Marantz SR7200 A/V Receivers

SR7200

According traditional trademarks of Marantz, the SR7200 is a non-compromise digital surround receiver, built to excel in Movie and Music reproduction, functionality and ergonomics. It supports Dolby Digital ® 6.1- channel decoding, Dolby Pro Logic ® II, Circle Surround 5.1 and Dolby Digital ® 6.1 compatibility for an impressive, enveloping 360-degree surround sound. The SR7200 features a discrete, equal power amplifier section for all 6 channels, with superb low impedance driving capability and comprehensive dynamic reserve. A multi-zone function allows you to simultaneously enjoy a different entertainment source in another room. Complemented with a programmable, learning remote the SR7200 is the ideal choice in every home entertainment system or custom installation. FEATURES: inputs for up to 9 sources, including DVD player and LD player on screen display (OSD) dolby prologic surround I/II, dolby digital 6.1, DTS-ES decoding multi-room capability extends to second video output informative on-screenmenus apply to single and multi-room set-ups choice of optical and coaxial digital inputs for best cable connection and set-up 30 presets on all three wavebands, for instant recall of favourite stations remote handset controls entire AV system,with ability to learn new commands as system grows

User Reviews (137)

Showing 1-10 of 137  
larry richard   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 2014]

I need help. My problem is this amp is so weird, I can select tuner and the music will not play sometimes for 10-15 minutes and then start. I recently tried to hook up a CD player and it wont play at all. CD player is good. I bought this at an estate sale so I don't have manual, can anyone help? The cassette tape deck works fine every time.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Beardg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2010]

Not sure of the year,
I bought this unit off of Craigs list for...can you believe it..150$ with a perfect pair of Mirage tower speakers with all boxes,packing and remotes in mint shape.I was ecstatic!.
The unit is a little bit quirky.It likes to be controlled with the remote,and when controlled this way all is fine.If you choose to use the input buttons on the unit rather than the remote however,sometimes it is as if the machine must "think" what to do and how to do it.It can take two or more button pushes to achieve an input change.I have heard a very slight static click sometimes when changing channels on my TIVO Direct TV .Slight,not always,not a problem.No pops in the sub woofer and nothing of any real consequence.
The sound that this unit puts out through my Klipsch KG4 fronts and Polk CS400i center is OUTSTANDING!
My previous unit was an Onkyo TSX-595S unit, which is no slouch,but the Marantz Kicks it's butt!
Sound is bright and clean,gets very loud and is just fantastic.I run a separate set up for music(analoque) but on the rare occassion that I put the Marantz to use with music it has sounded great also.I have given thought to selling off the old stuff,but I'm too attached to my huge rack of goodies.But for most people you could easily live with this unit for both HT and music...though it does not have a phono input....deal breaker for me.
Remote is a bit strange also,but I am an experienced hand so all is well.Set up was about on par with most electronics of it's type,maybe a little bit tougher.I am not a big fan of OSD,I prefer to see things on the amps screen,but this is a minor annoyance after set up is completed.The second room amp is great for the kids on the PS2,while the adults watch TV/movies/sports and consume adult beverages....
This is my first experience with Marantz other than vintage 70s amps.And I must say I am impressed with it's quality and over all tremendous sound.
Lots of inputs.Remote should light up.....hard to see in the dark.
I am in HT heaven.The Klipsch KG4s are outstanding HT speakers with this amp.So crisp and clear...and LOUD!
If you can scoop one of these babies cheap(and they seem to sell fairly cheap on ebay) I would highly advise you do.I cannot imagine any other amp having much better sound at any price until you get into the multiple thousands when shear volume would rule the day.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   AudioPhile [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

nothing seemed to work quite right. could not get the setup to work. The thing was that it didn't seem to do the same things every time. It sounded great! but didn't work consistently.

Other discussions noting build dates and model numbers here are correct. I ordered mine from hifi.com and received a unit Marantz USA identified as a factory refurb. You can spot this by a small colored dot on the outside of the box next to the serial number, purple in this case. I did not know this until hifi.com refused to accept a return (over 30 days) and I contacted Marantz USA. When I told hifi.com they said that they had no idea and accepted my return. Their VP of product purchasing contacted me and discussed the situation. The product was pulled immediately.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Archenemy   Audio Enthusiast [May 17, 2003]
Strength:

Remote is awesome and easy to use

Weakness:

Shrill and weak sound - no matter what cables are used

I have really, really tried to like this receiver. I had previously loaned a 5300 and really liked it. The stock on this 7200 receiver were running out and they were going cheap. I liked the idea of a learning remote so decided to settle for this. I wish I hadn't. I have a pair of 602.5's and the sound they pump through them is, quite frankly, poor. For a $AU2000 receiver I am very dissapointed. My $400 Pioneer had a better stereo image. The onboard DAC is even worse - tending towards the shrill. If you have mellow speakers like Wharfdale 8's it would sound good,but that's about it. I didn't have any popping problems like others in this group, but if you have the chance - get the 5300 instead. The literature boasts a "cutting edge" DAC - maybe they should have used one that sounded good, instead of just being brand new. I realise I'm being picky, but that's my prerogative - I bought the dang thing!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer botton of the range receiver (no longer made) Rotel pre/power 830(?) stereo combo
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2003]
Strength:

Power/Wattage (Approx. 110/Ch), Sound Quality, Surround modes incl. DD EX, DTS ES, and DTS 96/24. Auto source detection (Crucial), component switching, Very Detailed OSD, 7.1 Compatible, Multi Room/Zone, Upgradable, and last but not least, looks great too.

Weakness:

OSD not Available in component video, and the lack of a backlit remote is almost unforgivable at this price point! Would have liked to see the OSD more flashy, the use of colours would have been welcome. The OSD Letters remind me of the old pong game console.

I first purchased the SR 5200 from West End Electronics in NFLD, Canada. Having purchased in the past, a mid priced Pioneer ($799 CDN) and med priced Kenwood Receiver ($599 CDN), I wanted my next receiver to be more high end. I have always heard rave reviews for Marantz equipment, and had a dealer near by. I picked the SR5200 ($800 CDN) for it seemed to have the best bang for the buck. Had noticably better sound quality, especially at louder levels, than I was previously use to. It worked flawlessly for several months until it started to automatically shut itself off. This problem appeared to go away over time, however, use to rear its ugly head every month or so. I finally got pissed off enough to return the unit. The guys at West End Electronics took it back, and Marantz had a new one on its way. While I waited they were nice enough to loan me an SR 6200. I must say the difference in these two receivers was huge. Both sound quality and features. The extra wattage was definately worth the extra money. When the the replacement SR5200 came in I decided that I would like to have at least the SR6200 ($1000 CDN) instead of the 5200. The guys at West End again rose to the occassion, allowing me to trade in my 5200 replacement from Marantz, giving me all my money back after 10 months of use, very impressive. I put this toward the new SR7300 ($1300 CDN). Again the step up was noticable, but not to the degree the SR6200 was over the SR5200. One of the nicest features of the 7300 is the Circle Surround 6.1, and the auto source detection. Before I had to change the input selection from digital to analog when wanting to view analog TV stations v. Digital ones (for both the SR5200 & SR6200). What an annoyance having to do this every time you change between certain channels! This receiver will always auto detect the best signal to use for both video and audio for each of its inputs. The OSD is very detailed, offering many more options than the SR5200 & SR6200, and is also controllable/viewable from the units front display, however, you must be very familiar with it before using it in this way (But you will be in no time, trust me). Subs work in Source direct, has all the SS modes you would want incl. the new DTS ES 96/24, and has more power than you will likely use. I like my music and movies very loud, but have yet to have to turn it on full volume to satisfy my need, or while showing it off to friends for that matter. I also must mention the fact it is upgradable from a computer port on the back. This feature was the final bonus feature that pushed me toward the SR7300 over the SR6200. The receiver is quoted as future proof. I have only two gripes. First, the remote has a small LCD display that does not light up. The lack of lighting has forced me on several occasions to have to get up and turn on the light to effectively use the remote, and second, the OSD does not work when using component video out. Overall, the most features and best performing unit available at this price point. My experience shows that a dealer can make all the difference, actually turning a bad experience, into a great one for me. Thanks again Wade. System: Panasonic 53" 16:9 HDTV Marantz SR7300 Receiver Paradigm Monitor 5 V.3 front channels Paradigm Monitor 5 V.2 back channels Paradigm CC270 Center channel Paradigm CC100 Rear Center channel 2 Quest 8" Subs Sony 5 disk DVD Electrohome DVD player (for SVCD's) Mitsubishi HiFi VHS Motorola Digital Cable Box Motorola HDTV Decoder

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX D601, Kenwood VR 410, Marantz SR5200 & SR6200.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 30, 2003]
Strength:

Very musical receiver with my system. 7200 receiver(used as preamp in 2 channel) Adcom 5802 front amp Marantz 7010 DVD Paradigm Studio 100's front Paradigm Studio 40 rear Paradigm Studio Center Channel Velodyne SPL 10 Marantz PV6111W HDTV Sony HD 250 Tuner

Weakness:

None to date. Really wish the sub would run in "source direct mode".

Unfortunately I had a 2001, 7200 and experienced some problems. Returned to dealer (Sound Central and Tony have always been good to me). Replaced with '02 model and no problems since. I use a preamp in stereo and have big, full range floor models so I listen to 2 channel in Source direct, much more detail this way and very good sound for a receiver in this price range. Much more musical than Denon, Sony, Pioneer and the rest. For movies I use the amp for surround and center speakers only; plenty of power. This receiver matches up well with my equipment and the features are all useful. Don't understand the flack around the remote, it does all I need fir my entire setup.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2003]
Strength:

Sound seems very good, haven't put it to much of a test yet

Weakness:

On screen still a bit of a pain.

Just as the previous reviewer did, I went for a good deal on last years model, the SR 7200. What a POS! Bad LF channel, non working On screen display, and that infamous whooomp through the sub when you power up the unit. My dealer took good care of me, and I got into the 7300 instead. Much better unit, MUCH better remote. Manual is also improved from before. Early indications are positive, but it's only been one day. Seems to be the best unit for Multi source in it's price range, although I believe the Denon 2803 can now do this as well?

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon AVR 30 and AVR 55 Current system: Marantz SR 7300 BW LM1's x 4 BW center and sub Sony DVD and TV
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
j l   Casual Listener [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

none worthy to mention

Weakness:

remote sound user guide

Review concerns Marantz Model Sr 7200 & 7300. Purchased SR 7200 around 3 weeks ago at Cambridge SW. Despite a lot of negative feedback and bad experience owners of this unit experienced, I trusted the opinion of Pro-Audio Phile who rated the SR 7200 as top of the Line. Needless to say, I should have gone with the advise of people like you and I, which don’t run fancy test setups but believe In true and direct sound experience. From the get go, I was disappointed of the overall quality of this Receiver. The setup was a nightmare, the User guide out of this world (or badly translated) and sound quality not up to my 12 year old Yamaha – RX1080 Unit. As for the remote… well…let’s just say, it looked pretty on our coffee table. Somehow I felt cheated and let down by Marantz, a Company which I always respected as one of the great market leader. To make a long story short, after experiencing further problems with the On-Screen setup, I finally gave up and returned my SR7200 to the local Cambridge Dealer. After talking to the local Sales Rep., he immediately confirmed and acknowledged, that I’m not the first and only one who experienced those problems. We came to an agreement and I went home with a brand new SR 7300 unit. Well…. somebody at Marantz must have done his homework & eventually they did learn from the bad reputation of the SR 7200 unit. The SR 7300 has the perfect sound accommodation, is much easier to Setup and finally a worthy replacement of my old Yamaha battle horse. Do yourself a favor and don’t go for those great deals your see now on the SR 7200 (refurbished/b-stock etc), rather spent the extra money on a system, that gives you a true Audio and HT experience. my new system setup:

Similar Products Used: Denon Yamaha Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Cal   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2003]
Strength:

- Low Impedance Handling (pleasant surprise at this price point) - CircleSurround mode - Learning Remote

Weakness:

- Manual is poorly written and less than intuitive in some cases; a minor league effort

Having used Audio Review (among many other sources) for research prior to my puchase decision I was naturally quite concerned about the quality problems with the SR7200 as described by many reviewers. To protect myself I had the dealer commit in writing that this unit was free of defects or it could be returned immediately at "no charge." I was also assured that the unit had been retrofitted at the factory (Manufacture Date: March 2002). Fortunately for me and to my delight the unit has performed flawlessly for the past 4 months. Having said that the SR7200 was not my first choice. I originally purchased a Pioneer Elite VSX-43 and was absolutely delighted with the clarity of sound. This beast weighed in at more than 40 pounds and I needed to cut out part of the back of my wall unit to fit this baby in. The challenge I encountered was that I married this unit with my recently acquired PSB Silver'i' Towers, a PSB Stratus C5i Centre channel along with 2 Alpha B's as rear surrounds. While the sound was sweet and clear (reference DVD - Diva scene from Fifth Element; reference CD - The Commitments(with Andrew Strong) - Try A Little Tenderness) at very high volumes the receiver would shut down (self-protection capability) after 15 minutes. I checked back with the dealer and he wasn't sure why! What an idiot! After a little more homework on my own I realized that the PSB Silver'i' is a 4 ohm speaker (i.e. low impedance). Combined with the fact that they were bi-wired with 12 gauge wire meant that they were demanding a lot of juice from a receiver that was not designed to support low impedance speakers. Since I had fallen into rapture with those spectacular looking and sounding speakers I couldn't bear to part with them - so the Pioneer Elite was sent back to its mama!! Enter the Marantz "Popper"!! The SR7200 weighing in about 10 pounds less, offers a more compressed dynamic range (audibly) than the Pioneer (sounds great but sorry - not as good as the Pioneer) along with a vastly superior learning remote (it's not as bad as some of the other reviewers claim and it learned all necessary functions save for a few for my ProScan Big Screen, Toshiba VCR, Technics CD and Panasonic DVD) and has proven to be an admirable problem-free replacement. However, in a bake off between the units based solely on sound reproduction I would have to give the nod to the Pioneer Elite. The Marantz scores points over the Pioneer for flawless low impedance handling (it sacrifies some overall power but doesn't quit at high volumes over extended periods like the sissy Pioneer), CircleSurround mode (great for filling the room but make sure that you have a strong centre channel that compliments your front speakers) and the learning remote. If you have 8 Ohm speakers give a listen to the Pioneer Elite Series. I was pleasantly surprised and I'm sure that you will be too!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX-43
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

Stereo sound Circle Surround Looks Good Movie Sound

Weakness:

Popping sound, which unfortunately, is a deal stopping weakness.Rating reflects consideration of positives with this negative.

I purchased this unit in December of 2001 from Audio Sound.Because of the holidays I didn't get much of a chance to use it at first.Must have been an early unit though, because those heart attack inducing pops were there, not only when powering up, but also during chapter and source changes. I spoke with John from Audio Sound who was nice enough to let me return it after more than a month, with a restocking fee of $200.That wasn't nice, but those are the rules. What was perplexing was that in our conversation,he stated I should have been told by the salesperson when I ordered the unit that it had these issues.Well... I wasn't, shame on me. Good looking unit with excellent stereo sound, better than the Denon 3802 I replaced it with, though the Denon has more impact and excitement on movies. I wish more receivers would incorporate Circle Surround, as it's more involving than PL11 or Neo 6. Remote looks cool, but it's not real intuitive to use, and it didn't want to learn some functions from my DVD player.I did write Marantz to tell them of these issues and NEVER heard back.Live and learn.

Similar Products Used: Sony DB-930 Denon AVR-3802
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 137  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com