Philips 34PW9815 Standard Televisions

Philips 34PW9815 Standard Televisions 

DESCRIPTION

34" Digital-prepared 1080i TV/Monitor - 16:9 - 2 Tuner/Full Double Window - Real Flat Picture Tube - RGB/Component Input - 4x22 watts - Virtual Dolby - Subwoofer - Dig. Natural Motion - SVM - Digital Comb filter - Home Cinema Remote

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Dec 22, 2019]
Livin\\\' The Dream®


Strength:

Great picture in 480p, good sound from unit, lots of display features, lots of input sources. I got this tv solely to play old school video games, primarily GameCube with the original component cable, and it's destined to be playing all consoles up to that era, including original Wii.

Weakness:

The input for the component source is weird to boot at first but that's only because the GameCube doesn't start out in 480p. The result is a picture that's totally messed up. Once the GC switches to 480p the picture is great. The weight of this unit is very high. This is not a portable screen by any means and requires two people to move it. I have picked it up by myself and questioned my intelligence as a result. Another weird quirk shutting down the unit. The front button won't do it- maybe I'm doing something wrong. However, the remote does it fine.

Price Paid:
0
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2001
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 03, 2003]
Frank Schwartz
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Picture, great quality.

Weakness:

See above.

Awesome picture. Great TV. That's the good stuff. When I got this TV, there weren't very many others out there. I'm not even sure if 480p was out yet. I recently purchased a Sony DVPNS715P Progressive Scan DVD player, and have had no luck in making the two work in 480p mode. I have to put the DVD player in interlace mode. When I called Philips support, they didn't sound like they knew what they were doing, had me on hold forever, and basically blamed the DVD player. Here's what I don't like about this set... - no volume display - no direct input selection (i.e. you can't just jump to DVD input, or VCR input. You have to go to channel 2, then "channel down" to them.) How stupid! - Channel changing is very slow, so it makes the above step even more painful. - menu navigation is slow - extremely poor documentation and fan base. There's nothing out there on doing tweaks, etc. In fact, there are a few indicator lights on the front of the TV, and nowhere in the manual does it say what they're for. Tech support didn't even know. - only one HD input. So, if you have a HDTV set top box, you have to use input 3 for the DVD player, which is component, but not progressive scan or HD. - Lack of volume control on the TV. - Also, it has a great sound system built in, but if you have an external 5.1 surround receiver and speakers (which you definitely should have), it doesn't make much sense. Too bad they didn't put 5.1 and external speaker connections directly on the TV... That's about it. I am very picky, so these things may not bother everyone. I really do like the TV, I just wish I could get my PS DVD player working in 480p. If anyone has any suggestions, please email me.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 18, 2002]
schlated
AudioPhile

Strength:

DVD & Digital cable look great. I cannot wait to get HDTV. The HDTV being shown at the store looked awesome.

Weakness:

The regular price is high but after having the TV for a few weeks I can say it is worth it.

This TV is great. After spending about two hours at Goodguys and doing side by side comparrisons with Sony, Toshiba, JVC, & Lowe TV's of comperable sizes and features I chose this one. The price was $3,000 and I made the decision to buy to later find out the display is all they had so I got it for $1950.00. Wow what a deal and what a great TV.

Similar Products Used:

Toshiba, JVC, & SONY

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 04, 2002]
Michael
AudioPhile

Strength:

Excellent picture and color.

Weakness:

Very heavy, annoying menu system, only one wideband component input, but that can be worked around with a nice receiver.

I have had this TV for almost a year now and I still love it. The picture is incredible, especially for DVD sources. I have no had the change to use the HDTV features yet, but I have seen it in a showroom and the picture is awesome. I can't wait to get an HDTV tuner eventually. At first the menu system seemed kinda cool, but after using it extensively during the initial setup it gets annoying quickly, it's too linear and hard to jump around to different parts of the menu without tracing backwards most of the way. Picture alignment on the screen is good, and the screen has little to no glare given a decent lighting setup, which is attributable to the flat screen. I've noticed that some reviews here state that you cannot go directly to an input source w/o cyclcing through all the others. For a while I thought this too, but I discovered that I could actually accomplish this by selecting the input on the remote (say for DVD), THEN pressing the select source button once, and it goes right to the currently selected source (on the remote). This, however, doesn't seem to work when trying to go back to TV from DVD for some reason, it seems to only work with the extra inputs (1-4). All-in-all I think this is an excellent TV and was well worth the investment.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 15, 2002]
bmburke
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Love the picture (even with lesser cable signal), enough features to keep a tinkerer happy for some time, excellent zoom modes for 4:3 analog content.

Weakness:

Input source select, only one HD component input, won''t display DVD 4:3 content in anything bit widescreen mode.

This is a review of the 34PW9817, a similar model (doesn''t have GuidePlus.) Beautiful picture with progressive scan DVD. Much better picture with analog cable than the Sony XBR450 I sent back to Tweeter. This set doesn''t show the faults in a lesser signal the way the Sony did - is it the Natural Motion feature? Menu provides much to play with, is a bit of a pain to navigate (must retrace steps, can''t just jump back to parent menu.) When switching input sources, you must cycle through all inputs, even those you defined as not connected to anything ("None"). A pain but I worked around that by seting up my Surf channels/inputs to include only used inputs and channel 3 (for VCR) Only has one set of HD component inputs which I''m using for progressive scan DVD. Other reviews I''ve read indicate this will be a problem when I want to hook up and HD tuner because the TV''s other component input isn''t high def. I sent an email to Philips customer support - we''ll see what they say. Set displays all DVD content in widescreen mode, even those formatted in 4:3. Bummer. Especially since the zoom modes for 4:3 analog content over cable are great. I don''t understand why these aren''t available when the source is 4:3 DVD content. This set is close to being perfect (picture, features) but a couple of stupid design decisions dramaticly affect its usability to the point that I will probably return the set. Its a hard decision because I love the picture.

Similar Products Used:

Sony XBR450

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 05, 2002]
E George
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Picture. Styling.

Weakness:

Not a real weakness but the built-in sound capabilities are a waste since anyone who puts this much into a TV will compliment it with a good 5:1 system.

Exceptional performance. Coupled with a JVC XV-D723 progressive scan DVD the results are stunning. Picture so precise you can even see chemical streaking on a bad film transfer. Finally got a true HD signal with a TERK TV55 antenna and Panasonic HDTV receiver and I''m hooked!

Similar Products Used:

Sony.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 27, 2000]
RM
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good picture quality, guide plus and easy to setup. It has an option to add surround speakers(not necessary if you have an a/v receiver).

Weakness:

No volume display.

I was very impressed with this product. Does not look good with regular directv signal but very good with dvd movies. The salesman from good guys told me not to lose the remote control bec. everything needs to be setup from the remote. He's wrong though, there's a menu button on top of the tv where you can navigate the system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2001]
Mike McLaughlin
Audiophile

Strength:

Multiple inputs; convenient menu system; many adjustments; built in 3:2 pulldown detection; versatile, backlit remote; good sound.

Weakness:

Severe picture problems (see below); only one setting memory for all sources; no volume control display.

I had several picture problems. The screen showed roughly horizontal curved lines regardless of source. The lines were most visible against a dark (20 - 30 IRE) uniform background. The store replaced the first TV but the second one soon developed the same problem. These lines would be noticeable to any videophile although perhaps not to a casual viewer. Motion artifacts in the form of comb-like lines were frequently visible. The size of the picture was never quite right, usually clipping off the top and bottom of the picture. The DVD picture did not seem particularly crisp.

Now, the TV fails to respond to the remote control.

Perhaps the next model year of this TV will have these bugs fixed.

Similar Products Used:

Sony XBR25

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 09, 2001]
Christopher Cavanaugh
Audiophile

Strength:

Great tv. It is a very attractive addition to the home.

Weakness:

I've also had some picture problems recently. I had some problems with the horizontal scan lines as well. The picture seems to break up even with the line doubler off. I've also noticed two "ghostly" vertical lines running down the screen which is seen with a uniform black background. I'm in the process of exchanging however good guys makes it difficult to do this.

I actually own the 30" however it is not much different than the 34". I reccomend this tv over others such as the xbr sony because of it's aspect ratio and its progressive scan technology. I am a little worried about paying so much money though and having a possible reoccuring problem with the scan lines. I love the tv though except for the non individualized settings for each source. What were they thinking! Good product...iffy price.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 06, 2002]
Peter
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Well designed, great picture.

Weakness:

Cuts off part of the picture in Superzoom mode, Input selection, doucmentation, GuidePlus

Overall, I am exteamly pleased with this product. No technical issues whatssoever. Regular boradcast from RCN cable looks marginally better but DVDs look stellar. My main complaint is the selection of the source input. I also purchased the Philips Pronto remote. Because you need to cycle through the inputs to get to the desired source - no discrete code - , there is no way to go from the TV source directly to the DVD source (or any other). So setting up a macro for easy switching, Even with a universal remote, its not possible. You'd think Philips would have had better syncronicity between its own products. I've also had no luck accessing the phantom "second -built-in tuner" for the PIP. The only way I way able to use the split screen at all, was to use the tuner in my VCR. The additional PIP matrix of multiple screens has been no use at all. The GuidePlus also acts strange. There is no preview window, and as i browse the listings, the channel, even though I cant see it, changes.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com