Onkyo TX-SR501 A/V Receivers

TX-SR501

  • 65 watts x 6 channels into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.08% THD
  • Dolby Digital EX, DTS-ES, and Pro Logic II decoding
  • DTS Neo:6 modes
  • Wide Range Amplifier Technology
  • 96kHz/24-bit DACs for all channels
  • CinemaFILTER
  • component video switching: 2 in, 1 out (50MHz bandwidth)
  • digital inputs: 2 optical, 1 coaxial
  • 2 audio, 4 A/V (including 4 S-video, 1 front-panel, and one 5.1-channel) inputs

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
hengzhou   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2005]
Strength:

Good amplify for the price. Easy setup.

Weakness:

DAC is only little bit better than cheap DVD player.

I setup this little guy in my family room for kids. I don't want them play with my system. So I tested it with my other best conponent. D/A convert is not quite good. When I like it with RCA cable, the sound is far more better than digital cable. If you have a good DVD or LD player, please use analog input.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo TX-NR801
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Arienrhode   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2004]
Strength:

-Price -Feature set -Sound

Weakness:

-Could maybe use one more optical -No binding post for main B -Smallish remote

This is a great reciever all around. It has 2 optical and one digital inputs, 3 A/V, CD, phono, tape, and even discreet 5.1 inputs. All of the video inputs have s-video inputs, and it can do component video switching for DVD and/or one of the A/V inputs. Other features I like include the crossover for the main speakers, three subwoofer modes, Dolby Digial EX & DTS ES, Cinifilter, and late night viewing mode. The Cinifilter and late night viewing options may seem gimmicky but they work well and are useful. Audio wise the unit works quite well. I am using Athena F1 mains, the C1 center, and the R1 surround with 12 ga. cable. The soundstage is wide open and it fills my small room with sound. I am not well versed in technical lingo, but it sounds a lot better than my Denon DRA-395 stereo reciever and both of the Sony A/V recievers I tried on it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cebbigh   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2004]
Strength:

Fantastic price through ecost. Great receiver for HT.

Weakness:

None that I am aware of.

This unit replaces an HK/225. The price includes shipment. It is an incredible deal. The main reason I looked to replace the HK/225 was because it's crossover is limited to 100hz. After upgrading my speakers (3 BIC dv62clr speakers in front and 2 BIC dv62si as surrounds & HSU-stf10 as subwoofer) I wanted more flexibility in the crossover selection. I know other HK receivers do have that option, but after reading that Dr. Hsu has a positive opinion of the Onkyo and seeing the extremely low price at ecost, I felt it was worth a try. I am nothing but impressed. I have the x-over set at 80hz and speaker settings to small and the sound on dts and dd5.1 is just incredible. For movies the Onkyo/501 far outperforms the HK/225. I have been amazed how much more specific the Onkyo is at directing specific sounds to specific speakers. The HK/225 did a very good job, the Onkyo/501 does it better. As far as listening to programs using PL2 I also give the edge to the Onkyo/501..but it is not as big an edge as movies. Yes the HK/225 has logic 7 which is nice to have, but to be honest, 95% of the time I found myself using PL2 when the choice came down to those 2 formats. The remote for the Onkyo is straight foward and logically laid out. If you are debating getting an Onkyo/501, I recommend you go ahead and get it. As far as purchasing a refurbished receiver through ecost, the unit I received was supposed to have had a superficial blemish that I have yet to locate. It is in mint condition as far as I can tell. Ecost did ship the wrong remote, but after I brought it to their attention they agreed to reimburse the cost of the remote and shipping from Onkyo with no quibbling. I am satisfied in all aspects with this purchase.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon avr-225 Sony ES-33 (stay away from sony altogether)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
max64   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2004]
Strength:

excellent sound,lots of in/outputs,great price/value

Weakness:

cheap build,lack of surround sounds

was torn between the Onkyo 501, Yamaha 5640 or Yamaha 5650. I read a lot of reviews and I owned a Yamaka Rx-V 630 before so I knew how the Yamaha sounded in general. Because I heard so many people and reviews brag about the Onkyo I went and got myself the Onkyo 501 for 199$. It took me a while to setup, since I was so used of the Yam setup. Finally I had everything up and running and spend another hour fine tuning the different sound settings until I got it right. I must say that I was very impressed about the sound and even more about the stereo sound.That's something the Yamaha just can't compete cause no matter what and how I tried I was never able to get a good stereo reproduction with the Yamaha. Now I enjoy listening to my favorite cd's. Movies in Dolby and DTS are very transparent, clean and crisp. Dolby Prologic II works perfect when listening to the TV. The rest of the surrounds don't mean much and that is the only thing the Yamaha can't be beat. The remote is well laid out. Some functions don't work with the remote so you need to get up and change them on the receiver. My biggest complaint I have is that compared to Yamaha the Onkyo looks very cheap and lightweight. Just try lifting up the Onkyo 501 compared to a Yamaha 5640/5650. The Onkyo also scratches very fast. The Yamaha is just a solid well finished receiver. Bottom line. I finally kept the Onkyo as I think it performs excellent in movie and audio and paid 199$. Before I forget the back panel has enough in and outputs to keep you sweet for a while.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha,Sony,Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jpjones   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2004]
Strength:

All around good machine

Weakness:

Nothing to complain of at this price

On the basis of three professional and the user views listed, I ought the Onkyo TX-SR501. It is everything the reviews said it was. I am using a pair of Polk RTi100's, each of which has a powered subwoofer, plus a free standing Yamaha YST-SW105 sub with an 8" sub. For the surrounds I am using a pair of twenty year old two-way Fried Q/4 speakers, each with a 8" bass driver. If you think that does not rock the house, think again. This receiver is all you could want and does all you want. For this price you cannot go wrong.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iouvy   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2004]
Strength:

Sound quality, 6 channels support, easy to set up, single speaker adjust in surround mode. Number of speakers in used can also be set, so 4, 5 or 6 speakers still produce good surround environment

Weakness:

Not really anything serious. However, you can notice the interupt when switching between surround or stereo modes. Also, there's no preout for every channels.

Pretty good for this price. In fact, this unit produces such a good sound quality that you wouldn't believe it is that cheap. Supports 6 channels with a sub preout, the sound it produces is so complete that you feel your house is like a theater. Well, you must have a good speakers system though. At 65 watts per channel, it can blow your speakers without doubt. Watch the volume ...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jt_kelley   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2004]
Strength:

Great sound and features for Home Theatre at a Great price. High Quality Product. Has good number of inputs,HDTV capable HDTV capable component switching, 3 digital audio in., front a/v jacks, etc ...

Weakness:

None really at this price. remote not backlit ... but once you are into home theatre, You need to get a Programmable remote anyway. Unless you like juggling 5 remotes. No composite to s-video conversion (I THINK the denon 1804 has this. but it's component switching is not HDTV capable. I've also never seen the Denon go for $200) or composite/s-video to component conversion (nothing in this price range has this).

Great reciever. I don't believe I could have done better for the $200 I spent. Intuitive controls, Easy to set up. Great sound. I use it in my home theatre and it sounds Terrific for movies. And the features for the money are great ... 6.1, Component switching, 3 digital ins, etc ... The 65 watts are RMS and very clean. More than plenty of power for the average sized room. Don't get caught up in power ratings. Has no problem handling special effects (high current amp), Good channel seperation, natural sound. There is no reason to buy a Sony or a pioneer or a ??? when you can get an Onkyo for so little. For AV recievers I would stick with Onkyo,Denon,and Yamaha. Pioneer actually has some decent sounding recievers but I don't think they can match the quality of an Onkyo. In my opinon, the Sony are too bright sounding and they again can't match the quality of Onkyo,Denon, or Yamaha. And when the entry level onkyo gives you so much for so little it just doesn't make sense to buy "cheaper" brands. For the average home theatre setup, this is a great product at a great price. You will not be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
apaci   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2003]
Strength:

Chrystal clean sound at low and high volume. Amazing movie dolby effects. Very sensitive tuner.

Weakness:

Nothing significant. The remote may not be the best design I have seen but it has all the necessary functions on it.

I bought this receiver refurbished from ecost for $190. This thing looks brand new, not even a minor cosmetic defect and came with a full year ONKYO garanty. It replaces a 5 years old Dolby prologic Sony audio/video 500W receiver. I thought my Sony was good but the sound from the ONKYO is absolutely fabulous. It outperforms the Sony by far. The different surround effects are much better than with the Sony. The dolby digital is particularly amazing with movies. The subwoofer provides deeper bass than when hooked to the Sony. The sensitivity of the radio tuner is also better than with my previous receiver. There is one particular classical radio station I used to get with a hissing in the background and which now is crystal clear. I would have never thought getting such quality receiver from such a great brand at this price. This is one of the best purchases I have made.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Yamaha.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wheelman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2003]
Strength:

clean amps, clean video switching, seemless surround without gaps and you can hear the surrounds more

Weakness:

It wasn't free. What do you expect at this price. The remote sucks in the dark. but at this price your lucky to get a remote

Well i purchased this receiver and it did not work. So i had to get it repaired. It cost me a little more for shipping. At first i was left in the cold by onkyo and ecost. Then the president of ecost called me after telling every repair shop that ecost was banned for life. He was an excellent person and set my mind at ease. I got the receiver back and all is well. It sounds really good for the money. I used to have a sony db840 which had a fuller and richer sound but with a tad bit of tizz in the highs. The onkyo is much clearer and tighter. Highs never get distorted or tizzed out. A very neutral sounding amp. Surround sound is much more coherant and fluid from speaker to speaker. This is very clear in chapter 9 of signs the movie. I have klipsch sf-2 speakers this match is pretty amazing for concert dvd's. I play guitar so i know a thing or to about tone. With this set up i can hear the difference's in the pickups and amps wether it's tube or ss. It totally sounds live not imitated their is no coloration. It sounds like it is sussposed to sound like. One thing i would like to say is the video switching is literally amazing it makes my satellite look as good as dvd. This is no exaggeration. I purchased the 601 before and sent it back because it didn't fit in my entertainment center. That's when i noticed my picture looked amazing. I am telling you it is worth the money i paid just in picture quality. By the way i use acoustic research s video cables. Radio is pretty good. Their is no 4 to 8 ohm switch which makes this a real high current amp and not some cheater amp they call them in the amp business. Pro logic 2 is nice to have it works very well when you watch a true stereo source. I wish an amp company would get rid of every soundfield and only have dolby digital and that's it. So they can put the money where it counts. For all you beginner's you will find out down the road that those sound fields are just junk. They sound cool at first. Like hey listen to pearl jam in a church. After a day or so you wish they spent the money on the amplifier. Because their is always a trade off in quality especially stereo listening when they ad junk. Onkyo does a great job of budjeting their money where it counts. By the way if you want good stereo from any amp use the analog interconnects instead of digital. But invest in a good one. It will make your sound much smoother and fuller. Not so harsh sounding and thin you get with the digital. It may sound louder with digital but i think your just getting exagerrated highs which turn out to be thin and harsh. Later

Similar Products Used: jvc,kenwood,sony,sony,sony,sony,alot of sony,other onkyo, audio source seperate amps, technics, teac, yamaha, hk,every speaker imaginable under a thousand dollars and none will sound good with out a good amp. I probally missed out on some good speakers because of this.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2003]
Strength:

Incredible sound, great dynamics, plenty of bass and pleasant to listen to. Non fatiquing.

Weakness:

None. If you're in the market for a 6.1 receiver, strongly consider purchasing this one.

For the price, this reciever is astounding. The sound is clean, smooth and has lots of punch. The DTS and Dolby Digital Decoding are top notch. It's great for movies and music. It can be played loud without a strain. Better than many receivers that cost 2 and 3 times as much.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Harmon/Kardon, Sony. Only the H/K comes close to matching the performance of this one, but it was a Pro-Logic unit.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com