NAD T760 A/V Receivers

NAD T760 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Dolby Digital & DTS Receiver. 60W x 5 Continuous power (8 Ohms); all channels driven simultaneously. 5.1 input for external decoder.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 99  
[Jan 15, 2020]
Happy1979


Strength:

It's like a "sleepercar" looks like NAD = a Grey box with some buttons and a display from the cold war area. It's got a insane 60watt per channel🤯🤯 but when i hooked it up to my Canton Reference 2 (about 18.000$) just for fun. I couldn't keep my jaw from dropping all the time. This reciver might be the the purest beast out There. Just buy it!

Weakness:

No sir no nono!

Price Paid:
300
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 15, 2020]
Happy1979


Strength:

It's like a "sleepercar" looks like NAD = a Grey box with some buttons and a display from the cold war area. It's got a insane 60watt per channel🤯🤯 but when i hooked it up to my Canton Reference 2 (about 18.000$) just for fun. I couldn't keep my jaw from dropping all the time. This reciver might be the the purest beast out There. Just buy it!

Weakness:

No sir no nono!

Price Paid:
300
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 15, 2020]
Happy1979


Strength:

It's like a "sleepercar" looks like NAD = a Grey box with some buttons and a display from the cold war area. It's got a insane 60watt per channel🤯🤯 but when i hooked it up to my Canton Reference 2 (about 18.000$) just for fun. I couldn't keep my jaw from dropping all the time. This reciver might be the the purest beast out There. Just buy it!

Weakness:

No sir no nono!

Price Paid:
300
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Apr 25, 2005]
nadtricks
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent, neutral sound quality compared to other AV receivers. Not bloated with useless features

Weakness:

- Reliability (mine failed once in the first year) - Presets button often changes tuning mode when changing stations. - Remote control becomes finicky when using FM tuner - Cannot assign tuner presets in categorized banks; needs direct-access tuning - Cannot re-name inputs on display. - Would look way cooler with a dot-matrix fluourescent display

Hope you've all been enjoying your NAD T760/1/2 receivers; I sure have over the last 5 years. However, I'm aware that in spite of this unit's fantastic sound quality, some of you were quite frustrated by some reliability problems. If you're interested in a fairly simple mod that greatly extend the receiver's operating life, send an email to: nadtricks@hotmail.com I'm also working on some other mods that should yield even better sound quality with this receiver.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha RX-V1000, Sony ES line

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 18, 2003]
John Allen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Exceptional sound clarity and bags of power to spare. Simplicity. Ergonomics. I even like the remote.

Weakness:

None. I worry about the inadvertant firmware re-boot. All the FM were pre-sets were lost in the process, but easily re-set and all now O.K. It is now a quality amp giving superb sound in HC and hi-fi stereo.

I bought the NAD T760 from an up-market hi-fi/home cinema shop which had taken it as part-ex for a Harmen Kardon receiver. For stereo it replaces a combination aof NAD 100 pre-amp and Sony TAN 55ES power amp (100 W+/channel). The main speakers are KEF C45 with SW2000 subwoofers (passive; one per channel) giving -3 dB at 40 Hz. On "speakers 2" without a powered sub-woofer the NAD T760 still shakes the floor and is a delight. The centre is a new KEF "egg", the surround speakers old KEF Coda IIIs. The result in home cieman is wonderful. On stereo for music there is wonderful clarity and spatial resultion of instruments across the sound stage. The receiver is a delight. After a reboot of the firmware (accidental and not recommended: attach to TV etc without diconnecting form mains supply) the volume goes up to indicated +18 bD as per spec. For some reason it was limited to +8 dB when I bought it. Now there is tons of power and the result is much louder volumes and more clarity than with the previous 2 x 100 W Sony power amp, even with the difficult-to-drive amin speakers. The NAD T760 is a delight and I recommend it.

Similar Products Used:

NAD T532 CD/DVD player (using its DACs by choosing analogue RCA input for stereo; nothing wring with the 760 DACs for DVD DD/DTS. Some sort of Sony VHS player. Nokia mediamaster for satellite and digi

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 23, 2003]
jtshaw
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, ease of set-up, solid construction.

Weakness:

Others have commented on the unfortunate remote control. They are right; NAD embarrassed itself with a remote that sometimes requires several presses on a button to engage it. It feels like junk, especially as it is paired with such a good receiver.

The NAD T750 has proven to be a wise purchase for my system. Its chief virtue lies in clarity across the audio band, with a sound that is weighted a touch more to the cool and analytical than to the warm. I use it to drive the satellites of the Energy Take 5.2 speaker system, and I am pleased with its performance both in cinema and 2-channel modes. The receiver sends a clean signal to the Energy subwoofer, and it took little effort to set the rear channel delays and dial in a nicely balanced system sound. For the most part, I leave it set in NAD's EARS mode, as this works well for movies on digital cable television channels and also for digital cable music channels. The receiver will detect and automatically switch to Dolby Digital or DTS when presented with those signals. I've no complaints about its performance in those modes. The NAD T750 is not a powerhouse AV receiver for those who insist on crash and thunder, and it will work best in small to medium-sized rooms. It's a very good "set it and forget it" product. Look elsewhere if you want a lot of bells, whistles, tweaks, and adjustable features.

Similar Products Used:

None really. My main system is music only, featuring Acurus components and Hales loudspeakers. The NAD T750 does what I want it to do when I watch TV or video or listen to background music. When I am

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 14, 2002]
matt
Casual Listener

Strength:

better than a bose. or a lot of the equivalent products from japanese manufacturers. is a decent 2-channel amp.

Weakness:

atrocious ergonomics

nice mid-fi reciever... the remote control is atrocious, so is the d/a converter... if you're using the NAD dvd player with it, you _must_ use the analog outputs on the player, or else you'll throwing cash out of the window. the on-screen menus are a joke a touch bass-thin, but hey...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 27, 2002]
DMolisher
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound with both MUSIC and movies (except for loud volumes with the latter), for a fraction of what others charge for such quality.

Weakness:

Limited bass management; odd remote; compresses with balls out movie soundtracks; pre-outs to separate amp hum too loud for use as a solid pre/pro.

Incredible sound quality for under a grand! Literally sounds as good or better than budget separates from Rotel, Adcom, Outlaw, or even Acurus, at least on 2-channel stereo music (where the internal amp is not even strained).

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo receiver; separates from Rotel, Adcom, Anthem, Audio Refinement, Acurus, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2002]
Milton
AudioPhile

Strength:

The superb sound, the midrange is focused insightful and never lost sight of. The bass is musical,taut and never too boomy. The soundstage is huge. Sounds especially good with classical and vocals. Simple to use without all the unneccesary gadgets.

Weakness:

Nothing very significant.

Previously I was using Yamaha Rx420V receiver and found it inadequate musically. the midrange lacks body and attack, i know this when i went to my friends house and listened to my favourite classical piece on his dedicated cd and amplifier system. Since I am using my a/v system 90% for music and 10% for movies, I decided I got to upgrade my receiver, striving for the movie cum HiFi sound. After reading through reviews in the mags, i left home to get the marantz but returned home with the NAD T760. Why? yes the marantz sounded good with movies but when 2 channel stereo was compared, the difference was immediately obvious. What previously sounded like a bland souless piece of music on the marantz was insightful and enjoyable on the NAD. Believe me it was difficult to change my mindset at that time after being so convince that the marantz was a good buy but after I brought the NAD home, there was no regrets! My A/V system transformed from just a A/V system to an audio system as well! Coupled with my KEF KHT2005 babylicious outerspace pods, the music just shines!!! My friends who come quite often started commenting on how beautifully the singer sang.... how sad the music was etc.... I did not regret getting the NAD T760 instead of the T761 cos from the reviews, it seems that T761 seems to be plague by quality control problems? Also sonically i don't think there is much difference in the sound except for the power rating. ALso cos i am using the subwoofer and "small"satellite speaker system, theres seems not much problem with the bass since the subwoofer comes on both in surround as well as in stereo. With movies, it sounds awesome as well with the bass sounding thunderous and the pan effects accurate and discrete! In fact I thought it sounded better than my yamaha, what is immdiately apparent is the quietness in between sounds, the pitch black sonic background that makes so much difference especially in music. My current system includes NAD T760 receiver KEF KHT 2005 speaker package(awesome!) Marantz CD4000 cd player Yamaha DVD s510 Currently very happy with the system and the next upgrade would be a dedicated separate hifi system for music. Music lovers who are the occasional movie buff(which should include almost everyone), this is the receiver to have!!!!!, so much for such silly money! DTS or DTS neo6, who cares! Can you tell them apart?

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha RXV 420, Marantz SR5200

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2002]
Napoleon Bonaparte
AudioPhile

Strength:

its awesome. but if you must know the sud preout bass is its best strenght its like at the movies. i have m&k 750 thx sets of 5.1 speakers witch are better than the nad760 and i have found out that the only problem is with the rear speakers. it just dosent envellope me as it does at the theatres. the problem is also with the vertical sound it dosent envelope vertically as it does horizontally i dunno why. so i i stand up for example bang less the surround sound. maybe when nad comes up with a thx receiver in bout 5 years that might fix the problem. you see boys and girls its no longer a problem of sound quality but how much sourround and positionning and images you actually get outa your receiver. with nad receivers you get a bit of all of them. but more surround than positionning. sound positionning is very expensive. it takes the nads170 to get you there and that guy cost a woudle of money. and thats only the preamp. but in 5 years it''''ll all be there for us. the sound is better if i lower the front speakers and put the rear ones at max output. thats for listening to movies. as for listening to cd well i turn of the center speaker and listen to music in 4.1 instead of 5.1 and v

Weakness:

remote control but if you buy the cinema7 one for all remote control all your remote control problems will go away for 20 bucks.ive got all the codes for the nad760.

its awesome. and the good news is in 5 to 10 years receivers will be so performant it wont matter no more to compare it to anything else. so the nad760 is the perfect buy for the next 5 years of your life. the most important thing is the clarity of the sound i think. and nad 760 well its close. but each receiver and each different technologies has its own different configuration. if you take the sound of running water for example in a little river the closer you get to it the more you get envellope by the sound. thats very hard to reproduce perfectly. and a speaker is artificial sound is it not? so wtf its gonna take a while before we can no longer see the difference between the real thing and the sound coming from a speaker. a long time. but in the meanwhile the nad760 is as close as your gonna get to it without having to morgage your house to get a good sound system (lol lol lol lol).

Similar Products Used:

all of them or almost thats all i do is go to store and listen to receivers, dvd players dvd changers cd players etc....as for a tv ive got my 32 inche that i paid 500$ for. but im waitng for the digi

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 99  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com