Musical Fidelity NuVista 300 Amplifiers

NuVista 300

Power Amplifier - 300W x2 Channels - Two-Box Design, Amplifier Unit and Power Unit

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Luca Gioani   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2017]

Great gear, solid build, extremely powerful and heavy. Detailed and musical. Quite surprised to see concept of not having 2 mono blocks but separate final stage and power supply.
First time I listened it to my speakers I got in love with it.
I understand it has 80A current reserve which is quite enough for many speakers.
The price is also reasonable, I bought it 2nd hand and paid 2K GBP. Great deal I would say now. Happy, happy, happy...!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonny G   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2017]

It is just what you need. Extremely powerfull and precise, built like a tank with that tube flavour that everybody want. Used with Dynaudio Contour, Sonus Faber and many others. Just perfect...!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paal   AudioPhile [Apr 22, 2010]

Gorgious! ...don't need more description really ;-)
I have a pair of Sonus Faber Extrema, and everybody who has these beauties, know how much juice they need to sound their best. The Nu-Vista 300 is close to the best match that can be used with the SFE. Deep, articulated bass, sweet midrange and a treble that is soft as baby-skin.

I have used many amps with the SFE and the Nu-Vista is the only one that make them play deep bass. For the price, this amp is a winner!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mad_about_ music   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2005]
Strength:

massive sound stage lots of natrual detail timeing is spot on kicks £3000 cd player into touch as good as the worlds best

if you own this player it is a sin not to modifey it i have fitted a trichord clock 4 & a top notch trichord super voltage reulation board and changed all the opamps and removed sound degrading parts it is now much better than the nuvista with the lowest level of jitter ever the sound stage beocome massive lots and lots of pure treble detail this player will make you go thorough your whole cd collection

Similar Products Used: krell wadia naim linn
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt van der Lugt   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2000]
Strength:

transparency, limitless power, slam, beautiful treble

Weakness:

very heavy

This is an astounding amp. I have listened to Krell, Adcom kit and other MF equipment, but nothing reproduces music so easily and beautifully as the Nu Vista. The bottom end goes down and down and....just make sure you don't have any loose hinges on the doors. The midrange is informative and smooth while the treble is extended to outer space without any harshness. For the price and I bet much higher, this is the best...definitely. Play anything....hard rock, classical, jazz, anything. No other amp I have heard can go from loud to soft and sweet so easily. However, I agree that the speaker terminals are bloody awkward (or am I?) although they look great. It is also heavy...you just about need a forklift to carry it up the stairs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Allen   Audiophile [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

Absolutely effortless sound, yet with absolute control! Sends shivers down your spine!
Build quality (looks and feels like a new two-tone Rolex)
Feel and size of the controls
Heft! Weighs over 100 lbs.

Weakness:

Ok, if I HAVE to nit-pick:
The edges on the milled aluminium are VERY sharp.
Plastic remote control is tacky when compared to the amp.
Otherwise absolutely nothing!

This reiew is actually of the Nu-Vista M3 amp (not the Nu-Vista 300).

Associated equipment:

Musical Fidelity X-Ray CD Player
Proac 1SC speakers

Having used the XA-200 / X-Ray combination for a year (a VERY well reviewed amp and CD Player) and having been very happy with it, I decided to upgrade to the new Nu-Vista M3 due to my past good experience with MF equipment. The only way I can describe the improvement in sound is to compare it to driving a Porsche Boxster after driving a Miata for a year. I just want to grin with delight the whole time! What a fabulous amp!!! The sound is one of absolute control and yet complete ease at the same time. You get the distinct impression that the speakers are enjoying being displayed at their absolute best, and they really are - the little Proac 1SCs just JIVE!

Based on the sound improvement I have experienced with the M3 I've gone ahead and ordered the Nu-Vista 3D CD Player without seeing or hearing it! The M3 is that good!

In view of the effortless control that this amp displays I have also decided to buy a pair of Apogee Duetta Signatures and compare them to the Proac's. As soon as I have the new toys I'll report back on them.

I'm grinning again - I've just put Andreas Vollenweider's Cosmopoly on - truly amazing! :-)

Similar Products Used: ML 331
MF XA-200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason lawrence   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2001]
Strength:

Looks to Die for, Build quality that puts Mercedes to shame & a sound I have never heard

Weakness:

Are you Mad

As the Assistant Manager of a Hifi shop in the UK I had the pleasure of trying out the NuVista 3weeks ago on a dem for a customer he had already purchased and was deming speakers. Then on Saturday I had to dem it to someone else, this was the start of the addiction I slept on it over night Sunday and ordered the CD and Amp today. I am an Ex Engineer and have never felt build quality like it and the sound kept me in our Demo room till 11pm that evening. By the way if anyone still wants one they have 3 Amps left.

Similar Products Used: NuVista 3D CD, NuVista 0.7 Interconnect,Project 2 Turntable with Monitor Audio GOLD 60's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2002]
Strength:

Amazing quality of reproduction - even at really low volumes you still get sensational soundstage and imaging.

Weakness:

Quality don't come cheap! But worth getting if you can. Only 500 M3s were produced and only 120 are in the UK. Its a shame if you haven't got one and leaves a rather smug smile on those of us who have :)))

I read the reviews, I lusted and hunted down a private sale, I drove 400 miles to get it. My bank manager isn't speaking to me anymore but I'm the happiest kid on the block.

This amp is a classic already! Beautifully crafted (I've yet to see a photo that does it justice) cavernous in weight, size and most importantly... sound.

The sound... well it isn't overly anything to tell the truth - very balanced with a soundstage to die for. You can pick out every instrument's place on a well recorded track. Less well produced sound musical but lack the depth. I guess its a bit like a fine wine, you don't know what is special about the sound... but it sounds right.. how music should be produced with pace and timing to die for. The only problem I have now is how I'm going to rediscover my sizeable vinyl and CD collection and hold down the day job and get some sleep!!!! I'm sure I'll work it out.

Similar Products Used: Jadis monoblocks
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul H   Audiophile [Sep 19, 2001]
Strength:

Rock solid stereo imagery, at all volume levels, completely unflappable by any musical input, and emotionally engaging.

Weakness:

Possibly the size - it's like a HumVee that's shrunk slightly in the wash.

I use this in parallel with the NuVista pre, and this is by far the most capable amp set up I've come across, regardless of price - it has had me rediscovering old CDs, and my vinyl collection - played on a comparatively cheap Rega Planar 3 - makes high end CD players sound distinctly lacking when played through the NuVistas.

If you can still find one, buy one, but go for the NuVista pre as well.

Similar Products Used: Chord, Krell
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Lee   an Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 1999]

This is an extraordinary amplifier. It is supposed to match the NuVista pre-amplifier, which has some excellent reviews, but the power amp consists of two HUGE boxes - one main drawback. It uses nuvistors in the amp circuit, like the pre-amp, but I'm no technogeek so don't know what they do!
This is obviously a powerhouse amp, and in my own and demo systems the dynamic range is noticeably wide even at basically moderate volume settings. (Combined at home with NuVista pre-amp.) The low-level detail is extremely good, though: it disentangles the strands in Mahler and in small jazz groups equally well, and it gives a superb 3-dimensional soundstage with everything locked in place. It reminds me of the fun you can have with old-fashioned stereo when I hear the children's chorus in Carmen approach from the distance and march across the lounge one step at a time. It really does give you the ambient acoustic of different cathedrals and churches in choral music. On the remastered West Side Story film sound track you can follow not every word of every song, and the intervening dialogue is also crystal clear but set in its own acoustic - the fire-escape scene is riveting, though I never actually listened to it before. A Verve Ella Fitzgerald compilation CD (1950s-60s originals) had some friends in tears: they had heard her sing live many years ago in a small venue, and "With a Song in My Heart" was almost too much for them, because they could hear every nuance in the words and music.

I may now just be hearing for the first time what any good modern amplifier can produce, but I don't think so somehow. You van tell from my comments that I've started to listen to music all over again and hear things, as the old cliche goes, that I didn't know were there!


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com