Onkyo TX-SR700 A/V Receivers

Onkyo TX-SR700 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Onkyo TX-SR700 DD, DTS, PLII, DTS-ES DD-EX Surround Sound A/V Receiver

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Dec 19, 2004]
zeal82
AudioPhile

Hi! I was just wondering if anyone can tell me how many microfarads does the Onkyo Tx-Sr700 has. I'm looking to buy this receiver and curious to find out if it would be able to handle my speakers. My denon 1604 sure has trouble.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 27, 2004]
Licenseduser
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very well constructed Learning remote

Weakness:

None I can find

I bought this receiver to go in my apartment. I am using just 2 speakers as I am not really intrested in home theatre. This unit has beautiful sound and power to spare. The controls are not complicated to learn. The learning remote is a big plus. I can control the TX-SR700 and my DX-390 CD player all from the same remote. I high recommend Onkyo products. I have owned a couple recievers in the last 6 years and all have been winners.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha, Kenwood, Sony

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2003]
gonefishin
AudioPhile

Strength:

POWER POWER POWER. Contruction is all metal with the exception of the plastic buttons. Excellent sound.

Weakness:

None I can see

The TX-SR700 is a very nice unit. Controls are easy to learn and well layed out. Menus are easy to navigate and can be displayed on television. Remote is a learning remote. I do not understand the reviews that complain the TX-SR700 has no power. This baby has more power than my ears and take. I am currently using 2 speakers on the front as a standard stereo so I can not comment on the surround performance. Runs rather cool.

Similar Products Used:

Sony

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 29, 2003]
jason
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

power is very good

Weakness:

must turn vol. up to 80-100 for strong power.

one of the best recevers for price

Similar Products Used:

denon 4802 3300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 24, 2003]
Brent
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

ease of use, not bad sound for a smaller setup perhaps, good zone 2 ease of use

Weakness:

Limited power, very light..no weight (perhaps that is why it can't kick out)

I did a lot of reading on this unit before I bought it and thought I was on the right track until I took it home to listen to it in my space. My room is 25ft long by 15 feet wide with Energy Connoisseur speakers and a 14 inch sub from definitive technologies. From the beginning I thought it was OK but that it did't have enough power. I was told 100 watts per side in Onkyo meant lots of power. Unfortunately I had to turn it up to 70-80 (max is 100 on volume) for movies and at least that for music. I found the unit straining at these high levels and not as much information coming out as I had hoped. That being said I didn't find the sound bad but the center channel clarity was not quite there and it sounded a little bright for my liking. I listened to movies and to music and just found the unit a little lacking. I ended up grabbing the yamaha rx-v2300 and find it significantly more powerful with a much smoother...as they say natural sound with several more DSP modes for custom listening. (not that I am a big DSP guy, but I do like several of the modes on this unit) The center channel sound is much better on this Yamaha, it is much clearer and pleasant to the ear.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Elite VSX 97 (Prologic) Sony 777ES Yamaha RX-V2300

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 22, 2003]
mrloverlover
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power, features, price

Weakness:

no 7.1 only 2.0 stereo when using zone 2

Found refurb unit at onkyo website for $498!!! Remarkable improvement over 1st gen Kenwood DD AVR. Drives my Infinity IL30 x2, IL36C, and 2 Kenwood Dipole Surrounds (IL100s powered sub)really well. AVR gets a little hot in my enclosed wall unit, but i installed a 9v fan to the switched power outlet on the back of the receiver and all is great now. Very musical, lots of power, endless Dolby and DTS options. Great AVR!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2003]
gardy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Powerfull and precise sound.

Weakness:

none yet.

Upgrade from Onkyo TXDS575 and the difference is remarkable. The 700 sounds awesome in movies and the rear channels sounds great. For the price it is a very good buy.I hooked up with the Tower II from Cambridge Soundworks as main speakers, Center Stage from CSW for the center channel, Surround 5.1 and a a Velodyne subwoofer VLF 810. The sub sounds great with this receiver.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo TXDS 575

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2003]
Harinder
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Built quality 2nd Zone feature Pure Audio mode Plenty of power Crystal chip Excellent DAC HDTV ready Remote Control Price

Weakness:

Can't think of any

I am extremely satisfied with it. I’ve home theater setup, but I listen to music more. I found this to be the best from price, quality, style, and features perspective. I am using this basically as a pre-amp. I am using B&K power amp for my primary front, Rotel power amp for my front and rear center, Onkyo power amp for 2nd Zone, and only speakers hooked to Onkyo receiver are my rear surround. This amp does excellent job as a pre-amp. IMO it is not bad at all for using as receiver. It has plenty of power. I’d hooked my Big Canton speaker, and 4ohm load of Jamo center through this receiver and it handled all that quite well for well over two months. Never heated up or went into protection mode. My room is fairly large and we sit about 15’ away from 36”screen. We were keeping volume between 55-65 settings for most of the time. Since I added power amps rarely I go over 40 setting for volume. I have $800.00 ADCOM outboard DAC connected between my Sony 300 disks DVD player. I am using DAC only when I listen music from CDs loaded into 300 DVDs mega changer. Folks I don’t hear any difference between 2-CH music from digital signal decoded by ONKYO receiver or my ADCOM DAC. I am thinking of selling my DAC. PURE AUDIO mode is best feature on this unit. I listen all my music on CDs or Cassettes in Pure Audio mode. 2nd Zone is another excellent feature on it especially when it could be different from main source. Sometime my kids and wife watch movie, and I enjoy music in my bedroom using 2nd Zone feature. 2nd Zone is like a completely separate built-in receiver. Love this true 2nd Zone feature. Built quality seems quite good, with lots of inputs. It should have more than one digital COAX input though. Subwoofer crossover setting of 80-100-120HZ is great to make some adjustments based on your speakers. Remote is one of the best. Very easy to use, and hard to loose, because of its long size. Setup is extremely easy, and it is very easy to make adjustments anytime even during play. I never listened Radio or listened LP on this receiver yet. So can’t comment on that. Volume Knob is fairly large and easy to handle. Blue light for pure audio is very impressive, but other lights and display is not eye poking either. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to buy a decent home theater receiver/pre-amp.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Denon, NAD, Rotel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 04, 2003]
tkr001
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good power Easy set up even for a novice Good features for price

Weakness:

the fault described above can't connect my 5.1 multichannel PC sound card and DVD component video together.

I purchased my receiver to replace a sony prologic system. Initially I looked at Sony equipment but after research narrowed my choice to the onkyo or a HK 325. I chose the onkyo and got a great deal. However I cannot get the rec out to work with any input other than source. I went back to the dealer any set up a unit in the shop. Same problem, the sound is OK but no video. Dealer contacted Onkyo who are baffled. They are replacing the 700 with a ds797 which I note is an obsolete model but does have thx. Having read the reviews here I am not sure if I am getting a good deal or not. I will try it out and if I am not happy will ask for my money back. Its a shame really because apart from this problem I was happy with the 700.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 31, 2003]
Invader3k
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

- Great sounds, even at lower volumes. - Easy to use, more than enough inputs and outputs for me. - Pure Audio playback. - Phono input. - 6.1 surround output. - Great remote, can control other infrared devices, and lights up in the dark. - Sleep timer (very useful, since I use this in my bedroom right now).

Weakness:

- Rumbles with vinyl playing at higher volumes (probably a problem with my set up). - Probably not worth the extra money over the TX-SR600, unless having the phono input is a must for you.

I am surprised this receiver has not gotten better reviews so far. I am a big Onkyo fan. They make very high quality components, and seem to be some of the best you can get for the money. I have compared this to the cheaper SR500 and SR600 models, and this outshines both of them as far as sound quality goes. The reasons I went with this receiver were not only that it is 6.1, but also has a built in phono input, as well as "pure audio mode." I also got it at a good price, admittedly. Pure Audio is a neat feature, because it ensures that you get the best possible sound, without extra equalization. I am only using this receiver in a stereo set up right now, so I can't comment on how it sounds with full surround playback. I have a pair of Bose 301 V speakers connected to it, and can honestly say that I love the sound I am getting right now. Tuner gets good reception, though the included antennas are crap that I replaced with a good dipole FM antenna and a Radio Shack AM loop antenna. I'm also using this with an Onkyo DVD changer for CDs, and the sound I get is very pure and enjoyable. Vinyl playback is great as well, though I have a slight problem with rumbling at higher volumes. If you are looking for a good mid-level 6.1 receiver, I'd highly recommend this, although the SR600 is probably good enough for most people.

Similar Products Used:

Other Onkyo receivers. Also familiar with Bose product line.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com