Hitachi 36UX59B Standard Televisions

36UX59B

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
marty   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

lots of inputs, big bright picture, good looking and functional on screen menu

i am very happy with this tv so far, big and bright, the only negative thing i would say about it, is that the picture is not quite as smooth as i would like, or kind of expected, it was superior to most of the models i auditioned in the stores in the same price range (1500-2000)
and favorably comparable to some considerably more expensive. i have fiddled with the controls, and received a smoother image at times, but with an s-video connection, off of satellite signal, i expected a sharper picture.
i guess i should have spent the extra 1000 dollars and got progressive scan. i paid just over 1600 cdn, but i had to work to get it down from 2000.

Similar Products Used: store-tested RCA, JVC, Toshiba, Sony, Proscan 36" & 32" models
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2000]
Strength:

Great Picture

Weakness:

Noise

I thought the picture was as good as the Sony's for a lot less money! I had lots of problems with the Sony (see review).
My major complaint with this set is that the transfomer (or something) makes too much noise! I tried a second set and it did the same thing. When listening at regular volume, about 10, the transformer is as loud as the tv.
I also found the on screen menu made it difficult to set the Tv up using my Avia dvd as the menu is always in the road.
Overall I think you get more bang for your buck vs the stripped down Sony

Similar Products Used: Sony KV36FS12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
,,, ,,,   [Oct 12, 2000]
Strength:

,,,

Weakness:

,,,

,,,

Similar Products Used: ,,,
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
brock   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2000]
Strength:

comp audio in, beautiful clear picture

Weakness:

none so far

Ater looking at several different shops I was all set to buy the sony kv35v68 mainly because I liked the picture and the pip was the clearest in the class. Stopped in the last shop to see if I could get a better deal when I noticed the hitachi next to the sony. No comparison, it was clearer and had one of the smoothest pictures I've seen. The pip was comparable to sony even though I still think the sony has the best pip tuner. I had to have it, and worked a deal delivered same day. I am not dissapointed, this is without a doubt the best TV(without fanfare) I have ever owned. Got it cheaper than sony as well.

Similar Products Used: sonykv35v68

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2001]
Strength:

Picture

Weakness:

Slow channel change

I'm relatively happy with the TV, but occasionally a high pitched noise is coming from the back of the TV. I talked to the repair shop and they said they've seen this before but they don't know what it is because they haven't had enough experience with this model yet. Has anybody else experienced this? Now I have to lug it back to the store and get another one!!

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
John Moore   Casual Listener [Jun 12, 2001]
Strength:

Good sound and bright colors

Weakness:

geometric distortion, not enough contrast

Overall after looking at 10 different TV's this model is far the best. There are no perfect TV's at least I never saw any. For the money is a great buy. To me it is like the Lexus of TV's everything else is wanta be's.

Similar Products Used: JVC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mark Zimmerman   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 2001]
Strength:

Superb picture. Lots of inputs for home theatre set up

Weakness:

no automatic volume leveler

Simply an excellent picture for the money. I got it as a floor model at Douglas, so don't look at the 800.00 as a price you can get new out of the box. DVD movies look sensational. It also has good sound, although I am running everything through my home theatre system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonathan   [Jan 03, 2001]
Strength:

Great picture quality. Plenty of inputs. Easy to set up.

Weakness:

Nothing worth mentioning for a TV of this type.

I've been using this TV for almost a year now, and I'm very pleased with it's performance. It has a wonderful picture, better than any other set I've seen in it's price range. The on screen menu is easy to use and get familiar with. It has plenty of features and inputs to handle all your needs. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a set of this type. It's a good quality product.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim Robinson   [Aug 09, 2000]
Strength:

Top notch picture, features, pip, sound.

Weakness:

I can't think of any yet but believe me, if I start having problems with this set, not only will I take it back but, I'll e-mail consumer review to tell you about it.

Great Tv. Has all the features and the inputs are endless. I really like all the bells and whistles such as channel and video labeling, commercial skip, favorite channels, etc. The sound is pretty decent. Crisp highs, good bass. The picture is incredible. I mean incredible. I compared to many of the other top line tv's and the others can not compete. Now, I know I've only had this tube for a few weeks but even after I purchased I still did comparisons. I got a good deal. One thing I'd like to mention. In my owner's manual it states this tv has a comb filter. I called hitachi directly (1-800-HITACHI) to ask what kind of comb filter was in this model and was told by the consumer rep that it's actually a 3line comb filter and it's obvious when you see the picture. Great TV!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Roles   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture, easy remote and great sound no rattling very mid-fi sound

Weakness:

None at present

For the price this set cannot be beat only considered this model as after talking with some television repair persons. I asked them without giving any clue what TV they felt was the most reliable and trouble free 5 out of seven said Hitachi. That is why I purchase this very nice sound and been trouble free for over 7 months. Very happy with it.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba, Sony, Pansonic, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com