Yamaha HTR-5490 A/V Receivers

HTR-5490

The HTR-5490 is a full-featured home theater receiver ready for all formats and for custom installation. It delivers high power to six channels and provides DTS ES, Neo 6 and DTS ES Matrix 6.1 decoding as well as Dolby Digital 6.1 and Dolby Pro Logic II decoding.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Corey Nicolaides   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2002]
Strength:

Great Sound Quality. Good Remote. Great Build. Lots of Power. Good Looks. Plentiful inputs/outputs. great video passthrough. great onscreen display. Awesome soundfield processing.

Weakness:

Still Looking for something.

This thing is Awesome!!! I love this recviever. I have previously owned a Sony, and a Kenwood system. The Yamaha system is by far superior to the rest. This reciever not only sounds good, but it looks good too. It is easy to use, and the onscreen display makes setup extreamely easy. The 5490 comes with a wide rang of sound field proccessing options that sound amazing. The sound fields are designed to replicate the sound in the actual venue, the sound field processing chips are not computer generated like most manufacturers. They are designed and used by yamaha. The remote is easy to use and works very well with all of my other components. The video switching works very well with little or no loss of picture quality. The actual reciever it self "Feels" good. The build quality is exceptional. Im running some 4-way towers, and 3-way towers, with powered subs. The 5490 gives me more than enough power to drive my system down the streets with fast and the furious and rock the house with some Dave Matthews. This Reciever has proven it self in my home and i have no doubt that it will/can with your system.

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi DVD Player. Panasonic VCR. Panasonic TV. ALL Monster Cable. Monster Power Unit. PS2. JBL 4-way tower with powered subs Paradigm rears. Paradigm Centers (front and Rear). Monster z-
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
deeforce   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2002]
Strength:

Sound quality Surround Processing Connectivity PRICE!

Weakness:

Am I the only person who misses the red LED that used to be found on volume knobs? The remote, while very capable, is a bit less intuative than I'd like. And, sometimes, the lack of preouts, at least for the rear-surround channels makes me a bit uneasy, but I'm getting over it. Also (and I noticed this on EVERY receiver I've tested lately) the center channel in DD 5.1 easily gets drowned out. I'm sure this is a setting I'm overlooking, or just Dialogue Normalization at its worst, but it's a problem I didn't have with my DDP-1 decoder, which used a Zoran chip

For over 6 months, I debated over getting the Yamaha RX-V1200. It had all the connectivity I needed (well, almost all; I had to hunt down an AC-3 RF Demodulator on eBay for my LaserDisc player) and it had the Yamaha quality that I came to expect from my 6-year-old RX-V990. By the time I was ready to buy, here came the RX-V1300. But, once I saw the HTR-5490 (basically the RX-V1200 minus multi-zone control and pre-outs) for $499, it became a no-brainer. The 5490 has performed flawlessly! Bass management is terrific (the RX-V990 didn't offer this) and specificity with which you cna adjust the DSP modes is unreal! I've got more inputs/outputs than I know what to do with (gives me an excuse to start eyeing a DVD-R deck). It supports every sound format out there, short of DTS 24/96. I don't have the room for a center-surround speaker yet, but look forward to hearing this baby in 6.1! Musically, the sound is tonally balanced; not to high, not too punchy, not too warm. Oh, and Dolby Pro-Logic II is a God send for music (for movies, I find there's far oto much "leakage" from the fronts into the rears). I could sit here and go on and on, but let's just say it's the best $500 I've ever spent! I think most retailers have blown through their inventories after lowering the price, but if you find one, go for it! There's little about the HTR-5590 (this years model) that's new (a bit more power, a slight face-lift, multi-zone support, official "Dolby Digital EX" labeling, though Yamaha confirmed to me that the 5490 properly decodes EX).

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V990/DDP-1 for 6 years (loved it!) Pioneer VSX-D811S (sucked!) Sony STR-DE885 (also sucked!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David B   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 12, 2002]
Strength:

TRUE HDTV SWITCHING GREAT SOUND

Weakness:

NONE

BEST BUY is closing out 5490s at an unbelievable 515$! I had to visit 5 stores to see a new one in a box, and I was fortunate enough to get it. The 515$ price is incredible, internet stores sell it for more. Best Buy is clearing them because 5590 is on display for 799$. Please note that HTR-5490 (2001-2002 model) is the same receiver as RX-V1200 (2001-2002 model) except there is no multiroom control. RX-1200 was recently closing at 699$ at the local Good Guys video store, so I think $515 is a great price. If you want to get one - run to your local Best Buy to see if they have one left. The main reason I bought this receiver was for HDTV switching. I have a Samsung HDTV Box and JVC progressive dvd player. My Sony 53HS10 has only one component input so I needed a switcher. Not just a switcher, a switcher that would pass-through HDTV signal without creating artifacts. Let me tell you that it was hard to find one. First of all, there is a big argument on what is the required bandwidth for hdtv. Some say you need 30MHZ at least. Others say 35MHZ. Some say you need "flat to 100 MHZ." Well I can tell you this. I bought a Sony DA-ES1 - new receiver that is rated at 50 MHZ bandwidth. Very disappointing. While it was able to display PROGRESSIVE SCAN picture from my DVD Player, it could not display HDTV picture from my Samsung STB box, artifacts and distortion all over the place. Plus, SONY's sound sucks anyway, but I am sure that is not a secret to you anyway. My DENON AVR2000 (1994) killed SONY ES (2002), even my girlfriend said, wow that is like 100 times better (referring to my old Denon). SO I then looked at Denons and Yamahas. The problem with Denon of course is that their 1802, 2802, and 3802 models all have 27 MHZ Bandwdth only. The 4802 has 50 MHZ and 5803 has 100 MHZ but these are above my price range. Denon's 3803 (100 Mhz bandwidth) is coming out in 2-3 weeks with MSRP of $1100.) It is going to be one incredible receiver with every video signal upconverted to component video and other incredible things. But, with MSRP of $1100 you would probably look at $899 at the authorized dealer. I knew that Yamaha HTR-5490 and above (RX-V1200, 1300 and above) have 60 MHZ of bandwidth. But the price was a factor since I wanted to buy from an authorized dealer with a warranty. Yamaha HTR-5550 and 5560 have 30 MHZ of switching, and I was scared to g

Similar Products Used: DENON SONY ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jayhawkeye   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 07, 2002]
Strength:

Great Yamaha sound, tons of inputs and outputs, which are fully assignable, Yamaha quality, on screen rogramming, expandability, very clear looks

Weakness:

Yamaha just cannot do a decent remote, remote not backlit, not the simplist installation (assignment of inputs/outputs).

Very versatile, fantastic sound, great price. This receiver is the best mid-range receiver period. I love it. I've gone home from work early every day this week to listen to it. Plus with 6 channel input, it has room to grow in the future. I got this on clearance at wwww.onecall.com -- they shipped the same day, and I got it 3 days later. If you mention my name (jay kenyon) when you buy something, I get gift from them. check it out!!

Similar Products Used: Yamaha rx-v495 (no DTS (which prompted me to step up)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
samgupta   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Lots of assignable inputs No strain operation lots of configuration options but it lead to the one weakness below

Weakness:

goofy speaker volume setup (a nit pick)

I had initially purchased a Yamaha RX-V630 and took it back. That unit was decent, but the build quality left a little to be desired. I then picked up the HTR-5490. This thing is built like a tank. Everything from the binding posts to the thick sheetmetal on the unit is impressive, especially for the price. There was also an immediate difference in sound quality. Bass from this receiver sounds much more rich than the RX-V630 and it can play at moderate to loud volume levels without a sign of distortion (well, loud is a subjective term, but my ears don't pick up any distortion). I am using this thing for both music and home theater (about 70% music, 30% ht) and it performs very well at both. One thing for music, though--there are a bunch of DSP modes and most of them are gimmicky (I would probably feel the same way with the dsp modes from other receivers too, so I guess it's not really a critique of the Yamaha). After running through them, my guess is that most people will settle on the 2-3 they like best and use them exclusively. There are lots of digital inputs on this thing, and it's really nice to have two digital coax slots. With the RX-V630, it was a bummer to hook up my dvd player via coax and then be tapped out. This unit leaves me with an additional slot for expansion later. I might never use it, but it's good to know it's there. The inputs are all assignable which is cool--I didn't have to go buy a Toslink cable for my dvd player just because the slot labeled dvd was Toslink. The on-screen programming is also a nice touch. It's tough to run through the entire config sequence of this unit just looking at the display. The speaker volume settings were a bit goofy, though. You can adjust the rear L and R + center speakers in one menu, and the front L and R in another. I'm not sure why they did that, but it would have been nice to put them all together. For a few days, I thought I couldn't adjust the front L/R speakers (kinda a big deal given room setup). The remote takes some getting used to-I'm still kinda getting used to it. But it did have the proper codes to run my JVC TV and my Toshiba DVD player. It won't do everything, but will probably handle about 90% of the original unit's remote. The design looks a little cheap-it's a long rectangular piece that looks kinda plain. Operating the unit from the receiver itself is fairly simple.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V630
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rowdy65043   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2002]
Strength:

Surround effects, digital connections

Weakness:

NO PRE-OUTS and it is for sale.

Buy the RXV-1200 instead. It has pre-outs for an external amplifer. Just doesn't have the power. I've got 4 Bose 301's and VCS-10.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RXV-795,RXV-2095
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
ruffryder   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2002]
Strength:

good clean power and clear dialogue plenty of real dsp's lot's of features, ins and out's great brand name easy set-up menu once it's done forget about it too many to list

Weakness:

maybe they should make a backlit remote if not at least some buttons .

i've looked around for months for a receiver and just could not choose. every store i went to they would praise there own products they sell so that just delayed time in actually purchasing one. then there were the brochures and magazines to read. so that's why it takes months to choose. you got to be 100% happy or u just wasted your money. anyways i was looking at yamaha 1200 (5490 U.S model), 630 (5560 U.S model), denon 1802, harmon kardon 125, 325. those models i actually tested at home. i was using enery encore main and centre and mission rears and energy sub. by the way speakers make a difference too. especially the centre channel. let's start with harmon kardon..... 125, 325 - looks nice, good quality built, good name.... i thought the power was strong for a smaller room (15x15) at higher volumes it started to distore the clarity of the dialogue. this receiver is very basic and the receiver gets hot after 30 min or so. the dsp's suck...they sound like crap. i think in built quality and looks they did a good job but in decoding they got very cheap. i took them back to the store. denon 1802.... way better then Hk in sound quality and better amps . a little hard to set up for those who haven't own a receiver before. still pretty basic and seems stripped down of features if you compare it to yamaha. yamaha 630, 1200...... i think the best of all. the 630 is $200 dollars cheaper the the 1200 model but they are very close in sound quality and features . the 1200 had 5 watts/ch. more but that isn't very much. they both have component inputs and plenty of ins and out's. even the remotes are almost the same. the dsp's are actually recorded live in real world locations so they sound pretty clean and real. i strongly recommend yamaha.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brendon   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 24, 2002]
Strength:

On screen display, Low distortion <.04%, very generously under-rated power, tons of inputs, although I only have 3 left including the front panel, The remote is quite nice, runs cool for me big plus- it's in with alot of other components

Weakness:

No dts 96/24, no rs-232, only front panel jacks gold plated

I've been running nothing but Yamaha for the last 4 years, and this reciever reaffirmed my reasons why. I previously was using my old R-V503 pro logic 70wx3,35wx2 reciever which has now been given a new home on my computer. But with all the new goodies out I decided it was time for something new, looked around for about 6 months. I didn't want to sped alot of money and working at best buy helped for that. Anyone knows the only really good stuff BB has is yamaha. I still looked at onkyo, denon pioneer, and a few others and couldn't find anything that even compared to the 5490 at near even it's regular price at the time being 999. So that was it, I made my decision, the only thing I was hesitant about was th 80w/ch, which upon reading the manual I realized that it is measure the proper way not the typical garbage, when using the same measurement as most lower end recievers do it's 135w/ch. Much better.

Similar Products Used: R-v503, sony strde1075, pioneer vsxd850s, kenwood 8060, Yamaha htr5560- which is almost as good if you don't quite need all the 5490 has to offer.....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   Audio Enthusiast [May 22, 2002]

yamaha's site says the watts is 100 p/c and not 80, with the total harmonic distortion of 4%. That means clarity + I haven't seen any better than that. I do not own a receiver yet, but am thinking of this one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BRIAN   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2002]
Strength:

clear low, deep bass yamaha-way to go,keep up the good work

Weakness:

i don''t see any

best receiver I''ve ever had. I have tried denon and marantz but this one is the best.

Similar Products Used: denon 3200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com