NAD 312 Integrated Amplifiers

312

Integrated Amplifier - 25W x2 Channels (1996-1998)

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Michael Larsen   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2016]

Bought this amp as an upgrade to use later with a big power amp

Got it used for almost nothing in nearly mint condition, i was surprised by this little amp using it with my pc and big bookshelf speaker (6½woofer) with 89db sensitivity, since theres lots of power and a good bas, sounds bigger and more fullbodied then most small amps from other brands.

I don't find the sound bright, it depends on how the songs are recorded, bright recorded songs do sound bright, but if you like bass look no further, nad is the brand to go for.

Now i know why so many use nad with cerwin vega

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Arthur   Casual Listener [Nov 17, 2013]

This is the amp that started the hobby for me. My brother used it in a near field monitor setup with B&W DM100 speakers, good sound card and good cables. I liked this combo for it's enthousiastic way of delivering any kinds of music. I then bought the 314 (the same but with an extra set of speaker outputs) and used is with B&W DM110.

After 10 years I still have a 312 (the one that was my brothers) as a back up amplifier. Every time I connect it the sound surprises me. I have used numerous of higher end amplifiers that are without a doubt better than the 312, but still, the 312 delivers the musical message with confidence, and that seems to be a rare quality. 25 watt doesn't sound as much, but with plenty of current under the hood it is enough for many speakers.

For the sound; I think the quality of the 312 is that it sounds very alround. There is not much not to like here. Bass is there aplenty. Not the most tight, but it goes deep and gives the music good foundation. Top end can be slightly agressive at some times, but not to a point that it gets irritating. Mids are quite neutral. This is not an amps that is very detailed or transparant, neither does it create a very big sound stage. Like I said it is an allrounder that let's you focus on the music, and that is what matters. It suits any kind of music, but I think it's at its best for rock music. The slight agressive character is a good thing when it comes to rock.



OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Sirsam   Casual Listener [Oct 31, 2008]
Strength:

,

Weakness:

,

Hello,..would anyone know where I can purchase a set of these silver jumpers. I purchased a used system that is missing the jumpers. Thanks for any help..regsards..sir sam

Customer Service

,

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
L_Pautola   AudioPhile [Jun 19, 2002]
Strength:

clean, musical sound, simple outlook, price

Weakness:

slight lack of dynamics, lack of remote control

I have used this amplifier for a couple of weeks now and i've been somewhat satisfied with it. According to numbers, it doesn't deliver very much power. Although for very unsensitive speakers (84 db/w for example) this may not be enough, I wouldn't care about that. More important is the sound, this amplifier creates. One big pro, this amplifier has, is the cleaness of the sound. Although it's a bit dark and resolution is not that good, you can totally live with it with speakers of the same pricerange. Dynamics work pretty well if you again consider about the power. Bass is somewhat lame. Compared to some basic hometheater-amps (sony str-db840QS) it's also a bit flat. But i must strongly remind that these are microscopic differences. With speakers of the same pricerange you won't even notice this. It became accesible to me after buying my current penaudio apprentice speakers. Mid-range is definitely the best part of this amp. It is clean and musical. Works very well even with cheap high-end speakers. Flute sounds vrey natural and soft. Piano is a bit flat, but otherwise good. Especially the beginning of a note doesn't have all the power it needs to sound natural. But then again, you need very good speakers to even notice this. Highs sound very natural as well. Triangel has the brightness it needs. I think neutral is the best word to describe this end of the sound-scale. Even though i have said some negative things about this amp, let's face the truth. With this price there isn't many amps that compete with this one. I personally would like to call this the cheapest high-end amplifier i've heard so far. Unfortunately there's two big cons with this amplifier. One is the lack of remote control. Everyone knows how helpful it is, so no explanations. Other is that bass and treble controls have far too big area, those have effect to. My suggestion is that even with "low-end" speakers, you leave them alone and use that useful tone-defeat button. Besides that saves you from a lot of work from trying to find the "best" sound instead of the "natural". So in a nutshell, if you are new into hifi, try to find this amp somewhere. It's definitely worth of every penny! And you can get a lot of use out of it even if you have pretty good speakers. It's the flagship of most budget-stereosystems.

Similar Products Used: CA A500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Adriel   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2002]
Strength:

price

Weakness:

stock steel or steel/brass jumpers

First, it''s too bad that the NAD 312 is discontinued now. I''m using this integrated amplifier in a computer-based near-field (I''m 3 feet away from the speakers) desktop listening system. Although I wouldn''t describe the sound as "warm" as other reviewers have, I do know the sonic character that they''re talking about with regards to the NAD 312. However, to me, replacing the stock U-shaped jumpers with Pure Silver Sound Integre'' jumpers eliminates this "warm" sonic character. Using those jumpers raises the price $50 and it takes a month for them to arrive, but considering it changed the NAD''s sonic character flaw it was worth it. I''m using a pair of Axiom Millennia M2ti speakers with the NAD 312, and an M-audio Delta/Audiophile 24/96 soundcard for the computer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
joe   Audiophile [Sep 16, 2000]
Strength:

The over all consistency of quality sound through the audio spectrum. I used some wharfedale diamond 7.2s and they really rocked the house. Imaging and control of the bass were some of the highlights

Weakness:

usually costed to much to upgrade to bi-amping.

This was my second high-end amp, which I traded from a 310 because I wanted to be able to listen LP's on my HiFi. It worked out great and the sound was beautiful. Do not buy this product if you are expecting something with a bunch of features, it only has what you need and no more. As long as you use it with a decent set on monitors it will play very loud, I noticed when I hooked up bigger speakers it still played well, just not as loud.

Similar Products Used: NAD 310(though has no phono stage) and Rega Brio
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark K   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 12, 2000]
Strength:

Price, sound, simplicity

Weakness:

Cheap buttons and cabinet color is drab

I've been running the 314 with NHT supertwos. The sound is definitely musical and at a price of $120...I got a steal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audiophile [Mar 16, 2000]
Strength:

Amazing punch in the bass
Great imaging
Great power handling

Weakness:

With my speakers I could use a more powerful amplifier

This amp is just great for the price. I got this amplifier for about $240 (=nfl 499,-). For this price I am sure that there is no amplifier that is able to get to the performances of this one. The technical specifications look very poor (2 x 25 watt), but don't forget we're dealing with a real NAD amplifier. I've heard soms amps who were 2 x 50 watts, but couldn't reach to the power of this one. But this amp isn't only powerful, it's also great in detail and imaging. Some may think that a amp doesn't really matter considering this points, but I sure do.


5 STARS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stefan   an Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 1999]

I had the 312 fore 1 year and than i wend to a Marantz 1041 but i think that you have fore $275 the best Amplifier you can get fore that price, even now i miss myn 312 some times especially with electronic music

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Jason Lamine   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 1999]

I put together a couple of speakers, from radio shack speakers for the fun of it mainly. I then bought a NAD 312 for $200 New. I hooked it up to my cd player through my computer sound card. I use a sound processor and equilizer through the computer, then line out to the amp. It is great sound, it is way under rated at the power. Great for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com