Sharp XV-H37VUA Front Projectors

XV-H37VUA

SharpVision LCD projector

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Robert Poiani   Casual Listener [Jun 19, 2003]
Strength:

easy to use daily

Weakness:

bulb life, yellow spotting, bulb explosion, dust, age of technology

After reading the other reviews, I thought I'd add this....I have had similar experiences, bulb explosion, 800 hours per bulb, dust in the lens housing, etc. I also have some yellow spots where the LCD board has gone bad. Overall, its worth the savings compared to other more expensive projectors with more lumens, more pixels, etc.. I use the projector everyday. I paid under $4,000 for the projector and screen and have enjoyed the HUGE picture for years. It does cost me $300 per year for a new bulb each year. A small price to pay for 200 inches of movie screen. I would recommend this projector for a first time buyer and still don’t understand how anyone would buy an expensive, bulky, ugly, cumbersome big screen TV that is limited to 60 inches of screen.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Miguel Rubio   Casual Listener [Jul 29, 2002]

YO TENGO UN PROYECTOR XV-H37VUA Y LO QUE ME INTERESA ES ES LA PIEZA BQC-XVH37V/I only CUANTO CUESTA Y DONDE LA CONSIGO. GRACIAS........

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
JOE RYBARCZYK   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2000]
Strength:

Nice big and bright picture. The unit is not to expensive.
(55)

Weakness:

Screen door effect(pixles) Bad tendency to color shift. Bad
tech support.

I own the model 55 lcd projector wich is one step above the 37. Its only major differences are 600 ansi lumans vs. 250(37)and a up/down shift lens designed to fight keystoning. I view the model 37 and 55 on a regular basis as my friend owns a 37. I can see little difference in light output between the two units. I watch both lcds in a dark room with little to no ambient light.
After owning my unit for almost a year I cant say its always been a good experience. I first noticed problems with black and white material. The sharpvision units have trouble with color shifting from side to side of screen. This can make Bogart in a film look a sickly green depending on where he might be on the screen. My unit has also had problems with a verticle line near the center of screen.Pixles appear darker than the rest of the screen. Sharp tech support has been less than helpful to me with concerns.A nice bright picture for color movies but design seems flawed. Perhaps to much lightout going through unit. If your picky about detail spend the extra money and stay away from Sharp in my oppion.

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi vl_2000
Sharpvision xv-zw99u
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Vince   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2001]
Strength:

Overall build quality, ease of use, masking feature, bulb life, scan doubler, component inputs.

Weakness:

Contrast, brightness, slightly blurry picture.

Very good entry level projector, picture resolution is similar to the infocus LP620 and Epson 5350. The overall picture quality is very good with saturated colors, fairly uniform brightness. The XV-H37UAP is a very flexable unit with power zoom and focus, but a fixed keystone correction. Can be mounted in any way, table top, ceiling and rear projection. It has 3 video inputs, with S-video and component video inputs. It's a fairly quiet projector and has almost no light leakage from the projector itself. It's a well engineered product, great for home use. The disadvantages to me are the contrast ratio, which is rated at 100:1, the overall brightness, 250 lumens, and the fact that one side of the picture has a slight redish tint and the other a greenish tint to it, not too noticable though. I would recommend this projector to anyone on a budget, a dark room and a love for large images! With a 2000 hour bulb, it should last a couple of years with moderate viewing. It's a good product for the price. I got mine new, 03/00, but they are discontinued, so you may be lucky to find one new, if not you can probably get a used one at a good price.

Similar Products Used: Infocus LP620ZV, Epson 5350.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
ricky   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2001]
Strength:

Great picture, reliable,easy to use

Weakness:

A little heavy

I really love this PJ . It has proved great for watching dvds and sports. Im using a hipower da-lite screen combo.

People who visit think its awesome

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex Ngan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 25, 2001]
Strength:

brightness, cheap price, easy to set up

Weakness:

noisy fan, bulb not reliable and expensive, bad factory service

The overall performance of the unit is not bad. There is hot spot if you look very carefully on a simple scene. Contrast is good. I had real bad experienced with the bulb. It exploded on me 1 day while I was watching a movie. It really exploded with a bad bang. The shatter glass actually sratched the piece of glass plate in front of the bulb. The bulb is rated for 2000 hours. I estimated that my bulb had about 800 hours of usage. I took the unit in a Sharp authorized service center. The service manager told me that they will charge me 2 hours of labour to replace the bulb. According to him the technician had to reset the computer inside the projector once the bulb was replaced. I talked to other service center and they told me to replace the bulb will only cost me $50 and no other adjustment is necessary. I eventually had the bulb replaced and it cost me total of $550 Canadian.
After the bulb was replaced, I can see some defect showing up on the picture which was caused by the shattered glass.

Similar Products Used: nil
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Richard Rotella   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2001]
Weakness:

dust accumulation in the LCD assembly, Sharp support.

This unit was made for home theater and includes a built in line doubler which helps to make any source look good. I have had my unit for 5 years now and am on my second bulb. I use it approx 30 hrs/week. That's 7500 hrs of use with no problems other than dust accumulation on the LCDs!(which I have removed periodically.)

The unit blows away all RPTVs of its time but times are changing with HDTV sets now available.

This unit was a steal in its time. Today it would be a good purchase used for $1000 because its relyable, small/transportable, and all you need to worry about is replacing the bulb so it will last forever. When I upgrade to HDTV this baby is going in my bedroom where I imagine it will last until my HDTV is replaced with some three dimentional holographic unit!

Similar Products Used: Boxlite, infocus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steven   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2001]
Strength:

powered zoom, backlit remote, ease of setup

Weakness:

image definition, pixelization, brightness

First of all, let me preface this review by saying that I'm
picky. I've had this projector for 4 years now and never really used it a lot in the laserdisc days due to the poor image and brightness. ANY display device is only as good as
your source material! I recently connected it to a GOOD Marantz DVD player with a quality S-video cable (my unit
doesn't have component inputs) and it was a vast improvement. I'm still not totally pleased w/ the picture quality and want to upgrade. With that in mind, I recently purchased an InFocus LP350 because of all the reviews I read about it's "stunning" video quality. Did a side-by-side
comparison w/ my Sharp.... after about 2 hours I packed up the InFocus and sent it back. My Sharpvision had an overall
better video image- big surprise. The InFocus was brighter-
that's about the only area it bettered the Sharp.
Bottom line: If your looking to get your first projector on a limited budget, check this one out. If you can find one now (out of production) you can pick it up for a song. If you keep the image <100" the resolution and brightness are pretty good. DON'T expect to run it in daylight, only in controlled lighting.
The rest of my theater:
Sharpvision 100" 2.0 gain (this helps) screen
Rotel RSP-976 surround pre/pro
Rotel RB-985 mkII amp
Marantz DV7000 dvd
B&W DM603 fronts
B&W DM602 rears
B&W CC6 center
M&K MX150THX sub
Pioneer laserdisc
Sony SLV585HF VCR

Similar Products Used: InFocus LP350
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Warren Wilson   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 1999]

For starters, I bought the projector, ceiling mount kit and SharpVision 84" screen for $3297, including tax.
This projector is capable of a very bright, clean image, despite the 250 ANSI lumen rating. The picture quality is good enough for a convincing "cinema-like" experience. The only downside that I found was pixelization of images, but this is the nature of the beast with all LCD projectors. Cygnus Imaging, www.cgns.com, has a light processing solution for this that costs about $600. Sharp also frequently offers a $500 rebate on this unit, which can offset the few flaws it has (and literally pay for the Cygnus IMX lens). For a really great value, check out the SharpVision line of projectors and screens before you buy an RPTV!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Lance Freiss   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2000]
Strength:

Price, picture quality, easy set up, color

Weakness:

pixelation

I'm very happy with my Sharpvision. I bought it from a small town dealer who order one in for a church and then realized they needed the next model up to adjust keystone. I paid $1800 for the unit and a 120" Drapper screen. So for this price I feel its a great unit. Theres no easier tv to set up and it has a great picture for its price range. The colors are as good and as bright as my 50" Mitsibishi. The only real down fall would be the pixels which don't bother me any more. I also like the fact that you can keep your room looking uncluttered. I mounted mine in a hole I cut in my wall so with the screen up you don't even know I have a huge tv. Also the ajustability of screen size from 40" to 200" means it can grow with your home theater plans. Its not a $20,000 Runco but it'll impress the heck out of your buddies. I

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com