Onkyo Integra DTR-6 A/V Receivers

Integra DTR-6

Top-Grade Digital Surround Receiver. Dolby Digital, DTS and Pro logic. S-video switching. 85 watts per channel.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
StrugglingHTbuff   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2003]
Strength:

Numerous redundant analog and digital inputs and outputs allowing for maximum flexibility with your other components. The unit looks nice and tight with minimal bells and whistles on the front panel. This thing is heavy so you know it's built well. It actually looks heavy from 10 feet away. The 3 year warranty is nice (if you buy it from an authorized Onkyo Integra dealer), so you don't have to worry about buying the extended warranties from Circuit City, etc..

Weakness:

The user manual is a little confusing and doesn't have a logical flow to it. I know it's old school, but I wish they put the Treble, Bass, and Balance knobs on the front panel--it's not super convenient to have to go into the menu to change it, but maybe I'm just hanging on to the past. The volume control knob has a very strange calibration, at least to me it does. Maybe it's normal in newer receivers, but I'm used to having a right-stop on the know vs. a knob that continously spins. The volume goes from min (1) to max (100), but I don't get any sound at all until I have it up to 55 or so and it's not even at a normal leasing level until 65-ish. I can easily get it up to 85-ish with a CD or DVD before it gets too loud--it would be maxed out at 100. The dealer keeps telling me to check my speaker connections or that the problem may be my main speakers themselves (admittedly a weakness), but those same speakers were screaming loud with my 9 year old Onkyo. I can't help but wonder if I got a bad unit or if the speaker calibration is normal with newer Integra units. I would love to hear back from anyone who has experienced this. Please post here if so.

The Integra DTR 6.3 is quite a step up from my 9 year old Onkyo 515 Pro. The Integra is clearly the better unit all the way around, not just because it's new. It's extremely well built for a receiver in this price range and it has more than enough inputs and features to keep me satisfied for years. My Onkyo 515 was very good to me and I wouldn't have even considered replacing it had the rear amps not started to go. Oh well. But that feeling about Onkyo led me only to shop for Onkyo products, i.e. the new 700 or 800. My window shopping eventually led me to a local, higher end dealer where I laid my eyes on the Integra 6.3. It's a very tight unit with nearly the same layout as the new Onkyo consumer line. I've only had the 6.3 for a week now and I definitely still have some tweaking to do to get everything set up right, but the options and flexibility are there--my learning curve will be steep since this is a fairly advanced unit for a budding audio enthusiast. Unfortunately this unit has forced me to accept the numerous other short comings in my existing set up, but I suppose a good receiver will do that. Not having a powered sub is a problem and the ceiling hieght in my listening/HT room isn't conducive to getting the best sound out of this unit. The 6.3 is rated at 100 watts and it wants to show off its power with great clarity, but the other limitations are frustrating, especially my main speakers which will obviously be my next big purchase. Back to the 6.3. The remote is nice, but again it's full of features that will take a long time to set up and learn how to use in the best way. The inputs on the back are sweet, but plan on spending a chunk of change on good cables if you're stepping up from an older receiver. The 6.3 almost dictates that you run everything through it and it's difficult to get the set up correct to be able to use the TV and Sat/Cable without having to turn the whole theater set up on, but that's the price of the on screen display feature. The user manual isn't the easiest in the world, but I think the writers of the manual make an assumption that the owners have a better understanding of HT set up than the average Joe.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 515Pro from 1994
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
cgrad34   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2003]
Strength:

I play 12" DCM's amd PSB towers with the DTR 6. That's a great combination for the music I mentioned above.

Weakness:

The DTR 6 blew both tweeters in PSB's and one in the DCM's. Of course that was over time. I like some music LOUD !!!

The DTR 6 is a reciever I would recommend to anyone. It's been great for rock,classical,and of course home theatre.I've been a studio musician and this reciever gives the closest to real studio sound, for the price, that I've heard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jake   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2002]
Strength:

An all around great A/V receiver.

Weakness:

None

I have owned this reciever for about 1 year. It has operated flawlessly since I have owned it. At the time I purchased it I felt it was the best A/V reciever in it''s price class. I still feel that way. I use it mostly for music. It pumps out plenty of natural, distortion free sound to my Paradigm Monitor 9s. Its performance is terrific for home theater as well. Outstanding build quality ( built like a tank ). Plenty of inputs both digital and analog including multichannel inputs. A very nice learning remote (lighted). Not a lot of DSP modes. I don''t consider that a weakness. I give it 4 stars for value. Although I believe it is the best value in its class , there are others that come close. Anyone looking to purchase an A/V receiver should check out the Onkyo Integra line.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Pioneer Elite, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   AudioPhile [Apr 04, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, strong clear sound, lots and lots of power to spare. Great remote.

Weakness:

None at this point...

The Integra 6.2 is the best A/V receiver I have ever owned. The overall sound is superb. The power is more than adequate at 100w x 5. All channel stereo along with prologic II can''t be beat at this price. The clarity of sound must be heard to appreciate. All thumbs up..........

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Nad
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Lycette   Casual Listener [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

Power, sound quality, no distortion, plenty of interconnects.

Weakness:

None noted.

This puppy puts out lots of distortion-free sounds with plenty of power. Much better than anything Sony or Yamaha sells in this price range.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha HX, Sony ES, Onkyo TX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joseph   AudioPhile [Mar 20, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, Crisp clear sound, More power than you will ever need. Awesome... Remote, etc., etc., etc....

Weakness:

None..............................

This review is for the Integra 6.2. I have owned this machine for 2 weeks now. I am very pleased with every aspect of the 6.2. I have a Pioneer D608 that does not compare in performance or power. Although my Pioneer is rated at 100W, the 100 watts coming from the Integra is much stronger and clearer. My Phase tech speakers never sounded so good.

Similar Products Used: Arcam, Nad, Denon, B&K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kirk Miller   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2002]
Strength:

Sound Quality Appearance

Weakness:

Reliability STANDBY/POWER ISSUE Learning remote stuck in grade 2.

This review is for the DTR 6.2. Many years ago I purchased an Onkyo TX-SV717PRO Dolby Pro-Logic AV receiver and though it was a great unit for the first six months. After that time, it sporadically shut down the power to the center and year channels and you had to unplug it to reset it. Near the end of it''s life it would not switch the proper audio signal when you switched video, etc. I recently purchased an Integra 6.2 to replace the Onkyo when it was stolen this summer in a break-in. This receiver seems to have inherited the same ghost that haunted my 717. Within the first month of operation, it would not let you turn it on with the remote control or the stand-by button on the unit. You had turn off the power and then turn on the stand-by button. It then resets all the settings that you have so carefully spent programming. One time it just reset the settings for no apparent reason. What a major let down. This receiver lists for $1600 Canadian, and the insurance company paid $1200 plus taxes. After six months of use, this Onkyo made product is being serviced in Toronto. I have been without this unit for 5 weeks now. The dealer didn''t even offer to give me a loaner unit while mine was being repaired. This is a beautiful looking receiver, and it sounds great. It converts all the regular video signals to the S-Video so that''s a plus. Great low end power and set up it easy without a stupid looking GUI. The remote control is excellent, but it won''t learn all the functions you think it should. If you set up the MACRO to turn on and off all your components at the same time you will be disappointed because Integra insists on using POWER and STANDBY instead of just POWER OFF / ON. That means you can turn on all your components at the same time, and turn off all the components except the receiver. The Integra line looks pretty, but I won''t be buying anymore Onkyo/Integra product line. Buy the DTR 5.2 and save a lot of money!

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 717
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Bryan   Audiophile [Feb 07, 2000]
Strength:

Good looks, features, remote and sound quality.

Weakness:

Nothing of importance.

For the price this is a great unit. The features that you get in this price range, that have this sound quality, cannot be matched by many other receivers. The power is clean from what I can tell through my Infinity speakers (see the dtr-7 reviews).

To my amazement, the Re-Eq, and Midnight Mode add a lot to the sound quality (or take some away) which makes movies sound much better for home use.

The on-screen menu's could have been a little better looking and you should be able to edit the whole name of your input source (i.e. dss, tv etc.) and show it on the screen rather than just on the receiver.

I would advise this receiver to anyone that wanted to spend the money for it. As a final quality note, I had a old Onkyo unit that still sounds and operates as well as the day I bought it.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite products.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gmw   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2000]
Strength:

build quality, sound processing, remote

Weakness:

Manual does not provide technical specs like frequency crossover for various speaker configurations modes


Specifications
85watts × 5 into 8ohms
Dolby Digital and DTS Decoding
Linear 96kHz 24-bit D/A Converter
8 or 9 "DSP" Processing Modes
Back-lit Learning Remote Control
Total Harmonic Distortion: 0.08%
Frequency Response: 20Hz - 100kHz +1 -3dB
5 × Analog Audio/Video Inputs
5 × Composite and 5 × Y/C (S-Video) Inputs
6 × Pre-outputs
5.1 External Decoder Inputs
4 × Digital Inputs (2 × Coaxial, 2 × Tos-link)

(above provided for your convenience--but may not be totally correct due to memory lapse)

Paid: $675 for open box

Build: Feels solid. Has aluminum heat sinks to help dissipate heat from the amps. Input boards at the back of the chassis all arise from a main circuit board and everything appears to be generally solidly constructed. Front panel is relatively uncluttered and the main part of the display is easily read from across a room. The Onkyo has the look and feel of a quality piece of equipment.

Setup: Setup pretty straightforward, includes setting up speaker configuration (large, small, none), distance, level. For level, receiver includes test tone--you will need a SPL. as is possible for a product this complex. Other setup includes setting audio and video inputs. The more complicated set ups involve tweaking various parameters available for the various listening modes,such as relative LFE levels in Dolby Digital and DTS modes, Front Effects off/on, etc.

Listening Modes: Stereo, 5-channel stereo, Direct, orchestra, Studio, Unplugged, TV, Dolby Prologic

Music: Hooked up to two sets of speakers to determine which sounded better. With Mirage OM-10s, sounded a bit bright. Worked much better with the Snells K.5 and Hsu subwoofer. In this set up, sound was more natural and warm, without the brightness of the OM-10s. Bass was deep and tight.

Personnally, I Like the 5 channel stereo and Unplugged DSP modes, though I did boost the front left/right speakers a couple of dBs. The usefulness of the flexibility of the DTR-6 to tweak the listening modes cannot be underestimated.

Before buying the Onkyo Integra DTR-6, compared the unit with Marantz SR-5000 (I think), Sony ES (can't remember model no.), and Yamaha RX-V2095a.

Decision to buy unit based on: 4 digital inputs, power/price ratio, build quality.






Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2000]
Strength:

Sound and ease of use

Weakness:

Remore control

WOW for $610.00 what deal. Bought a set of B&W speakers as well hence the discount. The sound and clarity are top notch. Frist time using a AV reciever.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com