Denon AVR-1802 A/V Receivers

AVR-1802

Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS A/V Receiver

User Reviews (67)

Showing 1-10 of 67  
Anita Freeman   AudioPhile [Aug 30, 2010]

I brought the denon AVR1802 in the year 2002. Great Amp! still kicks...I just replaced my bose 201's with Kplish R-52 for front and center. Working on getting surrond sound R52's as well. Powered by a 12 Velodyne subwoofer. My receiver still rocks!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BobAruba   AudioPhile [Oct 23, 2007]
Strength:

Quality engineered amplifier section processes great sound ~ Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS decoding. Solid performance in all areas.

Weakness:

Remote control is adequate but could have been a little larger with larger buttons ~ no biggie. The AVR-1802 is a winner to me on all counts.

I wanted to build a good sounding inexpensive 5.1 surround system. The positive reviews of the AVR-1802 when first introduced in early 2002 (back then MSRP was $1600 USD) led me to attempt to acquire a used unit in decent shape. Low and behold ~ my audio intensive friend desiring to upgrade to a 7.1 surround system was happy to sell me his AVR-1802 at the incredible price (to me) of only $100 (USD)! The processed sound from the AVR-1802 compares favorably to the dual Carver M500t amps and Harman Kardon Citation 25 pre-amp setup I had. Denon’s known quality of build with their amplifiers together with my friend’s careful care and handling of his stereo components made me one happy guy. It will be the commanding centerpiece in my 5.1 surround system and it doesn’t get much better than that!

Similar Products Used: Carver M500t (2)
Harman Kardon Citation 25 pre-amp
Carver TX11

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Smith   AudioPhile [May 23, 2003]
Strength:

SOUND!!!! DPL2 build easy setup

Weakness:

stupid remote

Ever since the first day I had the receiver, Ive been absolutely in love with it. Compared with a Marantz, Yamaha, Harman/Kardon, and Onkyo, the Denon left them in the dust for price, sound quality, features such as ProLogic 2(a huge strength), versatiliy, and overall build quality. It sounds better every time I listen to it. It drives my Paradigm Monitor3's with no trouble, even at high levels, and has great sound in a hometheater set-up. Very recommended!

Similar Products Used: Marantz Yamaha Onkyo Harman/Kardon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
drlazybones   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2003]
Strength:

Design. Straight-forward setup. Simple but adequate feature set. Amazing, open and slightly warm sound quality. High-current amplifier section sounds like more than the 80 WPC RMS rating.

Weakness:

I agree, the remote sucks.

I listened to Onkyo, Yamaha, Sony, Pioneer, Denon and others before deciding on the Denon. Its sound was just better than the others, probably comparable to the Onkyo. This unit sounds better than a $1000 Sony receiver, though the processing may not be as slick.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Russ Howell   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

More power and purer sound than any I listened to. For the Price point and TCO this unit can't be beat.

Weakness:

Minor but remote doesn't operate 2 year old DVD Player.

That 670 Canadian Dollars Or 12 US. After reading many reviews and searching the internet for price comparison's I found the unit @ a retailer near me. I am totally pleased. The unit was going head to head against a Yamaha RX 1200. After looking and listening it was very appearent the Denon was easily the winner. I've got in surround by Energy C5, c-c1 and c-r1's and to top it off the xl s-12 sub. I think I've gone to heaven. Or it sounds like heaven.

Similar Products Used: Sony 770 (1993 era)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jackinabox   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2002]
Strength:

As many others have said, Dolby Digital, DTS and Dolby Pro Logic II. Pro Logic II truely comes into it's own when playing CDs, u have to hear it to believe it

Weakness:

My only disappointment is the lack of sound i'm getting from my Mirage sattellite speaker pack. I think however that is a function of smaller speakers rather than a gutless receiver. Will know more when i can afford bigger speakers.

I have owned the 1802 since late January 2002 (an early b'day present for myself when my old JVC amp decided to pack it in). After reading several magazine and online reviews (thanks to all those that post on here), i decided the 1802 suited my needs. I wasn't to be disappointed, this is one nifty lil unit! I have it in my very small scale home theatre set-up in my room (about 9sq m or 100 sq feet) and therefore only have sattellite speakers running with it so as not to blow the walls out with sound. A 100W, 8" active subwoofer really makes the earth shake for DVDs thanks to more than enough power from the receiver. Sure it looks very plain but what do u want in a receiver, fancy dials, lights and whistles or a great, crisp sound? Now if i could just afford a set of JBL floorstanders i could get an idea of the receiver's full potential. Just a note on the price for those suffering a heart attack, it is in Australian Dollars (we get hammered with a lot of freighting, taxes and import charges).

Similar Products Used: JVC, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Lee   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

dts, dolby II, sturdy construction, clean power, pretty functional remote (see weakness)

Weakness:

weird remote layout, speaker caps are too tight, only one digital out

good power. clean sound. great processing of 5.1. dolby II is a neat feature. stereo is loud and clear. radio receiver is a little weak but could be due to poor reception in the area.

Similar Products Used: marantz, sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
lt   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2002]
Strength:

sound solid construction

Weakness:

remote manual

I have had this reciever for just on a year and initlally had mixed feelings about it. Aesthetically it is not the best looking amplifier on the market, however it has a functional layout and is a very solid unit. I auditioned some of it's competitors (Sony QS, Yamaha, HK) and believe it is generally a higher quality unit. Where it counts the Denon wins, I predominately listen to music and as far as recievers go in this price range the sound quality is clear and strong. it has quality binding posts which can accomodate bi-wiring, all the inputs and outputs that the average person would require and can run for ours being pushed hard without getting flustered and clipping like so many other recievers that i have seen. Unless you make quite a large jump in dollars this reciever is as good as it gets

Similar Products Used: Sony, Yamaha, HK, Kenwood,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
illustratedman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

Power and build quality

Weakness:

As usual, the remote. No big deal, since I plan to replace my all of my remotes with a universal LCD.

I have been very impressed with this receiver. By far the best I could have bought for the price. I am running it with JBL ND-310's front l/r, AIWA center, and ACOUSTIC RESEARCH surrounds ( I will be replacing the center and surround speakers very soon with JBL STUDIO Series). The sound and build quality are phenominal. This thing is built like a tank. I am also very impressed by the input/output layout( though one more digital coaxial wouldn't hurt)...and the remote...well.. it's small and the button layout feels a little clumsy. I can live with it. THIS THING HAS POWER FOR 80w PER CHANNEL! DENON's rating standards are very strict and I dare say this receiver could out-perform any receiver in it's price range (not including the 1803 upgrade). AN EXTREMELY SOUND INVESTMENT! I will post again when I replace the speakers and hook up a powered sub

Similar Products Used: KENWOOD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bimsie_01   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

Straight forward controls make home theater set up fairly painless.Wonderful sound quality.

Weakness:

The owners manual-confusing for us neophytes.

THIS REVIEW IS OF THE DENON 1803. I bought this reciever to go with the Wharfedale Emerald 97s(front)Wharfedale Diamond 7.2(rear)and Wharfedale Valdus (center) Speakers i bought online.The reciever is rated at 80 watts per channel,and for my living room,its enough power to alienate my wife and potentially get visits from the local police.The setup was fairly straight forward,even if the manual confused me,just playing with the remote got me where i needed to go in no time.The back had enough input jacks to accomodate any expansion I wanted to do of my system in the future.The digital optical input for my dvd is a great touch,and makes a marked improvement on the sound.I guess Denon listened to all the complaints thrown at the 1802 remote,because the 1803 remote is pretty easy to use,considering the myriad functions it controls.The quality of the sound in my mind,rivals the sound of my old yamaha C-60,M-60 seperates of years gone by in reproducing Stereo,and the HT functions are just mind blowing,to these ears for a reciever of such modest price.All i need now is a subwoofer to bring it all together,but thats another story...

Similar Products Used: pioneer 881.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 67  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com