Superphon Revelation plus Preamplifiers

Revelation plus

inexpensive, good sounding preamp (even by today's standards)

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
skipnie   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2012]

Blackgate caps substitution- - who is Michael Percy? Please send contact information or possible alternative to Blackgate which I understand are prohibitive price-wise. Also, the volume/balance pots any one changed these and has experience and information to share?

Thanks.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Joseph tang   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 09, 2006]

Joseph Tang to lars.tomasson


I am looking for the schematics for my 20 some years old Superphon Revelation Basic Pre-amp.
This amp is definitly better sounding than my ARC SP-7 Modified. However, when I had the internal wiring
changed to CADAS . I reversed the +/- Power and burned one channel of the Phone Section's transistors
(blew 3-4 transistors). Any idea to look for the Phone Section Schematic, I have the Line Section Schmatic.
Plaese email me joseph.k.tang@gmail.com if this can help.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jwsb   AudioPhile [Apr 12, 2004]
Strength:

Open sound stage, transparency and immediacy.

Weakness:

Looks and perhaps age

Tried this for kicks. Good performer(given the price and diminuitive looks) One of the better SS Preamps I've tried. Sounds like a hi-end preamp. I do agree with one of the reviews "lean bass" I was hoping to get some feedback on how much I should buy this for.

Similar Products Used: Solid State: Metaxas Marquis, NAD3020B. I do have Tube gear as well which should not be compared against.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Granger   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2003]
Strength:

Quiet, nice switching and handling of tape recorders

Weakness:

volume control range - but no noise after all these years

Bought this new back about 1993. I have a Revelation II with a single volume control. I listened to many preamps when I purchased it including Cary, B&K pro, Adcom and some others. I found the phono stage superior to anything I heard. Its still works like the day I bought it. Very clean and natural. Only problem for me is that there are not enough step levels in the volume control at low levels. Thinking about buying a new preamp but may continue to use this as a phono preamp.

Similar Products Used: These date me - GAS Thaedra, and Crown IC-150(how did this ever become a classic???)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
LarsTomasson   AudioPhile [Apr 29, 2002]
Strength:

Great Sound quality, Has a phono section, enough switching capability for most people, doesn''t do anything wrong. Still works great after 12+ years.

Weakness:

Not much to look at, Dual volume controls are a little inconvienient, Company no longer in business, little consumer following.

This is for the Superphon Revalation II. Good sounding pre-amp with phono stage. For the price it can''t be beat. If anyone has schematics, or knows the pot adjustment procedure for let me know at lars.tomasson@att.net

Similar Products Used: Conrad Johnson (a little better), Audible Illusions Modulus (as good but a pain in the but because of the tubes and high DC offset on outputs if power is momentarily lost)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2001]
Strength:

Affordable Real Music

Weakness:

Dowdy Looks

I have had this unit for nearly 14 years now and have heard others come and go. The build quality, to look at, is nothing special, but in all these years of consistent use nothing but the right side volume control needed a touch of re-soldering.

I haven't heard the megabuck preamps out there ($2000+); but anything I've heard under this (tube or solid state) has been underwhelming next to the old Revelation Dual Mono - I am only too happy to keep the money in the bank.

I am primarily an analog guy (every reasonable priced less-than-$1000.00 CD player sounds wrong to me, so my slighly modded Thorens TD316 and Shure V15Vx carry the tunes. Hooked into the little Superphon,it's realy magic at rediculous low price.

Can't say I won't ever get rid of this cherished little preamp, but some incredible preamp bargain must exist to ever have me think about it. If you find one second hand, buy it and enjoy it.

My equipment:

Superphon Revelation Dual Mono Preamp
Superphon DM200 Amp
Thorens TD316 TT / Shure V15Vx Cartridge
Rotel RCD965BX CD
PS Audio P300 Power Plant
PS Audio Ultimate Outlet
LAT International IC-200 Interconnects
Kimber 4VS Speaker Cabling

Similar Products Used: Conrad Johnson Sonographe SC22
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audiophile [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

Supernatural tonal balance; soundstaging

Weakness:

Lowest bass???

Stan Warren (the unit's designer) will like what I have to say (but then again, he's heard it all). My review is on the Dual Mono Plus version (single volume control). The performance of this unit totally belies its price. This preamp's phono section is as good as anything made today regarding of price. And its line section will not be humbled by anything up to $2000.

Owners of every system I've plugged this into have been amazed at the sheer naturalness and soundfield the unit projects. It may not be the most transparent by today's standards, but it does everything else to perfection. Every CD player I've hooked up to it has sounded very detailed yet natural. As a testament to its neutrality, I prefer listening to CDs through this unit than PS 4.6's passive mode (the latter has been compared with the ARC SP11). I'd just wish it had a mono switch.

If there is a weakness, and I'm not sure about this since I don't run any subwoofers, it is the low bass which sounds a little soft. It may just be that the 100uF coupling caps on my unit are starting to go. By the way, Stan recommends replacing them with Blackgates for really killer performance.

And I agree with a previous reviewer that the casework looks cheap. But I have to say it's only skin deep because I've discovered some deceptive qualities hidden within. My unit's been used a lot for 12 years, yet the volume control is not the least bit noisy. Nor have I experienced any other strange noise from the unit (no occasional pops ala PS 4 series of preamps). Also, the internal teflon wiring tolerates heat well and doesn't melt when you solder. Bottom line, I've heard preamps up to $3000 that don't sound any better. I'm keeping this one for awhile!

Similar Products Used: PS Audio; Adcom; PSE; Audible Illusion
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Audiophile [Nov 22, 2001]
Strength:

Inexpensive, neutral, clear,natural.

Weakness:

A little dated styling. Perhaps slightly deficient on low bass??

I used to own a Superphon Basic preamp. (the one with two volume knobs) It actually sounded quite good but a little lean on low end and somewhat hard to control channel balance. I recently purchased a Superphon Revelation 2 (one volume for both channels) It sounded fair but had lean low end and a shrill high end and midrange. Not something to live with as it was. I read on this site someone recommended changing the caps to Blackgate for good results. I spoke to the designer and former owner of Superphon about possible mods. He was very gracious and suggested the Blackgate substitution. Well, I just installed them today and........WOW!!!! Are you kidding me??? I couldn't believe my ears. This was a totally different preamp. The transformation is ridiculous. The sound is crystal clear. The bass is all there and treble is beautiful. I would have never thought changing two capacitors could make this difference. If anyone has one of these, order the capacitors from Michael Percy and be prepared to be astounded!

Similar Products Used: Adcom,Dynaco, Counterpoint
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stuart Mc   Audiophile [Sep 26, 2001]
Strength:

Sonic detail, 3dsound, incredible lows, tube like sound,

Weakness:

Volume pots, not enough inputs

I have had this little baby for years.
I have had a ton of preamps, and im still amazed at the sound of this little preamp. It rivels 3000.00 preamps in sound, and thats no joke! The guy who designed this puppy
did a fine job, and the price just cant be beat.
If you find a used one..do yourself a favour and purchase it
Hook it up, leave it on for 6hours to make a judegment
and it will bring a smile to your face

Similar Products Used: Melos,Meitner,Ps Audio, Denon, ect
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JB   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 1999]

Still the best budget phono section I have heard (although I have not heard the latest from Creek or Musical Fidelity, and I'll be very interested in the Lehman Black Box when I get back to the states), wrapped up in a cheap looking small box that also contains a full featured preamp. 3 knobs - volume, selector and balance, a mute switch (if you want to turn it off, pull the plug) and a tape monitor switch. The transformer is in a separate box.
Don't bother looking at the thing - listen to one! Dynamic, get's the voices right and works well with all MM's and all but the lowest ouput MC's (do you really want phono stage that cost less than $400 10 years ago for that cartridge?). At some point, I guess I will upgrade to something newer (and with a higher spouse acceptance factor). As I have gotten older, though, I am finding it more and more difficult to convince myself that those differences are worth paying all that $ for!

By the way, I've been on international assignment for a while, so better versions of all my stuff is probably available, and may turnup some shortcomings that I haven't heard - My system

AR ES-1 turntable (unmodified, except for the addition of an audioquest PT5 tonearm)
Blue Point Special cartridge
Superphon Revelation +
B&K EX 442
Sony CD player (sounds really lousy, but, hey, it is 7 years old)
JSE Model 1.2 speakers
Nakamichi BX300 Cassette deck

Most of this is in storage in NJ until we get back - it will be interesting to see how my opinions (and the equipment) have held up! Anyway, this was Stereophile class c/borderline b (I think) 10 years ago. Anyone know what happened to the manufacturer? Still worth 4 stars, and worth it as a backup for your main preamp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com