Enlightened Audio Designs Power Master 2000 Amplifiers

Power Master 2000

5-Channel power amp

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
mjaudio   AudioPhile [Jul 13, 2009]

I just have to admit my mistake although it may cost me some $$$$$.

I have owned the EAD PM1000, PM2000 and PM8300 and they were all great.

The PM2000 is the crown jewel of the pack with the PM8300 a close second. I sold of both these great amps due to unbelievable offers that at the time seamed like no brainers. Turns our I was the one with no brain as I have yet to buy an amp that I enjoy more. The amp that replaced the PM2000 was the Theta Dreadnaught and it was a solid disappointment. The Theta was nice for vocals and classical but lacked the shear power and dynamics of the EAD for all other material. The Theta is boring compared to all the other EAD amps. I then tried a Earthquake Cinenova on the advice of my dealer and it was better than the Theta but still not as good.

The thing I miss the most about the EAD is the control it exuded over my Von Schweikert speakers. I run my speakers crossed over at 80hz even though they extend to the mid 20hz range for all channels but with the EAD PM2000 and 8300 they seamed to run full range. My speakers have never had a more vice grip control while sounding more dynamic than ever.

I guess there is a good reason why EAD amps hardly come up for sale on the used market, people are not as nuts as I was to sell them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kris   AudioPhile [Dec 02, 2004]
Strength:

2 channel. This is the best amp I have ever heard!

Weakness:

NONE

This is just one awesome amp. I have been through them all Pass labs, Krell, Sunfire, and others. The Pass Labs is the only other one I would say that was better then most. The EAD is just as smooth as a amp that I haver ever heard. Not as detailed as the Pass Labs X5 but it is pretty close. The power and control the amp has is amazing. The Krell kav is way overrated compared to Pass and EAD. This is one of the few that is as good on 2 channel as some of the better 2 channel amps. I will be a EAD owner for life.

Similar Products Used: Pass Labs X5 a very good amp! Krell KAV Sunfire Aragon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
samr   AudioPhile [Sep 15, 2003]
Strength:

Sweet detailed highs, open mids, great imaging, astounding bass control and extension. Great with low impedance loads and has huge headroom.

Weakness:

Heavy (150 pounds) draws a ton of juice (get a dedicated line)

I know this amp is no longer manufactured by EAD, but I wanted to post a new review in case anyone is shopping a used one. This amp blows away anything you can get for less than $5000 new right now, and that includes 2 channel amps. I have listened to the the Pass X 250 which is not as musical and a bit harsh, the Theta Dreadnaught a good amp but does not have the current capacity and headroom of this amp, Rowland model 12 similar sound but far less power and bass drive, Plinius SA250 similar in power but gets very very hot (feels like it is burning up) and sounds a bit flat with less air than the EAD IMHO. I have it driving my Vienna Acoustics Mahlers which are very power hungry and have an impedance dip to almost 2 ohms and this amp never sweats. I even had to put the input sensitivity to high as my VTL pre would start to sweat before the EAD would. Flat out this is one of the best bargains on the used market today, if you can pick one up I highly recommend doing it as they are rarely seen for sale anymore.

Similar Products Used: Amps listed above as well as B&K, Rotel, Anthem, Classe and others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Kao   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

Infinite power through all 5 channals.

Weakness:

I wish I can get an extra matching channal for my center rear.

This amp is truly a remarkable amp. I ran a 20 amp outlet just to bring out the full potential of the amp. The bass response is much much better and accurate. I haven''t used my subwoofer after that. The music is very detail and the seperation is incredible when used with the signature preamp. I am running it with Martin Logans speakers. I would recommend this amp to people who likes to buy something at 1/2 the price but still gets the same or not better results than those other well known brands.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Mahan   Audiophile [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

smoothness at high volumes,very clear vocals!

Weakness:

not state of the art dynamics probably by choice.

Simply in a league by it's self. I had and wanted to spend around 8K. I looked at everything in the Chicagoland area in my budget and will buy this for music first and movies a close second. Ditto's for all the other reviews of this amp!

Similar Products Used: Proceed, Aragon and Krell 2/3 channel, conrad-johnson 5 channel,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
HM   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2000]
Strength:

Sound - what else matters? However, looks great too!

Weakness:

Heavy!! Have heard that prices are going up.

This is the best amp I have ever heard. Period.

I moved up to separates, now have this mated with the TheaterMaster Signature, and I have never ever heard sound like this before.

I now know what non-fatiguing means - hear Van Morrison's Astral Weeks on this setup, and it will bring tears to your eyes.

I don't even have the best speakers (next thing I will trade up on), but even on my Monitor Audio Silver's, I can place every instrument on the soundstage - Unbelievable for late night listerning.

I never need to trade up on this product ever again. Truly a lifetime buy (and I'm not that old!)

As a bonus, it looks GORGEOUS.

Highly, higly recommended. There is nothing better that I can think of, or have ever heard.

Similar Products Used: Too many to list.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Wang   Audiophile [Aug 28, 2000]
Strength:

Sound quality, power

Weakness:

Manufacturing quality control

I have an EAD Signature (see review elsewhere) and recently purchased a PowerMaster 2000 for the additional power.

A brief highlight of my system: NHT 3.3 front main speakers, NHT AC-2 center, NHT 2.9 rear speakers, LFE fed to a NHT SW3P subwoofer; EAD Signature processor; EAD PowerMaster 2000 amp (20amp option). Speaker cables are Dunlavy DAL Z6’s and Tributaries SCA150 interconnects. The SONY DVP7700 and SONY DSS A4 are the main digital sources. TV is a SONY 61” XBR rear projection set.

The PowerMaster 2000 replaced a Parasound HCA2003A and HCA1500A. The PM2000 had a few problems right from the start. It didn’t come with the 20amp option and has a transformer hum. After using it for about a week one of the power amp modules blew up. I heard a loud pop and one channel (right rear channel) went dead. Since I am reasonably comfortable with electronics my dealer Bob Avalon and I worked with EAD to ship me the 20amp option and a replacement amp module. I put in the 20amp option (power cord and 20amp breaker) and replaced the amp module myself. The process was relatively straightforward once you have all the tools. I had a tough time finding the necessary 5/64 Hex Key wrench to remove the hex screws, finally found a set at Radio Shack.

The amp has been running fine since, it still has the transformer hum (I noticed it comes and goes). I can also hear hiss on my speakers when the amp sensitivity switch is set on high and medium. This is a faint hiss and only audible when you put your ear right at the tweeter. The amp runs warm at all times even at idle. Parasound amps did not have a hiss and ran cooler. In general I leave the amp on at all times.

The sound quality however, is first rate compared to the Parasound amps I had. In combination with the Signature I noticed a definite improvement in clarity and imaging, especially with vocals. The base is deeper and better defined. I believe the power reserve must have contributed here.

Aside from some of the problems I had he bottom line is that the sound is great, that’s what matters in the end and where the 5 stars come from.

Hope this helps,

Scott Wang

Similar Products Used: Parasound
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Moby   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2000]
Strength:

soundstage, transparency, immediacy, unwavering sound quality at all listening levels

Weakness:

I dont want to say none because all equipment has strengths/weaknesses, but taken as a whole the PowerMaster allows me to listen to music or a soundtrack w/o thinking or focusing on any flaws

I needed an amp that could truly serve double duty in regard to 2 channel and HT applications. Every product makes a claim that it can, but only a select few truly can in my opinion. So I began shopping by looking at all of the big boys. The Krell amp was clearly dynamic, but maybe too forward and not exactly "musical". The Perreaux was excellent in many regards, but did not have enough muscle to drive my speakers at the sound levels I was looking for. The X5 was nice as well, but a little lean/clinical in the upper frequencies. The Dreadnaught is a gorgeous amp in many regards. In fact, I was ready to make the purchase until the Theta dealer actually recommended that I go listen to the EAD. Who ever said dealers are salesman first (me)? Well I listened to the EAD and it was heaven to my ears. I must state that all of the amps that I listened to are above average, but the EAD seems to be the all around champ. Excellent in 2 channel and HT! It's highs are extended and airy, mids are luscious, but not colored like most tube amps, and the bottom end grabs my speakers like a vice grip. Tight, well defined, and extension galore. I have also found 2 tweaks that have upped the ante even further. Nordost pulsar points to control resonance, and a custom power cord model 11 (this cord made a big difference by lowering the noise floor and seemingly extending the bass). Just wait until the reviews come out on this monster. Bravo EAD.

Similar Products Used: Krell (model?), Perreaux 6160, Proceed, Pass Labs X5, Theta Dreadnaught
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Julius   Audiophile [Oct 24, 1999]

This amp is built like a tank(and weighs almost as much). The binding posts are very sturdy and the faceplate is gorgeous. The sound is very clean and tight. This amp has enough power to drive almost any speaker(400w x 5 @ 8 ohms or 700w @ 4 ohms). It sounds better than the Proceed, ATI, Sunfire, Parasound, and Cinepro amps. These are all good amps, but the Powermaster 2000 is just better overall.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PC COMPUTE   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2000]
Strength:

Transparency, detail, depth, width, build quality, mids, highs and lower bass

Weakness:

power button awkward since it is pressure activated

I have not found or heard a better multi channel amplifier that is equally excellent for home theater and two channel music playback as the EAD Powermaster 2000. The build quality is an overkilled as is the weight of this unit (130+ lbs) showing no weakness in worksmanship and quality that one should expect for $5k. Initial setup of the unit was straight forward, and connectivity points on the back of the unit are well laid out. The power switch located on the front panel is pressure activated which I didn't like - preferred the rocket switch. There are switches to offset the gain which is a nice feature (low, mid or high) on all channels. Single ended and balanced inputs for all channels. Sound quality was excellent throughout music and home theater playback. Sound stage exceeded farther that the speakers placement that is neither forward of laid back - very neutral in my opinion. Highs were smooth as is the mid range and vocals. Bass was tight and authoritive when challenged in home theater movies. Look no further if you can find one for about $3000-$3500 - you won't be disappointed in my opinion.

Similar Products Used: Aragon 8008x3, Cinepro 3k6, ATI 1506, Aragon 8008st
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com