It also means that if you have a hard drive crash and have to re-install itunes, it will install with a blank library, and will eliminate your entire song library the first time you update the ipod.WTF???!!!

You can (and should) buy third party software to allow this feature, but for what you pay for an ipod it should be a standard feature.

The main problem comes with the itunes computer program. Its probably the worst music management system I have seen. Heres a short and incomplete summary of the problems I have experienced. First off, it totally crashed my system upon initial install. The damage to my registry was so bad I was forced to do a disk reformat and complete system re-install. Thats a great task to face as you are trying to get your new ipod working. Once I got everything together I was exposed to the joys of Itunes. It is difficult to import songs into it. I tried copying a big library off of an external drive, and it blocked that effort.

Song management is difficult. You can create and use playlists, but its far more intricate and complex than something like windows media player. It lists files differently than windows media player, Kazza, or any other system, so you won't get them arranged like they would be in windows.

Its a very fussy program. My version of Itunes regularly locks up. It will hang up for random reasons and will take 5-10 minutes until it becomes responsive, or requires a hard shutdown through the Windows task manager. Its the most trouble prone program I have ever had from a major software source (by an order of magnitude).

Lastly, when you play a disk from your CD collection to add to your itunes library it converts it to an mp4 (not an mp3). Nothing but itunes will play it. It works fine in itunes, but try playing that selection on Windows Media Player. Its a big no-go.

Overall I like the player, but the software is terrible and it has been a source of great frustration trying to make it do what its supposed to do. I expected far better for my money. If I had to do it again I would have bought another MP-3 player with similar features.

Overall decent hardware, terrible software. I am suprised this product became so popular.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 14, 2006]
Geoff
Casual Listener

Strength:

good design, ease of use

Weakness:

Horrible service. easily scratched, Hard drives that stop working. Overpriced service.

I recieved my 20g ipod as a gift. I loved the simple design and Ease of use.
However, product quality is another story. I hardley listen to the thing. I have recharged the battery less than ten times, but the hard drive cr#pped out. (less than 100 hours on the thing) Apple service wants $299 cdn to repair it. Thats more than a new unit.
Please think twice before buying this produce.

Customer Service

Would give them negative rating if I could.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 04, 2006]
karen harris
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Lighweight; convenience

Weakness:

Reliablility; Price;

It was love at first listen. The first Ipod I purchased was the U2 model when it first came out. It was a gift for my teenage son. Our first disappointment was that the $50 coupon that was included was only for the complete U2 collection (over $200) and could not be used for any other tunes. However, he converted all of our CD's and purchased many more songs from Itunes. This product changed his world! Within 3 months, the problems started. It would freeze up constantly. After 8 months I needed to return it to Apple to replace the hard drive. Since it was still under warrenty, the only cost was $35 for shipping. Within 5 months the hard drive was bad again! Since it was no longer under warrenty they offered to fix it at a price that was almost equivelant to the purchase price of a new one. Thinking that the first one must have been a lemon, we puchase a new 30GB unit. This time we purchased the Curcuit City Advantage Protection Plan. Again, things were great at first. Now after having to restore the hard drive twice and having to many other problems to list, I am returning this Ipod. I will never purchase another Apple product again.

Customer Service

On-line written support is good. Tried the on-line chat andfound it frustrating! I would type my problem and what I had tried then wait for what felt like 5 minutes for them to type back suggesting that I try the same fix that I just told them did not work.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 01, 2006]
EdYtunis
AudioPhile

Strength:

Ipod is a great product but wanted the latest.

Weakness:

Needs better headphones

Just upgraded though. Always loved the ipod. I am in music bliss nand in total amazement now that I have listened to my ipod through these brand new TBI speakers. The most versatile speaker from ipods to home theater.. A friend introduced me to the Majestic Diamond audio monitors.. Finally High Definition Sound.. they are calling it HDSS.. It will change the world. check it out.. tbisound.com

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 30, 2006]
samratb
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

good looks and brand name

Weakness:

please check other reviews

I rarely write any tech reviews but when I checked so many reviews about this item, I thought that I should give some light on it. It was year 2004, I decided to buy a mp3 player, my options were Apple iPOD, Creative Zen extra juke box, Dell mp3 player. After reading many of reviewes about all, I deceided to buy Creative one and till today still is running smoothly.
The question is what made me to choose Creative? To be honest price wasn't the factor.The answer is just few words lebelled behind each of the boxes. It was "Made in Malaysia" for creative and "Made in China" for the other two. I always believe(my personal opinion), you can't get a quality electronics products from China even though it is big brand like Apple, B&O, KEF etc.
If these companies are making huge profit by outsourcing the work to China, they are actually going to lose business in long run by not satisfying trusted customers.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 10, 2006]
jblynx
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

nice to look at

Weakness:

It is hard to use software, and the ipod is a poor product that only last a few mounths and quits working

I puchased the 30 gig ipod on 12/04/2005 used it for three mounths and it started freezing up, and constently needed factory resetting to use it, and then it just quit working. I then sent it into apple for repair or replacement, and they sent me a replacement which I have had for two mounths now and it also quit working, and know that the ipod is over six mounths old apple wants $32.00 for shipping and handling to fix it. what a scam.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com