McIntosh MC7205 Amplifiers

MC7205

5 Channel Power Amplifier - 100 Watts

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Sean   AudioPhile [Nov 16, 2015]

For those that say these are Japanese amps with a McIntosh label slapped on them I suggest you visit the Mcintosh factory in Binghamton NY yourself where you can watch your amp being build by hand.

Clarion did buy Mcintosh but as Clarion president Yutaka Oyamada told McIntosh employees, "...we like McIntosh as it is, and we have no intention of changing what has made it so successful."

Clarion did a very good job at leaving them alone for a very good reason.

I'm not saying this is proof that they are superior products but check you facts before you make silly statements with no basis in fact.

That being said, I use the is amp with my MX134 with very good results. This replaced a Rotel setup that I thought was very good. Using the Mcintosh lifted a veil I didn't know was there and all you hear is the music and not the components. this is the way it should be.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
deafbykhorns   AudioPhile [Jun 08, 2009]

I owned this amp for almost a year and it worked fine until one night while playing at low levels, the amp started smoking.
This amp has been described as Powerful, rich sound. I agree on this part however it don't agree with this statement: Built like a tank. Should outlive its ower. Well it didn't outlive me. Yes, maybe a fluke and a quality control issue but that's my experience. I'll keep my autoformer(MC352) main amp and probably get a MC303 which is what McIntosh is known for in the audio world.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
audiojunky   AudioPhile [Jun 13, 2007]

my question is what are the main differences b/t the mc7205 & mc205. as well i am using this amp with an mx-135 and plan to purchase a vintage mcintosh tube amp to run my front mains basically for music listening.

why the negative reviews?

also would you recommend the mc205 over the mc7205?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
audiojunky   AudioPhile [Jun 13, 2007]

my question is what are the main differences b/t the mc7205 & mc205. as well i am using this amp with an mx-135 and plan to purchase a vintage mcintosh tube amp to run my front mains basically for music listening.

why the negative reviews?

also would you recommend the mc205 over the mc7205?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   AudioPhile [Nov 02, 2006]
Strength:



Powerful, rich sound. Built like a tank. Should outlive its ower.

Weakness:



Lamps burned out after thousands of hours of use. No big deal.


I've owned and extensively used the 7205 since May, 2001. The only problem I've had with it are the lamps that light the power meters have burned out. Other than that, I've thoroughly enjoyed it for over five years and thousands of hours. I, too, don't understand the negative reviews of this amp. I have other Mac amps (the 2205 and 2255) and granted it doesn't sound as good as those, it didn't cost as much either. Hey, we're talking about a 5 channel home theater amp here, not necessarily a 2 channel amp that a hard-core audiophile would use. Negative reviewers of any 5 channel amp should take that into account. I own a lot of Mac gear and have 25 years of experience with McIntosh products. If you can get one of these used, I recommend it. I also own the Mac 132 processor, have used it the same length of time, with nary a problem

Customer Service



Great deal and factory support by McIntosh

Similar Products Used:

Many other McIntosh products.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
soundguy33   AudioPhile [Sep 06, 2003]
Strength:

Looks real cool when lit...

Weakness:

Sound, price, build quality?

I have owned nearly every amp around under $5000. I can honestly say this thing is sooooo overpriced (even at the $2500 I paid) it's silly. You McIntosh 'heads' are crazy (or hard of hearing?), these are mediocre amps at best. Aside from an immediate repair to the power switch, it's worked fine. I know the old McIntosh tube amps are to die for, but this amp left me completely flat (and not in a good way!) My HPA 2 makes this thing sound like ****. It's gonna be up for sale soon...

Similar Products Used: Adcom, Parasound, Bryston, Rotel, Musical Design, Proceed, etc, etc, etc....
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Jay   Audiophile [Apr 12, 2001]
Strength:

Extremely accurate reproduction of the music/soundtrack, exceptional build quality (it's built like a tank!). Aesthetics are scond to none.

Weakness:

Lack of balanced inputs

This amplifier blows the competition away! I've used the Rotel and Sunfire and listened to Krell, Proceed et al and the Mc sounds much warmer and cleaner than any of the aforementioned amps. THe Krell and Proceed might be a tad more accurate, but they lack the warmth of the Mc. The Mc never exhibits any sign of strain and always seems to enjoy doing its job - putting out great sound. The lighted blue meters are cool, as well. I definitely recommend this amp to those who can afford it.

As for the 4 reviews below...why such hostility to this amp? To the guy who bought his on ebay - ever think that the map may have been damaged by the original owner and that's why it was on ebay in the first place???

Similar Products Used: Rotel 1095, Sunfire Cinema Grand Sig
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2001]
Strength:

Sound,Build quality

Weakness:

none yet

I don't understand the negative reviews either. This amp excells in the home theater and audio arena with audiophile qualifications.The build quality is second to none. I also purchased the MX132 pre/pro which makes a excellent pair. I strongly advise you to audition this amp, the sound quality is obvious. Once you go Mac, you won't go back.

Similar Products Used: Threshold,McIntosh
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cowen RIchardson   Audiophile [Oct 05, 2001]
Strength:

None really. It is okay for mediocre theater use.

Weakness:

Definitely NOT audiophile quality. I don't care what anyone here says. I have been doing this for 15 years.

Definitely NOT audiophile quality. I don't care what anyone here says. I have been doing this for 15 years. If you want an amp for audio, this is not the amp for you. However, if you would like an amplifier for home theater ONLY, then it is right up your alley, although there are plenty of amps for that use that simply bury this amplifier in regards to price. The Cinenova is the first that comes to mind.

Don't get me wrong. This is a fine amp, but because of the price charged, they get very poor marks. In fact, now that I recall, mine actually did break down once.

Another problem comes to mind, which is the fact that McIntosh (which seems to be since the Japanese? buyout) uses other companies products and just slaps their names on them. Not sure if this is the case with the 7205, but it could possibly be.

My 2 cents.

Similar Products Used: Everything under the sun.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
kevin   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2001]
Strength:

Sound, appearance, build quality.

Weakness:

None so far.

From my experience with this amp, I cannot explain the negative reviews shown. I have grown tired of "upgradeitis" and purchased this amp, along with an MX-132 Pre/Pro, as my final "keepers". I find nothing to dislike about this amp and appreciate it's strengths as shown above.

Similar Products Used: Been at this for 30 years, too many to list.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com