NAD 216THX Amplifiers

NAD 216THX Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

CONTINUOUS AVERAGE POWER OUTPUT INTO 8 ohms: 125W, Rated distortion(THD 20Hz-20kHz): 0.03%, Clipping power (maximum continuous power per channel): 160W - THX Certified

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 77  
[Jul 21, 2014]
Ed P
AudioPhile

Hello, I'm using this amp with some older Magnepan MGIIIa's. It drives them very well and with great authority. The sound is very "tubey" sounding to me. I really like it. It puts me in almost a trance of sorts. It allows me to melt into the music and not hear electronics. I paid only $200 from someone on Craigslist but it did need some capacitors replaced as they were looking like they were about to vent. (Four 220uF at 160V). Did the repairs and am now enjoying it very much. Mostly listen to vinyl.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2012]
Cas
Audio Enthusiast

After listening to its little brother for al while, it was time to upgrade to the 216THX.
I did read the reviews here en was a little scared to be disapointed.
But i have to say, i realy love the amp, its delivers clear, powerful en nice sound.
That is if your source and speakers are up to the job.

Bought it secondhand and is it is a lot of Hifi for the money.
Still like it better then my old Yamaha gear. Its nicely detailed in high and mid en not to harsh.

Buy one, you wil love it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 27, 2011]
neddy999
AudioPhile

I have had this amplifier for 10 years and (recently) now have two used in bridged mode. This amplifier is superficially very impresssive and makes a fair stab across the frequency range overall. However, it is uneven in its performance. The bass is superb and produces visceral results with my KEF 105 mk1s. Midrange is good though it is the treble that lets the side down. The NAD's are comphrehensively out-classed by the power section of an Arcam AVR200, treble is much more liquid and detailed; the KEF 105's almost dissapear in the sound stage, with the NAD's you always know where the speakers are. The Arcam is bass shy in comparison with the NADs. If I was forced to choose between the Arcam and the two NAD's it would be the Arcam. However I get the best of both worlds, one NAD 216 for each bass bins (x-over 400 Hz) and the Arcam for the midrange&treble. Overall: top class bass for very little money; sound quality is 5 star for bass/subwoofer duty and 3 star when used for full range duty. I can see why this amplifier polarises opinion as it has superb bass but poor treble.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2009]
jcschlic
Audio Enthusiast

Well I just purchased the NAD 216 THX on eBay to power my mains (Infinity IL60) and I think that given this amps' smooth neutrality combined with my speakers' warm tendencies, the pure clean power of the amp has really let this system shine. For music, this amp has really been what these speakers needed. I consider it a good buy considering I got it for $200.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2004]
HIFIVE
AudioPhile

Strength:

Transparency, huge soundstage, powerful. The real beauty lies just beneath its cover which would reveal an excellent build quality, very impressive!

Weakness:

None at this price point. I give it top marks considering price versus performance.

I'm afaid all too often midfi budget gear is often evaluated by some people that have no idea about sound quality, no wonder, most audiophiles wouldn't give this a second look because of price. Several years ago I could of easily been one of those people. I came across the NAD 216 THX by mistake and very glad I did! Years back, I owned some of the older NAD amps and always thought they were very average in sound quality, they just didn't do it for me. This amp is a different story! (NAD power amps are getting much better). I put the Adcom 565 preamp on this amp because I thought it would be an excellent match. I was right! The sound produced by the NAD 216 was amazing, offering a powerful quality transparent 3D sound with a very huge soundstage! I AB'd it against my expensive Threshold power amp and although the Threshold slightly edged it in the midrange, I discovered I could easily live with the NAD 216 in my main system if I were an audiophile on a budget! NAD has got a clear winner on their hands here. Strongly recommend!

Similar Products Used:

Bryston, Music Fidelity, Threshold, McCormacks, Adcom, Precision Fidelity, PS Audio. Conrad Johnson and etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2003]
cerwin vega lover
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

powerful! loud! musical.pretty tuff design!!

Weakness:

it disconnects........

This amp is very good. I use it to drive the bass on my cerwin vega dc-15`s and it handles the bass well! And I use a Nad C370 to drive the midrange/tweeter..no problems with them, but the 216thx becomes very hot when I play REALLY LOUD for a long time....and sometimes it "disconnects"..my plan is to install a coolfan in or on top of the amp, so it stays cool

Similar Products Used:

sony cd-player pioneer dvd-player NAD C370 Cerwin Vega DC-15 (1000watt) MIT cables

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2003]
Timmo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value for money man, very hard to beat. Very accurate reproduction. Awesome power. Looks tough.

Weakness:

Very few, compared to more expensive products a bit thin in the upper mids, but this can be partially attributed to colouration of other amps.

When looking for a new amplifier to replace my dated and underpowered NAD 3020i intergrated amp, I listened to every thing available under $2000 ($900 US, this price also had to include a preamp)at the 2 closest HIFI stores to my town. Brands included were Cambridge, Rotel, other NAD prodcts, BOSE(laugh) and the list goes on. I even listened to some used equipment with very good reputations. All comparisons were done with my own system right down to interconnects and speaker cable. Listening to the NAD 216 through my Paradygm monitor series speaker I found it to be easily the best performer across the sound spectrum and with power to burn. Reproduction is very accurate and with no colouration as experienced with some other brands. The Nad also performs very well at all power settings unlike others that require to be cranked to insane levels to really start sounding good. I have also compared this product to my fathers QUAD 405 an extremely highly acclaimed product in its day and still well respected. Suprisingly it stacked up quite nicely, noticably not as full through his much more expensive Proac speakers but actually better through my paradygms. Not much in it at all. All in all I am rapt with my purchase. I have no doubt there may be better a few better products (very few) in the price range depending on your application but to one reviewer who said there were many better, wind your head in pal, that's just ignorance, arrogance or stupidity. The years of experience of those who have written good reviews far outway those of the bad and we're not all idiots. In short I think you cant really go wrong with this product or it's big brother the 218THX.

Similar Products Used:

Listened to most low end amps available at time of purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 13, 2002]
Tote
AudioPhile

Strength:

Just everything

Weakness:

None

Great amp in all senses . Great highs , mids and lows . Music flows , soundstage is superb. Everything is great . Endless power , it just scares me the volume it can reach in my little bedroom, the walls are shaking!!!!! My neighbours hate me , but that´s why God created RNR for ;) Play it as loud and warm as you can . My gear: NAD 160 PREAMP PIONEER STABLE PLATE CD PLAYER MAGNAT VINTAGE 350 SPEAKERS

Similar Products Used:

Technics crap, Pioneer crap

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 27, 2002]
Kallite80
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good subwoofer handling ability. Price/quality value is superb.

Weakness:

None

I was looking for a subwooferamp and I was sure that the NAD 216THX should do the job better than any other manufacturers amp at this price range. The woofer has two Cerwin Vega Line 12" woofers and they are coupled to 8 ohms. The bass is accurate, well controlled and wery punchy. I haven't tried it with spekers yet, but i'm going to use it with Dali Evidence 870 speakers in the future and i'll write a new review then.

Similar Products Used:

NAD 2400THX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 18, 2000]
Odd Utgård
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

A lot of power for the money (350$ in Norway retail)
Build quality is acceptable

Weakness:

Sound quality is worse than one could expect

I bought the NAD for my first hi-fi application, and i was quite happy with it until i tried the Rotel RB985thx. This is a 5*100w amp, and the sound is much, much better than the sound of the NAD. The Norwegian importers/retailers (HiFiKlubben) agree that this is probably the worst product soundwise NAD have ever made! Still, a surprising number of people buy it because thay havent heard Rotel, they need cheap power for their Cerwin Vegas, or something like that. The 6*70w from Rotel at the same price is better! (Because the bass is a little bit better and it gives 4 more channels!) I give it a flattering 3 for value because it can drive Vegas for a cheap price. Dont buy it if youre looking for sound that wont tire your ears!

Similar Products Used:

Rotel RB981, Rotel RB985thx, Nad 218thx, Rotel RB976

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 77  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com