JVC RX-7000V A/V Receivers

RX-7000V

Dolby Digital/DTS Receiver

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2000]
Strength:

Fully discrete outputs, feature rich in price range

Weakness:

No Auxillary inputs

For the money you can't really beat this receiver. Fully discrete outputs on all 5 channels, 3 s-video inputs, built in Dolby Digital and DTS decoding, all the standard and a few extra, nifty bells and whistles coupled with JVC's Compulink (works w/ other JVC components) makes for the value leader in it's price range. You do have to push the volume to start getting decent sound but once you're there the fully discrete outputs keep it quite clean (even way up, and it goes plenty up). Speakers with a higher sensitivity and lower min. recommended power should be helpful. Sound quality is as good or better than anything in this catagory. You can get richer, warmer sound, but for the same features you're going to pay quite a bit more. Follow the instructions regarding placement as adequate ventilation is necessary (those outputs get toasty). I was a repair technician for 6 years and in my experience JVC seems to have a slight quality and reliability edge over many. My only two gripes about this receiver are there could be one or two aux inputs and the remote won't control my Hughes brand DirecTv receiver (it will control an RCA and others), though it does perform basic functions on all my other equipment. These are minor points however, and wouldn't prevent me from buying this unit again. The budget minded enthusiast should be quite pleased with the RX-7000. If you do want warmer sound for music, or have no need of s-video switching and built in decoding you might consider a Yamaha or Onkyo.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 15, 2000]
Strength:

relatively inexpensive, nice feature list, svideo switching, dts

Weakness:

could use a few more inputs, clunky remote

All in all, it's pretty good. watched the whole Nine yards last nite and even on my meager pinnacle setup it sounded, very, very good. Most of the complaints of JVC reciever involve having to crank up the dial pretty high to get decent volume. while this is true, it's not terribly important...the reciever is still clean at the higher settings and can play more then loud enough.

I was somewhat surprised to find that this reciever had so few inputs...however it is a rather entry level reciever. It wouldn't be a problem if i didn't have to hook my computers into it as well.

I find the remote to be rather clunky. It's quite functional and easy to use...just large and ungainly.

Similar Products Used: JVC RX-707V
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Alan Yluob   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2000]
Strength:

On screen display. 3D-Phonic

Weakness:

Not enough power. Rear speakers not loud enough.

So far I am very happy with the 7000vbk. It was simple to setup and start using right away. Good price for a lot of features.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joel   Casual Listener [Jan 16, 2001]
Strength:

For a relatively low cost dolby digital and DTS receiver it is a good buy

Weakness:

Programming is a bit tricky for someone's first time in the digital world. Future Shop has no clue how any of their products work and that was tough when I had some set up problems

I think the quality control on these units are a bit lacking as my friend bought the same unit on the same day and had multiple problems including overload coming out on the display when he turned it on plus the "Audio Specialists" at future shop know more about anything but recievers.... But now that I have all set up but the DTS as I can't get that input to be read from my DVD player, sounds wonderful and is pleny of power into 6 speakers for a midsize room.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Russ   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 13, 2000]
Strength:

nice solid features, sound is relatively good for the price range

Weakness:

rear speakers are a little quiet, not quite powerful enough overall, EQ is a little limited

All in all this is VERY solid product. It does everything its supposed to. However I have a few complaints:

1) The rears are not loud enough -- I was expecting a little more vollume from the rears to give that true surround feel, But for 238$ its not bad.

2) In stereo mode I just can't seem to crank the vollume -- For all practical purposes its plenty loud -- but its nice to have that extra ear piercing vollume :), But for 238$ its not bad.

3) The EQ is a little limited as far as its range. Their is PLENTY of bass, But I can't seem to tweak the highs to my liking, But again, for 238$ its not bad.

As you can see you have to keep in mind that this is NOT $900 HK or ONKYO reciever. For what you pay its a great product and will work very well for the average home theater. If your on a budget you should definetely give this reciever a look.

I am running this reciever to POLK AUDIO RM6600 satelite speakers with an 8" POLK sub. I also have a PIONEER dv333 DVD player.

Similar Products Used: (briefly tried) sony stde545, 945, kenwood 407
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Russ   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 13, 2000]
Strength:

nice solid features, sound is relatively good for the price range

Weakness:

rear speakers are a little quiet, not quite powerful enough overall, EQ is a little limited

All in all this is VERY solid product. It does everything its supposed to. However I have a few complaints:

1) The rears are not loud enough -- I was expecting a little more vollume from the rears to give that true surround feel, But for 238$ its not bad.

2) In stereo mode I just can't seem to crank the vollume -- For all practical purposes its plenty loud -- but its nice to have that extra ear piercing vollume :), But for 238$ its not bad.

3) The EQ is a little limited as far as its range. Their is PLENTY of bass, But I can't seem to tweak the highs to my liking, But again, for 238$ its not bad.

As you can see you have to keep in mind that this is NOT $900 HK or ONKYO reciever. For what you pay its a great product and will work very well for the average home theater. If your on a budget you should definetely give this reciever a look.

I am running this reciever to POLK AUDIO RM6600 satelite speakers with an 8" POLK sub. I also have a PIONEER dv333 DVD player.

Similar Products Used: (briefly tried) sony stde545, 945, kenwood 407
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Printz   Casual Listener [Mar 08, 2001]
Strength:

Can't purchase anything better with the features the JVC offers, unless you won't to buy a TOPEND receiver.

Weakness:

Still looking for some
paid 26.95 to ship it

I just retired my Fisher seperate componets after 15 years of service and wanted not just a sound quility for the music but an audio receiver that will handle home theatre. The JVC 7000 has all the features that can accommodate future audio/video component technology that is still on the horizon.

Sony: MF515 floor speakers
JBL: 5 1/4 3-way center speaker
Both above have the base relex feature, but when used in conjunction with the 7000's base boost, your friends will be asking where's your subwoofer.

For 235.00 plus 26.95 S/H you can NOT do better

Similar Products Used: Sony STRDE-835, 945
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Neil   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2000]
Strength:

inputs/outputs, power, on-screen display, compulink, all the s-videos and optical ins, awesome features... name radio stations, different sound settings, dd/dts/prologic, plenty of bass!!!

Weakness:

It gets a little hot when listening to it... not a problem though if it is placed in a spot where the air can circulate.

I just got this yesterday and I am totally pleased!!! My friend got this receiver not too long ago and I was amazed by it! After getting DVD and a powered sub I really wanted to have a "real" receiver that could do DD 5.1. When at the store I was considering a Technics and the JVC RX888 (floor model, and it isn't made by JVC anymore... I didn't really want to take any chances!) What made me go with the 7000 is that I already knew how to work the 7000 and plus I want to get the JVC XU-301 (3 CD on one side and MD on the other) and I really want to have the convenience of Compulink (even though the 888 had it, too, I didn't want to take a box-less floor model). So I got this puppy home and hooked it up and it ROCKS! There is so much, rich, bass! Other people mentioned that the EQ. didn't have enough bands, but really you don't need more than 3... although on my old stereo I had 12. You can also increase the volume on each specific speaker which is awesome if you have a weird-shaped room like I do.
As of now my system includes:
~receiver: JVC RX7000
~DVD: Panasonic DVD-RV30
~TV: Emerson 27" MS2700RDC... It's old but it plays DVDs quite well, since it has S-Video
~Subwoofer: Cerwin Vega LW-10... highly recommended!!!
~Front speakers: JBL N26s
~Cables: High-end RadioShack... just as good as Monster, but a little cheaper, too! In fact they look just like Monster Cable, except they say "RadioShack."
Things I still need:
~Rear speakers: JBL N24s
~Center speaker: JBL N-Center
~CD/MD Player/Recorder: JVC XU301
If you find any good prices on those three things or have any question on any of the above, E-Mail me... it would be greatly appreciated!

Similar Products Used: Sony LBT-W5000.... it's technically a stereo but considered a "mini hi-fi" audio system.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Casual Listener [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Good features for price, compulink with JVC TV and DVD player

Weakness:

Blew up when I turned it on

Got home, turned it on.
In about 3 seconds display said "Overload".
Then as I scrambled to shut it off a small ZAP and some smoke.
Back to the store tommorow for a new one.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tom Rolland   Casual Listener [Jun 27, 2001]
Strength:

Features o' plenty for price
EQ makes customizing sound easy
Decent volume

Weakness:

Few EQ presets, but with a usermode who cares
Remote

I think this reciever blends features and price perfectly. I'm driving Polk Audio RT800's and obsene volume is no problem. This combination pumps out suprising bass.

My only gripe is the remote and this is why. I have a JVC jukebox and the remote for this reciever won't allow you to flip through the jukebox easily. I find myself always having to have the remote for my CD player and reciever in my hands at the same time.

Maybe the remote complaint should be on teh jukebox's review, maybe they should have simply put a volume control on that remote?

ALL IN ALL--I'm pleased and would recomend it to anyone, and have.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com