ROTEL RSX-1065 A/V Receivers

ROTEL RSX-1065 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

DTS, Dolby Digital, Dolby surround receiver

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Dec 13, 2019]
johnasadorian


Strength:

I bought the RSX - 1065 for $100 on let go. Needless to say I got it for a steal. I've been looking for one for the past couple of years. I am in awe at the power and sound clarity this amplifier produces. Best purchase I ever made and am looking for other Rotel equipment to add to my newly designed audio system.

Weakness:

Absolutely no weaknesses whatsoever.

Price Paid:
100
Model Year:
2001
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2013]
winhansse1
Audio Enthusiast

Sorry. From last post, I got wrong click to 4 stars at overall rating but actually was wanted give 5 stars. My bad hope won't effect the good rating.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2013]
winhansse
Audio Enthusiast

I got used one off from ebay and very fortunate to just paid under $250 with excellent condition, wow,what a steal. I know price was declining and it's main reason is do not have HDMI input/output connection and not 7,1 that's why. If it have HDMI, price won't be go that low consider the build and sound quality from reputable brand.
I have blue ray that have HDMI and digital optical output so I don't need HDMI for surround sound, I just need optical for surround and RCA cable for music that's all I was looking for.
What I like about this amp is it doesn't require very expensive speakers to sound excellent, with my KEF Q15 and energy 5 speakers and good speakers cable, it really thrilled me to watch action movies and this amp just make me feel all the action happen around me because sound are so realistic, clear and powerful when it need to be. The pre-amp out are definitely plus for adding extra sub or make it 7.1 system sound however 5.1 is already enough to fill my room, may be one more sub when I move to bigger house.
For music, I listen all kind of music from CD & Pandora through my Blue ray player and it's all round entertaining from one box which I can enjoy at least another 10 years to come even it already 10 years old amp.
For the size, it just look so nice with the gorgeous and timeless design that I won't get tired for awhile. Even it something go wrong when aged I will find a professional to repair, hope it won't happen. I can't say how newer products will perform over this amp, may be a little better but won't a lot different for sure I guess. If you can get it around $400 with working condition I would recommend to anyone.







OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2003]
Mario Casasola
AudioPhile

Strength:

Sound quality.

Weakness:

None

I've owned the RSX-1065 reciver for nearly 18 months and I'm absolutely satisfied with it. Stereo sound is superb, with great image and soundstage. Pro Logic II has an onscreen menu for fine calibration. It has also other DSP modes, but there's no need to use them because listening to music in Stereo and Pro Logic II is all you will need. When switched to Home Theater you'll have no complain about it, specially in DTS mode. It's simply a great product with no need for extra things, just the basic ones but in good quality. Software is upgradable. Whatever your speaker system, you'll get the best sound of it with this A/V reciver.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2003]
Jim
AudioPhile

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none

I love it ! Replaced an old Yamaha reciever.Like the looks, sound , top notch

Similar Products Used:

Adcom gfa5500, rotel rcd 1070, paradigm studio 100v2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 22, 2003]
frankaudio
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Ease of set up, good instruction manual, full functional remote. Great reproduction in all formats. PL II is my prefered mode, yet all modes deliver including the 5 channel stereo for SACD's

Weakness:

Not too sure about the banana clip speaker connections.

I originally planned on replacing my Def Tech speakers with B&W's; however my salesman @ Home Theater Store demonstrated the Rotel 1065 using the same speaker set up that I have and what a clear improvement in the quality sound from the same set of speakers. I was impressed and procured the 1065. I have not been dissapointed, the quality of sound in both theater & stereo music modes are crisp and clean. Even my wife had to admit that the sound quality from my previous AVR was highly improved.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Elite VSX 27TX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2003]
VIguy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

This is a Killer Reciever, great quality two channel sound...pure and simple. If you watch a movie or two a week and listen to music every day and your looking for an all in one unit this is most definitely the reciever for you. Plenty of power, easy to operate and a straight forward set-up. This big beast comes with pretty much every thing you will need and is upgradeable. Plenty of in's & out's as well. Assignable inputs and triggers for your movie screen and room lighting operations. Good remote that is easy to progam and can run EVERYTHING. Well built and a great three year warranty. I would highly recommend this reciever!

Weakness:

The pre-set radio station displays on the reciever can't be customized. It's a little thing I know but I liked that feature on the Mrantz SR 18ex.

It has been a rather long and arduous task to find a good surround sound reciever that sounds great in both two channel and multi channel modes. Uh alas I have found what I have been looking for...the Rotel RSX 1065 is it! What a pleasant find this wonderful sounding amp has been. After testing a multitude of contenders this amp is truly head and shoulders above it's competitors. Paired with a set of B&W Nautilus series 805 speakers in the front and dual firing Energy rears as well as a decent Paradigm center chanel speaker and a fabulous (for the price)Paradigm PS 1000 sub woofer this amp delivers great sound. Yes, it is possible to get great sound from a multi channel reciever and get it for under $3000 Canadian. I have tested many recievers over the past year and although I've heard some wonderful sound eminating from those units in multi channel mode it's the two channel mode where the Rotel leaves the others in the dust. It's simple, you like movies and you love music...buy this amp you won't be dissapointed!

Similar Products Used:

Top of the line Denon, Marantz (SR 18ex), Yamaha (RX-V1), Marantz Sr 5800, Linn 5103 etc, etc, etc, you get the idea.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2003]
Gino
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Strong clean signal, flexibility, sound

Weakness:

none

After using this unit for a couple of months I have to say that I am still impressed every time I turn it on. I went out one night last fall just to listen to it at a local store and all my wife could say was "Buy it ... now" because even she was impressed. I replaced a Carver HTR 880 with this reciever and haven't regretted it for an instant. My equipment: Rotel 1065 B&W CDM 7NT front speakers B&W CNT center channel M&K sub Carver CD player Monster Power Line Conditioner (HTS 5000) Audioquest cables

Similar Products Used:

Carver, Onkyo, Denon, Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2002]
dljc
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Lots af power ! Easy to operate! Easy to set up ! Sounds excellent !

Weakness:

None

First of all I got a greay deal on this piece. The shop was droping the Rotel line and everything was at a great discount. I was looking at Denon 4802 Onkyo sr900 and Marantz 8200 receivers also. The Rotel sounded much more like separates than any of the others. Music and movies this thing isvery detailed and does a terrific job decoding DTS and DD. Don't let the 100 watts per channle fool you. Seems more like 200. The weight of this Rotel will easily tell you different it weights in at 48 lbs. This was very easy to set up also. The manual was very detailed. The remote also was a pleasure to work with so much I retired my sony 2100. I would highly recommend buying this receiver to anyone wanting highest quality sound possible for little money. It was not surprising the sound and quality that was delived from this Rotel piece. Rotel has been making audiophile equipment for about 50 years.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo,Denon,Marantz,Sony(Blah ! Over rated !)Yamaha I'd rather listen to 2 tin cans and thin string !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2002]
Tom Specht
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great power reserve Exceptional Stereo sound and imaging A Value at the price

Weakness:

Bulky- this things a beast (60+ lbs)

After reviewing a variety of $3000 and under AV reveivers I chose the Rotel 1065. Although I watch DVD movies in 5.1 Digital Dolby format, my primary concern was for Stereo performance on a variety of music types. My search included all Denon, B&W, Onkyo, Integra,Yamaha, and JVC products within the $3000 dollar budget. I had not even considered Rotel products as they are not always available and get little press. While doing side by side comparisons, the AudioVideo store saleman switched to the RS1065. I was immediately impressed with the outstanding stereo sound quality and spacial imaging. The other (except B&W) AV receivers in stereo sounded flat and somewhat lifeless. The rotel 1065 has tremendous power reserve for its 5 x 100 watt rating. At very load volumes, the Rotel was able to present dynamic music without becoming edgy or colored. My choice was obvious and the price tag was well below the competition! System - Adcom GDC700 CD player Musical Fidelity X10D CD pre-amp Rotel1065 AV Receiver Infinity Overture 3 Main Speakers Infinity RS5 surrounds Bag End Infra-sub subwoofer

Similar Products Used:

Denon, Integra, Yamaha, Onkyo AV Products

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com