ROTEL RSP-1066 Preamplifiers

RSP-1066

7.1 Surround Preamp/Processor

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2009]

Looks great, sound is good in home theatre setup but very average in stereo the music lacks detail and has a processed sound when using the CD input and the 2 channel stereo mode. The music just sounded unnatural and harsh and I preffered to use my old acoustic research pre-amp until I figured how to getr the best of both worlds with the Rotel. If you have a decent CD player or SACD connect it to the Rotel via the Multi Channel Input using front left and right, once switched the Rotel by passes the processor altogeather ( it says 2 channel mode does this but there is no switching to by pass the processor when you press the button) as soon as I did this I tried a CD and I couldn't wipe the smile off my face the music came alive and I could hear every detail with a clarity i have not experienced with the rotel before, the improvement was astounding!!! if any of you out there are feeling disapointed with the sound in stereo mode I urge you to give this a go you will be suprised by the improvement I will never use the CD input again.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
pjohn   AudioPhile [Jun 12, 2007]
Strength:

Sound

Weakness:

Multi-channel inputs has some issues

Nice sound, one of the best sounding pre/pro for its price range.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
andygood   Casual Listener [Jul 20, 2004]
Strength:

Nice features, warranty, looks.

Weakness:

Like all of this stuff, riddiculously overpriced. Similar to other Rotel products I have owned, sensitive to grounding issues, noise through speakers, "pops" through speakers when changing cable tv channels.

I have been in the never ending upgrade cycle for a few years, from receivers to separates, from inexpensive to expensive cables, DVD players, etc. One observation in the Audio/Video world is that generally speaking, the jumps in price can range from a real waste to really worhtwhile depending of coarse on all of the elements in your system. The longer you figure out what to listen for and try different things, the more apparent this becomes. This by no means qualifies me as an expert, but I do pride myself on navigating through the hype and achieving a system that is a decent value. Which leads me to the 1066, my fist entry (at the time) in to separates. Prior to buying the 1066, I had a Denon AVR 3803 and added a Rotel RMB 1075. This was the first significant change per dollar spent I ever experienced. The difference was clearly measurable (more dynamic) and got me thinking that going to a dedicated pre-amp, things would only get better. Well they did and they didn't. First of all, I am a big fan of Rotel, I consider their products to be well-built and a good value for those of us that want to pretend we are in the higher end audiophile world. The various Rotel reviews exclaim that you get the performance of units costing many more dollars. I have been seduced by these types of reviews and Rotel's excellent marketing but have come to the conclusiion that like anything else, you get what you pay for. True, the law of diminishing returns kicks in when you go from a $1,500 pre-amp to a $2,900 pre-amp, but if you listen discriminately, the small differences become worth the premium. The 1066 is a budget pre-amp, albeit subjectively in my view more classy than an Adcom or even a B&K, a few pegs down from Anthem, Krell, Proceed, etc. It is decently built, has a nice feature set and good warranty. Most importantly, it will be a nice step up from most receivers, keeping in mind that I feel that it didn't provide the difference I was sold on by my dealer when I replaced my Denon 3803 (pre-outed to the RMB 1075). Recently I bought an Anthem AVM 20 floor model at a great price. The bottom line is that the Anthem felt more like what I thought I would get when I upgraded to a pre-amp from the Denon. More lively surround processing and more punch to movies. Musically, the gap is probably narrower thus giving credence to the reviews that compare it to pricier units. On the downside, I used to have a Rotel RSX 1055 and like the 1066, I hear a "pop" in my speakers when changing channels on my digital cable box, something that I haven't experienced on numerous other receivers. Also, there can be sound drop outs on the split second layer change on DVD's, something I have read about even with the more expensive pre-amps. The remote is what it is, kind of a big awkward affair. All in all, my opinion is that if you can somehow make it work out, try to stretch to something the calibur of an Anthem AVM 20 or if you have a decent receiver, try partnering it with a good amp first. If you are starting out and have around $2,000 to spend and the choice is between entry level separates or a bigtime receiver, you'll be satisfied with the Rotel 1066 and an amp like the RMB 1075. Lastly, it is easy to get a little snobby as you move up in to different levels of equipment, also remember that all of this kind of gear has its' quirks,is oversold professional review-wise and is miserably overpriced. The Rotel 1066 is on par with the Adcom and B&K offerings at similar price points, do some demo's and get the one that looks and sounds the best to you. Again, if you are in this thing for the long haul and are piecing some good equipment together, I'd spring for something like the Anthem or better, you are going to be pleased, especially if you are in to Home Theater.

Similar Products Used: Rotel RSX 1055, Anthem AVM 20, Denon 3803, Marantz 7300, Pioneer VSX 55TX.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
lrstevens421   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2004]
Strength:

User Friendly Onscreen Menu Great Sound for Music and Movies Upgradeable Great Bargain considering other processors in this price range. Very knowledgeable phone reps

Weakness:

Wish it had 192 dacs, but it still sounds amazing.

First let me say that the people at Stereo exhange in NYC are great. Les who I believe is the sales manager is very helpful and knowledgeable. They are a first rate operation, and I know because I'm in the business as well. Well anyway, let's get to the Processor. I'm upgrading from the acclaimed Yamaha RX-V1400 receiver, it's hard to image that the Rotel would be that much better but it is. The initial setup was a little tricky but once you get this puppy going it's AMAZING. I also partnered it with the Rotel RMB-1075, these two were made for eachother. I just recently found out that this unit only uses 96/24 dacs. I thought this would be a downside because the yamaha receiver used 192dacs, boy was I wrong. I've learned it's not the sampling rate of the dacs that are so important but it's how they are implemented. It's needless to say that the RSP-1066 is superior to the Yamaha in every way. The Onscreen display is shockingly simple and easy to use. Unfortunatly my unit laready has to be sent in for service, it has to be upgraded with the newest software, that's right it's UPGRADEABLE. I love this piece even it's cosmetics are wonderful. This is the best preamp/processor in the $1500 dollar price range. Get rid of your receiver seperates are the way to go.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V1400 Onkyo TX-NR801 My system: Panasonic PT-53WX42 Widescreen HDTV Rotel RSP-1066 7.1 Preamp/processor Rotel RMB-1075 Thx ULtra 5 channel Power Amp Onkyo DV-SP800 Thx Ultra DVD/SACD/DVD-Audio Player Sony SL-VN799HF-Vcr Cambridge Azur 540C Cd Player Monster Cable MPB-1100 Power center
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Pratt   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2003]
Strength:

Strong user community, top notch sound quality, no frills or gimicks and looks fantasic

Weakness:

none really

I have now owned the Rotel 1066, 1055 and now the 1098 and run the Club Rotel at http://www.htguide.com/CFBoards/index.cfm?fuseaction=Threads.listings&forum=25&CFB=1 Please feel free to drop in for the most up todate info on these products. Many of the quirks you've described have been addressed with firmware updates.

Similar Products Used: Sony TA-E9000ES, Rotel 976 & 1098 and numerous receivers acting as pre amps.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dgjohnson   AudioPhile [Jul 24, 2003]
Strength:

sound quality, big bang for the money

Weakness:

none that i,ve found

I bought this unit in may of 2003 and have been waiting till all the new excitment wares off before I write a review. IT HAS,NT if anything im more excited now than when I got it! the RSP 1066 has done a fantastic job of bringing my music colletion back to listenable standards My wife & I listen to a really wide variety of music from classical to jazz to rock, soul, easy listening etc. I,d recommend this unit to any one who wants beautiful sound quality at a reasonable price. The video section of the 1066 is no dissapointment either. For real excitment in home theatre or music match this unit up with rotels RMB 1095 it will blow you away. thanks for your time

Similar Products Used: yamaha I,ve heard proceed and thats really good, old style marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ckong   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2003]
Strength:

Great with DD & DTS. Very capable as a audio. Great value for a pre/pro.

Weakness:

Mutli-inputs mode has certain issues but there are ways to work around it.

Beat my past reciever, a HK 5500,hands down. Better dynamics, smoother sound and more details compared to the HK 5500.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon, Musical Fidelity, NAD, & Denon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skidrhow   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2003]
Strength:

More than can be listed (except for price!!!!).

Weakness:

None

I am thrilled with this unit. I had bought an Anthem AVM-20, but it was DOA (see my review of same). I had sold my Denon unit just prior to picking up the Anthem, so I was out in the cold when the Anthem did not work (for the record, Anthem customer service was first rate). I could not wait for a new Anthem processor, so I made a few calls and found the Rotel 1066 in stock (a rarity). I bought it on site, and hooked it up. I have to say that I am most impressed. The unit is quite intuitive to use (even my wife is happy to change settings, and she hates remotes and all things electronic). The unit does a great job with DTS and Dolby decoding and flagging, and for the most part it is automatic (sometimes, you might have to set the unit to "2-channel" when playing a CD just after playing a movie, but that is rare). I had some issues with the units bass management on it's multi-input, but Rotel's customer service did a great job helping with it (it is not completely resolved, but they are working on it). Suffice it to say that if you are going to use the Multi-inputs to play DVD-Audio or SACD, there is a bit of weird science going on (see the Rotel websight), but all I have heard is sonic perfection, so do not hesitate to use this unit to controll your SACD or DVD-Audio signals. In all, this is the best deal in audio (besides the new Denon DVD-2900). As far as video, I have only passed S-Video signals, and they are flawless. Denon claims throughput of component signals, and based on the units measurements (I think it is 200Mhz), I believe them. I put all of my progressive and High-Def signals directly to the TV (I suggest everyone else does the same), but if you insist that your pre/pro manage all video signals, I do not think you will see a drop in video quality running everything through the Rotel. My system: Rotel RSP-1066 Rotel RMB-1075 B&W CM Series Speakers M&K MX-700 Subwoofer Denon DVD-2900 DVD Player

Similar Products Used: Anthem AVM-20 Denon AVR-3802
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Azeke   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2003]
Strength:

Dynamics, musicality, HT.

Weakness:

Still not enthusiastic about the remote, ergo I am still using my Yami Rav2K, which I have modified.

Wow!!!! This processor rocks. Great dynamics, running with a Rotel RMB-1095. Check the firmware version, currently 2.25 is the lastest (hold the mute button to reveal the version), and the RR 950 remote comes with the newer versions. I dealt with alot of spousal grief, but it was worth it, this is one beautiful piece of equipment. You can do better, but you would have to double your price range. I'll never go back to receivers, separates are the real deal.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V3200, The following were tested: Parasound, Proceed, B&K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rsmcphee   AudioPhile [Mar 07, 2003]
Strength:

sounds, latest software, software upgrade, and well engineered

Weakness:

Memory forgets setting once in a while, unfriendly remote

Here the components I matched with this processor. TV: 48” Sony rear projection TV Center Channel: Martin Logan Cinema Main: Monsoon FPF-1600 Surround: FPF-1600 Sub: Infinity HPS 1000 CD: NAD 541i DVD: Pioneer Elite DV-C36 changer and Sony NC650V SACD player changer Amplifier: Outlaw 750 (165 watts per channel) Power conditioner: Monster Power Cables and Interconnect: Straightwire and Nordost mix Let me just say that this is a very good processor. I like that fact that you can upgrade the software in the future. I have played Nora Jones, Sinatra, Sade, and Diana Krall on this equipment and the results are always pleasing. I have had Onkyo TXDS797, Sony receivers, Harman Kardon AVR320, and Pioneer Elite and so far this is my favorite. I thought of buying the Outlaw processor (950) instead of this but the possibility of future software upgrade had me convince that this is a better choice. The sound that this produces is clean, open and realistic. I enjoy listening to music with this hardware. The only 2 gripes I have are the remote and the memory setting. The remote is cumbersome to use. Furthermore, this equipment sometimes forgets the settings (such as Pro-logic 2 music, stereo, DTS-music) that I have (at least it does not change the speaker configuration). But in terms of sound and build quality, I recommend this highly. Go take a listen and I bet you will end up buying one.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon, Onkyo, Sony, Pioneer Elite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com