Sony KV35V68 Standard Televisions

KV35V68

35" SONY TRINITRON TELEVISION

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
David   Casual Listener [Jan 31, 2002]
Strength:

Crisp picture, Guide Plus, good sound from built in speakers

Weakness:

No component inputs

The price above includes the Sony TV stand.
An outstanding television. I have just installed a home theater package (new A/V receiver, DVD player, and the full compliment of speakers)around this TV and am not disappointed. The overall quality of this television is great.
Now, two small gripes. One, there are no component inputs. I could have used this feature with the A/V receiver and DVD player. Two, the ink on the remote control buttons wore off in one year.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 27"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian Sherfield   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2000]
Strength:

Guide Plus is included on this model and is a wonderful programing utility. The picture is excellent, sound is good, but does crave a strong receiver to do the picture justice.

Weakness:

None as of yet.

This is a very solid choice of television for great picture, sharpness, value, and quality. I have and will continue to recommend it to anyone. I got mine from an ABC warehouse in the Detroit area for 1149.00 out the door in May of 99. A+++

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Meduna   Casual Listener [Jan 07, 2001]
Strength:

Outstanding picture; Guide Plus (electronic program guide)convenience.

Weakness:

Weight (200 pounder); T.V. to cable box channel switch delay.

Purchased our model at a Circuit City in Omaha, NE. as an "open box" or floor model in November 2000. It was on sale for $899. Discounts on a 3 year extended warranty and matching T.V. stand resulted in the final price on our Sony at $769.

Thanks to researching and information provided on the internet, I discovered the Sony KV-35V68 was one of the very few, higher quality T.V. sets featuring the Guide Plus.

The Guide Plus should be inside all television makes and models. The ability to highlight programs listed, access complete information, and one-touch recording is like a dream come true. You will never look at the cable company's program guide channel again. (If you purchase, make very certain where infra-red sensor eyes are on cable box and VCR to assure a successful Guide Plus set up. Otherwise, an error message will constantly appear.)

Some people may not like the 2 second channel switch delay when changing channels. However, I found you can use your universal remote, press the 'DSS/Cable' control button so the cable box dominates the channel changing process. Nevertheless, eventually press the 'TV' control button on the remote to reengage. The Guide Plus feature will be intact when you want to view program grid and/or choose to use the recording system.

When viewing a video on our Panasonic PV-VS4820 VCR with the S-video cable, the picture image rivaled D.V.D.
Picture quality exceeded all expectations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Max L.   a Casual Listener [Sep 27, 1999]

I just purchaced this Television Last week, and have been very impressed. I had looked at several models (Proscan, JVC, Toshiba, Panasonic,) but could not find a better overall value. I picked this unit up for $1329.00 at soundtrack on sale. The biggest selling point to me was the picture quality. In viewing this unit with other comparable models, I just saw much more detail (especially in slight color variations) both on broadcast Television and DVD. I can't wait to use Video Essentials to "set" the TV. Setup on the TV was extremely easy, and the menu system has to be one of the best available. The only gripe that I might have is that it lacks a component video input. Overall, I have been very happy with the Television. It makes a great centerpiece to any hometheater system, and I would recommend it to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Dredal   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2000]
Strength:

Picture quality, price

Weakness:

No component inputs, weight

I am quite happy with the picture provided from this T.V. It has been a reliable work horse from viewing everything from DVD's - Beta tapes. It is used mostly for watching Digital cable and is usually left on for at least 5 hours a day, every day. I have about 3000 hours on this set and it still functions like new.

The two tuner pip is useful as well as the video lables (I would have like to have the advantage of re-naming the presets). Although it does not have component input, the S-Video (2) inputs suffice for my DVD's (sony 550D).

It is used in the basement for the entertainment centre.

I would, and have recommended this unit to a friend.

I have always believed that a tube delivers a better picture that a projection T.V., and is there a better tube than the trinitron? I don't think so.

Similar Products Used: replaces 30" Panasonic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve s.   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2000]
Strength:

picture quality, in my case price

Weakness:

weight (about 200 lbs.)

Love the picture on this tv. I used the Video Essentials dvd to adjust colors and so forth to obtain the best possible picture. The only other set that I've seen which has a better picture (other than HDTV) is the Sony Wega. But cost was prohibitive. I picked up this unit through a Sony outlet store for $740. It sells locally for $1399. Couldn't pass this one up. The remote/menu are easy to use. The only gripe is that there is no component video. But considering the cost, I'll take it. Great tv and recommend it highly.

Similar Products Used: Replaced a Hitachi 27 inch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Casual Listener [Jul 07, 2000]
Strength:

Picture quality, sound, built-in Guide+

Weakness:

Annoying 1/4" blue streak on some channels, slow channel change speed

After comparing the cost/value of this unit to the WEGA's, and after considering all the problems I read people having with the WEGA's, I decided to go with tried-and-true Trinitron quality. And, I am very happy I did. This is a very nice unit, better than the comparable JVC and Panasonic units in my head-to-head assesments.

One minor annoyance: on some of the higher stations (say, above channel 45), there sometimes appears to be a 1/4" blue streak on the right side of the picture (all the way over). Depending on what kind of show is on, the background, etc, the streak is not very noticable. But I figure, for this price ($1100), you should get perfection.

Also, changing channels is slow, taking a full second to flip between them.

I love the on-screen channel guide, it makes taping shows very simple.

The sound is very good (for built-in TV speakers) and I like the easily accessible inputs in the front for my son's Nintendo 64 game.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 06, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture, great price, and reliable.

Weakness:

Weight

The Sony KV35V68 is a great television for the price we paid for it. The picture quality is great when you use a VCR and DVD player with S-video. The KV35V68's picture tube using S-video is better than other brands' picture using componet video. The sound is good, but it doesn't matter if your using your surround sound system.

The Sony Wega televisions may have a slightly better picture. But after talking to sales people at a few stores, I found that they had to have a technian adjust the Wega picture tube after they were delivered. The Wega has a flat screen, but the trinitron tube is already flat on two sides and less expensive. So I decided to purchase the old reliable trinitron color TV.



Similar Products Used: 27" Sony TV and 27" Mitsubishi TV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com