Panasonic CT-34WX50 Standard Televisions

CT-34WX50

HDTV Compatible (1080i, 480p) 16:9 Aspect Ratio Hi-Resolution, PureFlatâ„¢ Picture Tube Super Invar Shadow Mask Progressive Cinema Scan

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
Don CA   Casual Listener [Aug 20, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality

Weakness:

Reliability Has been repaired 4+ times in home and in the 10th day at the Panasonic authorized dealer

Great picture off antenna or HDTV broadcasts in the LA area Set has had recurrent failure of on screen displays Scrolls randomly after use Panasonic service poor(owned 8 months)

Similar Products Used: Panasonic 32 non widescreen and not HDTV Great picure and 5 years later no break downs
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
torchedx2   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 09, 2002]
Strength:

Absolutely stunning picture irregardless of the source. One of the best 480P pictures I've ever seen.

Weakness:

Does not hold black very well. i.e. When you set the brightness correctly, dark scenes may appear to dark. This set as all made comes set to look good in a bright store next to all other brands hence poorly set picture once you get it home and this one is a bear to calibrate. Even the ISF guy had hell with it.

Awesome detail and vivid colors. I picked this set up as an open box. It was missing the remote which I ordered for $59 on the Panasonic Site. The set out-of-the-box had some geometry issues and seemed out of focus. After 3-4 months of viewing I had an ISF Calibration done to both this set and my Mitsu. 65in. Wow! Absolutely incredible. I cannot begin to describe the difference in the picture. The best I can offer is that DSS looks like DVD did and DVD looks better than alot of uncalibrated HD pictures I've seen. They hook a computer w/ a color analyzer to your screen and basically reprogram your set to match the NTSC standard. If your going to spend $2-4,000 on a set, why not spend an extra $350 and have a profesional calibrate it.

Similar Products Used: WS-65807 Mitsubishi 27in. JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RTdriver   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 17, 2002]
Strength:

Picture, vivid brilliant. Same class as the new Sony 34". Tip, if fits perfect in the Pottery Barn Sonoma Armoire if you sand out / cut the seam at the back of the cabinet where the tube sticks out.

Weakness:

Sound system, not as strong as the CT 34WX50. I have both units in the exact same cabinets. Who cares its hooked up to a Sony 945 with Bose AMS 15's

I have the CT34WX50 in our bedroom, it has been in use for 9 months. The whole family came into the bedroom to watch this set. To get everyone out of the bedroom we ordered a CT 34 WX 52 last May. Just got this puppy. It was worth the wait. The new 2003 CT34WX52 picture is even sharper and more vivid then the WX50. For those of you who are Sony fanatics this new unit has a superior picture to the new Sony 34". And its a bargain, if you can find one. The stores are selling them quickly with the new lower price. It was priced at 2499 but Magnolia had a 10% off grand opening sale so we made out great.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic CT34WX50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sparinfo   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 12, 2002]

Hi, I want to plug my computer in the panasonic. I use the component input to plug the db9 cable, but it doesn't work. Do you know how to plug this ? Thanks.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
spizzi   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 05, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture, great value if you get it on discount. A steal from Best Buy!

Weakness:

Doesn't display 720p!!!! Retail price in other stores could be hefty! Calibration problem from the get-go. The picture display is angled and off-center. Customer service according to many is a nightmare, I just hope mine doesn't mysteriously shut-off permanently like others have reported

Like many of the reviewers below, I nabbed this sleeper CT-34WX50 television on clearance at Best Buy during November/December 2001. The salesman stated that it was being discontinued and a new model CT-34WX52 would be replacing it soon. It is 6 months later and still no replacement, oh well. The picture on this set is simply amazing when viewed in 480p or with an HDTV signal. Very clean and bright. Not as sharp as the Sony but some people like the picture this way. This set definitely has the brightest whites I’ve seen on any set, but some contend the whiteness looks a little too blue. I say adjust the set boy! Speaking of adjustments, this set needs to be calibrated right out of the box, come on Panasonic get it right! A regular 4:3 picture on this set needs to be stretched or used with Panasonic “auto” adjust feature. This helps somewhat but the people look fat. Now when it comes to DVD movies there is a formatting problem to consider. Many are wider than 16:9. For example, Dances with Wolves, Tombstone, U-571, American Beauty, and Star Wars/Phantom Menace (to name a few) are all 2.35:1. So when you display these movies on a 16:9 screen you will have black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. The bars are not as large as they are on a 4:3 screen, but they are quite visible nevertheless and thus you still have to deal with burn-in. So for those that thought buying a 16:9 would eliminate the black bars, it does to a point but you still have to deal with DVDs that are in a different format. Overall, a very good picture and for the price I got it at, it’s a steal and a great deal! Unfortunately it doesn’t display 720p, dark scenes appear VERY dark on this set and almost unviewable, you need to calibrate the set right away and you may also need to have the angle of the picture fixed (mine angles down to the right and had to be fixed).

Similar Products Used: 34" Sampo, Toshiba and Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jason Harris   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 05, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture, great value if you get it on discount. A steal from Best Buy!

Weakness:

Doesn't display 720p!!!! Retail price in other stores could be hefty! Calibration problem from the get-go. The picture display is angled and off-center.

Like many of the reviewers below, I nabbed this sleeper CT-34WX50 television on clearance at Best Buy during November/December 2001. The salesman stated that it was being discontinued and a new model CT-34WX52 would be replacing it soon. It is 6 months later and still no replacement, oh well. The picture on this set is simply amazing when viewed in 480p or with an HDTV signal. Very clean and bright. Not as sharp as the Sony but some people like the picture this way. This set definitely has the brightest whites I’ve seen on any set, but some contend the whiteness looks a little too blue. I say adjust the set boy! Speaking of adjustments, this set needs to be calibrated right out of the box, come on Panasonic get it right! A regular 4:3 picture on this set needs to be stretched or used with Panasonic “auto” adjust feature. This helps somewhat but the people look fat. Now when it comes to DVD movies there is a formatting problem to consider. Many are wider than 16:9. For example, Dances with Wolves, Tombstone, U-571, American Beauty, and Star Wars/Phantom Menace (to name a few) are all 2.35:1. So when you display these movies on a 16:9 screen you will have black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. The bars are not as large as they are on a 4:3 screen, but they are quite visible nevertheless and thus you still have to deal with burn-in. So for those that thought buying a 16:9 would eliminate the black bars, it does to a point but you still have to deal with DVDs that are in a different format. Overall, a very good picture and for the price I got it at, it’s a steal and a great deal! Unfortunately it doesn’t display 720p, dark scenes appear VERY dark on this set and almost unviewable, you need to calibrate the set right away and you may also need to have the angle of the picture fixed (mine angles down to the right).

Similar Products Used: Sony, Toshiba, and Sampo 34"
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
KM   AudioPhile [May 03, 2002]
Strength:

Quality built product and designed with many inputs. Picture quality is excellent in DVD playback and widescreen is marvelous and movielike than any 36" display.

Weakness:

I wish it had 720p playback resolution!! I wish Panasonic could tell you how to calibrate it properly (ballpark numbers?!?) to get a better picture than the out of the box look. Otherwise, not to many weaknesses other than being FREE!! Felt it should be a be a big step up from the CT-36HX41 as far a GUI and display output resolutions and inputs (720p/1080p).

I recently acquired this sleeper product from Best Buy after keeping an eye on the Toshiba 34HF81 (its competitor). Since I had the Panasonic CT-36HFX41 at the time, I wanted to try my luck at the 16:9 model. My wife likes the 36" model, but after watching a few shows in 16:9 we stayed with the CT-34WX50. At $1499, we felt this was a great way to get into HDTV and view 16:9 material (while testing out the Xbox widescreen capabilities to boot). As you know you get 2 component inputs, 1 program out output (composite w/audio and S-video out included), 3 S-Video and standard composite inputs). The Antenna input differs from the CT36HX41 by not having split cable out and ANT 2 input.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic CT-36HX41E, Sony KV-27S42
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
whitelight   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2002]
Strength:

HD Picture calrity. You can see that the actor''s face has powder put on them so that their face would not shine. You can see who got too much powder! I love all the inputs available in component/S-Video and regular. I cah hook up my Camcorder in the front instead of struggling at the rear.

Weakness:

Unless you are a Audio/Video guru, the video settings like color and brightness are a little complicated. I mean what does warm/cool or normal mean? I don''t want to have to change the setting everytime I am watching something different. Any idea what Cinematic means? Sound is a little weak and I suggest external Receiver/AMP for DTS and THX.

I chose the 34WX50 in late 1999 because of the DVD picture quality on the demo and that my restrictions were, it had to fit the current entertainment center and had to be CRT since our family room had large windows facing west with sky lights in the ceiling. When I purchased the 34WX50, I was told that there weren''t many HD channels available at the time. Because of that, I did not purchase the HD receiver. I purchased the regular DSS receiver. Like some of the past reviews, the dark shadings was a problem for me. However, when I got the HD receiver, that was corrected. Even the 480 pictures look better. I was amazed at the Progressive scan DVD (Marantz DV6200)picture quality on the TV, but the widescreen pictures still had the black bars at the top and bottom. About a year ago, I purchased TU-HDS20, after I saw a football game on a friends HDTV rear projection TV with HD receiver. It was on Sunday afternoon and the picture was a little too light color for my taste, but the picture clarity was awesome. Since I have had the TU-HDS20 with roof mounted terrestrial attena and DSS service, I have mixed feelings. HD Terrestrial Reception: I am totally amazed of the pictures I receive. CBS has the most HD programs during the prime time and I love it. I actually see HD broadcast shows over regular shows. I have stopped watching my regular shows in favor of HD broadcast shows. I guess it doesn''t hurt that the HD shows are also not bad. Local PBS station, KQED, broadcasted Frontier House on HD format and it was simply fantastic. DSS Reception: HBO, HDNet and SHO broadcasts in HD format, but 1 channel per network. Not all HBO and SHO programs are in HD format. HDNet broadcasts old programs in HD format, but the picture quality is awesome. Since HBO and SHO are in different program package, it will cost you more to get both SHO and HBO HD programs. I don''t think it is worth it. I only get HBO package. HDNet comes with the basic package. The pictures on the 34WX50 is awesome if it is in HD format. Even though the rear projection TVs are much bigger, watching basketball games during the day is much better on a CRT than projection TV. Unless you are going to have it in a windowless room, I suggest CRT HDTV like 34WX50.

Similar Products Used: I have reviewed most of the HDTV CRT and projection and thought this had user in mind. ie front panel input.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
BillSlade   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2002]
Strength:

Clear Picture (Cable & DVD''s), "Auto" format picture setting, Sound

Weakness:

Red Push, Dark scenes come out to dark, Heavy (Strengths outweight the weaknesses)

I have been using the CT-34WX50 for a couple weeks now and I am really impressed by all the features. I was looking at buying the 34" Toshiba but got a great deal on the Panasonic at Best Buy ($1800 - Closeout plus Display model discount) and I am very glad I went with the Panasonic. Cable TV looks great and the Auto feature does a great job of displaying 4:3 and reformatting a wide screen show from cable. DVD''s look incredible almost like HDTV. The only two problems I have are the Red Push issue and dark scenes look to dark. I fixed the red push issue by using the Avia DVD and copied these settings over to the cable input. As for the dark scenes looking to dark, I can live with it because the picture is so good. The sound is fine but for the true effect of DVD''s you will want a surround sound system. The remote is ok but I cannot get it to work with my receiver (Yamaha). In addition, the stand for this TV is nice and fits the TV perfect. When the next model comes out this summer (CT-34WX52?) they can only improve on a already fine product.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba direct view 32" non-HDTV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Lincicum   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality

Weakness:

Limitations of universal remote, only comes in silver, not black.

I have had this TV for about a month, and I am really impressed by its picture. The sound is not that bad, either, just using the speakers in the set. With my new Panasonic progressive scan DVD player, the picture is outstanding. Since I have cable TV, I have not had a chance to watch anything in really high definition other than DVD''s, but they are great. Even the regular analog cable TV signal gives an outstanding picture on this set. I have ATT digital cable, and the picture is actually sharper while watching the regular analog signal than when watching the digital signal through the AV out jacks on the back of the digital cable box. Of course, if ATT would provide a converter box with S-video or component video out jacks, this would probably not be the case. I watch most everyting in 16x9 widescreen mode using the Panasonic "Auto" setting. There is a little distortion on the far edges of the screen, but this usually isn''t noticable and is far outweighed by having the larger picture. I did have to play around with the color settings a bit, as others who wrote reveiws have done, but the ability to make changes to the video settings using the AV adjust button on the remote while you are watching a show, makes this easy to do. The universal remote can be set up to control *most* of the functions on the other components of my home theater system, but not all. The most annoying problem with the remote is the inability to select the input on my Kenwood receiver where I have my DVD connected. It will work all of the other inputs except that one. It also won''t work with the menu/guide channel on my General Instruments digital cable box (provided by ATT). I seriously considered the Toshiba widescreen 34" set, but chose the Panasonic based on its outstanding picture, even though it was a couple of hundred dollars more expensive.

Similar Products Used: Samsung TFX2899 TV (not really HD, but it does have 800 lines of resolution)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com