Sony RM-AV2000 Remote Controls

RM-AV2000

Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) touchpad with backlight controls up to 12 components; has macro capability

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
cpdeland   AudioPhile [Aug 05, 2009]

2008 and still holding strong. i bought this from a thrift store for $2.99... easiest setup ive ever been through... the manuals a bit misleading, but if you just focus on the codes its a breeze. teaching the remote is a bit time consuming in the circumstance that the remote doesnt have a code for your device... but it will control anything as long as you have the original remote or a universal. ive got it programmed for my zune! fantastic design... ive seen the new ones and they dont look as good, but it does look like theyve made some advances.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan Nguyen   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Works ok if all you own are sony equipment

Weakness:

Bulky, not very flexible, poor list of codes

I've got the Sony and the Marantz. Get the Sony if you own all Sony equipment otherwise you are spending alot of money for a marginal universal remote. Programming is not very flexible, no where near the number of inputs my Marantz has but then the price was about half. If you own lots of equipment and want to control them all, get the Marantz.
Heck, even with my Sony STR-DB830 receiver, the Sony rm-av2000 was pretty weak in what it would control. You can't control center channel or surround levels, switch between surround modes.
Anyone want to buy this thing can contact me. 100.00 and its yours

Similar Products Used: Marantz RC-2000
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Brian B   Audiophile [Apr 08, 2000]
Strength:

Touch Screen,LCD Blue Backlit, Learning Remote

Weakness:

Can't name functions

This is a nice remote in the $100-175 price range. It looks really cool to begin, and while it is large, it is a hell of a lot better than 6 remotes. It controls all of my components easily. I had to program some of the functions from my reciever remote into it, and it worked great. I just used the numbers to control them. If you can get this remote for about $125 I recommend it highly.

Similar Products Used: Cinema 7 one-for-all
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2000]
Strength:

Nice look

Weakness:

Poor Quality

I really liked this RM to start. However, after a month of use the thing went completely hay-wire. Pressing the DVD button, for example, resulted in no screen coming up. However, the other buttons worked fine. Custumized the unit very little since it worked fine out of the box with all of my Sony equipment.

Called Sony, they replaced it. The new one is now demonstrating the same behavior intermittently. Piece of crap. Don't waste the money.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Sean Lee   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 18, 1999]
Strength:

Inexpensive, looks nice

Weakness:

Too big, difficult to use with one-hand, can't rename buttons

While I liked it at first, I have since found it too big, and inflexible. Also difficult to remember where you stored commands for special keys not supplied on the Sony. I've moved to the Hometheatre SL-9000, which doesn't solve all the problems but fits in hand better, smaller to store, and has label stickers for those special commands.

Similar Products Used: Hometheatre SL-9000, other cheaper ones
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 13, 1999]
Strength:

It does everything you could ask from a universal remote.

Weakness:

Battery life is limited if you use it with the screen on full brightness.

This remote does it all! For the first time, I am able to put away all six of my other remotes. The controls are easy to use and understand. Programming was easy- every component I had was already pre-programmed. Setting it up was just a matter of punching in the appropriate code. The macros are great!

Similar Products Used: several of the "All-in-One" units.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
pat callahan   Casual Listener [Sep 28, 2000]
Strength:

works with Mitsubishi TV

Weakness:

Doesn't have a code for operating my Sony TA-E9000ES preamp

The product I have is the RM-AV2100. Has anyone tried to use either the RM-AV2000 or RM-AV2100 with a sony preamp TA-E9000ES? I went through the codes as outlined in the manual and did not find one that would even turn on the amp. For the money paid you would think it would at least have the codes for the sony equipment. What did surprise me is that it has the code for my Mitsubishi TV and all the functions I on the remote supplied with the TV are in the AV2100.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Doug Zbikowski   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2000]
Strength:

Was able to control anything I threw at it.

Weakness:

Display is a bit dim at certain angles, but the backlight takes care of that. Can't rename buttons.

I've had this unit for 3 months now (got it for $109), and I have to say it's awesome! I have no Sony components (Philips 36'' TV, Toshiba DVD, Panasonic receiver, Sharp VCR) and it fully controls everything (well...except for the receiver. It has a funky GUI interface that I didn't expect it to be able to deal with. It does switch devices and control volume though). The learning function works flawlessly, and it even learned my proprietary Tocom cable remote (no other universal remote has been able to do this in the past). It takes six batteries, but let me tell you---I use this thing heavily every day (with the backlight set to 10 seconds), and I haven't had to replace the batteries since I got it (3 months ago). The display is a bit dim at certain angles (as most LCDs are), but the bright backlight takes care of that. For the guy whinning that it won't turn off all his devices----just make a macro to turn them all on/off! I did and it works great! Macros can hold up to 12 steps. A nice example is the macro I have set up to go to my DVD- It switches the receiver to LD mode, turns on Bass Enhancement on the receiver, turns the TV to SVHS input, turns on the DVD, and plays the movie. All with one button! DEFINATELY a show off gadget for the neighbors :)

Similar Products Used: Many Many Many other Universal remotes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Spagnoli   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 22, 2000]
Strength:

Can impersonate any remote, easy to set up and teach, manual is great, looks cool.

Weakness:

Like everybody says, can't rename the lcd panels, macros fire slowly.

This remote is awesome, a great compromise if you don't want to shell out for the Pronto, and a great remote if you don't have a lot of customization to do. I have mine set up to control all my HT equipment and X10 lighting. I use a variety of manufacturers and haven't had any problems customizing.

The Sony AV2100 is supposed to give us more choices for each panel and increase the macro speed.

The gear:

B&K Reference 20 PrePro
Sherbourn 51500 200x5 Amp
Klipsch Reference all the way around
Energy exl:s12 subwoofer
Toshiba SD2200 DVD
Bellogotti rack
Sony KP43T proj tv
Sony ES535 5 Disc CD changer
Alesis MEQ 230 eq
Sony RM-AV2000 Remote

peace

Similar Products Used: 8-1 remotes, home Theater 'master'.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryan Rayda   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2000]
Strength:

Controls a great deal of gear. Looks really cool. User-friendly operation. Great IR transmission strength. Extremely reasonable price.

Weakness:

Quite large (and I have big hands). Hard-to-read LCD screen. CANT LABEL TOUCH-SCREEN BUTTONS.

I'm not quite sure what to think of this remote. It controls everything I have, looks really cool, and is easy to use; but I still don't like it.

I think the major problem with it is the fact that the labels for the buttons on the touchscreen are not customizable. I find myself watching a DVD and finding out that I do not have the slow advance button available on my remote. So I get up and grab the original remote to be able to do it. Sure, I could program the Sony to perform this function but there are no slow-mo buttons available on the remote so I have to remember which unrelated button I put it on. This is just a pain, you would think that they would at least make such a button available as it is normal fare on both a DVD player and a VCR. But instead I have to remember that I have programmed the "subtitle" and "angle" buttons to perform this operation. Not only do I now lose the ability to use my subtitle and angle buttons but I never remember what they do.

The other gripe I have is thet the LCD screen is not very legible. I find myself using the backlight whenever I use the remote, not just at night in low light. This is a problem because the thing just loves to eat batteries. The upside of this is that it actually has separate batteries for the remote and the backlight so if the backlight poops out, you don't lose all of your programmed codes. I just use normal alkaline cells in the remote batteries and a set of rechargeable alkalines in the backlight slots (I have to recharge them after about a month of moderate use).

In conclusion, this remote is a very noble idea but just doesn't run out quite right in its execution. I think that if they added some more common commands to the button list, and made it so you could use ANY available button for ANY component (as it stands there is a standard list for each class of component), this remote would be amazing. It has a great transmission distance, a solid functionality, a mercifully low price, and such a great look to it that it can't help but be a good remote. Unfortunately, with its few quirks, it just isn't a great remote. But hey, for a $125 touchscreen remote, how much more can you expect.

Similar Products Used: Marantz RC2000mk2, old Yamaha receiver remote.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com