Sony KV-40XBR700 Standard Televisions

Sony KV-40XBR700 Standard Televisions 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Apr 06, 2018]
wayne_kenoff


Strength:

Perfect Clarity. Neat surround sound.

Weakness:

Little bit heavy.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2011]
Dean
Audio Enthusiast

One of two sony XBR's I own 36 and 40 inch. Awesome TV. Picture is outstanding. Expensive TV but much better than RPTV's. Looks better than some LCD's and Plasma's my friends have. I have has it since 2002 and haven't had one problem with it and use it for DVD's, cable and PS3. works great with 480, 720 and 1080 inputs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2010]
Arugula2
Audio Enthusiast

By all means this is Sony XBR top of the line TV and it does perform as it should. Absolutely this is one of the best TV and I've been enjoying watching the vivid images and beautiful color this TV projects. The design is very stylish as many Sony TVs, audio sound quality is excellent and have no problem what so ever. Even though it is a large TV, because of the slim and sleek design, it doesn't look big at all and this is top quality TV!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2003]
Shabbir
Casual Listener

KV40XBR700: This model of TV stopped working in less than 2 years. One fine it just went blank- no sound and no display. Sony has documented this problem on their site. I followed that and no use. I have called for service personals to repair this TV. It's sad that such as an expensive TV from sony would break down so early. Not sure how much it's going to cost me to repair.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 30, 2003]
raopr
AudioPhile

Strength:

Picture is just awesome or rather un-believable when the picture(movie) is in daylight or basically lighting.

Weakness:

I guess any TV would do much better than this when the movie is in like dark scenes.(especially horror movies)

I had read the reviews and I thought this must be THE TV i have to have. After i bought it i am dissapointed. The picture quality is ok. Hey, not the best as people say. Video is best only when the picture is daylight shot, you know. If the picture is in dark like most horror movies or so, the quality just sucks. I do not understand why people rate this to be the best. If i had an option, i would have returned it. I am also having some problems now, some of the cable channels are coming in B&W. It shows in color for sometime and then suddenly it turns into B&W picture. And also i think the speakers in the TV are not properly shielded, on a white picture(screen), you can see the magnetic fields(bluish, greenish) blocks of color to the left and right side of the screen. I do not have external speakers to cause this interference.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 19, 2002]
Matt Levy
AudioPhile

Strength:

Amazing picture quality. Progressive Scanning. 3:2 pulldown. Virtual 16x9 in a 4x3 set. HDTV capable. Flat screen. Split-Screen for two different channels (better than basic PIP).

Weakness:

None, unless you consider 350 pounds a weakness.

This review is for the brand new KV40-XBR800, for the the product year 2002. I got this with the Sony stand (you need it), delivery, and tax for less than $3,000.00. I was not disappointed one bit - this TV is amazing and is the largest direct view tube TV available. The looks are sleek and impressive. The picture is second to none, especially on DVD's (I have a progressive scan Toshiba feeding it and it looks totally ridiculous) and Digital Cable. I haven't even got the HDTV decoder yet. The TV accepts 480i, 480p, 720p (converted to 1080i), and 1080i. It makes crappy sources like regular cable TV look much better. There are 4 different viewing modes (Vivid, Standard, Movie and Pro) and color temperature adjustment. As well as progressive scanning, it has DRC 3:2 pulldown to lessen artifacts. I never have been a fan of rear projection TV's because of burn-in danger, having to stretch 4x3 sources into 16x9 (the TV characters look like a fun house mirror), having to make the room dark for a better picture, etc. Why bother? This TV is plenty big and shows 16x9 pictures in its 4x3 screen without cutting off anything. It has memory stick capability, 2 wideband component video ins, composite video (front and back), a DVI-HDTV input (for future proofing), S-Video inputs (front and back), SRS virtual 3D surround sound, a device that keeps the volume the same between programs and commercials, and much much more. Needless to say, you get Sony Trinitron XBR quality. You might say the price is steep, but as we all know, you get what you pay for. I waited a long time to upgrade from my cheap JVC 27 inch (with only composite inputs) - and it was worth the wait. Pinch me I must be dreaming - and don't move me from the couch.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 28, 2002]
John
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Picture quality, inputs, looks.

Weakness:

Haven't found any problems witht he TV. The price was a little high, but it is the best direct view TV on this planet.

The best direct view TV. I prefer the quality of the direct view image over RPTV. The size is perfect for the room. I have no complaints. I have digital cable and progressive scan DVD. The cable looks great. The DVDs are unbelievable. If you have the money, get this TV.

Similar Products Used:

First digital TV owned. Reviewed many over the course of 4 months.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 09, 2002]
Lance Novinski
AudioPhile

Strength:

-great picture(dependant upon source naturally) -the best sound I have heard from a television -convenient patch panel -aesthetic appeal in the room

Weakness:

-very heavy(the delivery men were not happy when we they heard it was going upstairs. They wanted to leave and come back when they had a hand truck or dolly. Only my impatience kicked in some super-human strength(as well as a good tip for the guys) and we managed to get it done manually.

After a seemingly endless cycle of debating the arguements for purchasing a projection HDTV versus the clearer picture of a smaller tube model, I wound up buying a Sony KV40XBR700. Having experienced the encompassing feeling of a friend''s 55" wide screen HDTV I thought that there was no contest. At the time, a 36" XBR was too much of a drop off in what I considered visual impact. Unfortunately, my budget cringed at the cost of a plasma or LCD in the 50"+ range. Thankfully Sony came out with the 40" XBR which has been great. It has lived up to my expectations of a sharp picture that carries some of the "big screen" feel. As with all other Sony purchases I have made, I have been satisfied with it and expect to be for some time from now. In fact, I will be looking at their Grand Wega for my living room.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2002]
fnova
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Resolution, adjustablilty, looks good even turned off.

Weakness:

As it makes a great signal better, it also makes a weak signal worse.

Unfortunately, when I hooked the set up, the first face to come on it was Star Jones. Seriously, when I put on the "Shrek" DVD, running through the component cables, the picture was astounding!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2002]
Orlando
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality of picture. Sounds really good too.

Weakness:

weight (can''t be helped) If you have a sub-par signal this Set will let you know.

This product available for my needs. Plasma and RPTV didn''t give me the picture quality I was looking for. HDTV looks amazing. DVD''s outstanding. I really couldn''t ask for a better picture.

Similar Products Used:

Looked at alot of different types of displays and nothing impressed me as much as this one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com