Sony TA-N9000ES Amplifiers

TA-N9000ES

115W x5 Channels or 200W x2 - Parallel Push-Pull Output

User Reviews (43)

Showing 1-10 of 43  
vadm   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2017]

I have to say it's the best one. amongst those i have: pioneer-sc75, nakamichi-AV1s, cambridge-audio azur 551, skipping dennon and maranz

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yves gresseau   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2016]

My Sony TA-N9000ES was bought at 6th Ave electronics in New Jersey . I loved it . It was a floor sample . I couldn't afford it brand new . It costed me a little over $900.00 . My only problem with this Amp is the maintenance . It broke down a couple of times . As a matter of fact , it's not playing right now and it's not because of money . I can't find find a repair shop to have it fixed . And believe me , it's breaking my heart . I am in Palm bay Florida . If anyone can help , i would be please . The best Amp ever made by Sony and the best for the money .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ChrisUtah   AudioPhile [Aug 21, 2015]

I have owned many different Amplifiers in my dedicated Theater room such as Emotiva, Sherbourn, Sherwood, Marantz. I would Characterize myself as the Audiophile that tries to find the best bang for my buck since I have many other hobbies. First off I found this amplifier in my local classified listings and paid $150 for it. I bought it merely out of curiosity since it had the "ES" designation which I heard meant it was the higher end of Sony's audio line. I quickly brought it home and disconnected my amplifier and connected the Sony. My first song that I fired up was David Helping's "Sticks and Stones in lossless format, all I could say is wow!!!! All the other Amplifiers I had owned had their own strengths whether it be great control, space, speed, etc..... What the Sony exuded is amazing space with warmth in the highs and mids, the separation was very impressive. The thing that got me the most was that the bottom end of my speakers seemed to go quite a bit lower and with amazing authority. I was hooked, my only fear is that with an Amplifier this old is that the first time I turn it up it will blow out. Well happy to report this has not happened, I listen to my music quite a bit louder than most.

One other thing about the sound, it is very organic sounding. If you like a more clinical or sterile sound which many do than this amplifier might not be for you. The sound could be described more "tube like". My associated gear is Marantz sr7008, Anticable speaker cables( highly highly recommended) Paradigm studio 100 v5.

If you have any questions feel free to email me at longdrive @ gmail.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TICKTACK55   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2012]

I found this at a audio shop in Osaka with only 630 bucks.
It is such a old product but this powerful 5 channel power amp can give sufficient power to my Infinity Kappa 80 which has four 9" woofers.Love clean and crispy sound both low end and high end. I cannot complain on this. I hope this will last long.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
1bad70nova   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2005]
Strength:

Clear sound, strong bass, mids, and highs. Solidly built and good looks. Easy to set-up. BLAH-BLAH-BLAH...

Weakness:

None

I have had this amp for a short while now and I absolutely LOVE IT! It is rich and warm sounding with clear highs and strong bass and midrange. I wanted to move to seperates, but that stuff can get expensive. Plus, I wanted something that could match or come close to matching my other Sony equipment. I have a Sony STR-DA333ES receiver and it does a great job of sound reproduction, but this amp moved everything up a couple of notches! It over powers my Boston speakers, but that's only when I start to get on it hard and the source material has a LOT of bass in it. My system consists of: Sony STR-DA333ES Receiver Sony DVP-NS999ES DVD/SACD Player Sony TA-N9000ES Amplifier Boston Acoustics CRC Center Channel Boston Acoustics CR7 Front and Surrounds Boston Acoustics PV-1000 Subwoofer

Similar Products Used: None...First time seperates user.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CRB   Casual Listener [Apr 08, 2005]
Strength:

Nice fit and finish Runs cool Can handle a 4 ohm load 5-year warranty Still works after six years. Sounds good

Weakness:

Doesn't double power into 4 ohm load. Big, heavy and deep--Can make connections tight. Having an non-detachable power cord seems low rent for ES gear.

I bought this TA-N9000ES/N ( last N is gold color ) along with the matching preamp in April of 1998. The pair was $2100. I have used it connected to Infinity Overtures, Infinity Compositions Preludes and Infinity Prelude MTS and it sounds good in all instances. These speakers all have powered woofer/subwoofer elements so this amp has never fallen short of my power needs. It runs very cool, even under heavy loads. It isn't a monster amp that can double down into a four ohm load or anything like that. It has a current limiting switch for 4 ohm loads. It has a five-year parts and labor warranty that I never had to use. Which is the best kind of warranty, in my opinion.

Similar Products Used: First stand alone power amp.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Migel   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2004]
Strength:

Build like a tank. 55 pounds. Also, you can do anything with this amp, run 2 speakers, bridge, run 5, and so forth.

Weakness:

Unfortunately the 7es receiver and this amp are not compatible for A-link.

Purchased this amp specifically to use the BTL 2-channel for my Paradigm 100 mains. My Sony DA-7es does the rest. This is an excellent amp. Power is adequate and sound is cleaner than the 7es.

Similar Products Used: Sony Str-da7es
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
netman8762   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2003]

This is a great amp. I am using this to power my front Paradigm S 100's and they shine I wondered if anyone here could anser two questions about this unit. One, what is "BTL" mode and two, has anyone been able to tripper this unit to standby with anything other then a Sony receiver? Any help would be appreciated. Now the amp itself. I am using this for two channel in BTL mode and it is wonderful. My recevier, Onkyo 898, had a bad habit of turning itself off at levels of +5db. It was annoying. I don't really listen that loud but when you want to crank it up to show off speakers it sucks to have your receiver shut off. I am very pleased with the warmth and presence of this unit. Low end rocks.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2002]
Strength:

Powerful & accurate, yet airy & easy to listen to. Great for surround AND stereo listening. Has seperate ''pure audio'' 2 channel input. Multiple operating modes for number of channels in use in your system. Bridgeable for 200watts x2 stereo operation. Outstanding value (bang for the buck).

Weakness:

May not have enough ''juice'' if you have inefficient speakers

I always knew that my system sound could benefit from utilizing a separate amplifier, even though my reciever was quite good. I have gotten into 5.1 SACD music as well as home theatre, and decided to look into it. Well, immediately after hooking the TA-N9000ES up, I realized it''s value. Though you wouldn''t have predicted it, the sound was now more focused from top to bottom, more powerful but less offensive & more airy... the music was just more ''musical'' and separated now that the sound was more accurate. All was not well with my first one though, as it had a broken power button stuck in the ''on'' position. So I sent it back. In the meantime I auditioned some other amps and I never got the same satisfaction from them. In fact, contradictory to Bearzoo''s findings below, I found the HK 1.5 to be very powerful but very fatiguing to listen to for extended periods... especially the highs. It was like there was a lot of THD way up there oscillating my eardrums in all the wrong ways, way too powerfully. I would have to disagree with his assessment that the 1.5 is an audiophile piece. I think it''s more like a block party amp that you use with some cerwin vegas- but to each his own. Anyway, I ordered another TA-N later to replace the defective one and am very happy to have this piece as a permanent addition. I think all of the tweaky design that went into this amp(tandem push/pull output transistors, S-fin heat sinks, direct ground drive, etc.) really served to make a fine product. I should mention that my speakers are pretty sensitive though (94db), so that could be why I don''t experience the lack of ''juice'' that some people have noted. As always, with anything you must audition it in your system.

Similar Products Used: Auditioned HK, Rotel, Parasound amps
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bearzoo999   AudioPhile [Apr 11, 2002]
Strength:

TA-N9000ES is a decent amp but truly an underperformer for the audiophile.

Weakness:

low power in five-channel. poor theatre presentation. lacking in precision at the low ends.

A year ago I went and bought The Sony TA-N900ES on the strength of many recommendations and strong word of mouth buzz. I always wondered about those dedicated home theatre models. How accurately can they take you to the theatre presence and give you the ump, bang and woof for the buck. I was disappointed in the TA-N900ES. I ran through my 400 plus movies and configured every silly tech trick allowed but did not get the feel of a rumble and the blood curling churl that sinks you back in your chair. I wanted the ringside sweet spot that the marriage of a TA-N9000ES and the TAE9000ES did not and could not deliver. At a summer barbecue I my neighbor’s system. He had three Harman Kardon Signature 1.5 two-channel amps chained and The Star Wars Trilogy ran on for the kids. The movie sound rocked and synchronized perfectly. The highs were high and lows were crystal clear and I was a Jedi Knight. I felt that I was in Audiophile heaven. The next weekend I bought the three amps from J&R in NY for $499 each, took them back to Jersey and now I am The Party. Every comment about my system begins with the jaw dropping comment WoW. Please, please, please do it again. These Amps usually retail for $1400/each but J&R had a sale. There has not been a day since that I have not sat back, admired, and enjoyed the sounds of the 150 pounds of pure amplifying six-channel muscle chained to my TAE9000ES. It is alive, precise, addictive, and the best damn musical investment that I have ever made.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon Signature 1.5
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com