NAD 2200 Amplifiers

2200

100 Watts - Power Envelope and Soft Clipping - Bridgeable (1985-1986)

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
Tony Diggs   AudioPhile [Jan 15, 2016]

I bought my first in 1986. Its bridgeable. I picked up my second one in 2000. In mono, they deliver 300W/channel and head room of 1200w/channel. They were crisp and true. Of course, I never used all of it, but it sure pushed the transients through. My house was broken into in 2009. I lost them! It was a heart breaker. I had them bi-wired into a set of Definite BP-30's using Audio Quest wires both pre and power amps. They lasted 23 years with no repairs. Pick up one of these monsters. You'll be delighted. True rock and roll power with the finesse to play acoustic country, jazz and bluegrass with the same prowess.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrea   AudioPhile [Jun 26, 2014]

Salve
il primo nad 2200 pe è entrato a casa mia nel 1990... e pilotava due casse a 4 vie con 2 woofer Ciare da 46cm caricati a labirinto (accordato a 75Hz), mediobassi Iaff da 10cm, mid alti rcf mr45, e tw rcf Tw105.
per poco tempo ha collaborato con uno Yamaha M2 da 400W per canale che si occupava solo dei bassi. Purtroppo la differenza circuitale dei due amplificatori determinava un ritardo terribile nello Yamaha, cosa che mi ha convinto a vendere il Nad.
solo quattro anni fa ho trovato un 2200 con il quale ho amplificato, collegandolo a ponte, una cassa con un woofer da 38cm anche questo è caricato a labirinto. Il mio bassista afferma di non aver mai suonato con un impianto migliore! Da poco tempo sono il fortunato possessore di un secondo Nad 2200 pe perfettamente funzionante...
la brillantezza la capacità olografica la riserva di potenza (1600Watt) fanno del 2200 l'amplificatore migliore che io abbia mai ascoltato!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joao Oliveira   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2011]

I Buy The NAD 2200 & 1155 Second And In 2008 That Time I Use It With Cabasse Clipper II M 3 1000 Watt To Peak With This GREAT AMPLIFIER.I Wake Up The HOUSE That Time With One Record Vinyl At Volume 1.It Was Too Loud But Great Stage And Transparent Clean Sound.Now I Have Cabasse Galion IV M4 And Is Smoter Sound With A Lot Of Warm Contour In The Bass And Smoter Mids Highs.I Feell ALRIGHT Now WIth The NAD 2200 & 1155 And Every Time Of Listning Is Very Impressionant.An Exampel Is The Last U2 Achtung Baby(This Is BASS)Stage Record In A New Dimension Of Sound.Have A Good Time Listenig Music With This Great NAD 2200 & 1155 And Use Cabasse You Will See And Ear The Real Sound Like It Is(LIVE).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark McElroy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2011]

Powerful, clean and rock solid. Very musical, excellent stereo imaging and soundstage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jgriffin   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 22, 2009]

I bought this amp in January, mainly on the strength of the reviews below. The strengths and pitfalls of this amp are very well documented here. The 2200 effortlessly drives 6 pairs of paradigm speakers and (one sub woofer) throughout my house and yard, and it is everything I hoped it would be. However, because of the age of these amps, you have to be ready to deal with the burnt contacts problem, which eventually creates the dreaded "punch through" sound problem that is well detailed in previous posts. I want to share with readers who are contemplating buying one of these amps some of the lessons I learned from hard experience trying to get mine repaired. The first thing to realize is that, even if the amp is in perfect condition, and is being sold by the original owner, the burnt contact problem could suddenly begin to manifest it's self at any time. In my case, it happened a week after I had purchased my 2200 from the original owner. He offered to take it back, but I really loved the sound of the amp and wanted to restore it. I learned the hard way that, even though some shops will say that they have qualified techs who will fix your amp, it will cost you a pretty penny. In my case, even though I told the first shop up front that the problem was coming from burnt contacts, they led me on for 3 months with promises and needless parts replaced. When they finally gave in and admitted it could be the relays, they made me wait another 3 weeks just to tell me that NAD doesn't sell them any more! I asked them to just find equivalent relays, but they couldn't (which was an out and out lie). So at that point I had my amp back after spending hundreds of dollars and it still had the same "punch through" problem because of bad relays. On the Internet, I found a company called In House Service Company, which is located at 12 Technology Drive, Ste. 13 East Setauket, NY 11733 Have a look at www.angelfire.com/art2/stereorepair117/NAD.htm . They have a very reasonable service for NAD 2200s in which they upgrade the relays, and replace the input caps for $175. There is also a fellow I found on eBay who advertised a similar service for $125. These would be good options except for the problem of having to ship such a large and heavy piece of equipment back and forth without it getting damaged in transit. You are probably saying "why didn't you just find an honest local tech who would find you equivalent new relays. After all, this isn't rocket science!" Well, finally I did. The catch is, understandably, they don't' just want to tell you what the part is and order it for you. They can't make any money that way. Anyway, after spending the money, I am going to share with you where you can get replacement relays and what they are. You want part number R46-5D12-12 relays from NTE Electronics (www.nteinc.com). 12VDC, SPDT contact arrangement, coil resistance of 400 Ohms, Nom. power is 360 mW, and they can take up to 12 amps (instead of the original 8). Because the original relays have a unique pin arrangement, my tech wired the new relays up off the board. They are small enough to still fit neatly in place. So there you have it. If you are good with wiring diagrams and soldering guns go for it. Otherwise you could order a pair and give them to a competent tech in your area and get him to install them for you. Look on the Internet for the wiring diagram for his amp, you can find it for free if you look around, as the tech will need it. Or you could go with the other scenarios I described above. If you are in the SF Bay area, you can get your amp fixed at the place I did for around $200. SerTEch Electronics in San Jose. You can call them at (408) 267-3288, Norm is a great guy. Your amp will be ready for another 20 years of use.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gmeredith   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2008]
Strength:

Clean, neutral sound with all the power you need on reserve when you decide to crank it up.

Weakness:

None. This amp has performed flawlessly for 23 years and still going strong.

What can I say after having this about 23 years. I am the original owner. This amp has worked without a flaw the entire time and still going strong. No plans of ever departing with this great piece. I don't think todays equipment is made to last like this piece has nor to the same standard of quality. Very clean sound with all the reserve power I have ever needed. If you can find one of these, you will do yourself a great service. I have owned a couple newer amps/receivers (all NAD of course) for secondary system since owning the 2200 but the 2200 is second to none. Its far better than the NAD C372 int-amp I purchased last year for my secondary system in terms of dynamic performance and just as neutral in sound quality.

Customer Service

Customer service? Never needed any customer service. The people who built this amp served me well as a customer because I have never had anything but great service out of this in my stereo system.

Similar Products Used: NAD C372 int-amp. NAD C162 pre-amp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sathar   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2008]
Strength:

Put on a early CD of Bolero (back when the engineers were just exploring the full dynamic range of the new medium). These puppies will run the 105dB marathon from "Is it on?" to "My teeth are numb" with clarity and precision.

Delicate enough for a gentle sonata and able to turn on a dime when that 32 foot pipe has its stops pulled out. And if your home is plagued by negatively charged ectoplasmic entities, I'm pretty sure you can plug your Proton Pack into one of these.

Strong and dependable, will run for years without a shrug.

I'd love to say Transparent, but I haven't had a reason to listen seriously to another amplifier in twenty years, so if they're Colored, my ear is the same shade.

Weakness:

I've read some of the other users' issues, and I vaguely recall one amp having a dead channel ten or fifteen years ago. I don't remember if it was the relay problem that others have described, or something more serious. Eventually I got it fixed, and neither have given me a lick of trouble since.

I wish the NAD A/V receiver I picked up five years ago was built even half as well.

Somewhere back in the late '80s I got my hands on a showroom floor demo pair of Carver Amazing loudspeakers (5' tall electrostatics each with four woofers the size of your head). My little 90 watt receiver couldn't budge them. So about a year later I went back for a pair of NAD 2200PEs. I was in college at the time, so I thought it was pretty neat how the room lights would flicker in sync with the heartbeat on Dark Side of the Moon. I also had a penchant for E. Power Biggs, thank the heavens my elderly neighbors were deaf as stones.

Those speakers are long gone, and probably turned back to dust by now. After some dark years in the closet or driving an old set of modest JBLs, the 2200s got called back up in '98, unbridged into "Stereo" so they could bi-amp a pair of Vandersteen 2's. I haven't even turned them off in five years except to dust, and they have yet to complain.

Now I just got my hands on a pair of Dahlquist DQ-10s, which I'm getting ready to rip apart and refurbish. Every single person whose posted a word about these in the last ten years keeps saying how they are just bottomless buckets for electricity that will leave any amp crying, how their power "Sensitivity" is a joke and how you need to wire them straight into a nuclear reactor to get enough current. I described the NADs' print specs to one of the engineers at Regnar (owners of the Dahlquist name), and all he could say was "Be careful..."

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ken price   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2006]
Strength:

value
capability
sturdiness
response and clarity
I would give product 10 stars if available!

Weakness:

heavy ( everyone says that, suppose theres components in the case?)
does get warm
keep you out of stereo stores , you dnt need anything else if you have one of these!

I purchased my Nad 2200 in 1986, I had a smalll night club and used iit to drive the sound system. iI used it for about three years and wasted many speakers , and i thought kplish speakers were quailty! after the tour in the club it came home with me to power my home stero system. I have two ancient RTR tower speakers that keeps the neighbors informed. I use a DJ mixer as a preamp and running at 50% on main setting 5 rids the neighbor hood of stray or unconfined animals.

I always loved this amp and have never had it looked at or repaiired. it has worked flawlessly and spent many nights running 90% of full output ( and yes the soft clip works! ) many speaker manufactor reps couldnt believe this amp had the power to melt thier speakers down! I was told it easily exceeded 250 watts per channel. I was interested in what else Nad made so i ended up here on this site. I agree with the other subscribers , this is one hell of an amp , and no its NOT for sale .....LOL

Customer Service

never had repaired , never failed..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trellix78   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2005]
Strength:

Very clean power. Built to last. Smooth, excellent controls (power button).

Weakness:

NONE.

Wow! I usually don't write reviews, but listening to the beautiful, full sounds that this NAD amp reproduces is making me do thing I don't normally do. The sound is absolutely clean, very detailed and bass is lightening quick even when playing using my Xbox/DVD player and so-so Pioneer bookshelf speakers. Maybe it's the NAD 1155 preamp but I've never had a need to turn the volume up more than half way to get full, rich sound. I was listening to some Thievery Corporation the other night and had to turn around a few times to make sure my Pioneers hadn't turned into something more expensive. Can't wait to finish bidding on a pair of Acoutic Research 38 BX speakers to complete the deal. I don't think I'll leave my house after that.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon AVR 225. Onkyo TX-8511.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John Morris   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2005]
Strength:

Solid build, musical bass and a ton of headroom.

Weakness:

Set the dogs off when this thing goes(not joking!) and fears about the relays though I'm not having trouble with them.

Very musical. Excellent bass and a lots of power. I am currently using it to power my home brewed subwoofer box with a Didital Designs I think 4500 12" subwoofer I bought a few years ago. It will out perform any other amps I owned and smashed about any amps in the store I listened to.

Similar Products Used: Nad 2155 + Nad 1700(rebuilt with Black Gate caps), Nad 7155, Nad 3140, Adcom GFA 545
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com