Carver Audio C 1000A Dolby Digital DTS Receiver A/V Receivers

C 1000A Dolby Digital DTS Receiver

- Sonic Holography enhances spatial positioning in the stereo mode.
- DSP ""simulated"" surround modes: Theater, Stadium, Hall and Church.
- Five internal power amplifiers, with high current/high voltage design.
- One set of Video record outputs, with audio, S-Video and composite video.
- Phono input for turntables equipped with MM cartridges.
- Pre-Out/Main-in loop for front left and right channels.
- 5.1 channel DB25 input.
- 5.1 channel DB25 output.
- Heavy duty speaker binding posts.
- IEC detachable linecord.
- Treble and Bass tone controls.
- Balance control.
- Rear, center and subwoofer level adjustments from front panel.
- Speaker size adjustable with bass management.
- Front panel display shows all operating levels, settings and adjustments.
- TV on-screen display with multi-level menus.
- FM noise reduction circuitry.
- Direct Station frequency entry.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Don williamson   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 11, 2015]

I just bought a Carver C 1000 surround sound amplifier for $200 off to Kijiji I've always wanted a Carver amp I hooked It up to my Cerwin Vega v
12 and I am blown away at the clarity I'm looking forward to getting some preamps

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dick Billows   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2003]
Strength:

The power is fantastic. I have pushed it to 75 on the volume control once or twice with impressive results but my Mirage OM-7's/3's/2 are a little soft for the serious horse power this amp can produce. At low volume the sound quality is surpising clear. Also a great system to listem to while reading. It makes you put down the book to listen to all the sounds. Sweat.

Weakness:

Right out of the box the left rear channel sound level was very low. Off to the repair shop for a tune up. Worked great for a few months now I am experiencing sound level problems across the front channels. I will send it out after X-mas (along with my Sony CD player!). Tone controls are a little thin so I will watch for an equalizer in the future.

Worked 20 years to own a good system, I finally made it...or so I thought. I asked the Visions Sales Manager to see an excellent (I mean powerful) steeo amplifier that can also handle 5.1 (for movies). The sales Manager showed me the C-1000 and I was hooked. The price was high so I waited for more dust to collect and months later I made my offer of $1000 Can, we settled on $1200 Can. (about $850 US). I am very pleased with the power and clarity but I am experiencing far too many serious technical problems. If I did not have any technical problems I would rate this amplifier with 5 huge stars across the board.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Harmon Kardon, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Ryan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 31, 2002]
Strength:

POWER/CLARITY/POWER/SONIC HOLOGRAPHY/POWER/FEATURES/POWER/FUNCTIONS/POWER/QUALITY/POWER/APPEARANCE

Weakness:

REAL FUNNY! GOOD LUCK FINDING A WEAKNESS! IF IT COOKED AND CLEAN I WOULDN'T NEED A WIFE!

WOW WOW WOW This thing rocks the house. I've had the entire latest top of the line McIntosh system which was a dream come true at the time (over 20K invested) but I had to get rid of it due to financial reasons. I reseached all my possible options on obtaining something for as cheap as possible that had the same quality and was overwhelming like my McIntosh system. After hundreds of dollars in research through audiophile magazines and travelling to high end home theater studios/stores I found the ultimate answer, the Carver 1000. I was considering the Denon 4802 at the time but was unble to locate one for the 1200.00 I had available to spend on eBay. It must've been fate because I found this Carver 1000 instead and it is mind boggling the way it pushes my loud speakers with such POWER and CLARITY. I've yet to find a person who listens to AC/DC (or anything else) in my house who doesn't feel like they were just standing in front of the stage at the concert. Or when I put on the fast and the furious movie and they tell me that they felt like they were actually in the movie racing and shifting gears as my house walls shook and the couch rumbled and the suround effects made them turn their head to see how close the person racing was next to them. I have had many offers on it but the only way I'll ever get rid of my Carver 1000 is when they pry it from my cold dead fingers. Thanks to Carver for providing an incredible stereo/home theater solution that is amazing. Thanks to the guy on eBay who had to sacrifice this receiver! To all those that have this receive you know what I'm talking about if you have a nice quality set of speakers that can handle the watts. To all of those who don't have this receiver or the speakers to handle the watts, well I'm sorry to hear that. That's my review, and I'm glad to let people know that you dont have to have a fortune to have an amazing home theater or stereo system, you just have to find yourself a Carver 1000. As for the guy who said there weren't enough macro options, you must not have had a manual with yours because I'd have to spend 100K in order to have enough equipment to fulfill al the programmable functions available on this great remote.

Similar Products Used: McIntosh, Denon, Yamaha, Nakamichi, Marantz, Rotel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bret   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2002]
Strength:

Price, remote, easy setup and configuration.

Weakness:

Dynamic range is not as broad as higher end units. Depending on the quality/type of speakers you have this may or may not be noticable. I've also managed to hit the thermal cut-off for the 2 rear channels once.

My speakers are Carver Cinema Series 5.1. They are very power hungry 4ohm speakers. I was powering them with a Marantz SR18-EX and everything was flawless. I listened to a lot of two channel stereo for the first time in years. I swapped out the 18-EX with C1000A for a cost savings. For the price I paid I am 95% satisfied with the C1000A. If you are planning on mostly home theater use DD/DTS DVDs you'll be very impressed. The C1000A does almost as good as the Marantz did on the HT applications. A few movies with some subtle background noise I noticed better spacing and more clarity from the Marantz. One thing specifically is as Commodus steps out of the enclosed carriage just after the first battle faint sound of horse galloping is much more clear and rides up to the screen much better with the Marantz. For two channel stereo I don't even listen anymore. If I didn't have the Marantz in first I'd probably think this sounds great. Friends I invite over are very impressed by sound quality of the system. The remote that comes with it is very nice. While it may not have 1000 buttons and extensive macroing features it is very light weight and quick to program. Its easy enough to swap between all the devices that my wife has no troubles using it. Overall for $1000 this unit knocks the socks off the Sony/Denon/Yahama that you can pick up at Good Guys/Etc. With 8ohm speakers this unit may sound as good as the Marantz though I spoke to the people at Carver and they insured me I'd have no trouble driving the 5.1s with the C1000A.

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR18-EX, Yahama RX-V1
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Doug   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2002]
Strength:

many and various!!!!

Weakness:

none yet.

This is a great reciever for lots of reasons. Easy to set up, the manual is very simple and detailed, the on screen menu''s are real easy to go through, lots of power for everything you need, excellent clarity in the music and video, and finally it is a sharp looking unit.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hillhog   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

Power, looks, light weight, and built like a battleship.

Weakness:

No component video in, but does have the DB-25 RCA in and out for component hookups. This amp is also harder to find every day that passes.

I just sold one of the best home theater amp ever made, the Carver AV-705, and my Carver CT-27V preamp and Technics Dolby Digital/DTS Processor to get this new Carver receiver. I''m so happy with this beauty, it is so powerful and so clean, a typical home run by Carver. Everything is now hooked up, and with a lot less hassle and cables. 200 monster watts minimum into 8 ohms, and I haven''t even made it break a sweat yet.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Carver, Technics, Concord.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
audiophreak   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

Smooth and powerful. On-screen menus.

Weakness:

Ergonomics: Read the manual as you go. There are so many settings to configure. The on-screen layout helps you along.

This Carver masterpiece replaces my Acurus seperates. I was sceptical that this receiver could crank out as much as my 200W X 5 Acurus. Bob carver proved me wrong. The C1000, if it does not have true 200W out of 5 channels, sure sounds like it does. Very dynamic. I never experienced the distortion that the earlier reviewer mentioned. I got nothing but beautiful Carver harmony. DSP modes are minimal, but that''s a plus. I prefer straight 2-channel or 5-channel as the mix engineers intended. Dolby Digital is very intense. DTS is even better. Stereo playback produces incredible imaging. There''s plenty of wattage in two channels to generate accurate, but powerful bass. The look and feel of the metal is very nice. Seems like a real sturdy contender. Binding posts are properly spread out. DB-25 cables to connect external 5.1 sources are not hard to find. Remote is the standard Home Theater Master type. Since it is a learning variety, you should find it flexible enough. Does not run too warm compared to other receivers. BTW. Speakers are Bohlender Graebener

Similar Products Used: Acurus, Denon, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rtmock   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

Good Looks More than enough power for this price range. Clean, accurate sound

Weakness:

Not enough tonal control to suit me. (An onscreen 5 way graphic equalizer would be pretty cool.) Db25 cabling should have come with the amp.

Ok, I stole this amp from Ubid for a price of $909 plus freight. It showed up promptly 3 days later.No problems with the shipping. First thing I noticed was that it was considerably lighter in weight than the Pioneer SX-1280 that it was replacing. I was a little suspicious about the claimed power rating since I am a product of the 1970''s power wars ie; there is no substitute for cubic inches. After looking a the rear hookups on the the amp I did the unmanlly thing and decided that I better read the manual and go from there. Glad I did as there are more buttons and switches than Carter has little pills. It is currently hooked to 2 JBL S-312''s fronts, 2 JBL S-312 rears and A JBL S Center Channel. Fired it up and eased the throttle up to about midway and started grinning ear to ear. Geez this thing sounds good.Broke in all components together for about 6 hours then threw the acid test at it. The opening scene from Top Gun. The only thing that kept me from thinking that I was on the deck of the Carrier was the smell of Jet A fuel. I could swear I felt my hair blow back when they shot the first F-14 off the deck. So nuch for the cubic inch theory. Any way back to the amp. It is clean and deathly quiet. No unwanted distortion at any level up to redline. More than enough hookups to break most midrange audiophiles budget trying to hookup all the the amp is capable of handling. All RCA hookups are Gold plated, the binding posts for the speaker wiring are first class with more than ample room for the heaviest gauge speaker wiring. There are 5 outlets for digital input to the amp with 1 Db25 input and Db25 output into the amp for for component Video. The amp does a wonderful job when in the Home Theatre mode. One thing that needs to noted, when plaing DVD''s your DVD player needs to have an optical digtal output to hookup to the digital optical input of the Carver if you want to be able to play DTS playback for home theatre. Quite frankly the result is astounding. The move "Pearl Harbor" in the DTS playback will really make you hit the deck when a plane flys over your head and off into the distance. If you are considering purchasing a C1000 you wil never regret your decision.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Marantz, Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lrmjr   AudioPhile [Feb 21, 2002]
Strength:

Warm, musical, accurate, and powerful. I agree with Erik in a previous review, the DPL is one of the best. I have an extensive movie collecion in both videotape and DVD. The C1000A reveals more detail than any other receiver I ahve heard/seen/used in DPL

Weakness:

No component, no DPL II. WOuld also like to see upgradeable firmware for DTS-ES, DD-Matrix, etc.

Bob has regained control of Carver, and that is very good for all who want to experience an excellent audiophile receiver. Currently, Sunfire does not have a dealer network for Carver and this unit can be obtained at a substantial price below the MSRP.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Kenwood, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ferdinandrich   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2002]
Strength:

Looks beautiful. Easy to hook-up. Carver design.

Weakness:

No switched AC output.

Out of the box this baby is beefy! The C1000A is replacing/consolidating my Carver 900 receiver, Carver DPL-20 DPL decoder, and Carver AV-405 5-ch amp. I am driving a pair of new ACI Emerald Plus''s in the front, ACI AV1 center, ACI Encore''s rear, and a NHT SW 2 sub. I must admit this unit initially blew me away until I noticed an annoying right channel distortion that didn''t seem to go away with rewiring and/or repositioning. So I sent it back to Carver/Sunfire and they sent it back with the dreaded "NTF - tests okay" and a suggestion to check cables and peripheral equipment. I followed the suggestions but guess what... the problem still exists! I o''scoped it injecting a 1KHz test tone and observed distortion out of the right channel. I''ll repost a more complete review after I send this back and they really fix it this time! Assuming I''ll get the unit back working beautifully distortion-free, I would recommend this unit to folks who have sources with digital outputs to maximize audio fidelity. This unit is also great for consolidating miscellaneous Carver stereo and home theatre components without breaking the bank. What can I say, I am a Carver junkie!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com